BBB Accredited Business since

Brothertech IT Services, Inc.

Phone: (888) 543-5027 Fax: (516) 726-8254 View Additional Phone Numbers 113 Barnum St, West Babylon, NY 11704 http://www.brothertech.us View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brothertech IT Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Brothertech IT Services, Inc. include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Brothertech IT Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 29, 2013 Business started: 08/10/2012 in NY Business incorporated 08/10/2012 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Rajesh Wanchoo, Owner
Business Category

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY SERVICES COMPUTERS SOFTWARE & SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
Uno Com Tech

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brothertech IT Services, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 113 Barnum St

    West Babylon, NY 11704 (516) 697-1080 (888) 543-5027

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint: I had a virus warning on my computer and could not use it and to call an 800 number (the name Microsoft was also in the warning making it look related). It was blocked and the only way out was to call a number. Two hundred dollars later I have my computer. When I stated It was more than I could pay and I was told I had no choice. They were courteous and gave me much information, but I had no choice than but to pay them. Although they made me think they cared the point is I had no choice but to pay them or I could not use my computer. It makes me wonder if I had a virus at all! I called Microsoft the same afternoon and they removed whatever BrotherTech put on the machine. I called BrotherTech and was told they would give me a partial refund. Desired Settlement: Please do not block computers and tell the owners they have no choice but to use your services and have to pay to regain use. I do not believe there was a virus, since you were the only business responding. Full refund!

Desired Settlement: I called the next business day, Monday, and asked for a refund and was told that was not possible. I believe I have been taken advantage of and would like my money back. The full $199.99.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *****



 

4/25/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My senior relative saw a pop up on the PC screen, which took up the whole screen, that announced that our computer was being hacked and all our accounts were in danger. The message told him he needed to call a number right away to ensure our accounts wouldn't be attacked. He called the number, answered by Brother Tech IT Services, where a rep said they needed access to our computer to help us; my senior relative gave access to Brother Tech. They then told him they could prevent hack access, but needed to charge his credit card $400 to help and would contact him each month to continue to "optimize his protection." They also asked for his mother's maiden name, which he gave them. Later, we had to have Apple remove and correct the things Brother Tech did; they turned off our firewall protection (that they would presumably later tell us they needed to turn back on for more money) and did other harmful and unnecessary things to our computer. We're now very concerned about what they are going to try to do with the maiden name information. We cancelled the credit cards and have new ones now. NO ONE should respond to ANY TYPE OF SERVICE LIKE THIS. Don't panic or click on any message like this - just talk to your regular computer company instead.

Desired Settlement: This charge should be refunded and we want no further contact from this company or any of its AKAs.

Business Response:

Hi All,

 

First of All, I have let you know that we did not call the customer , customer call regarding the issue on the computer , when we are working on computer , cust disconnect the remote and want money back at the same time we voided the payment and detail are given below 
Transaction ID Void Result ********** Success

Regards,

Brothertech

 

 


1/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a virus warning on my computer and could not use it. It was blocked and the only way out was to call a number. Two hundred dollars later I have my computer. This is not the first time I have paid hundreds to gain access to my computer. When I stated It was more than I could pay and I wanted to seek out someone else, the sales guy got his supervisor. They were courteous and gave me much information, but I had no choice than but to pay them. Although they made me think they cared the point is I had no choice but to pay them or I could not use my computer. It makes me wonder if I had a virus at all!

Desired Settlement:

Please do not block computers and tell the owners they have no choice but to use your services and have to pay to regain use. I do not believe there was a virus, since you were the only business responding.

Billing Adjustment

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

********* *****



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Brothertech IT Services, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart