BBB Accredited Business since

Buy Back World

View Additional Phone Numbers 1817 42nd Street, Long Island City, NY 11105 http://www.buybackworld.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Buy Back World meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Buy Back World include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 37 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

37 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 19
Total Closed Complaints 37

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Buy Back World
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 20, 2010 Business started: 09/03/2009 in NY Business incorporated 09/03/2009 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven Francess, COO/CFO Mr. Andreas Leptourgos, President/CEO
Business Category

INTERNET SELLING SERVICES HOME ELECTRONICS INTERNET SHOPPING SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
Dreven Holdings Group Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1817 42nd Street

    Long Island City, NY 11105

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have shipped my tablet to the company 3 weeks ago and have not receive anything g back. There is no contact information to call just an email. I have checked my spam and sent multiple emails to the address that was given . I belive that this company is a Scam

Desired Settlement: Either they Shipp my tablet back or give me my Money for it . For the wait and time I want at least 100.00 for the trouble . I am just sick of this

Business Response:

Hi,

We're sorry to hear that you haven't been satisfied with our services and want to help. In order to do so, please provide us with your Order ID (PS#) so we may reference your transaction and provide further details. Unfortunately, we are unable to locate any orders based off of your name or email so we believe you might be contacting the wrong company. Once we are able to reference your order, we will be more than happy to provide further assistance and a quick resolution to any issues.

Thanks!

Sincerely,

The BuyBackWorld Team

12/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi the Company offered to purchase an IPhone 6 plus. The company acknowledged receipt of the phone in an e-mail. The Company has not paid for the phone and will not respond to my requests for them to return the phone or pay for the phone. ***** *******

Desired Settlement: Return of the IPhone 6 that they are holding as soon as possible. It is not there phone and they have not paid for the phone.

Business Response:

Hi,

 

We're sorry to hear that you haven't been happy with our services and want to make it right.

 

Please provide us with your Order ID (PS#) so we can provide further details on your transaction. We currently have no transactions placed under your name or email address. Once we have this information, we will be glad to further assist you.

 

Thanks!

10/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent in my Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 16GB AT&T SGH-i497 soon after creating an order on 7/**/15 to BuyBackWorld along with this tracking number: ********************** and the order number: ***************. I have received an email saying that the company got my tablet on 8/*/15 and inspected it and would still pay me the original quote of $51. The order details said they sent payment on 8/**/15, but after several weeks of waiting, I still hadn't received payment. Since then, I have sent multiple emails asking about it and have yet to receive a single response back. Needless to say I am extremely displeased with the services and would like it resolved asap as it's been more than two months since I sent my tablet to them and almost two months since they said they sent my payment.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the $51 I was quoted and that I was told was sent to me.

Business Response: We're sorry to hear that you never received your payment and want to make it right. While most checks are delivered without any issues, there are times where items can get lost in the mail and we apologize for this on behalf of the ****. A check reprint will be sent to you via **** Tracking #: ********************** to the address of record on your account to avoid any further delivery issues and should reach you by the end of the week.

For future reference, please direct all customer service inquiries to ************************ for the quickest results and resolutions to all matters. Again, we appreciate your patience and understanding while we correct this issue. Thank you.

9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No response when email is sent and they ever answer the phones and they do not list their number to the public which is crazy when people are sending in items for cash and they don't get a response through the email and they don't answer the phones, it looks to fishy with all the ways fraud can take place in the world today. Never better communication with customers in a more timely manner or need to pay customers quickr so they won't feel like they are getting messed over.

Desired Settlement: To send my payments quickly for the items they have inspected and passed and finish the other items they already have ASAP since no one will bet in touch with me.

Business Response: Customer created three (3) orders on 9/**/2015 with the following **** Tracking #s: **********************, **********************, ********************** all of which were received in-house only yesterday, 9/**/2015. Upon receipt of the packages, the customer was emailed to notify them at the email of record on file: **********************. If the customer has not received their email notifications, we ask that they please check their SPAM folder to make sure they are not being caught in there.

The customer's items will be inspected and paid within one week of receipt, which we clearly state in our FAQs and throughout the email communications which are sent. Link provided below:
***************************************************************************************

We ask that the customer wait until 9/**/2015, or a week has passed, before submitting an additional complaint since their order will be resolved on its own by that point. Given this, we ask that the BBB close this case. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because: I sent in the complaint to the BBQ and within the hr I was paid for two phones and waiting on the third and two orders were received yesterday and one last week.... my problem is more so with the communication but with being paid for the two items this quick let's me know they are able to take care of the third as well because it is the same as the first two, but again it is more so with the communication I have a problem with that make things seem funny at first 

[Your Answer Here]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ********




 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ********



 

9/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent a phone back to buy back world after they quoted me a certain price they told me I receive my payment via ****** and I have not received my payment I have contacted the company via their website several times and I have not received a response there is no phone number to contact the company so I cannot contact contact them to discuss this further I am very displeased as I am out over $200 I trusted this company because it was BBB accredited but will not do business in the future with them because I feel like my phone was stolen from me

Desired Settlement: I want the money

Business Response: Customer was sent payment on 7/**/2015 via ******. The ****** payment was sent to the ****** ID on file with us at the time, lodcebay@gmail.com, via ****** Unique Transaction ID #: *****************. This payment was returned by the customer.

The customer has since updated their ****** ID on file to be: ******************* and they were resent their payment via ****** Unique Transaction ID #: ***************** per their request. If the customer has any further questions, we ask that they please direct them to ************************ 

Since the customer has been paid in full, we ask that the BBB complaint be closed as resolved.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

********** *********



 

9/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent my s5 phone to this company for cash, the company was suppose to pay me $207.00 for my phone the was the price they told me for sailing my phone to them.but its been over 3 weeks now and I have not gotten a payment or anything from this company.

Desired Settlement: I want my money I was told my phone was worth or my brand new phone back with a small check with an appolegy attached to it stating sorry for the enconveence .

Business Response: Customer sent in order under Order ID: on 8/*/2015 and it was received on 8/**/2015. Upon inspection, device was found to be a counterfeit good and we do not purchase counterfeit goods per our Service Terms. Counterfeit items are considered to be Prohibited Items and are not returned to the customer.

Our Service Terms which the user agreed to upon using our site state:

Prohibited Items: Certain items are prohibited. By using the Service, you represent that the items are not items that are prohibited. You agree to indemnify the Covered Parties (as defined herein) from any liability resulting from your submission to us of prohibited items. Additionally, Prohibited Items will not be returned the user. Prohibited items include, but are not necessarily limited to:Illegal, counterfeit or stolen items;Items that infringe on any third party’s intellectual property (copyright, trademark, trade secret, patent) or publicity or privacy rights;

Customer can review our full Service Terms on our website here: *****************************************

We ask that this case be closed since it involves the attempt to sell a counterfeit good.

Thank you.

9/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sent a blackberry z10 to sale to buybackworld for $35.00. They received it on August ** at 10:02 am. The **** tracking number is **********************. I have sent multiple emails with no response. I did receive an email say the device was accepted but somehow I deleted it.

Desired Settlement: I want my payment for the device. But they will not respond to my emails. They have no other way of contacting them.

Business Response: Customer was paid in full via ****** Unique Transaction ID #: *****************. Upon reviewing their account, we see that they deleted their order so they did not receive our automated emails indicating that their item had passed inspection and been paid for. If the customer would like to reinstate their account with us, they should email ************************ and we will gladly assist them with doing so. Since the customer has been paid in full, we ask that this BBB case be closed. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ***



 

8/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late July 2015, I sent two iPhone 5c phones to Buy Back World. One phone was in good to average condition, no cracked LCD, powered on just fine, worked with no issues and the backing had extremely minimal wear and tear (hence why I listed it as Average instead of Poor/Broken). I was quoted $110 online. The second phone was indeed in poor/broken condition. It would not power on and the LCD was cracked in a couple of places. I was quoted $20 online. Within a few business days, I received an email stating Phone #2 (originally listed as poor/broken) matched my online description of Poor/Broken, and they would like to offer me $20 for it. The following day, I received a separate email stating Phone #1 (originally listed as average) did NOT match my online description, that the LCD was cracked and that it would not power on. They offered me $20 for this phone, which I promptly rejected because it was NOT in that condition when I submitted it, and I wanted to see it with my own eyes. Buy Back World promptly sent me back the first phone and it was in AWFUL condition... not the phone I submitted at all. Instead, they had opened it up, stripped out the SIM card and the LCD was cracked and the backing scuffed and scratched. What they did was send me back the second phone, which I had honestly declared as poor/broken and kept my good phone. Additionally, they stole the SIM card out of it.

Desired Settlement: I would be content and satisfied with one of two outcomes: 1 - Send me back my original iphone 5c that was NOT cracked and scuffed up -or- 2 - Honor the online amount that was originally quoted, which was $110. At the very least, make some good faith effort to up the amount you would give me for a phone THAT WAS NOT DESTROYED WHEN I SENT IT. $20 doesn't cut it because you kept my good phone to resell at a higher value.

Business Response: Customer submitted three devices under Order ID: ***************, two of which passed inspection at the checked out values. The third device was sent a revised offer since it was described in "average" condition, but upon receipt was found to have a cracked screen. The customer rejected so their device was returned to them. Unfortunately, we remove all SIM Cards during our inspection process for the security and confidentiality of our customers since they can contain sensitive data and we are unable to return them. This is clearly stated in our FAQs and upon completing checkout on our website: *****************************************************************************************************************
A SIM card is issued for free by a carrier so we we would recommend the customer contacts their respective carrier to obtain a new one. Unfortunately, if the customer states their device was not damaged prior to sending it in, we would advise them to file a claim with the **** per our Service Terms:

Shipping the Item: Once you have received the shipping label, you pack the item carefully in either your own shipping carton or use the shipping kit we will provide you and ship it from a **** **** ******. We prepay the shipping costs when you use our prepaid label. However, if you wish to fully insure your package, insurance must be purchased by you at your sole expense. If you choose to use any other shipping service or carrier, you must do so at your own expense.

Our full Service Terms can be reviewed here: *****************************************

If the customer believes the damaged occurred in transit, they would have to pursue that resolution with the **** directly. We can issue the customer an additional $10 payment via PayPal as an act of Good Faith, but we are unable to resolve the issue any further since the device was received with a cracked screen at our facilities, sent a revised offer and returned to the customer per our Service Terms. We ask that this complain be closed. 

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They are saying that my phone is lost or stolen and will not give them back to me. However I contacted Tmobile because I told them I want my phones back and they put a block on it. Now this company will not give me back my phone and will be re-selling it to make a profit without even giving me money.

Desired Settlement: I want either my money or my personal phones back

Business Response: The Order ID: *************** in reference was checked out for two devices, both Samsung Galaxy S 5 SM-G900T ******** phones. Upon receipt of the customer's package, only one device was found. This device was found to have an IMEI (***************) which was not eligible for resale since it was not clear for activation and was being financed on the ******** network (See Attachment 1 - ********Finance). The customer was given the option to clear this with ******** or have their device returned. When the customer opted to have their device returned, it was sent back via **** Tracking #: ********************** and delivered on 7/**/2015 (See Attachment 2 - ****-Delivery). The customer's device was originally quoted at $177, not $500 as this claim indicates and the device has since been returned per the customer's request so we ask that this complaint be closed as resolved in full. Thank you.

7/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: May.**.2015 To whom it may concern; I ***** ***** requested a quote from buybackworld a company that buy old broken or unwanted devices I had a device that I no longer wanted to use I requested the quote on April.**.2015 I thought the price was okay for a new brand new device so I decided to go forward and sell the device for $120 I received the shipping kit on 4.**.2015 I wanted to make this transaction quick due to the pricing to device can dropped the appraised price the shipping box they sent to me was not big enough to place the original box inside of it so I had to remove the phone from the packaging and place into a bubble wrap and cardboard shipping box provided by the company along with the charging cord that the seal was never broken on I shipped off by going to a **** office on 4.**.2015 I was notified by the company upon receiving the device so it could be inspected I was then notified of a revised price of only $75 which I accepted the offering but after accepting the offer I realized that this company sent me a shipping kit with bubble wrap to me that implied for me to take my phone out of the original box and place my phone into the shipping box provided by the company I reached out to the company asking for them to consider giving the amount owed to me being that I sold them a new device for $120 and I was offered a revised price for $75 they declined and told me that I accepted the offer and the reason was because it was not placed in the original box I then told them the reason why the phone was not shipped in the original box and told them that I use the shipping box provided by them and they declined to give the remaining amount of money owed to me i marked the phone as a new device which it was and they should send customers a bigger box to place the devices sold to them the phone was never activated and never used so I feel completely cheated by this company to use that one minor reason to offer a revised price after buying a brand new device from me I am writing this letter in correct or mediate the on going issue I have submitted several other quotes for devices to sell which are in excellent condition I am hoping this problem can be resolved by receiving the $45 owed to me for my device ***** ***** *** *** **** ****** ******** ***** ###-###-#### ********************* Company address and contact information **** **** ****** **** ****** ** ***** ************************

Desired Settlement: Sending me $45 funds that are rightfully owed to be from selling my brand new device to this company

Business Response: The customer sent in their device under Order ID: *************** for a quoted amount of $120. Upon inspection, their device did not match the condition described and the customer was sent a revised offer of $75 on 5/*/2015, which they accepted and confirmed acceptance of on the same day, 5/*/2015. Upon acceptance of the revised offer, they were mailed a check in the revised amount of $75 on 5/*/2015. A customer is given the ability to accept a revised offer or reject a revised offer. If they reject their revised offer, their item is mailed back to them free of charge. Unfortunately, once a revised offer has been accepted and paid, we are unable to alter the transaction.

Per our Service Terms, "You will have the opportunity to accept or reject our revised offer for up to five (5) days (the “Revised Offer Period). BuyBackWorld will also remind you of the revised offer one or more times during the Revised Offer Period. If you do not respond within five (5) days, we will infer your acceptance of our revised offer and automatically process the item at the price quote adjusted by us to reflect the appropriate condition and you will be paid the revised offer price in the normal course and in accordance with these Service Terms. For the avoidance of any and all doubt, your acceptance of the original offer and/or any revised offer is final and you will not be able to change your mind later about accepting such offer."

The customer did not mention any issue regarding the shipping kit we sent them or else we would have gladly resent them a new shipping kit free of charge to accommodate a larger sized item. Unfortunately, since the customer accepted the revised offer and have received payment, we are unable to resolve this issue further.

6/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent in several phones, and relized that I needed one of them back. I canceled the 1 phone that needed to be sent back and have not recieved it back. I have contacted them 3 times about this and they have never returned an email. In one of the emails to them I even said that if they wanted to they could just give me the money for the phone and not worry about sending it back.

Desired Settlement: At this point I would just like to get my $125 and move on.

Business Response: We're sorry to hear about any unresolved issues you have on any open orders with us and want to resolve them for you ASAP. Unfortunately, we would need the Order ID in reference of this complaint so we could provide an amicable solution.

In 2015 alone, you have submitted 14 orders to our website totaling 68 devices so we just need some additional detail to provide clarification on the unresolved order in question.

Once we have this information we will gladly fix the issue for you right away.

In general, we ask that you please direct all customer service related questions to ************************, since we unfortunately have no record of any previous contact from you in our system.

Thanks again for your patience while we check into your order(s) and we look forward to providing you with a resolution in a timely fashion.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Here is the information you requested:

Product / Service: iPhone 5 16Gb ******* Black
Model #: iPhone 5 16Gb Black
Account #: **:************
Order #: ***************
Amount offered: $125.00

I did send several emails to that email address you included and never got any responses, which is why I have given the case to the BBB.

The iPhone was sent with other items, I realized it was the incorrect iPhone, so I canceled it and never received it back, nor did I receive any kind of payment for the device.

Let me know if you need anymore information.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *****




 

Business Response: We're happy to provide further clarification on this transaction and want to resolve this issue for you ASAP.

The device in question originally passed inspection on 3/**/2015 for the original quoted amount, but then was cancelled by the customer three days later on 3/**/2015. Since the device had been processed already, the device was not eligible for return. Since all of our payments run on automated filters, this device was not sent a payment when the rest of the items in the order were paid. The funds have since been sent via ****** to the customer via ** Unique Transaction ID: ***************** to complete the transaction in full and pay the customer in whole.

Thanks again for your patience while we sorted this transaction out and as always, please let us know if you have any additional questions. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *****


 

5/8/2015 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/24/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I mailed 5 cell phone to this company and they guaranteed payment in 3 to 5 days and it been 3 weeks and they wont respond. Ive called the phone # and they keep sending fictitious txt messages back as of 1 minute ago saying they WILL NOT ANSWER PHONE CALLS and to email them in which ive been doing and they will not respond still either Please contact me at ###-###-#### or ###-###-#### Thank You very much Sincerely, ******* *******

Desired Settlement: ASAP MY Money

Business Response:

********* ******** ******* ********* ** ** ******** ******** ************ ************ **** **** ****** **** ****** ***** ** ***** ***** ******** ******** ************ ******* **** ******* **** ******* *** ******* ** ***** ***** ******** ******************* ********* *******

We are happy to provide an update regarding your order, but unfortunately we do not have any ordes placed in our system for you since October **, 2014 which was for one device. This order was paid on 11/**/2014 via check.

If you would like us to provide an update on any additional orders you might have, we would need you to provide us with an Order ID (PS #) which you would have received via email upon placing an order through our website.

It is possible that you placed the order with another company and you are confusing the order with us since you used our services previously in 2014.

Unfortunately, until we receive a valid Order ID to look up your order, we are unable to provide additional updates to you.

We communicated this to you in all of our email responses and can provide documentation of our responses to you via email. Unfortunately, we do not communicate via text or telephone at the moment.

Please provide us with your Order ID (PS #) so we may provide an update to you.

Thank you.

3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent my old phone for buyback services to Buyback World located in ** back on 11/**/14. The company informed me that the product didn't power on so I would not be able to receive the quoted price of $55. Instead they could only offer me $5, at which time I rejected the order and asked for my phone to be returned. During the return process back to me, my screen was cracked and therefore no longer able to be used if needed. The company says that when the phone is in route to me that there not liable for damages and for me to contact **** for damages. I cannot get damages because they didn't buy insurance when they sent the phone back to me. I feel that this company is liable for the phone until it reaches the customer (me) and it should be covered since it was broken because they mailed it back to me.

Desired Settlement: I would request that my phone be repaired back to it's original state. Or it should be replaced or bought at the quoted price of $55 since the phone was damaged on route to me.

Business Response:

We are happy to clarify on your return issue and apologize for any inconvenience caused thus far. Your order was returned to you on 11/**/2014 via **** Tracking #: ********************** because we were unable to reach an agreement regarding the condition and functionality of your device.

Your item was returned to you because you indicated your device was in Excellent condition and 100% Functional. However, upon receipt, your device was found to not power on so it was not functional and we could not pay the initial quoted value. As a result, we sent you a reduced offer which was rejected.

Per our Service Terms, any insurance which you wish to have added to your package should be done at your own expense:

Shipping the Item: Once you have received the shipping label, you pack the item carefully in either your own shipping carton or use the shipping kit we will provide you and ship it from a U.S. Post Office. We prepay the shipping costs when you use our prepaid label. However, if you wish to fully insure your package, insurance must be purchased by you at your sole expense. If you choose to use any other shipping service or carrier, you must do so at your own expense

Additionally, in the event of a Return Circumstance, where your item is sent back to you, you assume all risk of damage in transit since passing of title does not transfer to BuyBackWorld:

Risk of Loss/Passing of Title:You assume all risk of loss or damage in transit until the item is received by us at our processing center. Title to the item does not pass to BuyBackWorld until the item is received and inspected at our processing center. If your item is rejected (due to damage or other issues that were not disclosed in your item form), title to the item will remain with you and the item will be returned to you.Risk of Loss (detail):In the event that you reject the revised offer, your item will be sent back to you via **** First Class mail, **** Priority Mail or ***** ******. A tracking number will be provided to you once your item is shipped back to you. If you do not receive a Return Tracking Number, please contact ************************ and request one. You remain responsible for the risk-of-loss of any and all Products until delivery of the same to BuyBackWorld. You are responsible for any damages that may occur to your Product while in transit. BuyBackWorld is responsible for the risk-of-loss when it opens the packaging containing your Product and ceases in the event BuyBackWorld returns your Product to you for any reason. For avoidance of doubt, in such event, risk-of-loss will be transferred to you once BuyBackWorld delivers the package to the carrier for return to you and you will bear the risk-of-loss in transit. All items which are returned and show a delivery confirmation via the carrier's tracking # are considered final and you bear the risk-of-loss for items which are taken from your property. Returned items will not be shipped with signature confirmation or with insurance. Passing of Title (detail):Title of the Products passes to BuyBackWorld upon BuyBackWorld's receipt and acceptance of the Product for the original quote or the revised offer, as applicable. If there is any Return Circumstance, title shall not pass to BuyBackWorld and remain with you.

Please feel free to review our full Service Terms here: *****************************************

Any packages which are damaged in transit are labeled by the **** as they have very strict delivery guidelines and adhere to extremely stringent standards. Since there was no indication that the package was tampered with, nor have we received any proof that the device was actually received with a cracked screen, we are unable to provide further assistance beyond this.

Furthermore, the device originally failed inspection because it failed to power on, which would deem the device to be “Broken” regardless of a cracked screen or not. If the device had been as described initially, the transaction would have been completed succesfully with no issues.

However, as an act of good faith, we are offering the following resolutions for the customer to choose from:

  1. We can add an extra $10 to our original revised offer of $5 for a total payment of $15 to be sent via ****** to put towards the repair of the claimed damage of the device
  2. If the customer resends in the device to us, we will honor the original quoted amount of $55 and make payment to their ****** ID on file

If the customer wishes to resend in their device, they should send it with tracking to the following address and provide us with the tracking number once it has been mailed:

                   BuyBackWorld

                   Attn: Claims Dept.

                   **** **** ** *** *****

                   **** ****** ***** ** *****

Once the customer chooses their desired resolution, we ask that the BBB please close this case.

Sincerely,

The BuyBackWorld Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ******



 

11/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Selling 4 cell phones. Package received by Buy Back World, inspected and supposed to send me checks totaling $191.00. Never received money! This is fraud!

Desired Settlement: I want my money as contracted. Have proof that delivery was made and inspected. Never received money.

Business Response:

We are happy to clarify on your payment issue and apologize for any inconvenience caused thus far. Your order was submitted to us on 7/**/2014 and received on 7/**/2014 to our facilities via USPS Tracking #: **********************. All four items in your order passed inspection on the very next day, 7/**/2014, and your check was mailed out on 8/*/2014 for the full original quoted amount of $191. At each step of the way, we sent an email update to the email address on file, ************************, to keep you updated as to your order’s progress throughout the entire process.

All checks are sent via USPS First Class and typically take 3-5 business days to arrive, but the USPS states First Class mail can take up to 10 business days to be delivered so that could be until 8/**/2014 from your check mailing date of 8/*/2014.

We provide a detailed breakdown of the timeline associated with each the progress of each transaction at every step of the way via email and also post this on our FAQs here: ***************************************************************************************

Since your items passed inspection on 7/**/2104, which was a Thursday, and the BBB complaint was filed on 8/*/2014, which was two days later and a Saturday, there was no possible way for the check to make it to you in that timeframe nor was it ever supposed to.

If your check still has not arrived by 8/**/2014, please email us at ************************ and we will gladly send you a new check with tracking number to alleviate any further delivery issues.

Thanks!

Sincerely,

The BuyBackWorld Response

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ***



 

7/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent a cell phone to this company ,advertised ,I would receive 51.00 dollars for my phone over 3weeks later ,I received a check for 1.00, i want the other 50.00 dollars i was promised.

Desired Settlement: want my 50.00 the company promised me.

Business Response:

**** ** ******** ***** ******** ***** ***                               ***************    ***** *****                          ********** ******** ******** *****                 *** *******   **** ******** **** *****                          *** *** ** ******* **** *********** **            ******************          ******* ******                        *** ******* ******                      ** ******* ***** ******* ***** ***** * ***** ********* ****** *** ******* *** ** ** *** *** ** ******* ** *********** ******* ********** *** **** ********** *** ***** ** **** *** ********* ******* ****** *** *** ***** ***** *** *** *** *** ********* ****** ********* *** ******** **** ** ** *** *** * ******* ****** **** ** ******* ****** *** *** ***** ** ** ** **** ******* ****** *** ****** *** * *** *** ***** *** *** ***** *** ********** ** *** ******* *******

The device sent in by the customer can be found at the following link:

As a result of these two issues, the customer was sent a revised offer explaining the issues and the revised offer amount of $1 on 6/*/2014. The email also indicated that if the customer did not respond to either accept or reject the revised offer within 5 days, the device would automatically be processed at the revised offer price per our Service Terms. Four days later, on 6/**/2014, the customer was sent a follow-up email reminding them that if they did not respond to the revised offer within the next day, their device would be processed at the revised offer price of $1.

When the customer still did not respond to either email, the device was processed at the revised offer price of $1. On 6/**/2014, the customer was sent a check for the revised offer price of $1.

Please note our Service Terms which clearly explain this process below:

****** *************** *** ***** **** ************ ***** *** * ******* ***** *** **** ******* ***** ** *** **** ******** *** ********** ** ********* ****** *** ***** **** *** ****** ** ****** ****** ** ****** *** ******* ****** ** *** ****** *** ******* ****** *** **** ** **** ** * ****** ****** *** ** ********** **** ***** ******* ****** ** *** ****** *** ******* ****** ************ **** ****** *** ******* ** *** ** *** ******* ** ****** ** **** ******** ****** ***** ********** ***** ** ******** ***** **** *** ** ******** *** ****** *** *** ****** ******** ** ** ****** ******** ** *********** **** *** ** ********* *** **** **** *** *********** ** ****** ** ****** *** ******* ***** *** ** ** **** *** **** **** ******** ***** ******** ************ **** **** ****** *** ** *** ******* ***** *** ** **** ***** ****** *** ******* ***** ******* ** *** ** *** ******* ****** **** *** ***** ** **** ***** **** ********** ** *** ******* ***** *** ************* ******* *** **** ** *** ***** ***** ******** ** ** ** ******* *** *********** ********* *** *** **** ** **** *** ******* ***** ***** ** *** ****** ****** *** ** ********** **** ***** ******* ****** *** *** ********* ** *** *** *** ****** **** ********** ** *** ******** ***** ****** *** ******* ***** ** ***** *** *** **** *** ** **** ** ****** **** **** ***** ***** ********* **** ******

 

A full copy of our Service Terms can be reviewed here: *****************************************

Since the customer did not respond to either email explaining the revised offer to either affirm their acceptance or rejection of the revised offer, we moved forward with processing the device at the revised offer per our Service Terms.

Since the device was not the correct model and was not clear for activation on the respective Cricket network, we are unable to pay the original quoted $51 since this is the value of a far more valuable device. However, as an act of good faith, we will send the device back to the customer via USPS Tracking #: ********************** and kindly ask that this case be closed.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

The BuyBackWorld Team

4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On **March 2014 I initiated the process of having a product evaluated for purchase from me by an electronics buying company. I followed their process and mailed in my product for them to evaluate. Upon their inspection, they decreased their offer to me from $107 to $12 for a defect that was inaccurately assessed. There is no way to speak with any of their representatives to discuss the issue, and I cannot dispute this with them in any way. The issue they described in no way matches the condition of the device I sent to them.

Desired Settlement: I would be content with the original offer they made or some personal contact from the company to discuss this issue.

Business Response: Customer submitted their order on 3/**/2014 and their package arrived on 4/**/2014. The device was inspected on the same day of receipt and found to have a defective battery since the device would immediately power off when removed from the charger.

Due to the defective battery and device's inability to take charge, the customer was sent a revised offer of $12 from the original quoted value of $107, which represented a 100% Functional device in "Excellent" cosmetic condition.

The customer emailed on the same day the device was inspected, 4/**/2014, asking for the device to be retested due to an "incorrect" assessment.

The customer received a response on the same day they initially emailed, 4/**/2014, letting them know that the device would be rechecked on the next business day by a ******* to confirm the status of the device.

After a ******* reviewed the order, the device was indeed confirmed to not be able to hold a charge so in-turn, the customer rejected the revised offer. As a resultn, the device was promptly shipped back to the customer on 4/**/2014 via USPS Tracking #: **************and is scheduled to be received back by the customer on 4/**/2014.

Unfortunately, since the device was deemed not 100% Functional by various members of our Quality Control Team and the device was sent back to the customer promptly in accordance with our Terms and Conditions, we are unable to resolve the issue further and will consider this case closed once the device is returned to the customer. The customer has been informed of their device's status at every step of the way and there has been direct communication with the customer on numerous occasions via email.

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not received payment for 2 phones I sold to ****** Holdings LLC DBA Buybackworld.com. In a written contractual agreement, through their website, they offered $2.00 for my Motorola Droid 1 A855 Verizon, I accepted, and they claim a payment of $2.00 was sent by USPS on 12/**/2013 under order #***. According to the terms on their website, payment should be received within 10 business days or 14 calendar days. I requested by email reissuance of the check on 01/**/2014 and 01/**/2014 and still have not received payment. In addition, according to the companies billing department, I am still owed $6.00 for order #**********for a HTC Droid Incredible ADR6300 Verizon under the same terms as above. Lastly, it is the billing departments claim that I cashed a $6.00 check twice for order #***********which at the time I believed was for order #************. I never requested a duplicate check for $6.00 under that order number. I have stored the emails as proof if you require them. They have also blocked the reissued $6.00 check resulting in bounce deposit item fees in the amount of $80.00. I have attempted to resolve this matter through emails with them resulting in no success. I am asking for $6.00 for order number #**********, $2.00 for order *************, and $80.00 for bounced check fees due to the fact they reissued the wrong amount for an unrelated order # all in certified or money order funds. Lastly, I ask for a standard hold harmless agreement against myself from ****** Holdings LLC in regards to these transactions against any future liability. Lastly, I ask ****** Holdings LLC to close my account and agree never to contact or involve me in marketing purposes again. I ask all of these things to be made whole again.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for $6.00 for order number #***********, $2.00 for order ***********, and $80.00 for bounced check fees due to the fact they reissued the wrong amount for an unrelated order # all in certified or money order funds. Lastly, I ask for a standard hold harmless agreement against myself from ****** Holdings LLC in regards to these transactions against any future liability. Lastly, I ask ****** Holdings LLC to close my account and agree never to contact or involve me in marketing purposes again. I ask all of these things to be made whole again.

Business Response:

Business/Consumer Response & Rebuttals:

Case #: *****

ORDER DETAILS:

Order ID:                                             various (6)

Order Date:                                        various (6)

Customer Name:                            ******

Customer placed six (6) separate orders through BuyBackWorld.com and sent in devices for four (4) of the orders. The orders the customer placed and sent in are summarized below:

Order ID

Order Date

Order Value

Status

Customer Request

**

1/**/2014

$6.00

Paid

Resend Check

**

12/**/2013

$33.00

Paid

--

**

12/**/2013

$2.00

Paid

Resend Check

**

12/**/2013

$6.00

Paid

Check which was originally resent, resulting in duplicate check being cashed.
Customer requesting bank fee credit

 

Due to the nature of our business, our financial institution automatically rejects any checks which are not pre-approved by our business or are cashed in duplicate. Since the customer emailed customer support stating they had not received the $6 check for their order, our billing department reissued their original $6 check using a reprint option. When the customer went to deposit this check, it came up as a duplicate item on our account and was rejected since the original check had already been cashed by the customer.

In order to make whole on the transaction, we propose the following solution:

  • Reprint and send the checks for Order IDs **and **in the amount of $2 and $6, respectively. These will be sent with tracking so there are no delivery issues.

PLEASE NOTE: Since these checks have already been sent out on 1/**/2014 we ask if the customer does receive the original checks for these amounts first, they do not cash the additional checks because this will cause our bank to reject the second set of checks, resulting in more bank fees which we cannot be held responsible for.

  • As an act of good faith, we will also include a credit of $25 for bank fees, which is the standard charge incurred for these types of fees.
  • We will delete the customer’s account as requested

If this is deemed acceptable by the customer, please let us know so we can provide the tracking number for these next set of checks and resolve the customer’s issue ASAP.

Sincerely,

The BuyBackWorld Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved once I have received the funds.

However, I request the credit of $25.00 in the form of a check also be assigned a tracking number.

And to clarify, I never requested Buybackworld.com resend a check in the amount of $6.00.  They did so in a clerical error.  I have documentation to that effect.

Sincerely,

*************


 

Business Response: Customer's payment of $33 total outstanding has been sent via USPS Tracking #: ***and should arrive within the next 3-5 business days. Total outstanding customer payment was calculated as follows:

 

1.  Resent payment in the amount of $2.00 for their order number ****.
2.  Resent payment in the amount of $6.00 for their order number ***.
3.  Sent a $25.00 credit to cover  any bounced deposit item fees.

 
If this is acceptable, please close the case.
 
Sincerely,
The BuyBackWorld Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ************, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

*************



 

11/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Buy Back World on their internet site about selling a Verzion Black Berry Bold 9650 in excellent condition. Buy Back World said they would pay $50 for the phone and would send an envelope for mailing. The instructions were to place in provided envelope with power cord after charging. I did as instructed. It was determined upon arrival that the phone had a scratch . This was a new phone out of the factory box which was NEVER used. Buy Back World informed me that they would now purchase the phone for $20 or have it returned. I asked that the phone be returned. I received the phone( I still saw no scratches) minus the factory power cord. I was told that the accessories are separated from the phone upon arrival and they could send a generic power cord. This is not acceptable. I want the original $50 offered for the phone or I want the factory issued verizon power cord returned.

Desired Settlement: I want the $50 promised to buy the phone which is not defective or a new verzion factory issued phone exact model with power cord. i believe my phone was damaged in shipping using the envelope provide or upon inspection at the company. Again this was a new phone right out of the box!

Business Response: Customer was sent a revised offer due to a condition difference.
Customer checked out “new” condition, but their device was found to be in
“excellent” condition due to the fact that it was used and was not factory
sealed. In order to qualify as “New”, the website found at ******************** explicitly states
that the device must be “Brand New in Box SEALED”, never used or opened. Even
if the device is never used, but the seal on the box is broken, the device will
not be graded as “New”.

Customer was given a choice to accept or reject the new
offer. Customer chose to reject the revised offer and their device was promptly
sent back to them via USPS Tracking #: **********************, which was
delivered on **/*/2013.

Upon receipt of their item back, customer claimed they did
not receive their charger back. Although it is not company policy to return any
accessories sent in with a device, a brand new replacement charger was sent to
the customer via USPS Tracking #: ********************** as an act of good
faith. This was received by the customer on **/**/2013.

Since the customer has received both their device back and a
replacement charger,  we ask that the
case kindly be closed.

Sincerely,

The BuyBackWorld Team

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I agreed to sell my phone to them for $80.00, I mailed my phone , they admit they have received it, however no communication since that point. Email says it will take 48 hours and that was on 9/**/13. I have emailed and called with no response.

Desired Settlement: Either payment or return my phone.

Business Response: Customer was sent a revised offer due to a Bad ESN. Customer checked out their iPhone in “Excellent” condition, but their device was found to have a Bad ESN, making it unable to be activated by a new user. A device can have a Bad ESN due to the following reasons:
    
Device being reported lost or stolen

Unpaid Bill

Device is still “active” on an existing account

 

Customer was offered the choice to either:

a) clear the ESN for full payment

b) accept the “Poor” price of the device

c) Have their item returned to them

 

The customer chose to have their item returned to them and it was shipped back to them via USPS Tracking #: **********************, which
was delivered on 10/**/2013.

Since the customer has already received their device back, we ask that the case kindly be closed.

Sincerely,

The BuyBackWorld Team

11/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent a phone on for a $129 credit and phone was not opened. Next thing i know it is revised to $75. I am okay with that, but sent numerous emails about my monies and have not received any check for the phone.

Desired Settlement: Please send check or credit my paypal account.

Business Response: Customer was sent a revised offer due to a condition device. Customer checked out “new” condition, but their device was found to be in “excellent” condition due to the fact that it was used.
Customer was issued a check payment via USPS Tracking #: ********************** which was delivered at 10:56 am on 10/**/2013.
Since the customer has already been paid, we ask that the case kindly be closed.
Sincerely,
The BuyBackWorld Team

11/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent my phone to this company. I then received an email stating the LCD screen was broken (this was not true) with a revised offer of half the original offer. I rejected the offer and requested my phone be returned. I received my phone (no physical signs of damage) with a dead battery and without the charger, which was shipped with the phone. Due to this, I have been unable to examine the screen for the defects this company claimed the screen had. I emailed them about this issue, requesting my charger or reimbursement. About 2 weeks have passed since the first of two emails was sent, and I have yet to receive a response from this company.

Desired Settlement: I request that my Apple brand charger or a replacement Apple brand charger be sent, or that I be reimbursed the necessary funds to purchase a new Apple brand charger.

Business Response: The customer’s device was sent back to them when they
were sent a revised offer they did not agree with. Upon receipt of their
device, the customer noted that their lightning USB Cable was not included in
the return. While we make every effort to return a customer’s device with the
accessories they came with, we cannot guarantee they will receive their
accessories back.

This is stated throughout our FAQs, Service Terms and
email communications.

Please see our FAQs detailing this here:

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I accepted an offer to sell my iphone 5 to buybackworld.com (***************) as they claimed to offer the most for your used smartphone. I had the choice to select Excellent or Average condition of my phone. Excellent paid $355 and Average paid $345. I selected Excellent as that was my evaluation of my phone's condition. I was just informed today that they are adjusting my offer to $100 less and now offering me only $255 as they rated my iphone 5 as being in Average condition which I disagree with. I asked them if they want to rate my iphone 5 as average then pay me $345 which is the amount they were offering when I accepted their initial offer. Now they have given me the choice to accept or reject their adjusted low ball offer. Below is my email correspondence with them today after they informed me of their adjusted offer. Hi ***, Thanks for contacting BuyBackWorld.com, the #1 place to get cash for all your used electronics! We strive to thoroughly inspect all devices and take proper care to make sure they are not damaged while in our possession. We do know we sometimes value your items differently than you do. Unfortunately the condition of your item differed once inspected and was found to be ‘Average’ rather than ‘Excellent’. Please respond to our previous email regarding the Revised Offer so we may proceed accordingly. If you have any further questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us directly. Thanks again for choosing BuyBackWorld.com, where your business is our pleasure! Sincerely, *** ************ **** ******************** Instant Quote. Quick Ship. Quicker Payment. Description: ********************************************* Follow us! Description: twitter1 Friend us!Description: facebook1 Need Help? Reach a human directly at ************************ 24/7/365! From: *** [***************************] Sent: Thursday, October **, 2013 12:05 PM To: ************************ Subject: FW: Your Attention Required: Your Apple iPhone 5 16GB **** ***** Has Failed Inspection and Your Offer Has Been Adjusted Importance: High This is very disappointing that you are now trying to low ball me after I trustingly sent in my iphone in excellent condition. At the time that I got my offer of $355 for excellent condition, you were offering $345 for Avg. as well. I will only accept $345 because I chose to send it you I passed on another offer for the same amount. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From: *************************** ************************************ Sent: Thursday, October **, 2013 7:12 AM To: ******************** Subject: Your Attention Required: Your Apple iPhone 5 16GB **** ***** Has Failed Inspection and Your Offer Has Been Adjusted BuyBackWorld.com | My Account Customer Service: ************************ Your Item ID: ************ Order Date : 09-**-2013 19:17:12 Hi ***, WE’VE SENT YOU A REVISED OFFER When our Quality Control Associate inspected your Apple iPhone 5 16GB **** *****, they found some conditions that affected the value of your item. Here's what they found: You identified your gadget in Excellent condition, but we found it to be in Average condition. Specifically, your item displayed the following: the mute button does not slide properly. The mute button is a little stiff upon moving. ACTION REQUIRED You have until Tuesday, October **, 2013 to choose one of the following options or we will automatically process your Apple iPhone 5 16GB **** *****. CHOOSE HOW TO PROCEED I want to accept the revised offer of $255 I want to REJECT the revised offer and have my item sent back to me Sincerely, ******************** Invite friends and spread the word Share our service with your friends and help them earn some extra cash too! About Us | Legal | Contact Us Over 100,000 people have turned to us to trade-in their electronics. Hundreds more join every day. U.S. customers may contact us in care of our subsidiary: ***************** **** **** *** *** ****** **** ****** ***** ** ***** ********************. ************************ Copyright * ********* ****** ******** ***** **** All Rights Reserved. Patents Pending. BuyBackWorld is not affiliated with the manufacturers of the items available for trade-in. BuyBackWorld and the BuyBackWorld logo are trademarks of ****** ******** ***** ****, registered in the U.S. All other trademarks, logos and brands are the property of their respective owners. If you'd like to unsubscribe and stop receiving these emails click here.

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay me at least $345 for my so called average phone that they claim it is. They should honor what they were offering at the time I accepted their initial offer Excellent = $355 and Average = $345 as they still want to purchase the phone from me and i don't want it returned until this has been resolved fairly.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

At this time, my complaint, ID ******* regarding Buy Back World has been resolved.


Sincerely,

*** *******

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I agreed to sell four devices to BuyBack World. These are: an iPhone 3gs, 32GB, a first-gen iPad, 32GB, a BlackBerry Playbook, 32B, and an iPhone 4s, 64GB. They have confirmed that they have received all four devices. They claim to have sent payment for the iPhone 3gs and iPad but I have received no payment. I received mail on Oct. * that my iPad had passed inspection and that I would be sent a check within 2-3 business days. That check was supposedly sent on Oct. **. The iPhone 3gs passed inspection on Oct. *. That check was also supposedly sent on Oct. **. BuyBack World received the BlackBerry Playbook on Oct. *. It has been in the "box received" status since that date. I do not see evidence of any forward progress. BuyBack World received my iPhone 4s on Oct. **; at this time I do not have an issue with the amount of time elapsed with this item.

Desired Settlement: I expect immediate and full payment for the iPhone 3gs and iPad. No excuses. BuyBack world has already failed to meet their guarantee of payment within 2-3 days. I expect them to complete the inspection and send payment for the BlackBerry playbook as soon as possible. They should not have taken this long to inspect this item. I will expect a check within the guaranteed 2-3 days once the inspection is complete. I expect a timely inspection and payment for the iPhone 4s. None of these expectations are unreasonable; BuyBack World's web site gives the distinct expectation that processing and payment of items sent to them will be done quickly. Especially if the items are in good shape. All of the devices I sent to them are in like-new condition, I've not received any questions or notifications from BuyBack World that they would need to adjust their offer price. BuyBack World needs to honor their commitments!

Business Response: The customer has been issued check on all their order, as summarized below:

To date, we show each check has been cashed as confirmed by the following information:

Based on this information, we ask that you please close this case.

Thank you!
Sincerely,

The BuybackWorld Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I agree that BuyBack World has indeed paid me all of the money they promised.

 
But, they did not do so within the promised time period (2-3 days after passing inspection) for three of the four devices that I sent to them.  Based on these facts I would ask that BuyBack World not set an expectation that customers will receive payment within 2-3 days.
 
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *****



 

11/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I mail my phone to buy back world on 10/**/2013. They told me they mail the check on 10/**/2013 the first email told me to wait a week. Today is 11/**/2013 no check I have talk to the post office it may only take 2 to 3 days to get the check from ny to ga. Today the *** I email they told me to wait until next week to get back to them.

Desired Settlement: I just want the 175 I was told by check via USPS priority mail with tracking number.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,
***** *******


 

11/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got a quote from Buy Back World for my used Samsung galaxyII cell phone.They quoted me 66.00 to buy back the phone and charger.The day before I mailed the phone to them I took it to my local Sprint store and had the phone put onto a machine(connected through the charge port}and completely scanned the interior hardware to be sure everything was O K.I had been using the phone right up to that day when I purchased a new cell phone.I had no problems at all with the phone I was just ready for an upgrade.Sprint offered me 45.00 for the phone as everything was working and there was no physical or water damage.I chose to go with Buy Back World as it was almost 20.00 more.I mailed the phone and charger to them with a pre-paid label Buy Back World provided.After about 6 days or so I received an email stating that the phone had damage to the hardware and was unusable and that it also had a cracked screen.Obviously a cracked screen would have been noticed by both myself and Sprint.They told me they would give me 5.00 for the phone.This is clearly a bait and switch but with a twist I then received the phone back and the screen was cracked so I could no longer even sell it to Sprint.I also was missing the battery and the charger which I have not received to this day.

Desired Settlement: I feel I should be given the 66.00 I was quoted because the phone which was completely checked inside and out the day before shipping could not be worth only 5.00.It is now without a charger or battery and can not be powered on and the screen is cracked.Buy Back World is a scam and a bait and switch.I only sold the phone because I upgraded not because of any problems.The phone was a little over a year old and had the box and user's manual.The website stated that the quote was guaranteed but turned around and offered me 5.00.They falsely advertise and took a perfectly good phone removed parts and returned to me.Somehow the screen also ended up broken so I cannot even sell it to another company that is not a scam

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Buy Back World regarding complaint ID *******.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response: ORDER DETAILS:
Order ID: ***************
Order Date: 09-**-2013 12:20:36
Customer Name: ***** *****

ITEM DETAILS:
Item Name: Samsung Galaxy S II SPH-D710 GS2 Sprint
Item IMEI/Serial #: **************
Initial Quote: $62
Revised Offer: $5
Revised Offer Reason: Device was checked out to be in “Excellent” condition, but upon inspection was found to be in “Poor” condition due to: Damaged LCD -  a crack on the screen and does not function
The device was received with a crack at our facilities; we are not in the business of cracking devices upon receipt. It is possible the device was damaged in transit, but the customer did not purchase insurance on their package and they bear full responsibility for the device while in transit, per our Service Terms:
Shipping the Item: Once you have received the label, you pack the item carefully in either your own shipping carton or use a box that you purchase at a USPS location and ship it from a U.S. Post Office. We prepay the shipping costs when you use our prepaid label. However, if you wish to fully insure your package, insurance must be purchased by you at your sole expense.
 
Risk of Loss/Passing of Title: You assume all risk of loss or damage in transit until the item is received by us at our processing center. Title to the item does not pass to BuyBackWorld until the item is received and inspected at our processing center. If your item is rejected (due to damage or other issues that were not disclosed in your item form), title to the item will remain with you and the item will be returned to you.
If you choose to use any other shipping service or carrier, you must do so at your own expense.

Resolution: As an issue of good faith, we can issue the customer a $40 credit via PayPal (their preferred payment method on file) to the PayPal ID ****************** if they accept and the case is closed.

11/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sent in phones for cash and haven't received my payment yet

Desired Settlement: I want my payment

Business Response: Consumer Info


Consumer’s Original Complaint:

Sent in phones for cash and haven't received my payment yet

Consumer’s Desired Resolution:

I want my payment

 

Business/Consumer
Response & Rebuttals:

 


Initial Quote:$269

Revised Offer:                               

Revised Offer Reason:  Device was paid in full on 9/**/2013 via PayPal Unique Transaction ID *****************


ITEM DETAILS:

Item Name:                                        Samsung Galaxy S 4 SGH-i337 GS4 AT&T

Item IMEI/Serial #:                         ***************       

Initial Quote:                                     $341

Revised Offer:                                  $--

Revised Offer Reason:  Device was paid in full on 9/**/2013 via PayPal Unique Transaction ID *****************

 

11/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I mailed two Galaxy SII phone in Samsung Galaxy S II SPH-D710 GS2 to buy backworld using their prepaid mailers. The first phone I mailed (Box ID ***************) was successfully paid $62 which was fine. The second phone (Box ID ***************) was mailed in identical condition and instead of the promised $51, the email from buy backworld.com claims the LCD was cracked (which it was not!) and instead are only willing to pay $5 (less than 10% the original promised value). The phone was in perfect condition when it was mailed and I need to be compensated $51 immediately or returned the phone in the same perfect condition it was mailed. To pay any less than $51 or return a destroyed phone is nothing short of fraud.

Desired Settlement: send $51 to ***************** or return the phone undamaged and in perfect condition it was mailed.

Business Response: Consumer’s Original Complaint:

I mailed two Galaxy SII phone in Samsung Galaxy S II SPH-D710 GS2 to
buybackworld using their prepaid mailers.



The first phone I mailed (Box ID ***************) was successfully paid $62
which was fine. The second phone (Box ID ***************) was mailed in identical condition and instead of the promised $51, the email from buybackworld.com claims the LCD was cracked (which it was not!) and instead are only willing to pay $5 (less than 10% the original promised value).

The phone was in perfect condition when it was mailed and I need to be compensated $51 immediately or returned the phone in the same perfect condition it was mailed.

To pay any less than $51 or return a destroyed phone is nothing short of fraud.

Consumer’s Desired Resolution:

send $51 to ***************** or return the phone undamaged and in perfect condition it was mailed.

Business/Consumer Response & Rebuttals:

10/**/2013

*** *** *****

The business has not responded to me directly Better Business Bureau:



At this time, I have not been contacted by Buy Back World regarding
complaint ID *******.



Sincerely,



*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and if they will complete the paypal payment of $50 as promised, I will find that this resolution to satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved once the payment is received.

 
Buybackworld: Please send the paypal payment of $50 to: *****************

Sincerely,
*** *****



 

10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent in a phone that I was selling and they said it passed the inspection but that was a week ago and they have not paid for the phone

Desired Settlement: I want my money that what I want

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ********



 
The business has paid case closed

9/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted the company to sell an old prepaid phone. They gave me an offer of $84 but then they send an email saying $25 because the device has a bill due, bad esn, and is stolen. All of these untrue things. Its impossible for their to be a balance on prepaid service (the service is paid a month in advance, prepaid. There is no contract), secondly the device has a good esn as Ieven contacted boost, also is not stolen. I ******* ******* am the registered owner. I think its very uunethical for this company to attempt to get over on consumers. I sent an email asking that my device be returned and the email they returned to me only said I rejected their offer. Yes I did reject, there's no way id take $25 for a $400 device. I have pictures of my device as I packed it up to send to buyback and if my phone isnt returned, or returned in its original condition, I will bring forth legal action. Ive read reviews and it seems that this company does this to all its consumers. I have also documented reports and reviews from multiple sources.

Desired Settlement: I would like my device returned in its original Condition and also an apology. I also would like buyback world to stop scamming

Business Response: Case #: *******

ORDER DETAILS:
Order ID: ***************
Order Date: 07-**-2013 20:11:37
Customer Name: ******* *******

ITEM DETAILS:
Item Name: Samsung Galaxy S II 4G SPH-D710 Boost Mobile
Item IMEI/Serial #: **************
Initial Quote: $84
Revised Offer: $25
Revised Offer Reason: Device was checked out to be in “Average” condition, but upon inspection was found to have an ESN which was not clear for activation by a new user on the Boost Mobile network, rendering it in “Poor” condition which is clearly illustrated on the checkout page of each and every item. 
 

The BuyBackWorld.com site is very thorough and explains in great detail what an ESN is. 
Furthermore, upon inspection if an item is found to have a Bad ESN, we offer customers the chance 
To clear the ESN with their mobile provider so they are still able to receive the full value of their 
Device if they can clear it for activation by a new user.


 

As of the latest ESN check today, the device is still not clear for activation by a new user on the
Boost Mobile network. Please see below screenshot:
******************************************************************************************* 

The customer’s Samsung Galaxy S II 4G SPH-D710 device was checked out on BuyBackWorld.com
on July ****, 2013 and sent in via USPS Tracking #: **********************

The item had the following history while at BuyBackWorld:
• Arrived August ****, 2013
• Inspection Failed August ****, 2013
• Revised Offer Rejected August ****, 2013
• Item sent back August ****, 2013 via USPS Tracking # **********************
• Item delivered back to customer August ****, 2013

Per the customer’s request, we promptly returned the device to them as indicated by the item history disclosed above. We apologize for being unable to complete this transaction in a satisfactory fashion, but unfortunately we are unable to purchase devices which are not clear for activation by a new user.
Since the customer’s device has already been returned to them, we ask that the case kindly be closed.
Thank you.

Sincerely,
The BuyBackWorld Team

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damaged my phone to reduced quote by more than $100! They stated that the phone has a cracked on the top right. then reduces my offer to $60 from $170. I almost cried because the only reason I traded in my phone (that was in great condition) was because I needed the money to take my sick puppy to the vet and i am not working now so I could not afford the medical bill. I would have never used this company other wise. I was in dispair and that is what these types of company look for, people with a need for a desperate reason. When I sent it, I sent a almost new phone in and when I got it back the etched out indents were on the top right and an almost identical indent on the bottom left. This was weird (note: every place I took the phone told me the damage was as a result of some techician tapering with the phone. One technician said the damage clearly was made when they were trying to remove parts from my phone! I was devistated! A source told me buybackworld.com intentionally damages, "accidently drops and bumps into machinery while accepting the phone from USPS", "damages the phone while removing the SIM Card" , a small % of electronics they recieve. Certain people selling are so desperate they still accept the lowered offer because they believe they must have miscalculated the quality of the phone. I could not believe it! I never knew that companies were damaging electronics on purpose to increase their profits and rip off people in this bad economy. I emailed them and informed them that their claim was wrong. They appologized that we could not come to an agreement via email. When I investigated them and found their phone number and called they stated their company is under survallance and slipped in the question of "uhm" do you have any proof? Once I informed them about why I submitted the phone, informed them that I had photos and signed statements from various professional technicians, and I saw that they did not care and kept trying to scare me with the fact that they have survallence footage I humbly asked them to please give me the survallence footage they stated they had so I could take it to my lawyer to see what case we would have against them in civil court. Once they heard this they hung up the phone and blocked my calls. I am a peaceful and forgiving person when it comes to me but when someone's fraudulant behavior endangers the life of my tiny puppy I am like a mother bear whose cubs are threatened. This may not seem like a big deal to some but ******* treatments could have been handled better had I gotten to the vet earlier. After this happened I had to to let people know to stay away from this company and report them on business reporting companies so that all animal lovers like myself would know to boycott companies like this.

Desired Settlement: Either Buybackworld.com takes the phone they damaged and give the amount agreed on in addition to an apology and compensation to help with the trama we had to go through with ******* - my puppy - at that time due to their fraudulent actions.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Buy Back World regarding complaint ID *******.

Sincerely,

* **********

Business Response:

Case #: *******

 ***** ******** ***** *** *************** ***** ***** ********** ******** ***** ********* ********** **** ******** **** ***** ****** * **** **** **** *********** ** *************** ******* ****** **** ******* ****** *** ******* ***** ******* ****** *** ******* *** ** ** ** ****** ********** *** *** ******** **** * ******* *** ** *** *** ***** ******* ********* ** ****** ********** *** ********** ****** * **** **** ****** *** ******* *** ** **************** ** *** *** **** *** **** ** *** **** ******** ** *********************** The item had the following history while at BuyBackWorld:

  • Arrived June *, 2013
  • Inspection Failed June*, 2013
  • Revised Offer Rejected June*, 2013
  • Item sent back June*, 2013 via USPS Tracking # **********************
  • Item delivered back to customer June *, 2013

 

During this time no parts were removed, nor was there any repair attempt made. We do not perform repairs in-house and devices are simply updated as passed inspection or failed inspection based on how we receive a customer’s device in comparison to their evaluation during checkout.

Per the customer’s request, we will issue the original value of $170, plus an additional $20 for any inconvenience caused as an effort of good faith to make whole on this transaction if the customer is willing to send their device back in with the provided return shipping label (attached).

Once we receive the specified device (IMEI ***************) in-house, we will promptly issue payment of $190 via PayPal to the indicated ID of *****************.

If the customer is in agreement with this resolution, we ask that the case kindly be closed.

Thank you.

 

Sincerely,

The BuyBackWorld Team

7/27/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent in Electronic items for money back. Havent received anything bavk yet. Thr box ID # ****** **** **** *. It was 7 items. I emailed then several times with no feed back.

Desired Settlement: I want my $188.00 sent to my paypal account.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *****



 

7/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently mailed my phone to buyback world to sell I recently received email say ing they received my phone in good condition second email received phone not in the package that's and error. I emailed them no response

Desired Settlement: I expect a check or return of my phone

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

At this time, my complaint, ID ******* regarding Buy Back World has been resolved.

(By clicking "OK", your complaint will be closed as Resolved.)


Sincerely,

***** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Buy Back World
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)