This business is not BBB accredited.

Nathaniel Jewelry Inc.

Phone: (212) 764-6799 Fax: (212) 764-4321 View Additional Phone Numbers 36 W 47th St Ste 603, New York, NY 10036 http://www.nathanieldiamonds.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

This firm has misrepresented itself as a BBB Accredited Business on its Web site at http://www.nathanieldiamonds.com/.  On June 30, 2014, the BBB requested that this firm cease and desist all unauthorized use of the BBB name and logo on its website. THIS FIRM IS NOT CURRENTLY A BBB ACCREDITED BUSINESS with the Better Business Bureau Serving Metropolitan New York, the service area in which it is headquartered. The BBB is awaiting a response. As of July 29, 2014, the business has not responded and the case has been closed as discontinued.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Nathaniel Jewelry Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Nathaniel Jewelry Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Nathaniel Jewelry Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 2006 Business started: 02/02/1997 in NY Business incorporated 01/16/1997 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Boris Davidov, Owner
Business Category

JEWELERS-RETAIL


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    36 W 47th St Ste 603

    New York, NY 10036

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an engagement ring in December of 2013 for 2,840.00 via ****. I received the ring just after the New Year, and I proposed on February **. About a month later, we had issues with side stones falling out of the side of the ring setting. Nathaniel Jewelry Inc. (from now on referred to as "Nathaniel")offers a lifetime warranty and replacement of side stones, so we sent the ring back to Nathaniel via UPS fully insured to the tune of 160.00 shipping in April of 2014. The ring was failed to be delivered on multiple attempts due to no one being present at their office location. After about a week of attempting to deliver, it was finally delivered. The ring was then re-sized, repaired, and shipped back to us. We were without a ring for almost a month. After receiving the ring in May of 2014, within two months, side stones again fell out of setting, for which we requested a repair. Since it was just recently repaired, Nathaniel emailed a prepaid shipping label, and we shipped the ring out again. Within a month of having it repaired the second time, more stones came out of the setting, so we requested a brand new setting. We shipped the ring back, and received the "new" setting around late July/early August. Within a month to a month and a half of receiving the "new" setting, side stones again fell out of the new setting, and we began contacting Nathaniel by phone and email starting on September **. For the past three weeks, we have tried multiple times to contact Nathaniel via both phone and email. We were successful only twice via phone; both times we were told by ***** that she would look up our file and get back to us, which she initially failed to do. On the first phone call, she asked my fiance to stop wearing the ring to prevent further damage to it and said that she we call back with authorization for returning the ring for repair, for which we did not hear back. About a week later, on the second phone call that we made to them, ***** offered for us to exchange the ring, but we could only do so for a model that was more expensive, meaning we would have to pay an upcharge. ***** offered to get some information on similar models and call us back, which she failed to do. At this point in time, my fiance was not be wearing her engagement ring for almost two and a half weeks. After waiting the two weeks as described above, I messaged ***** via the Nathaniel webpage(*********************************) letting her know that I was tired of the lack of customer support, and that I was going to file a complaint with the BBB if there wasn't an attempt made to rectify these issues. She called me back within a business day to attempt to exchange the ring for a more costly model, which she initially quoted at an 800.00 increase for a platinum setting. I asked her to send me prices for 14K and 18K white gold as well as pictures of the ring for exchange. She sent me an email with a link to some pictures, which I opened as well as price for 14K and platinum (18K was not available), which were 500.00 and 800.00 increase respectively. The links took me to an **** listing of pictures only. However, my fiance did not like the style, which we emailed ***** to let her know to which she responded to look at other styles online and email her back. While looking through other styles they offered, I stumbled upon the setting that she recommended to us - to my surprise, the price for the ring was listed for 2399.00, which was much less than my original ring cost. Per their exchange policy, the ring you exchange must cost more than the original ring (effectively an upgrade). I was appalled to see that she attempted to sell me a less expensive ring for an increased price - if I were to have accepted her offer I would have been at a 940.00 loss (440 difference in price of my ring compared to the recommended one plus 500.00 upcharge). I responded to her email pointing out that the ring she suggested cost less than my original ring, and asked her for an explanation as to why there was an increase in price. I also let her know that I felt she was trying to take advantage of me. Since that email requesting an explanation, she has not responded to me. I have tried calling multiple times, my fiance has tried calling multiple times, and each time no one answers and we leave voice-mail with our name and contact information. The way they are handling our issues is frustrating and disappointing - my fiance can't even wear her ring for fear that they will try to say that we damaged the ring intentionally and not honor the warranty, leaving us with a clearly defective product and no way to fix it. If the ring is repaired or altered in any way by a jeweler other than Nathaniel, they will not honor their lifetime warranty, and thus we are stuck trying to work only with Nathaniel to have our ring repaired. Originally, I bought the ring in preparation for our engagement, and thus I was excluded from Nathaniel's 30 day hassle free return policy. After all of the issues we have had with repairs and product quality, I regret ever making the purchase. Furthermore, the lack of customer support or any genuine interest in helping resolve our issues is unacceptable, especially for an item that is supposed to have so much meaning and costs as much as it does. We do not desire to ever do any more business with Nathaniel, and we hope that no one else has experienced the issues we have had to endure.

Desired Settlement: Guaranteed full refund of the purchase price upon return of the item to the seller. We are no longer willing to accept an exchange. We do not want to attempt to do any more business with Nathaniel Jewelry Inc. aside from the refund.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved. Please remove the complaint.

Sincerely,

****** ********



 

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband purchased my engagement ring from Nathaniel Jewelry in 2006 and we were pleased with the piece and was informed it would be cleaned and repaired if anything were to arise at no charge to us. There is no warranty or repair agreement signed or received with the purchase. A year or so later the center stone of the ring was loose and we were instructed by a customer representative to mail the ring with insurance and the company would repair and clean the ring free of charge. The ring was shipped back to us in a timely manner and we were pleased with the result. In 2013, the center diamond was loose again and we were instructed to send the ring to them insured and it will be repaired and cleaned free of charge. The ring was sent insured and received by Nathaniel Jeweler. My husband was notified via email that the engagement ring had been lost on their premises. The Nathaniel Jeweler representative had claimed to review security films and concluded they lost it and would recreate the same ring. At this point, my husband was requested to fax our appraisal so he could get a better idea of the quality and appearance of the ring. In September of 2013, a ring was sent and received by my husband and it is not the same ring as promised and we were unsatisfied. The band is much thinner than the original, diamonds are located under the center stone as they were not on the original, diamonds are not flushed with the band, diamond quality is not consistent around the band, the center stone is not set as high as the original. My existing wedding band does not match the recreated ring. The ring received is of far less quality than the original ring that was purchased. Given that there is no agreement or contract I should be able to reserve the right to reject the replacement ring for aesthetic purposes. After numerous failed attempts by my husband I attempted the phone number listed on their website and it was not in working order, I found a number on Nathaniel's ******** page listed from another customer complaining of missing merchandise. I was finally able to contact **** * on May ** 2014 at *********** and he claimed he had no recollection of the situation. He put me on hold and informed me he remembers now because my husband had recently posted a negative review on their ******** page. I asked him if he found the ring and informed me his company filed an insurance claim as lost merchandise, I requested a copy of the claim he informed me he could not provide. **** requested pictures of the current ring to further understand the "issues" I am having. I emailed the requested pictures, received a response informing me they are willing to resolve the matter. I have sent numerous follow up emails and have yet to receive a response, 5/**/2014.

Desired Settlement: For Nathaniel Jeweler to allow me to choose a ring of my choice to replace the engagement ring they had lost in addition to a matching wedding band instead of them attempting to replace it with one of their choice. The ring that will be chosen should be of value and quality of the original ring including inflation. As stated earlier, my wedding band does not match the current replacement nor will it be possible to size it and match it appropriately with a replacement. I do not have any interest in having them attempt to fix the existing replacement which was chosen/created on their behalf. The replacement ring is far less quality of the original purchased ring. If and when the ring is created/replaced I insist on the right to have the ring independently appraised at no charge to me and the appraisal must come back at or better than the quality of the purchased ring. If the above is not an option then I demand a refund including inflation to make whole.

Consumer Response:

At this time, I have been contacted directly by Nathaniel Jewelry Inc. regarding complaint ID ********, however my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I was contacted via phone soon after my complaint was filed, by ***** ******* the president of Nathaniel Jewelry . My engagement ring that I have had for seven years was sent and insured to Nathaniel Jewelry and was lost at their fault on his premises. In turn, a poor attempt was made to recreate my engagement ring. ******  had left me a voicemail that he would like me to call him back.  I was successful in my first attempt to contact ******.  ****** was very clear in conversation that he wanted to resolve the issue and wanted to rectify the situation by making me happy. He specifically asked me what he could do so I would leave him alone. I requested that he replace the setting/mount of the replaced ring with one that I have chosen from one of his sites with the center diamond taken from the replaced ring and put into the new setting/mount.  He was in agreement of my terms. In addition, he informed me that if he did not have a matching wedding band to the ring of my choice he would compensate me with a $400 refund. At the conclusion of the conversation, ****** requested that I call him with the item number of the setting I chose. Since the conversation on May ****, my husband and I have left at least 8 messages either on the company's voicemail or left with a manager, "****". In my attempt to contact ******, 3 of the times, **** had answered the phone and after my request to speak with ******, **** asked whom was calling. I replied with my full name and on each of those occasions **** informed me that ****** would call me back within an hour. Unfortunately, I never received a call back from ******. I have since not received any calls from ****** or anyone from Nathaniel Jewelry. I am not willing to forgo the irresponsiblity and neglience of  Nathaniel Jewelry in the loss and inability to recreate my engagement ring. 

Item number of ring I have chosen requested by ******:  ************


Nathaniel Jewelry has indicated on their website * *********************************************
that they have an "A Rating from BBB".  However, it is clearly indicated on the BBB site,  Nathaniel Jewelry is NOT BBB accredited.




 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.

Sincerely,

***** *******

Consumer Response:

At this time, I have been contacted directly by Nathaniel Jewelry Inc. regarding complaint ID ********, however my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I was contacted by ******, and he referred me to communicate with his, assuming secretary, *****. I informed them of a ring/band I was likely interested in via email and have NEVER received any response.   Nathaniel Diamonds, acknowledged losing my engagement ring on their premises, filed an insurance claim and poorly attempted to recreate my ring. The replacement ring, had diamonds that are not aligned, poorly placed into the band and do not match the quality of other diamonds. 

Nathaniel Diamonds, took my money, lost my ring and unfaithfully stands behind their word. Nathaniel Diamonds has indicated on their website that they are A+ BBB Accredited, this is a lie. They had lost accreditation years ago. 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.

Sincerely,

***** *******

4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with ***** ******* on Wednesday February **, 2014. He told me that he would have my fiances diamond wedding band completed and shipped by Friday, February ***, 2014. The last contact I had with him was on Thursday. When I called him on Friday to get the tracking he didn't answer. I emailed and left several messages with him over the last two days on both the business line and his personal cell phone. He refuses to respond to me and I am getting married in less than a week. At this point it is obvious that *** ******* is ignoring my continued attempts at contacting him regarding this matter.

Desired Settlement: Because he did not adhere to the contract I have had to make alternative arrangements. I found a local jeweler that can have the ring made by Tuesday for me so I have to go that route. I would like an immediate refund or I will dispute the charges immediately. How he handles this will dictate how I proceed with further online complaints.

Business Response:

Hi,

My customer ***** ********* placed his order for a band on Wednsday Febuary **** 2014 which needed to be custom made for him. We had told him it would take about 3-5 business days to make. He requested he needed it as soon as possible with no specific date stated . I had stated over the phone that I will try and ship it out to him possibly on Friday if not, defenitly Monday which was still within 3-5 business days . Unfortunately our offices and factories are closed on Saturday and Sunday. I did indeed shipp his band out on Monday March *** 2014 with ups *** day air . I Then emailed him his tracking number that same day, he was very thanked full for the tracking number and received the band that week.


Thank You
*****

6/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 2 rings from this company. one was listed incorrect so they refunded me. i had the second one sized and they charged an extra $500 which i was fine with. In the mean time, my credit card had a fraudulent purchade on it and I had to call my bank and dispute it. my bank placed every charge on hold that day which included the ring I purchased. the business was not happy with this but i explained it to them exactly what happened. They demanded a copy of my credit card, copy of my drivers license which I didnt have at the time due to a speeding ticket and a copy of my passport. they then sent me very rude emails about how I was scamming them and they knew I was trying to commit fraud and good luck on my part, etc, etc. I have never been treated so rudley and accused of such criminal activity in my life. I am very upset and offended by this. and for their customer service to treat a customer like this and say these things is disgusting. They say they will refund me my purchase and $500 for the sizing but honestly who knows with these people.

Desired Settlement: An apology and my full refund. My bank has the hold off of ALL transactions that day inclusing this one.

Business Response: First, I would like to apologize for any delay of response as we never received this complain in our office.
Regarding the issue than happened with ** ********, my fraud dept was requiered to ask for a copy of a photo ID and the credit card used for the purchase due to the fact that first the billing address of the credit card came out to be wrong plus couple days later after the  order was made we received from our credit card merchant a charge back so that is the reason why it got really suspicious at the eye of our fraud dept. My sales rep apologized directly to her by e-mail (She should have the proof as my sales rep as it too) and processed the full refund  and again I am deeply sorry for the inconvenience.
Please I would like to offer a $200 store credit to ** ******** as a courtesy and for the bad experience that she encounter.
Should you have any question feel free to contact us at ###-###-####
**** *
Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ********



 

12/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service