BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

Picturesongold.com

Fax: (718) 667-4819 View Additional Phone Numbers 1639 Richmond Road, Staten Island, NY 10304 http://www.picturesongold.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm manufactures and sells jewelry.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Picturesongold.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Picturesongold.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 36 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

36 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 7
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 22
Total Closed Complaints 36

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 29, 2005 Business started: 03/01/1997 in NY Business incorporated: 01/01/1997 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bernard Schifter, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bernard Schifter, CEO
Business Category

JEWELERS-RETAIL INTERNET SHOPPING SERVICES JEWELRY ENGRAVERS

Alternate Business Names
Photograve Corp. Pictures on Gold SacredMedals.com

Additional Locations

  • 1639 Richmond Road

    Staten Island, NY 10304

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (718) 667-4825(Phone)
  • (800) 897-5608(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son, ****, ordered me a pendant I wanted for Mother's Day. On the front of the pendant was a picture of my son & on the back was supposed to be his thumbprint. I sent my first email inquiry about the thumbprint & photo pendant on 1/*/14. My son ordered it & paid for it with his card on the phone. I don't have the exact date but I received the 1st pendant in early June. The first 2 they sent had a silly putty like finish on the back that was supposed to be a thumbprint. I was given the Authorization Number (RAN): #****** to return them & for all correspondence. My son, ****, ordered me a pendant I wanted for Mother's Day. On the front of the pendant was a picture of my son & on the back was supposed to be his thumbprint. I sent my first email inquiry about the thumbprint & photo pendant on 1/*/14. My son ordered it & paid for it with his card on the phone. I don't have the exact date but I received the 1st pendant in early June. The first 2 they sent had a silly putty like finish on the back that was supposed to be a thumbprint. I was given the Authorization Number (RAN): #****** to return them & for all correspondence. I have the emails sent & received by me as well as some of the dates I made phone calls but I didn't make a copy of the notes I sent when I returned the pendant because they were handwritten. I will make a long story short by saying after several tries the thumbprint was never right & I returned it 4 or 5 times, Every time I returned it it was because of a different reason. I always enclosed a note with the returns asking them to let me know if the problem was because of the quality of the thumbprint & if my son needed to send a new one. They never said that was the problem. I spoke to several people including *******, ***** & ******. I had asked for a refund after the third, fourth & fifth time but Pics on Gold always talked me out of it by saying they would make it right so I gave in & tried again. Finally, on 8/**/14 I emailed ****** & told him I was not happy with the latest pendant. I sent it back & it has been received. I have sent multiple emails & throughout this found out that ***** issues the refunds. I sent a final request on 9/**/14 & ***** responded she was not aware of any of the refund requests. That is the last I heard from her.

Desired Settlement: I have continually asked for a refund for the full amount paid of $90.90 back to my son's card he used to purchase the pendant and the additional $20.00 I paid personally at some point because I was told the reason the thumbprint kept not turning out was because the pendant was too small, among other reasons. Upon reading Pictures on Gold's return/exchange policy if a FULL refund is not possible I would like to exchange the pendant (that has already been returned & received back to them). However, I would like another product, a locket, that I inquired about in an email to ****** on 9/*/14. There would be no thumbprint just 2 pictures of my son, the 1st I would be the one they have on file & the second I would mail to them. The locket with the pictures is more expensive than the pendant but because I don't want to have my son to have to pay more I would ask that the credit not expire & I would want to use gift cards to purchase the locket itself off the ****** website (but it is purchased through the Pictures on Gold website) to lower my part of the cost since it is supposed to be a gift.

Business Response: I will complete the refund even though it goes against our policy. SHould be done shortly.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have ordered from Scared Medals a St. Christopher pendant for my husband's birthday for 8/**/14. The first order was placed 8/**, I received the product a ferw days after. Unfortunately, the product was too small and flimpsy for a male and so i called back and dicussed to return the item and I was given an upgrade with the same size with different view of the pendant. I was grateful for that and they shipped it out which then I received the second one on 8/**. Sadly, the second time around the pendant still looked small, actually smaller and still looked feminine. I alled once again and asked to upgrade to a bigger one (one inch instead of 3/4 inch), and I have said that I will mail the item back and please ugrade to a bigger and they can charge my card for the additional monies. I mailed the item back 8/** and it was received 8/**. Both times I returned the items, I paid for extra tracking and insurance. 8/**, I called the merchant and spoke to ***** and she said that they will mail the upgraded item 8/**, waited for the item and did not receive it. 9/*, I called again and spoke to ******* and she was very confused as the last record she can see f\was the second item that was shipped which was returned 8/**. She put me on hold and finally came back ans said that ***** is working on it and that the hold was the upgrade $ amount, which again, I already told them from the beginning to go ahead and charge the card on file. Which at htis point, they are lying, I know that they did not process the last order until today that I called. I informed them to cancel my orer entirely and thast I do not want to deal with them and give my business. I was informed that I will be charged 15% of the price and both shipping of the items. I asked to speak to their manager, and the phone was given to *****, which at that time, I didn;t know that was one of the managers. ***** was actually rude, no manager would act the way she did. She did not even try to salvage the deal like any other managers would do. I have been very patient regarding my order and I was still charged 15% plus both shipping because of their incompetence. I am filing a formal complaint against Sacred Medals of ****** ****** *** *****

Desired Settlement: The merchant should refund me the entire monies that wasa charged ob my card.

Business Response: Please Call em at ###-###-#### and i'll take care of everything.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i sent my 14 k charm to pictures on gold to have engraveing done to it and they started they could laser engrave my charm and do it in color i was very happy about this because it was my wifes bday present and i had a month before her bday so i sent it out got it back rAther fast which i was happy about at first until i saw the quality of there work so icalled them up and asked them to reengrave it because first of all they had stated it was laser engeraved on the locket its self instead it was a sticker and the sticker was even horrible quality it was litteraly melted which i have pics of and will add to my case. when i told the customer serice rep. that she flipped out on me gave me this big long lie about how they were scared to do the work on my actual locket so they put it on something else which i told them i wanted it on the locket and she argued but told me to send it back and they would fix it i said ok thats fine. 3 weeks passed along with my wifes bday still no locket so i called em up asked were it was the lady saidthey had to reship it to the people who do the engraveing because they ,messed it up and that i should b happy they r takeing there time with this because they wanted the best for me and they dont no y i complained because it looked grest i said well im the customer if i dont like the work u did on my product i am allowed to complain she disagreed and started yelling at me saying i need to be more pashint and i said 3 weeks is more then pashint and im the customer i shouldnt b treated like this she said well i shipped it out this morning youll have it by saturday and hung up on me i was in shock and disgust with this company but desided to wait it off finally saturday came i actualy got my locket but to my amazement they still managed to mess up my picture with my wife it actualy lokes wores because it looks like my wife now has a black eye in the picture so the locket is still screwed up

Desired Settlement: i would like a full refund and for other people to no my story because this is not how a company should treat any customer

Business Response: I'm really sorry about this, PLease call me at ###-###-#### and we'll get you a full refund.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ** April 2013, I placed an order for a locket with engraving. On * May 2013, I received the locket but the engraving was incorrect (a letter was omitted). I attempted to contact customer service at their toll free number (###-###-####) but arrived at a message (in English) saying that the number does not accept out-of-country calls. I was therefore forced to call via the direct number (###-###-####) at my own expense (international direct dial rate). I spoke with the customer service department and followed their procedure for returns. I received a return authorization from them and mailed the item back the very next day also at my own expense. On ** May 2013, I received an email stating that the item had been received and my corrected item would arrive to me in about 7 business days. On ** June 2013, I had received no further communication and my item still had not arrived. I replied to the email from ** May 2013 to ask for a status. On ** June 2013, I still had not received a response to the status inquiry email that I sent on ** June 2013. I called customer service, again via the direct number and at my own expense. I was told that the return was still in a "processing" status and had not even been shipped yet but that the item would be shipped within the week. I explained that it had been almost 2 months at that point since I had originally placed the order, that my previous communications had not been responded to, and that I would therefore like to escalate the issue. The representative told me that there was no way to talk to anyone else and that there was no way to escalate the issue. Immediately after that call, I used the contact form on the business' website to again explain my issues in detail and request for the issue to be escalated and that I would like to know what will be done to correct the issue since I'd incurred additional costs due to the mistake made by the business and through no fault of my own. Shortly after that, I received an email from a ****** ******** (the *** of Pictures On Gold according to my research) apologizing for the delay and stating that the item would ship the next day yet the message did not address my question regarding the additional costs that I'd incurred. I replied to this message stating that I appreciate the reply and pointed out that my question regarding the additional costs had not been addressed. I requested that these extra costs be reimbursed to me since they were the result of errors made by the business. On ** June 2013, I received an email reply from ****** ******** stating that the item was now ready and asking whether I would like to use the same address that I had provided previously. This message again did not address my question regarding my additional costs. I replied to this message stating that yes I would like to use the same address and again reiterated my question regarding the additional costs and asked how he would suggest that I proceed. On ** June 2013, I still had not received any response to the last email that I sent to ****** ******** on ** June 2013. I wrote another reply again asking how he would suggest that I proceed with receiving reimbursement for the extra expenses that I had incurred to get the business to correct the errors that they had made. I stated also at this point that I was beginning to get the impression that my question was being ignored. On ** June 2013, I still had not received any response to the last email that I sent to ****** ******** on ** June 2013. I again reiterated my question. On ** June 2013, I still had not received any response to the last email that I sent to ****** ******** on ** June 2013. I again reiterated my question. I explained that this was my fifth time asking the question without it being acknowledged. I explained that I understand that mistakes happen but was offended that my question about reimbursement for additional expenses was being repeatedly ignored. I also explained that if I still had not received a response by * July 2013 then I would open a complaint to the Better Business Bureau. On * July 2013, the item had finally arrived and had the correct engraving. On * July 2013, I still had not received any response to the last email that I sent to ****** ******** on ** June 2013. At this point I am opening this complaint to the Better Business Bureau. I have remained patient and calm through the entire process. I have not been rude and am not making an unreasonable request. I do not understand why this business is ignoring me but I find it quite unacceptable. A company that behaves this way does not seem to me to be one with which the Better Business Bureau would want to be associated.

Desired Settlement: At this point I've spent several hours of time to resolve the issue caused by this business and following up with them when they forgot about correcting their error. I've been repeatedly ignored by the *** himself apparently. I wish to be compensated for the extra costs that I've incurred from shipping, international telephone calls to customer service, and my own time and frustration.

Business Response: How can I best rectify this situation for you?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The business's response was in the form of a question:

"How can I best rectify this situation for you?"

The answer to this question is plainly contained within the complaint information and has been posed to the business numerous times (details can be found within the complaint information).

This response from the business offers no specific resolution and leaves me with the impression that they likely have not read the complaint information.



 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:  No resolution suggested.

I'm sorry but I do not have these phone bills from over a year ago.  I would estimate the phone calls themselves at perhaps $5.




 

Business Response: The best I can do is offer a full refund for 100% of the purchase price of the item. I need the address to send a check to for this item. If you agree to this, I will try and credit card in full, but I can't compensate you for your time just the item purchased.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have ordered two lockets from the company for my son's birth. Everything went right up to the point where we received the lockets. When we unpacked them we found out that my kid's name had been mispelled on the lockets. When we checked the invoice included in the package we found out that the name that was supposed to be engraved was correctly written. I then contacted the company to get information on how to proceed with this situation. I talked to a representative on the phone and she asked me to send back the lockets so they could re-do the engraving. When I asked if they would cover the shipping back to their location it was refused. Even after i made the point that they where obviously the ones that had done the mistake since they had the correct spelling on their invoices.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of the locket and payment of the shipping for the whole process due to the fact that as a costumer I do not have to pay for their mistake.

Business Response: I apologize for this. I'm going to send you out two brand new lockets. We rarely touch the engravings and they get imported right into the computer system. Let me know if this is ok to send you two brand new lockets out without even returning the others.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Thank you for the quick response and settlement.

Sincerely,
*************** ****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ORDERED A NECKLACE. I RECEIVED A CALL FROM THE STORE STATING THAT THE NECKLACE WAS PRICED WRONG ON THE WEBSITE. SO I ASKED FOR A DIFFERENT ONE AND THEY TOLD ME THAT WAS PRICED WRONG TOO. SO THEN SHE TOLD ME ALL THE NECKLACES WERE PRICED WRONG. AND SHE WOULD JUST GIVE ME BACK MY MONEY.

Desired Settlement: I WANT THE PRODUCT THAT THEY HAVE ADVERTISED AT THE PRICE THAT IS ADVERTISED AT.

Business Response:

This customer was refunded 100% into her paypal account shortly after the complaint was made. I do apologize but I think I may have neglected to answer via the ***portal. Please close the case As soon as possible.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a locket from Picturesongold.com on ** February 2014 (order # ******). When I received the locket, it was in a box that had a wire type of thing holding it in place. The locket had three scratches across the bottom (I assume from the wire holder in their box). I emailed the company at their address specified under their Returns sections on their website on ** February to inform them of the problem with the locket and to see if I could exchange it. I have not heard back from the company.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Picturesongold.com to either exchange my locket for a new, unscratched one or to tell me how to return the locket for a refund.

Business Response: I'm really sorry about the lack of response. I went ahead and filled out a "repair form" for you. Can you please ship the locket back to us:

PicturesOnGold.com
**** ******** *** ****** ******* ** ***** **** ****** *********

I documented everything so all you need to do is be sure to put that RAN number on the outside of the package. Let me know if I can assist with anything else.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a small, oval locket listed on their site as 3/4" by 1". I called a month in advance to make arrangements to have the item engraved with the following "Owen & Charlotte 17/**/2012". After calling to make payment on the 31st of October I was promised the payment would be processed and the item would be shipped Monday, arriving within 3-5 days as to be on time for the date the gift was to be given. The amount to be paid at that time was 35.95 for the locket + 20.00 for engraving totaling $55.95. The weekend passed and on Tuesday, November **, I noticed the charge had not shown up in my credit statement and I had received no shipping information. I called and asked why they had not ran my card or shipped my item and they did so while I was on the phone with them, however for the item to arrive on time I was forced to upgrade the shipping to USPS 2nd Day Air, costing me another 14.95. This brings the total to $70.90. The item finally arrived. It was a total piece of sh*t. The pictures on the site make it look nice, but it was the thinnest, crappiest piece of sterling silver I'd ever seen. It was also much smaller than 3/4" by 1". But wait, they messed up the engraving. The back was covered in scratches and the engraving said "Owen & Charlotte 7/**/2012". Awesome. Can't give this to my girlfriend. I sent 3 or 4 emails to the man, ******, who took my original order, however he did not respond to a singal one. Finally I received an email from Kristen who apparently handles returns. She said I needed to send the item back, which I was glad to do so as long as return shipping was paid for. I received a UPS Electronic Shipping label. I was extremely busy that month however with holidays and did not have time to return the item. I have sent 2 or 3 emails since then asking for a new label and have been ignored since December.

Desired Settlement: I would like a formal apology from the business for the inconvenience and waste of my time, as well as a full refund for $70.90 USD.

Business Response: A return label will be sent to you shortly. Please check your junk mail as gmail sometimes goes there. We sent it 3 times.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory, however I will not consider the issue resolved until the full refund for $70.90 is given.
Sincerely,

*********



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 2 sterling silver lockets to commemerate the recent death of my niece. When I received them they were of inferior quality (nothing like what was advertised on their website). The lockets were both badly scratched on the front and the quality of the engraving was very poor. I have sent the company a picture of what I received (both on their facebook site and to the email contact address provided to me). I tried to call the company but was not able to get through (the only number provided was an american #).

Desired Settlement: I have lost confidence in the company and would like a full credit card refund.

Business Response: we are refunding you in full. I apologize for this.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

The company has indicated that they will refund my purchase in full, however I have yet to receive the refund.  As requested by the company, I have returned the unsastifactory items.  These were returned last week (priority post) at a cost of $23.95 Canadian.  My expectation is a refund on the original purchase ($285.95 US plus $19.95 US shipping fee) in addition to the cost of me returning the item ($23.95 Canadian).  I have yet to receive my refund and will not be satisfied until I receive a FULL refund ($305.90 US plus $23.95 Canadian).

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

*******




 

Business Response: all i need is the order number and I will refund it right away.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,
*******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a pendent from this company with a 1.5mm rolo chain. I have no issues with the pendent but the chain is not the one I paid $130.95 for. I contacted the company online and was told to wait one minute, then was placed on hold for over 15 minutes. I attempted to get a response several times from the person and they did not respond. I then attempted to call them and their phones were busy all day long. I then went back online to attempt to contact them again and got someone who again told me to wait one minute, and then put me on hold for another 10 minutes without a response. I want a sturdier chain than the one they sent. It is not the correct chain. The person online finally responded and told me to call in it was not his area to handle. I attempted to call most of the day and phones were busy.

Desired Settlement: I want the chain I ordered sent to me and I will return the inferior chain.

Business Response: I apologize for the problem. This is the only rolo chain we have, so if you don't like the chain feel free to send it back for a full refund. Let me know and I will create a return for you. I'm sorry again for the problem.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,
***** ******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband returned a locket to this company that had been purchased in February 2012, so they could change out pictures for us, for $55. They received the locket to perform the work. We got a shipping notification from the company that it was to be delivered ** November. That day came and went, and we called the company. The response we received was "well, sometimes it takes longer, so give it a week and call us back." We called back a week later to find out that the locket had never been shipped. They prepared the shipping package, but did not finish the locket to send it out. We were promised the locket would go out very soon. We received shipping confirmation for the next package, and the locket finally came in, a month after it was shipped to them for the work to be done. It was done incorrectly. The engraving on the back was incorrect, and the company did not return the chain that was sent in with the locket. I called the company myself to get everything fixed. They guy I talked to at that time claimed he was the guy that makes the lockets himself, and that he would make a brand new locket, done correctly, and have it shipped out within the next day. We received email confirmation of this shipment--to the wrong address. It was shipped to the address at which we resided when the original order in February 2012 was replaced. I called them to ask them to contact UPS, since they were the shipper, and the one who sent it to the wrong address. The customer service representative I spoke with told me I should call UPS, and when I explained that as the sender, he needs to, he said "that's not my thing." I asked to speak to his manager, and he claimed he was the owner of Pictures on Gold. When I responded with, "no, this is not who I spoke with last week," he placed me on hold so that he could get the owner of the company. Apparently no order information was passed between the 2 individuals, and when I spoke to who was supposedly the owner, he did not look at my account for reference so I could make sure he had the correct shipping information. I have now been without my locket, which I wear around my neck DAILY, for over a month, and it should not cost me $55 for the company to continuously mess up this order.

Desired Settlement: Refund the charges for swapping out the pictures in the locket. Explain the importance of integrity to your employees, and do not allow them to claim to be the manager or owner of your business.

Business Response: I apologize for this, do you have any tracking information on this for me?

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a pendant and necklace on December **** as a Christmas gift, and received a shipment confirmation with tracking number on December 19th. As of December **** the USPS still shows no package with that tracking number has been received by them. I have left multiple messages with their phone service over the last week and sent multiple emails with no response.

Desired Settlement: At this point I would prefer a refund so that I can move on and purchase a different (now late) Christmas gift.

Business Response: ***************************************************************************************************************************************************
here is the tracking number. It got sent with UPS. UPS really made a mistake on this package and delivered it today. I apologize. Take a look.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,
**** ********



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a St Jude Medal of a certain size and was shipped a product much smaller. When I called the company I was told to ship the item back and they would ship out the correct medal but never did. I have emailed them multiple times since they have received the product back (return receipt verified) but company refuses to respond.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to ship me the correct item or to credit my account. I have contacted them multiple times and gotten no response

Business Response: ******,
                We have never received this item back. Can you ask the customer for a tracking number please?
 
Sincerely,
****** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

***** **** has requested that you receive this restoration information for Track & Confirm as listed below.

Current Track & Confirm e-mail information provided by the U.S. Postal Service.

Label Number: **********************

Service Type: USPS Tracking 

****************************************************************************************************

Proof the package was returned

This information was furnished when the complaint was filed. 

 


Sincerely,

***** ****




 

Business Response: Let me get his order number and i'll rectify this issue right away.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a heart shaped jewelry piece for a necklace on June **** and received it on June ****. The sample shown on their webpage had a white background with the photo on it. I also asked for engraving on the back. When I opened it I found a VERY faint version of the dragonfly on the front, there was a deep gouge on the front where the loop for hanging it on a necklace was and the engraving on the back ran off the edge of the piece. Extremely poor quality! I called them on 7/* and arranged to have it returned to be redone. They received it on 7/* at 9:30 am via UPS. I called on 7/* re the status and was told by "*****" that he was working on it and "would have it done today". On 7/** I received an email stating that it was on it's way via UPS. I checked the UPS website everyday from 7/**-7/** and the status kept saying it never left their facility. I called again today and asked to speak to the owner ******* ********. I explained that I was very frustrated and on the BBB website about to file a complaint. He seemed clueless and had no pertinent input as to what's going on in his own company. I was then transferred to ****** ********. ****** ********'s email from yesterday said he was working on it "right now". But today he tells me it's still being worked on it and it takes time to make these things. When I told him it only took 2 days for the first order he became verbally uncooperative. Just kept saying this takes time because I was asking for something special. What a bunch of incompetant liars! This was my 3rd order with this company. The last one was for a 14K white gold dog tag with engraving. When it arrived I was shocked. It was so THIN and cheap. I had to take it to a real jeweler to verify that it was real gold as there were no markings on the piece. So much frustration, emails, phone calls and unnecessary delays. This company should close it's doors!

Desired Settlement: It was mutually decided that we should part ways and a refund would be issued.

Business Response: *** *******,
               We took care of this case and refunded the customer in full for this case. I tried to respond and had a problem with the website doing so. Let me know if there’s anything else I can help with.
****** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

Yes, I did receive a refund but not for the shipping costs to return it to them. The refund was mutually agreed upon by both of us after weeks of being lied to by this company. I was told more than 3 times that it would be done the day each call was made. When I tried to speak with them they were very defensive, ignorant and rude. As far as the $28 shipping costs they can choke on it, as I never want to deal with them again.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *******




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was shopping for a Medical Alert Pendant for myself. Picked one from Pictures on Gold. I picked a ( 1/2" x 1") pendant (MD26). I also ordered a 18" gold chain to go along with it. I received everything in less then week. Chain was not 18" longandthe pndant was not (1/2" x 1"). It measered 3/8" x 3/4". I took pics of it beside a measuring device and sent it to them. Then I precieded to call them about the matter and they stated "that all measurements are approximate". So I became a little upset over the matter and told them that they can expect to see the items returned within the next 3 or 4 days. I called them 5 more times about returning my money. This took about 5 weeks to happen and to top it off they only refunded me 295.95 on March *** 2013. Invoice number #******. Ordered it on Jan. **, 2013 Paid with Paypal $340.95 And they credited me back with 295.95. I have pictures and receipts of everything if you need a copy

Desired Settlement: I would like the rest of my money back. $44.95 Shipping was free.

Business Response: *****,

               
I am sending the customer a payment via paypal right this second. Please alert
the customer for me.

 

Sincerely,

****** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

 Thank you Sincerely,

******* ******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: had to send item back 5 times to get it the way I wanted, like internet says "customer satisfaction". On receiving item for the 5th time, which was correct, package never contained original pictures sent. I have spoken w/****** (supposed owner) and he stated that they were returned. They were not. ****** also stated that he would issue me a credit for the postage paid to return the item numerous times. I keep calling and they (**** ***** ) says that he will return my call. Never does so I called again and ****** answered and now says to call after Valentines Day, too busy. It has been over two months now and they refuse to resolve the issues.

Desired Settlement: credit issues and original pictures returned.

Business Response: We sent you the check or $45. 

Business Response: We issued you a check in hopes to satisfy you and you had mentioned that you would be satisfied with it. We recall sending them back and matched up your order based on that. We don't have them here. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[I don't appreciate that fact that this company is suggesting that I am in fact not being truthful about the pictures not being returned to me.  They were not and I will not recommend this company to anyone due to all the issues I have had.  You never even spoke to me about sending me a check (you said you would get back to me about a figure, never did) until you got this complaint from BBB.  I no longer wish to hear from you, however, I am hoping that the BBB of New York will keep this complaint on their files so others can see how your business operates.  COMPLAINT HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED AND APPARENTLY WILL NOT BE AS THEY HAVE LOST/THROWN AWAY MY PICTURES.]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *****




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i placed an order for a friend of a necklace with a pendant of her baby late january 2013 after me placing the order i a person from the business e mailed to sent him the picture to engrave on the pendant after i sent the picture a few days passed and i decided to order a pendant for myself when i e mailed the second picture i e mailed the it to the same person that Isent the first picture to his name is ****** ******** when i contacted him about the second order his response was i put the baby picure on both and e amiled i think this is wrong i responed in e mail totaly wrong. i have contacted him 2 times at his e mail no response i e mailed cosumer service 2 times no response i spent 95.00 dollars on a silver necklace that is not mine i have all the mailed sent if you need to see them

Desired Settlement: i want the pendant i paid for

Business Response: Can you please email ************************* with the new picture?

Consumer Response: Hi

I sent the picture in an e mail on 2/**/13 to ****** picturesongold I HAVE NOT received any response from him this is what has happened in the PAST ...
Thanks
****** 

Business Response: I will definitely rectify this situation. Can you call me at ###-###-#### or email me the picture and order number to ************************* and i'll ship you your item out today. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December ***, 2012 I purchaced a product on line from Pictures On Gold.com. It was December **, 2012 at 11:28 am. It was a christmas gift and I didn't look at the gift until the person who received it opened the gift. I was completly dissatisfied with the product. I asked the recipient of the gift if they liked it, and of course they said yes. But, the more they looked at it they to weren't that excited. The Picture on the front of the tag came out fine, but the writting on the back was awful. It was all squished on the top of the tag so small you will need a magnifying glass to view it. It is a dissapointment when you spend 157.95 on a product and then are given a poor quaility. The problem is that this was a gift. Pictures on Gold claim that I have gone over my 30 days and the best they can do is give me a 10% credit and if they are to fix it, I will have to pay for shipping back to them and shipping to me. I don't think that I should have to pay for poor quality. This product when I set it up on the internet showed eligable and clear writing of the pre-written phrase I found on the site. They say that it is not an exact view but they should be able to tell if during production they can adjust the font on this. They really rushed this piec and sent it out. Yes, I ordered it on the *** to ensure that it was here on time for Christmas, but I would not have had the less then 30days time frame to give them a call back. The other thing that got me upset was the customer service. The first time they answered the phone, I started talking and the customer service rep on the phone was talking to someone else as I was talking and then inturputted me to ask if I would mind being placed on hold. Then they pick up again and I explain once more and midway ask to be placed on hold. Finally the order number is taken and the only option they were giving me is the 10% money back option and nothing else. I finally had to as what if I just want it fixed what will you do. That is when she told me to mail it back and they would change the font and then I would be resonsible for the shipping. Again not listening to my issue and pretty much a ZERO in customer service as far as I am concerned. There was no "let's see what we can do to help the customer" or any attempt to resolve the issue without making me spend the 10% they would give me to return the product to them. I beleive that once this was in production and they felt that the font that was chosen was not sutiable for the piece or the size they chose was not suited, then they should either send and email or phone call or even a warning to accepet any changes required to make the piece look good. I had picked the piece that I wanted and started to personalize it with the options that their system genterated for me as far as font size, the phrase I could use. If the piece is not suitable for certain options, then they should not allow them. Then show the view on the computere as being fine without a warning that the lettering might be to small to view. And just to put the icing on the cake I was told that they had larger pieces that I could choose from if I wanted better writting. Financially, this company doesn't know what the customers financial situation is to suggest that they get a bigger product. Horrible!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I just want a replacement of the piece with a much better looking lettering on it so it is able to be read by the human eye.

Business Response: Please fill out the return form at ****************************** and send the item back with the return number 

 
and I'll issue a 100% refund. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

please see the attached which is the original complaint that was sent to the BBB

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

********* ***** 




 

Business Response: Please call me directly at ###-###-#### my name is ****** ******** and we'll work everything out together. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went online PICTURESONGOLD.COM and ordered a 1" Sterling Silver Heart Locket - asked for a photo insertion and inscription; also a 16" sterling silver chain. What I received in the mail today is a JOKE. $105.90 for a piece of CRAP. This locket is less than 1/2" - THE INSCRIPTION CANNOT BE READ, EVEN WITH A MAGNIFYING GLASS, AND TRY TO SEE WHOSE IN THE PICTURE. I am INFURIATED OF THIS FALSE ADVERTISING AND THE PIECE OF CRAP THEY ARE ALLOWED TO SELL.

Desired Settlement: The only thing I want is my $105.90 credited back to my charge card. I recently was part of a lay-off and feel like I was ripped off ON PURPOSE. I AM LIVID.

Business Response: The locket you ordered was a 1/2 Inch by 1/2 Inch. It's stated in the item title and description. If you're unhappy I will refund your credit card 100% for a refund. Normally we deduct 15% as a remelting fee, however I will void this for you. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

 I have yet to receive reimbursement for this item, which was already CHARGED by PicturesOnGold, for which I have already paid my credit card company.  Since I returned the LOCKET ONLY, that amount was $41.95.

If they are not going to REIMBURSE me for this item, please have them RETURN THIS LOCKET TO ME.

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ******* 



 

Business Response: I'm sending a check to ******* for $40. It should ship tomorrow

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2012 Delivery Issues
2/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/20/2012 Delivery Issues
1/18/2012 Delivery Issues
1/8/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/30/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/27/2011 Delivery Issues