This business is not BBB accredited.

Diamonds International

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 515-3935 Fax: (212) 764-2302 View Additional Phone Numbers 1290 Avenue Of The Americas Fl 32, New York, NY 10104 http://www.shopdi.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Diamonds International include:

  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints

Factors that raised the rating for Diamonds International include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 126 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

126 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 66 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 20
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 11
Problems with Product/Service 89
Total Closed Complaints 126

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate a pattern of complaint concerning jewelry purchased from a Diamonds International (DI) location while on a vacation or cruise. Consumers are complaining to the BBB alleging issues with flawed or inferior merchandise. Several consumers report that the jewelry that they bought is defective, with diamonds falling out after just several wears. Many consumers report that the results of an independent appraisal from local gemologist for the jewelry they purchased from DI is much lower than what they were told at the time of purchase. In a few cases, the difference in the independent appraisal is several thousands of dollars less than what was paid for the DI merchandise. Consumers seeking a refund claim they encounter a lot of difficulty in receiving a response from DI. In some cases consumers report that DI is only offering them partial credit for the merchandise. At the time of purchase many consumers say they are told by DI representatives that if for any reason they are not satisfied with the product, they can return it for a refund within 30 day of the purchase for a full refund.

BBB has contacted Diamonds International about the aforementioned issues. The company told BBB that they are seeking to improve.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Diamonds International
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 24, 2004 Business started: 01/06/1991 Business incorporated 06/18/1991 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Albert Gad, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Albert Gad, President
Business Category

JEWELERS-RETAIL DIAMONDS


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Diamonds International has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/29/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/17/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/1/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/23/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/17/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/5/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/5/2016 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/15/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/10/2016 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/3/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Feb 2015 I made a purchase from Diamonds International while on a cruise. At the time of the purchase they informed me that I would receive cash back as an incentive. I have contacted Diamonds international twice since then with promises of getting back to me. I have not received any cash back nor return calls. Today when I called I was unable to connect with anyone. "They are not taking calls at this time" during their stated business hours.

Desired Settlement: Receive my cash back

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******** ***



 

11/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/13/2015 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2015 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/15/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased three rings on 03/**/2015 from the Diamonds International store located at **** *********** ***** *** ******* ** ****** ******* *****. I purchased these rings because Diamonds International was endorsed by ***** ********* ****** ****. The purchase price was $12,600 but when I took the rings to a local jeweler for an appraisal, the rings only valued at $6,000. I immediately contacted Diamonds International and I was told to take the rings to their local "***** ** *****" authorized jeweler for another appraisal. That appraisal came in at $8,990 still well below the purchase price. Diamonds International has offered me a $2,000 credit but I declined.

Desired Settlement: I want to return the rings for a full refund of $12,600.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ********



 

4/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/3/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ring from Diamonds International in ***** ****** and when I got back on the ship the Princess Cruise specialist **** told me that there was something wrong with the claws on the ring. I proceeded to explain that I would be going back on a cruise in November and she told me that they would fix the ring then. But when I got home and took the ring to my Gemologist for an appraisal he told me that the claws were no good and if I kept wearing the ring which was only weeks old the diamond would fall out. I had to have the claws fixed and before he did this work he said that the one baguette was damaged. I called Diamonds International head office and started a claim on Oct 3/**. A customer service person called on Oct *** and told me that they would not cover the cost of the repair or replace the damaged diamond. I asked to speak with his supervisor and on Oct**** she called and we spoke about the problem with the ring. She took this information to her supervisors and I got the cost of the repair for the diamond which she requested. I called her the next day with the cost to replace the diamond and on the **** of October she said that upper management approved the cost to replace the diamond but not the expense of repairing the claws. On the **** of October I received and sent back their letter with my signature and **** number for them to put the refunded amount on to pay for the diamond to be replaced. I have had the ring repaired twice now and have still not received the money they promised that they would refund to my ****. They keep telling me that it is in accounting and will let me know when they money has been refunded and it should take 14 business day......but it is long past the 14 business days and they are not responding to emails and when I call I get I will call you back but that is not getting me my money they promised me.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $200.00 U.S. that they promised me.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:
in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.


I believe eve that they would not have refunded the monies except that I kept phoning and phoning and sending emails.  I think the big one was the BBB complaint and the fact that I said I was going on another cruise and I would have been talking to anyone and everyone about my experience with that company.  Very disappointed with them, the quality of the product and their so called service.


Sincerely,

****** ******



 

10/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a diamond ring in June 2011 from Diamond's International (DI) in Nassau Bahamas and have had diamonds falling out of it since I purchased it. The setting is faulty in the ring and this keeps happening. I took the ring back to DI's New York Office for repair in August 2011. Di New York replaced one diamond that fell out in August 2011 (DI claim number ****. I had an issue again the following year with another diamond falling out in April 2012. I asked DI New York at that time to reset the diamonds in an entirely NEW setting as obviously the original setting was faulty as diamonds continued to fall out. Instead they reset the diamond that fell out in the original setting and said they secured the other diamonds (which were also loose!). Had they reset the diamonds in a new setting as I asked in April 2012, I would not be in situation I am now with another diamond falling out in March 2014. Now they want to charge me for replacing the lost diamond and resetting it. This ring has been problematic since I purchased it. Obviously there is an issue with the original setting and now DI New York will do nothing to make good on their inferior merchandise.

Desired Settlement: I would like the setting on the ring replaced as I asked in April 2012. I would like a replacement diamond reset in the new setting and I would like DI to stand behind their merchandise!

Business Response: Good Morning,

Attached you will find our response to **** **********'s complaint. The customer has signed an agreement to allow us to replace her missing diamond at no charge, which we offered as a courtesy as the customer is out of warranty from her previous repair by 2 years. All the supporting documents have been included. We've also extended the customer's warranty to 60 days and will be sure to inspect her ring and re-secure her prongs before the item is returned to her.

Thank you,
********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID **************, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

************



 

4/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March **, 2014 my husband and I purchased a loose diamond from Diamonds International while on a Princess Cruise at the Cozumel location. I traded in the diamond in my engagement ring and had it replaced with the loose diamond purchased. We were given a price of 39,200 for the loose stone and a trade in value of 7,000 for my stone. We put 5,000 on a Visa card that day and opened a Diamonds International Charge for the remaining balance of 27,200. We were assured by the ******* at DI that this was an excellent price for this stone, as they were a direct buyer, and had no "middle men" involved. This was also reiterated by the Princess Cruise Expert Shopper that we had been given a presentation by on our cruise ship. It was not until I arrived home on March 9th that I discovered by looking up like diamonds from retailers on the internet, that I had been charged DOUBLE the fair market value for the stone I purchased. I have the GIA report for the diamond I purchased and located twenty one stones from several reputable companies that were the same color, clarity, cut, polish, symmetry for half the price I paid. I immediately contacted the store ******* in Cozumel and the sales person I dealt with, both of which assured me that this must be a mistake, and if it was that customer service would take care of it. My sales person sent me an email that stated since this was being turned over to customer service, that she could no longer discuss it with me. I received a claim form and promptly filled it out and returned it to DI and was informed that I would be contacted within three days. On the third day I was contacted and told that they would look into my complaint and get back to me. I was contacted a couple days later and told that as a resolution to my problem, they would return my trade in diamond. I responded that would be unacceptable, as that would only mean that instead of paying 39,200 I was paying 32,200 for a stone that was was worth between 20,000 and 25,000. I found a virtual twin to my diamond, as far as the GIA reports, and sent them the report, as well as the GIA report numbers for the diamond I purchased as well as the 21 other stones I had located. Because this was a GIA stone, the customer service representative waived the appraisal by an independent appraiser. I asked that they either return my stone that I traded in and give me credit for 6,424 on the DI charge account or option two , to keep my trade in stone and reduce my balance on the DI charge card to 13,776. Either of these two options resulted in me paying the highest retail value for a like stone that I could find anywhere which was 25,776, and a larger ct. weight, 2.60 vs. the stone I purchased which is 2.22 ct. (please keep in mind that the virtual twin to the stone I purchased was 19,049.) That is like giving them 6,000 right there. I am no longer interested in getting the "fabulous" deal that was offered, only to walk away without paying an outrageous price for something I could clearly buy here in the US for half the price. DI refused both my resolutions and then offered me either my original stone back and 2,200 credit on DI card, or DI to keep my trade in and give me 10,200 credit on DI card. I have now signed an agreement letter that states they will issue that partial refund within 5 days. This whole ordeal now results in me paying at least several thousand more than the diamond is worth, plus getting zero dollars for my 1.73 ct. trade in diamond. At best, not a great deal.. but after the horror stories I have read on your site, as well as cruise critic and trip advisor, as well as others, I may be one of the lucky ones.... Someone needs to stop these people!! Of course, if I had done all this due diligence before I walked in the store, I would have never purchased the stone. However, that does not negate the fact that DI is using fraudulent sales tactics by unethical sales people. I was never told that there was a third party bank involved in the DI credit card issued to me until I began this negotiation, and then I was informed that I made the purchase from DI, but the payment agreement is with "the bank". I was trying to get DI to include my remaining balance due after the credit was applied on the offer letter to me, which was "impossible" because DI is not "the bank".

Desired Settlement: I am awaiting a confirmation of the partial refund on the DI account in the amount of 10,200 . This would only be a fair resolution to the problem, if my original stone were to be returned to me. However, I don't for one moment believe that DI would actually send me my original stone. I can't trust anything they say or do.

Consumer Response: ****************

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID **********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,
*********



 

3/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The necklace has been appraised independently and is not as advertised. DI said the clarity was SI1-SI3 and my appraisal lists it as I1 therefore degrading the representation and cost of the necklace. I feel that DI misrepresents their merchandise and practically bullies their ccustomers into buying their jewelry. I feel thje cruise lines should warn people of this practice rather than encouraging them to buy from DI. DI refuses to take back the necklace and I feel I have been scammed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return for refund a necklace purchased in Roatan on December *, 2013.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ******



 

3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/27/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought some jewelery from Dimands international on severial islands on our cruise I put a deposit on a bracelet in St. Thomas that I would like back due to the fact that the articles I bought and had appraised did not appraise to be what they said they were here is a copy of the E-mail sent to carnival.Dimonds international is telling me I can get a store credit for my 830.00 or they will charge me 410.00 (10%) of the whole price of the bracelet. (why would I want a store credit at a place that ripped me off).Hi, I was told to contact ****** by our shopping specialist on the last cruise that we were on, ******** **** on the Liberty. We took a 2 week back to back cruise from Nov. ** through Dec. ***. While on the islands we bought some jewelry. I bought a loose tanzenite stone, a tanzenite ring and we put on layaway a 19.1ct tanzenite bracelet. The problem is, the loose stone that I bought was a 1.04 t.c.w. and had it set in a ring. This was bought in Honduras on 12/**. When I went to my jeweler (which is a certified gemologist), he asked for the paperwork so that he could give me a correct appraisal, I gave it to him and he told me that the stone was only worth $250.00. I paid $364.00 for the stone. The next problem is, the ring that I bought I paid $440.00 for, and once again, the jeweler told me that it was not worth that and it is not even worth having it insured. It is set in sterling silver and not gold. I bought that in Grand Cayman.The last and most important problem is, we put a 19.1ct tanzenite bracelet on layaway in St. Thomas because we could not get the financing. The bracelet cost $4100.00. We charged $830.00 to my husbands credit card, with the hopes of paying it off in the 3 months like they stated. Once again, upon talking to the jeweler about this one, he said we need to cancel it because it was not worth that kind of money, especially because it is set in sterling silver and not gold. He told me that he could make me anything that I wanted (for the bracelet) with the same kind of stones (tanzenite) weighing the same cts in white or yellow gold for about 1/*to 2/**of the price that Diamonds International is charging for the bracelet set in sterling silver. We have bought jewelry previously on other cruises, thought nothing of it because we thought we received a good deal, but now I am really starting to wonder. I would like to get out deposit back on the bracelet because there is a lot more than we can do with the $4100 than pay for a bracelet that is not worth it. I dont know what you can do on the other items that I listed. We thought that we were getting a good deal, but it turned out not to be. I would appreciate all the help that you can give me in this situation. I have attached copies of all the receipts for the above items. Thank you in advance for your help in this matter. *******************

Desired Settlement: I would like my entire deposit back as I feel that they our using deceptive practices

Business Response: Please find attached the response for the complaint filed by customer Yandel.

 
Thank you,
********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ***********and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 

 

From: *********** [*******]
Sent: Friday, January ***, 2014 9:02 PM
To: Complaints
Subject: RE: You have a new message from the New York BBB. Complaint # *******

 

No where on there paper work does it say any thing about 10% restocking fee. Even if this was the case then my purchase to date is $830.00. 10% of that is $83.00 dollars not $410.00, so my return should be $747.00.

Thank you

Sent from Yahoo Mail for iPhone

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

*****************




 

Business Response: Please find attached the response to customer's complaint, which includes an agreement letter sent to him earlier today for a refund as per his request.

**********

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: n Alaska on 08/**/13 The $75,000.00 is on 2 credit cards and a promissory note to Diamonds International. I was told that Royal Caribbean cruse line had an agreement with the shops that they recommend of a 60 day no questions ask return policy. I had the diamond appraised and it came up lacking I want to return all 3 peaces 4/** K diamond $69,440.00 and a Tanzanite bracelet $3,060.00 and a yellow gold diamond ring $2,500.00 total of $75,000.00 How can we make this happen? Thanks ***** ****

Desired Settlement: I emailed this to Diamonds International customer service Attn: ***** a last week. Diamonds International customer service Attn: ***** ###-###-#### *** **** ***************** ***** ***** * ** *** **** *** ******* ***** *** ******** *** ***** ###-###-#### Email ************************* If it will help settle this I will keep the Tanzanite bracelet for $3,060.00 and a yellow gold diamond ring for $2,500.00 and you take the diamond back and give me credit in the amount ($69,440.00)

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

The following is a response to a BBB inquiry filed by customer ***** ****. *** **** first contacted our customer service department on  8/**/13, concerning a purchase  he made on 8/**/13 from our Ketchikan location. *** **** claimed that he was unhappy with the Crown of Light Diamond he had purchased and therefore is asking for a credit.

It was explained by a customer service representative to ***  **** according to Diamonds International Terms and Conditions that is clearly stated on our sales receipt and which the customer signed and agreed to, no refunds will be issued due to "buyer's remorse" or value discrepancies.

Diamonds International will only issue refunds if the merchandise is appraised within 30 days of th. e purchase by an independent certified gemologist/ appraiser who does not buy or sell gems or jewelry and whose sole business are appraisals. If the appraisal report indicates that the color and clarity differsnegatively by two grades or more, Diamonds International will offer a money back guarantee after receipt of the item in its original condition.

The customer failed to provide us with an independent appraisal stating that the merchandise was appraisedat two grades or more  in color  and  clarity,  therefore  *** **** is not entitled to a refund for the purchase.

In the interest of good customer relations the customer was offered to choose: Please see attachment that was emailed to customer on 9/**/13, as a resolution to his/her claim:

Diamonds International is  not in possession of the merchandise in question. All  the necessary paperwork has been enclosed for your review. Please feel free to contact me at ###-###-####. Thank you in advance for your tmderstanding.

Sincerely,





Dear ***** ****,

I have received and reviewed your email below. Please be informed that Diamonds International is a retailer and not affiliated with any appraisers or labs. I have recommended Savoie Fine Jewelry Appraisers & Consultants because he is knowledgeable and has correct guidelines in evaluating Crown of Light Diamonds. He is also the closest gemologist in your area.

A Crown of Light is a patented diamond cut, designed to return considerably more light out of the crown than the traditiona l brilliant cut. DiamondsInternational recommends that you have your diamond appraised by an approved independent appraiser which is knowledgeable with the Crown of Light diamond cut as it is a very high quality diamond with lots of brilliance. Most jewelers or gemologists do not know how to appraise the Crown of Light diamond, as their a pproach is to assign an appraised value based on the traditional brilliant cut diamond proportions. This of course destroys the brand value of the gem and it is the wrong approach to a Crown of Light diamond appraisal.

The proper approach is to grade for color and clarity, than to check the proportions against the specifications of the patent. Then determine value by researching the current market values of diamonds of the same wei ght, color and clarity. To this value then apply the appropriate percentage markup for the Crown of Light brand. This gives you a fair replacement value and it is the correct approach to the appraisal because in case of a loss there is only one source for your insurance company to replace your crown of light diamond. Most jewelers or gemologists which are not familiar with this diamond cut will provide an inaccurate appraisal which can be as much as 50% less than the actual replacement value.

Please ensure that the appraiser you choose confirms they are part of an independent gemological laboratory or an independent graduate gemologist which is not affiliated with a jewelry retailer in anyway. Please let me know which gemologist you would like to work with and Iwill send you a FedEx label with insurance on full value. Also Diamonds

International will reimburse you for the evaluation report in a form of check after received the statement.

We apologize for a ny inconvenience this incident may have caused. We would suggest for you to contact one of these organizations listed below these are professionally­ trained appraisers knowledgeable with the Crown of Light brand.

 

*** ******
******* ********** * *** ******* ** * ****** ***** ********** ** *****


 
********* *** **** **** * ***** ******** ******* ********************* * **** ** ***** ** *** ******* ********* **** * ****** * ********* **** ** * ********** ** ********************* ** ******* ********** ** * **** ********* ********** ** *******  *********** *** **** *** * *** ********** * ******* **** ** ****  * ******** ******* ********* ***** ****       **** ************ ***** **** ** ** ****** *** *** * ********* **** ********* *** *** ****** ** **** ****** ** *** *** ********* *** ******** **** ********** ****** **** **** *** ******* ** ******* *** *** ****** ** ******** ** *** *** ***** *** ********** ** **** ******** *** ******** ********* **** ** ************* ********** ************ ** **** **** ****** ** ********* **** *** **** ** **** *** ** *********** ********* **** ********** ********** *** *********** ***** *** ******** ************* **** ******* ***** ***** *** ***** *** ****** ******** ****** **** ******* **********  * *********** ****** ************ * *** * ************ *** ***** ********* **** ** ********* ** ***** ***************** **** * *** *** ******* ********* **** ** *** *********  * ******** *** ********** **** **** ** ******* ******* **** *** ******* ******* * **** **** ***** ******* ** ****** ****** ** *** *** ***** ******* **** ** *** ** ******* ** ** **** **** ****** **** ***** **** *** ********* ******** *** ********* * ** *** ****** **** ******* **** *** ******* ** *** *** **** *** ******* **** *** **** ** ****** ** *** * ***** ************ ****** *** **** ****** ******** ** **** *******

Business Response: Dear ***** **** :

This ls in reference to your complaint against DiamondsInternational. Your complaint was assigned ID #*******.

The business has sent the BBB a response regarding this complaint, which is below or attached.  Please respond to this message electronically or by written correspondence within 6 days.

If we do not hear back from you within that time, we will assume the case is resolved. Your statement of your complaint [and your final response to any replies from the business] may be made public in the BBB Business Review for this business on **************** **** Please be careful to make statements that are correct and not likely to create liability for you when they are published.

 
 











***** ****'s Final Response

 

Do not go to Diamonds International!

 
Diamonds International will hard sale you into buying something that is worth 30% of what you pay for it. There is no return or refund policy. The New York office will not answer or return calls. Stay away for Diamonds International. Pricing on their diamonds are WAY overpriced. I purchased a 4 carat Crown Of Light's diamond and fell for the slick marketing pitch (i.e., patented one-of-a-kind cut diamond, 90 facets for brilliance and sparkle.

I had a professional appraiser look at it, who basically said he couldn't appraise it lower even though he knew it wasn't worth one third of what we paid for it, because there is nothing to compare it to. You have to go to Diamonds International and ask them what it is worth!

I can buy a 5 carat diamond with better color & clarity with less flows and it appears to be twice as large for $20,000.00 less. If I paid the same amount for a conventional round cut, with top line CCCCs, we would have had a much nicer, bigger and more brilliant ring at % the price.

Diamonds International will only accept an appraiser that they recommend and then the appraiser that they recommend will call Diamonds International and ask what value they should put on their diamond!

I have learned the problem with Crown Of Light's diamonds is they are cut with too much of a base and sure there are a lot more facets on the surface, but given the unconventionally longer depth, a lot of the light just gets swallowed up and thus you get a dull and even darkish diamond and a 4 carat looks like a 3 carat. You can check this yourself if you do the homework. BOTTOM LINE: DO NOT BUY Crown Of Lights diamonds and if you are going to buy diamonds make sure you are armed with comparables, because they will try hard to sell you

something at twice what you would reasonably pay at any reputable jeweler.

Consumer Response:

At this time, I have been contacted directly by Diamonds International regarding complaint ID *******, however my complaint has NOT been resolved because:



My complaint with Diamonds International has been resolved. I received the following letter from ***** of Diamonds International with a refund offer of $12,000.00 which I accepted. When I receive the $12,000.00 refund, my dispute with Diamonds International will have been resolved. 

Sincerely,
***** ****

As per your email request on ********, Diamonds International will issue partial refund for you, in the amount of $12,000.00. Once the transaction is completed, we will consider this partial refund as a resolution to your claim. Please sign this letter of authorization by **/*/13 and fax it back to meat *************** receipt of your signature and credit card number, I will refund your credit card in the amount of $12,000.00 and consider this matter resolved. Usually the process takes 14 days.
For our records, please confirm that we have the correct spelling of your first and last name and address and if not, please make the necessary changes. Should you have any further inquiries, please contact me at ************** *****
Thank you,
_************************                  ******************************* ********** *********                                                  ****** **** ****** * ********** ****

Sincerely,

 

10/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While on a Royal Caribbean cruise, docked in Cosumel, Mexico on Sept ****, 2013, I purchased a loose 1.03 carat emerald cut diamond and setting for $6019.00 from Diamond International in Cosumel, Mexico, and was given an appraisal that stated the carat size of the loose diamond (1.03), color (N) and clarity (VVS2), I got the same for the setting. At the store, the diamond and setting looked great. Upon inspection of the diamond once back on the ship, we noticed it was yellowish, and became concerned about the actual quality. I was not sure if the appraisal I got from Diamond International was correct so as soon as I got back home, I brought the loose diamond and setting to an Independent Certified Gemologist in my area for an appraisal. Lo, not only was the color grade two grades lower than represented, but the setting was the wrong type and could not be set as the setting was made for a round diamond!. I contacted Diamonds International and Royal Media and opened a claim requesting a return and a full refund, requesting a full name and address to return the merchandise to. I asked this several times to both Royal Media and Diamonds International, and they continued to blatantly ignore my request. I emailed the Gemologists appraisal following all their policies and procedures in putting in the claim (Royal Media - Claim Number: ************** (Diamonds International claim Number: **********) - Flaminis. They apologized and verbally agreed to refund my money as stipulated in there contract. however sent me numerous emails contrary to that, placating me trying to get away with not refunding me (I have serval emails with them both back and forth for the last two weeks) They eventually as of yesterday, proceeded to offer me a $1050 partial refund saying that the diamond is fine and i got a good buy. I found this to be totally unacceptable and write them back. I then got the same canned apology letter from Royal Media. I feel that this is just going to be a vicious cycle, being dragged out for months, while I still have to pay my DI credit card that I used to pay for the diamond. It has been over two weeks and I'm still fighting with this company to get a full refund and all they do is send back contradicting emails and placate me.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund of $6019.00 in the form of a check, or, to satisfy the balance on, and to close my Diamonds International credit card, and a full name and mailing address of a person to return the merchandise t19

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

The following is a response to the inquiry filed by customer ***** ***********.

*** ********** first contacted our customer service department on September **, 2013, concerning a purchase she made on September **, 2013 from our Cozumel location. She was unhappy with the color of the diamond she had purchased and therefore is asking for a full refund.

It was explained by a customer service representative to *** ********** that Diamonds International will only issue refunds if the pieces are appraised within 30 days of the purchase by an independent certified gemologist/appraiser who does not buy or sell gems or jewelry and whose sole business are appraisals. For diamond purchases with an International Gemological certificate, we will only accept an appraisal based on a certificate from one of the following accredited international laboratories.

If the appraisal report  indicates  that the  color and clarity differs negatively by two  grades  or more, Diamonds International will offer a money back guarantee after receipt of the item in its original condition.

*** ********** provided an appraisal following the specifications and the results have a discrepancy by
more than one grade in color.

In the interest of good customer relations the customer was offered to choose one of the following options as a resolution to her claim:

• The replacement of the head of the ring to fit/set the center stone of the ring, with a partial refund of $1350.00 and a gift certificate of $150.00
• A full refund of the purchase for $6,000.00 plus to cover the appraising expenses .

*** *********** signed an authorization letter and chose a full refund as a resolution to her claim.

Diamonds   International   is  not  in  possession   of  the   merchandise   in  question;  we  are making the
arrangements to receive the ring in our head offices.

All the necessary papenvork has been enclosed for your review. Please feel free to contact me at ###-###-#### Ext. **** Thank you in advance for your understanding.
Sincerely,


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Diamonds International
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart