BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mad Mimi, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mad Mimi, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mad Mimi, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 13, 2009 Business started: 04/01/2008 in NY Business incorporated 04/30/2007 in NY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Category

INTERNET MARKETING SERVICES


Additional Locations

  • 1 Prospect Park SW

    Brooklyn , NY 11215

  • 1562 1st Avenue  # 205-6464

    New York, NY 10028

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mad Mimi has not stopped spamming me with adds for ****** ** ***** a client of theirs. I have had e-mail exchanges with ***** of ****** ** ***** that have proved fruitless. I have used the "unsubscribe" feature on the ****** ** ***** add three or four time to no effect. Note: I made a purchase from ****** ** ***** some months ago. I unsubscribed from their daily e-mails only after calling ****** ** ***** directly and complaining. Now there new adds from my old information that I thought was ended. Someone is using my old information to spam me and I am not happy.

Desired Settlement: Have Mad Mimi completely and forever not ever contact me and that goes for ***** and ****** ** ***** in spades.

Business Response: Mad Mimi is a permission-based Email Service Provider and does not support or tolerate unsolicited sending (i.e. spam).  This report was the first notification we've received from the complainant, and resulted from a brand new sending account in it's first day of operation.  We take spam complaints very seriously, and have taken immediate action, investigating and halting the sending in question.  We've also ensured the recipient address associated with the complaint will not receive any other email from our network (although they were not present in any of our clients' databases).  Please let us know at ******************* if we can ever be of further assistance.

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business is sending me unsolicited emails. I have never signed up or requested to be on any of their email lists, or any organization associated with them. The solicitation email has a link at the bottom of the email to unsubscribe, but the link does not go to a page to unsubscribe, rather, it goes to a page that says " You're not lost… You're just taking the scenic route." It sounds like someone's idea of a joke, but I'm not amused. From this page, there is no clear path to unsubscribe from their email lists. This is harassment, not to mention not complying with the federal law governing unsolicited emails.

Desired Settlement: There are very strict, very stiff penalties for any company who knowingly allows this to happen. It should be brought to their attention and if not fixed immediately, this complaint should serve as notice for any possible penalties to be brought against the company. At the very least, I deserve an apology for the incontinence of all of this. It is difficult to believe that the company would not be aware of this problem almost immediately, and nearly impossible to believe that they wouldn't be aware of it within a few hours of it happening. This is, after all, their business.

Business Response: Hey all,


***** here from Mad Mimi. The complaint in question was in reference to an email that wasn’t actually sent via Mad Mimi's servers. The link contained in that message was created using tools in a Mad Mimi account, but that link and all other content was destroyed in February when we first detected the sender was abusing our tools. 


The abuser set up a Mad Mimi account, then copied the content (including the Mad Mimi redirect links). The abuser then sent the content outside of Mad Mimi's servers, using their own personal inbox. The “You’re Not Lost..” page that the complainant saw occurred because we broke all malicious links. Instead of redirecting to a possible phishing or spam link, we broke those redirects to show an error message instead.


Mad Mimi is a strictly opt-in service, and we fight spammers to the best of our ability. We hate it when spam like this contains anything associated with us, and we’re committed to shutting down any and all spam accounts as soon as we detect abuse.


Our Delivery and Compliance team was able to contact the complainant via email, apologize for the inconvenience, and work together to clarify the details of this particular case.


I do encourage anyone with questions or concerns to get in touch with our team at *******************. We’re available 24/7/365 and always happy to help resolve any issue!


Thanks,
*****

9/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this company send out spam e-mail. I do not wish to receive any e-mail from them or any of their customers at anytime

Desired Settlement: removal from all e-mail lists including any future list.

Business Response: Hi there,

Here at Mad Mimi we hate spam and take many precautions to prevent unsolicited email from being sent. We review every new account, require them to confirm that their email list has directly opted in to receive emails and we then monitor send results 24 hours a day to look out for any warning signs and abuse complaints. We work directly with ISP's to ensure compliance and take immediate action if a sender is not in compliance.

In this instance, regarding ***'s complaint, we've removed his email address from the sender's account and also made sure that no other Mad Mimi users may email that address via any other account in the future.

I appreciate *** bringing this to our attention and we're currently working with the sender to ensure that they're in compliance with Mad Mimi's permissions policy and ISP guidelines.

Regards,
****