BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

Global Industrial

Phone: (516) 608-7000 Fax: (516) 625-0038 11 Harbor Park Drive, Port Washington, NY 11050 http://www.globalindustrial.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Global Industrial meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Global Industrial include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 10, 2013 Business started: 01/01/1949 in NY Business incorporated: 01/09/2001 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Donna Gehnrich, Legal Dept. Manager
Business Category

INDUSTRIAL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES OFFICE SUPPLIES STORAGE UNITS – PORTABLE OFFICE EQUIPMENT APPLIANCES-SMALL-DEALERS


Additional Locations

  • 11 Harbor Park Drive

    Port Washington, NY 11050 (516) 608-7000

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/**/2014, I ordered 45 cooler pads for a total of $561.38. The website stated that package quantity was 3 and sold in packages of 3. I did an online chat with their rep to confirm if there were 3 per order or 9 per order. The rep confirmed that there were 9 per order. I ordered 5 cases expecting to receive a total of 45 cooler pads. I received 15 cooler pads in which 3 of those cooler pads were damaged. I called customer service and eventually spoke to their customer service lead ***** ******* who apologized for their rep providing the wrong information and that they would not stand behind what I was quoted. I have a print of the item in question, the chat log and the order confirmation all confirming 5 cases ordered. ---Chat Log--- System is getting started. [Saturday, June **, 2014 12:03:55 AM] Topic: ********* so is there 9 total or 3 total? A representative will be connected, please be patient. Agent ******* enters the chatroom. Agent ******* 12:04:15 AM Hello *****, my name is Agent *******. ***** 12:04:22 AM hi Agent ******* 12:04:47 AM I'd be glad to help you on your inquiry on item *********. ***** 12:06:15 AM so is it 3 or 9 count for $74.85? Agent ******* 12:06:32 AM *****, it shows that if you order item *********, you'll have 9. ***** 12:06:38 AM ok Agent ******* 12:06:59 AM *****, you'll have a total of 9 for $74.85.

Desired Settlement: I currently have 12 usable cooler pads. 3 cooler pads damaged were refunded and I am confirming amount of refund. I would like the remaining 30 pads to be shipped at no cost since I purchased this quantity to begin with.

Business Response: *** ******,

We apologize for the confusion with *** ***********'s order and for the incorrect information given by our customer service rep. Please be assured this is being looked into internally. Please note that as soon as we were informed of the damage to the 3 pads a credit was issued and processed back to the customer's credit card. When the customer mentioned the error with the chatter we offered to return what was purchased for a full refund provided they are in the original packaging and unused and we still stand by that offer. We cannot send an additional 30 pads to the customer for free as that would be enriching them unfairly and be a high cost to us. Please let me know if you have any further questions or require additional information.

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Air conditioner did not work. The company does not accept returns for this item and did not notify me of that. They referred me to the manufacturer Fridgidaire/Electrolux who is the topic of another BBB complaint.

Desired Settlement: To refund for broken goods or offer repair replacement in a timely fashion Theere should also be follow up to see if that happened.

Business Response: *** ******,

We immediately looked into this issue as soon as we received the complaint. According to our *** ******** ******* *******, the customer first called customer service on 6/** and we called our supplier and they sent a technician to the customer's location to review the unit. The technician determined that the unit is working properly and as purchased but the customer has an "L" shaped room and the unit is simply not big enough for the space they are trying to cool. We called our supplier to obtain a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA), however because the customer had installed the unit, our request for a return was denied. We cannot resell a unit that has been installed and used.

***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because.  
There has been no visit to my home to inspect. The unit cools 2 degrees only regardless of kength of time running. If you check with Fridgidaire the information provided by Global was inaccurate incomplete. I explained that the roon was all open no walls and less than 300 square feet . All experts in AC business and fridgidaire say that is adequate and should cool to less than 79 degrees. Global did not explain accurately causing extensive delays requiring me to handle defective equipment warranty issue myself I am requesting refund.

 They lied in their response stating a technician inspected the unit. No one came to see the unit run.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ******** *******




 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The unit is not working it has not cooled more than  4 degrees since purchase the room is less than the recommended square footage the retailer quoted. There is nothing unusual about the room. I have to replace the unit immediately and can not wait for replacement for healtg reasons. It is nearly 90 degrees in the house at times. I am requesting a refund for return of the unit 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ******** *******



 

Business Response: Our customer service agent spoke with the customer last Tuesday. Customer has sent the labels back tot he vendor as requested and we are just waiting for the vendor to receive them and issue us the credit. Once we receive the credit from the vendor a credit will be issued to the customer. *** ******* agreed to this process and was not upset about waiting for the credit. She knows once the labels are received she will be getting full credit for her purchase. We are following up with the vendor daily to determine  when the labels are received and will continue to do so.

*****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April ** 2014 I called global industrial with questions about their mosquito fogging productthey sell called Hudson Fog...The lady I spoke with on the phone told me on the phone the active ingredient was .2% resmethrin...I then ordered the product. My invoice states I ordered ***** * * ****** ******* Fog refill. I did recieve product called mosquito beater made by Bonide. Listed are 3 active ingredients but none say resmetherin which I ordered and paid almost 13 bucks shipping for.I contacted their company and they first implied they had made a mistake.They latyer replied they called the manufacturer and that the bonide will work in my fogging machine and more or less im stuck with it...Even though that is not the item they advertised or the item I ordered.

Desired Settlement: I just want the product I ordered the one they have pictured on their website that says Hudson Fog.

Business Response: *** ******,

Our customer service rep has spoken with the customer and has offered to credit them in full for this product. A credit has been processed in the amount of $29.26 and will be applied back to the credit card used for purchase. I believe this resolves the issue. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any additional information.

*****
?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We boaght 3 locker room benches. Part # WB183672A, description saying - ASSMBLED, but it came not assembled and 2 weeks later tahn they promissed. also they advertise same bench on different Part # WB183672C, #WB183672P, WB183672K and dont know what differnce between of them. Lot of confusion and big dissapointment. My maintenance guys spend 4 hours to assemble. Hardware come bad and missing i need all new screws to mont bench top.

Desired Settlement: $495.

Business Response:

We found no record of the customer ever contacting us with any issues. We have reached out to the customer via email and confirmed to him that the product is advertised as unassembled. We have offered him a $25 discount against their order for their inconvenience. We have not heard back from him as yet. Please let me know if ou have any follow up questions or concerns.

 

*****

 

***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

I placed order for assembled benches, and i attached a copy. I need to get approval from my manager.
Later i turn papers to accounting. maybe for global benefit they put different number. After that i do not have any control. I need to replace all hardware to assemble benches and hardware cost to us more than they offering. Also my maintenance people spend 4 hours of labor. Global always try to cover up. This is our last order from them. Confusable advertisement and bad product.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *******



 

Business Response: Please note that we do not advertise this item (benches) as an assembled item. It is unfortunate that there was a misunderstanding by the customer when ordering. As a good faith measure, we would like to offer *** ******* a $50 credit for any inconvenience he incurred. If *** ******* agrees, he can contact ***** ******* at *****************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me send $50 credit and the matter has been resolved.


Sincerely,

**** *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: May ** 2013 I bought electrical heater Part #wc608019 -$247.06 made by ***** from Global industrial. Even I asked different unit made by comfort zone Part#t9zb82592 -$124.95. But sales person **** ****** sold me more expensive unit. Really bad advertisements, complications even manuals hard to get and not enough information. Totally confusion. Upon arrival, I inspected unit and find small dents and scratches. Inform global industrial. Install heater according local codes and was ready for winter. But unit was defected and not running as indicated. Constantly minute on minute off and in arctic December temperatures was freezing temperatures. Contact manufactory and Global industrial. They promised to send me new unit. And forget, need contact again. Bad service. Bad product. 2 month later finally have new unit. Install. Works fine just for few days and second unit went bad. No temperature control. First unit send back and Global industrial promised refund. Just still promises. No refund. Lot of different persons from Global Industrial blaming and pointing different ways including **** ******, ***** *******, ****** *****, ******** ******** and others. I do have other unsolved problem with them water heater L5 they sold to me witch is bad since arrived. Some how Global industrial just promising and never stand by they’re word.

Desired Settlement: $4995.95

Business Response:

*** ******,

 

Thank you for forwarding *** *******' complaint. I have spoken with our customer service team and they have reported the info below:

The order number for the purchase detailed below is ******** This order was actually placed on May ****, 2012 and shipped the same day. The customer contacted customer service on December ****,2013 to report that they were having a problem with the fan. We made arrangements to have this unit returned to the vendor and we send the customer a replacement.

The replacement was entered and shipped on January ***, 2014. The customer contacted customer service on January ****, 2014 to report that the heater was not working and that he wanted to have it returned for a full refund. We received return authorization from the vendor and sent that to the customer on February ***, 2014 along with a call tag for the customer to ship the defective heater back. We have been following up with the customer to see when he will be shipping the defective unit back and have not received a response and there is no movement on the call tag we provided to him.

Once the unit is returned the customer will be given a refund for the full purchase in the amount of $247.06

In the claim he lists the disputed amount as $4995.95, I am not sure where he is getting this figure from or if it is just a typo. This customer also only placed 3 orders with us last year and this one was the only one he had a problem with.

Please let me know if you have any follow up questions or require additional information.

 

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

*** ******,

***** makes typo on her own.  The order number for the purchase detailed below is ******** This order was actually placed on May ****, 2012 and shipped the same day. 

In May 2013 I placed order for electric garage heater made by  *****  or marley it confusing  in listings saying  ***** but on unit  marley.  Anyway  two (2) units and both not working. Yes I send both back, but they saying lot of different things. And I constantly informing global industrial. I can submit all my emails. Sales person **** ****** insist me to by this one more expensive instead other one. And  I was asking lot of questions about product but nobody knows.  Asking for manuals back and  forward, before place on order. They sell and no more responsible.!?? Yes I’m asking $4995.95 reimbursement. It is not typo. I’ll explain. There was my project I spend over $3000 to insulate my garage and install garage heater. Another planed  project was my hose remodeling and I bought a lot of products (primers, paints, speckle, sheet rocks and etc.) to do in winter  time. But it has spoiled, because of faulty heater.  Ones again never to buy anything from global industrial again.

 Here some conversations.

Look I went true arctic cold all December and I received unit on January ****.  This is more than 2 month of cold. And I get really true. If you look below there is another unit I was interested, but some how you sell me more expensive, which is “crap”. I was running 5 space heaters to keep temperature above freezing and I used a lots of extra energy because of “crap” unit. I want refund.!!!!.

Just reminding you about another “crap” you sold to me L-5, which is still unsolved.!!!!!!!!!!

****,

**** **** **** ** **** **** ******* *** * ***** **** *** ******* **** **** ** *** ***** * *** ** ******* ************* ** ** **** *** ** ******** ******  **** *** ******* *** ******* **** ** ** *********** **** *** ***** **** *** ***** *** ******* ****** **** * *********** ***** ****** ** * ****** **** *** *** *** ******* * ***** ** ****** ****** ********** ******  ** ********  **** **** **** **** ******** **** *******  ** ****** *** * **** *********** ***** *** ****** ********** ******  ** ********  **** **** ****  **** **** ******* ****  ***************** **** ** ****** ******* ***** *********** ******** *** *********** ** **** ******* **** ** ***** ****** *********** ** **** ******* ***** ********* **** ** ******** *** ***** ********

.

In 2012 I did place order for portable water heater made be  Eccotemp model L5. Came defected call global and manufactory. Also went to local hardware store to make water heater to work temporary. Manufactory send me replacement part, which was wrong and came winter time I bring unit in the hose for winter storage and contact global for help. Still waiting.?

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *******



 

Business Response: Please see the timeline below regarding the ***** heater issue.

05/**/2013 – *** ******* placed O# ******* for a ***** heater.  The customer called on 12/** to report an issue.  We issued return #****** with UPS tracking #******************.  This tracking number was returned to the supplier and credit was issued on 2/**/2013 on credit memo# ******* & applied to invoice *********
 
01/**/2014 – Order# ******* was placed for a replacement ***** Heater (to replace the one returned on the above, original order).  The customer called on 1/**/2014 to report an issue.  We issued return#****** with UPS tracking #******************.  This tracking number, when viewed on ***********, shows it was issued by never used by *** *******. If *** ******* chose some other method to return the heater he must provide us with proof as we have no way of knowing the heater was returned. The tracking number *** ******* keeps providing is for the first returned heater for which he was refunded.
 
Customer Service even called our supplier today 4/*/14 to make sure the replacement order had not been received by them and they have confirmed that it has not been received.
 
If the customer will provide us with another tracking number he used for the 2nd heater he returned, we will be happy to research that and assist in getting the credit issued.
 
As of now, the tracking number he is providing is the one for the original order and we have already processed that credit. I am sorry *** ******* is upset, but without proof that he returned the heater we cannot refund him the money. We supplied him a return authorization and he chose not to use it. Perhaps he can check with UPS if that is where he believes it may have been misplaced.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 Hard to believe who is in global industries "SCAMMERS". I'm tiredof of that, but i will go ahaed. They don't read my emails. I WANT my FULL REFUND of $402.06 and i attached conversations.!!!

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *******




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We placed a large order of office furniture. I chair arrived without all the parts & damaged and a partition arrived damaged.

Desired Settlement: We would like them to send us a new chair (to replace the one that came broken and with missing parts). We would like to keep the chair parts that we have as spares and in exchange we will drop our complaint about the damaged partition. If they are not willing to do this they can send us a new chair and new partition and when we get them we will use the packaging from the new ones to package the damaged products (as we do not have the packaging). They could then have a Currier pick the defective products up and ship them back. Considering that we live on an island 100km off the north/west coast of Canada I think it would be cheaper and more convenient for both parties to take our offer.

Business Response: *** ******,

When the customer initially contacted us regarding the missing part, nothing was mentioned of the damaged panel. We decided to have the defective/broken chair returned. A replacement has already been entered to ship the customer a new chair - Replacement Order # ********, which should have shipped from our NJ warehouse yesterday. Customer Service has decided that the incomplete chair should be returned to our warehouse. We will pay all shipping costs associated with the return. We will also be shipping them a new partition at our expense. We do not need the damaged partition returned to us. Our customer service lead has sent a couple of emails to *** ********* informing him of our decision and to confirm that he accepts it. We will hopefully hear from him shortly and this matter will be resolved.

*****

***** ********
***** ********** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Global Industrial sends us junk mail. We have written to them, faxed them, made numerous telephone calls, and they will not stop sending us junk mail for the last five years. The **** ******* makes a committment to be good to the environment and Global Industrial is just adding waste to the landfills.

Desired Settlement: We would like to see no more communication from this company for any telemarketing or advertising purposes.

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding the complaint. Please be assured that the proper people have been contacted in our organization and Toto at **** ****** ********** ****** ********* ** has been suppressed from the mailings.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any additional information.

 

***** ********

***** ********** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved as long as they do what they say.  If I continue to get mailings I will write again.

Sincerely,

******* ***********



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan *, 2014 I called to confirm quantities and minimum shipping requirements prior to placing an order online as the website was unclear. A sales associate clarified that the website item description said that there was a quantity of 2 pans per order and that there was a minimum order requirement of 2(which would be 4 pans total). I confirmed the price and quantity if I ordered 4 of the item described and it was roughly $220.00 for 8 pans. I received and email confirmation of my order that verified 4 orders were placed and they should ship in 3 -5 days. I called and spoke to Britney the week of Jan **** to see the status of my order and she said she would have to call me back before the end of the day. I didn’t receive a call so I called back a day or two later and talked with her again and she explained that the manufacturer wasn’t answering her calls. She put me on hold and talked to them and told me that the pans were shipping that day. I received the pans on Jan **** and there were only 4 total. I called and talked to ****** on Jan **** and she told me that the website was clear that I was only to receive 4 after I tried to explain to her the calls I made prior to the order. I asked to speak with her ********** and after 8 minutes of holding I spoke to ****** who said that if I could not tell her who I spoke to originally, then there was nothing she could do. The packing slip I received clearly shows that I should have received 8 pans but she made no attempts to offer any resolution or compensation for the error, but instead insisted that I didn’t understand the website. Only after I threatened to file a complaint with the BBB did she offer a $50 discount, which I could care less about because I needed the pans for this coming weekend more than anything.

Desired Settlement: I would like to recieve what I ordered which would be 4 additional pans

Business Response:

*** *******

We have looked into this customer's complaint and it appears to simply be a case of misunderstanding. We have contacted the vendor who unfortunately does not have any stock of the product and since time was important to this customer, we have agreed to give him a full credit for the 4 pans that they did receive thus allowing them to keep the pans for free. We have tried a number of times to contact the customer to let them know prior to us crediting their account but have been unable to reach them. We will keep trying. I just wanted to get back to you and let you know where we are with this matter.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/27/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 6 heaters from Global, and they were the wrong ones, I had to pay alot of money to send them back, and they said that I would have my refund back within two weeks. That was almost a month ago, and their customer service representative ***** *******, keeps giving myself and my wife the run around and wont refund our money. We are on a fixed income and could not afoord the shipping costs anyways, and they still wont give us an answer to our questions. We have attempeted to contact these people 20+ times to no result.

Desired Settlement: I just want our money back so we can never deal with these people again. They have our bank account number and they can deposit the money back into our account. The boxes were never opened and I have an email from them stating they would give us the full refund and wave the 15% restock fee because it cost so much to ship them all the way accross country to where they wanted them.

Business Response:

*** ******,

Our customer service department issued a credit on 12/**. Accounting was then notified to process the credit back to the  customer's card on the same day. Our accounting department sent the credit through yesterday. We cannot say when the customer's bank will put the money back into their account.

 

***** ********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a ladder from Global Industrial. When it arrived we discovered it's missing some of the parts. We got the list of parts from them, but we could not tell what is what. The assembly instructions were also not clear. As a result, we cannot put it together. We had multiple requests sent to the company, including ****** ******** *** ********* *** to provide us with the description of all the parts so we can let them know what's missing, and give us clear instructions for assembly or accept the return. They are not responding to our calls and emails and have refused to issue a refund.

Desired Settlement: We need the ladder, can someone work with us to help us determine what parts are missing and once they are delivered, to give us clear instructions for assembly. If this is not possible, we require a refund.

Business Response:

Please see the response below from our customer service team. I will keep you appraised of any changes. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any further questions.

Donna

Good Afternoon ********,

A replacement order has been entered for the customer, I contacted him to advise him that we would be sending the replacement and also that the original ladder would be returned. He apologized for the confusion and stated that this was his side partially to blame. He explained to me that the two people from his school were no longer with the company and he had no other way to think of contacting us for assistance other than the BBB. I spoke to the vendor and they will try to provide us with approval to return based on the situation but cannot promise full credit due to the amount of time that has elapsed.

Once I have an update on the status of the RMA and it is in process I will update you again. I advised the customer that I will be in contact with him frequently and we exchanged all contact information.

Thank you

******

Thank you,

****** ********

*** ********* *** ****** ********** *********

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I am waiting for the pick up of the old ladder and the arrival of the new one. Hopefully the new ladder will arrive with all the parts. Once that's done, the case will be resolved. 

 
Also, I did explain to ****** that two people from our unit tried to resolve this issue with Global Industries over a period of 4 months. Neither of these people are with us anymore. That's why I took it upon myself to correspond with her, so there is no more switching of contacts. I filed the complaint with BBB only after I was unable to connect with her over email or phone. I emailed her to ask her to book a time for us to speak, and I also left a voicemail. When she did not respond I filled a complaint. But, I also said we could take a portion of the blame, as our unit is going through a reorg, and we had to switch to another contact person 3 times in a 4 months period. 
 
BTW Should I remove her name from the complaint? I couldn't figure out how to do that. Please let me know.

Sincerely,

***** *********



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought 4 each of the 72"W model of "Wide Span Rack 72x36x84 Tan With 3 Shelves Laminated Deck 900 Lb Cap Per Level (Stock No: **********)". Received the racks. Put them together. Realized they didn't give me the center deck support. I called several times to ask them to ship the supports to me. After 1 week they told me "they were not included" then proceeded to show me the product webpage where a tiny sentence under the picture said, "Does Not Include Center Deck Support". I was stunned, because I know that just a few weeks earlier the website mentioned (and showed!) that it was included. I checked ****** cache on the product page from a few weeks before (when I reviewed the product) -- there it was! "This 72inch W model with 900 lb. capacity per shelf includes 1 center deck support per shelf." There is even a separate picture that even shows the middle deck support with caption, "Includes 1 Deck Support Per Level" (Adds 20% Greater Capacity and Strength)". I have a copy of the before / after website product pages to prove that they pulled a "bait and switch". The nasty ******* ******* that I ended up speaking with scolded me and told me that they were not included, even after I presented her with the evidence above. She stated that their policy had just changed and they decided to remove verbiage that mentioned it being included and added the tiny sentence that the center deck supports were not included. This was a complete "bait & switch". I went ahead and ordered (and paid for) the center deck supports to ensure that these racks didn't collapse and to save myself the headache of trying to deal with this awful company. I was a first time buyer. Thought I would try them out, never again.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the additional $76.76 that I had to pay to receive these center deck supports.

Business Response:

*** ******,

A credit for the cost of the supports will be issued to the customer today. Please note though, that the product number that the customer quoted in his complaint (********) is not the product that he ordered. The product that he stated he ordered (but did not) does come with the center supports. The product ******** that he actually ordered and received does not and is made to support up to 750lbs. The other product ******** which has a 900 lb. capacity does come with the supports. I believe the customer was confused but we have requested a refund for the amount he paid for the supports anyway.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any further questions.

 

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ***********



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.