BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

Slipcovershop.com, Inc.

Fax: (718) 478-1049 View Additional Phone Numbers 58-25 Laurel Hill Boulevard, Woodside, NY 11377 http://www.slipcovershop.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm is an online retailer of furniture slipcovers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Slipcovershop.com, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Slipcovershop.com, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 13

Additional Complaint Information

This firm has not responded to our request for basic information.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1998 Business started: 07/01/2003 in NY Business incorporated: 01/01/2003 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lillian Nazginov, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lillian Nazginov, Vice President
Business Category

HOUSEWARES - RETAIL

Alternate Business Names
Easy Fit Inc. Futons To Go Life Style Futon Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 58-25 Laurel Hill Boulevard

    Woodside, NY 11377

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (718) 478-0304(Phone)
  • (800) 478-5089(Phone)
  • (888) 405-4758(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before I begin, I would like to say that I have never filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Never. But this was the worst customer service I have have ever received. I placed an order for a olive green slipcover. When I received the product it wasn't green at all. It was brown. So I called the company and they stated I had to pay to ship it back to them. I didn't feel that was fair because it was a complete mis-representation of the colour that was shown on line, so I ordered a different colour completely and also ordered 4 swatches of different colours and fabric. I didnt't voice my opinion to them at that time in any way. I decided that I would pay the 13.00 to ship it to them. When I sent the product back, I included a letter stating that I really liked the quality of the fabric but the colour was wrong and didn't look anything like it did on line. Not even close. But I was cordial and even said I was happy with the fabric itself. I followed the USPS tracking # and when I knew that they had recieved my return, I called to re-verify my new order. She stated that yes, they did recieve my return and they were inspecting it. I knew there would be no problem with that, I sent it back the way I received it. She said she would return my call. I didn't receive a call back. I had to follow up with them. It was during this conversation that she stated I had to pay the 10.00 to receive it, I had to pay for shipping. The first thing that came into my mind was that if I hadn't called I would have been waiting for my return with no knowledge that I would have had to pay for return shipping. I said that wasnt appropiate. She said it was my fault for the return, so I had to pay the shipping. I felt angry that I already paid to ship it and then I didn't recieve a call back to let me know when I would receive what I purchased. I asked to speak with someone else. She said it was my fault, I had to pay the 10.00. I stated that I was unhappy with the way I was being treated. It wasnt appropiate to not return my call and I wouldnt have even known to pay the 10.00 if I hadn't called them. She was argumentive with me, and said she would cancel my order. I stated that isnt what I wanted. I was upset that I had to pay to ship it to them and to receive it. I said that wasn't right. It wasn't good customer service. And to not return my call was not correct. I would have been waiting for something that never would have been shipped back to me. I gave her my debit card number, she took the number and while she was taking my number she was still arguing with me. I called my common law husband. He called the company and said he was upset with the way they handle business and said we wouldn't do business with them again. He then called me back and said to completely cancel the order. I called the company back and she said she already canceled my order, without my authorization. She stated my husband :threatened" her. I refuse to let her lie about my husband. He wasnt inappropiate with her in any way. She is was inappropiate and rude from the moment I talked to her. She was saying that she was going to cancel my order when I was talking to her, before he even called. I tried to call back and she kept hanging up on me. I would like my money back and I have no faith that they will honor my request in a reasonable amount of time. I tried to call back to ask when my refund would apply and she refused to speak with me or put me on the phone with someone else.

Desired Settlement: A full refund and an apology.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the complaint that *** ******* has submitted and would like to explain what had happened.

 On 2/**/14 *** ******* ******* contacted us asking if we had received her return, she said the tracking info shows that we had received it. Jessica tried to explain that when the package is received, it is in the warehouse and needs to be inspected. Once the inspection is done the order is then brought in to the office.  *** ******* wanted to do an exchange for a different color and we had told her that there is a shipping fee of $10.00. We explained that our website clearly states our terms and conditions which, she had agreed to, "Customer is responsible for all shipping charges" and that is when *** ******* got very angry and asked to speak to a *******. ******* who is the ******* tried to explain the shipping fee and had also offered to send out a fabric sample prior to the exchange.  *** ******* got upset and did not like the answer that she was still responsible for the shipping.  Evelina had explained that she if she wasn't happy we can cancel her order, she agreed to pay the $10.00 fee and provided a credit card number. She then had he husband call us and the first thing that he said was" Do you know what "**** and ********  are and that we will BASH you", we had told him that it’s illegal to threaten and he can do as he pleases.  We said that we are cancelling the order and a refund will be issued.  After we had spoken to the husband, ******* called and said she wasn't happy and wants the order to be cancelled, we said that we had just spoke to her husband and we are cancelling the order, she wasn't happy with that either and accused us of lying.


Our web-site has clear images of all our products and we offer free fabric samples prior to ordering so the consumer can see and feel the fabric before they place an order.

 A refund of $69.00( which is according to our terms &conditions)  will be issued by end of business day on 3/*/2014


Thank you,

*******


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved

I read what the business has said in response and it's not correct. I paid for the shipping when it was sent back to them. So I kept my end of the agreement, even when I didnt agree with it. It wasnt the right colour at all, it was a complete misrepresentation. When we received the package it didnt have anything on the label, the shipping bill, nothing to verify what the colour was. Regardless, it wasnt the right colour at all. When I called to find out if they received the package they said yes, it was being inspected, they would call me back. I didnt recieve a call and the next day after, I had to call back. I feel angry that if a commitment is made to call a customer, it should be kept. It wasnt. I would have been waiting for a package that wasnt going to arrive. I  feel angry that I had to pay to ship it back. I didnt think that was right. When I spoke to the second lady, I explained myself about everything. Her attitude was extremely unprofessional.  She was threatening to cancel my order as I was talking to her. I said I didnt want that. Instead of resolving it in a professional way I felt she was more concerned about winning the argument. I felt like she was taking it personally. I wasnt yelling or getting abusive, I was trying to explain why I was upset, not just about the 10.00 shipping fee. She kept saying, I'll just cancel your order. It was frustrating and I felt like I was being treated badly. I still gave her my card # and she was still arguing. The next thing is I refuse to allow her to lie about my husband. He never said he would bash them or anything. When I read what she said I knew right there she was lying. First of all, I asked my husband to call because I knew he would handle himself in an appropiate way.  He was trying to work things out. He said that he would contact someone only after she continued to being argumentive and threatend to cancel our order and was being difficult. He called me back and said I needed to cancel the order. What really bothers me, is that if anbody was threatening it was her. She was threatening to cancel my order basically as soon as I talked to her. She wasnt worried about being professional or customer service or anything. She was worried about being right. How she acted was completely inappropiate on so many levels. It was the actions of someone who was inexperienced.  I also want to point out that we requested the refund on Friday, and in her statement she didnt apply the refund until 3 business days later. I find it interesting that it wasnt done on the day we requested but only after the Better Business Bureau became involved. I think that says a lot about the person that I'm writing this about. She was going to make us wait until she felt like giving us the refund. This will not be resolved until we receive an apolgy and until the refund has been applied to my account.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *******




 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that

It isnt appropiate at any time to argue with a customer. That's basic knowledge of customer service. She states that she isnt even in charge of refunds, yet she argued with me about it. As I was trying to explain myself, she was threatening to cancel my order.  I can understand if I was acting irrational, I wasnt, and neither was my husband. This will not be closed until we get an apology. The way business was handled was unprofessional and inappropiate. She refuses to acknowledge she was wrong in any way. I wouldnt escalate a matter this far, if I didnt feel that the way she conducted herself was wrong. It was. I've never reported a business before to the Better Business Bureau, so it's saying a lot. And if I request a refund, I expect it to be done on the day I asked. Not 3 business days later, after the BBB gets involved, did she decide at her convenience, to honor my request. There is nothing professional in that way of thinking. The matter isnt closed until we receive an apology.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *******




 

Business Response:

The refund was issued according to our terms and conditions.  We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you and consider this case closed.

 

 

Thank you,

*******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a slipcover for a full sized futon that fit fine when we originally received it. We put it on without washing it first. As it wasn't used very heavily we did not need to wash it until a year and a half later. When we washed it we were very careful to follow all of the care instructions, including washing in cold water and hang drying. After washing, the slipcover is about 6 inches too short and 2 very strong men could not pull the cover over the mattress. We have tried stretching it but nothing works., making the slipcover unusable. When I called to issue a complaint over the phone I was told repeatedly that they would only offer me a 10% off coupon for a future order. 10% off seemed to be a very unacceptable solution to me, as I now have a 100% unusable product for completely no fault of my own. I was told that a "supervisor" would call me within a few days. It has now been well over a month and the supposed supervisor has not contacted me at all. I am very dissatisfied with how my complaint was handled when they have clearly used a fabric that shrinks even when washed properly, yet they will not admit it.

Desired Settlement: I think at least a 50% refund if not a full refund would be appropriate. A 50% off coupon for a future order would be acceptable but I still would feel wary ordering from this untrustworthy company.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the customers complaint and the only thing that I can offer is a 10% discount on an item that was purchased almost two years ago.  If the items are washed according to the instructions they should last for years, however when instructions are not followed and are out of our warranty time, the customer is not entitled to an exchange or a refund of any kind.

 

Thank you,

*******

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 It does not even look like the business had read my complaint, or are choosing to ignore important information.  I said VERY CLEARLY that I had washed the set following directions VERY CAREFULLY, yet the business had mentioned that I had not followed the instructions.  Also whether this happened a year and a half after buying or 11 months after buying makes no difference.  The point is that this was the first wash and the set would have shrunk regardless of when that first wash was.  This was not a product malfunction that popped up after a warranty period.  This is a product that from the beginning would not have held up to what the company is claiming, and this is unacceptable.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

*********** ****




 

Business Response:

I am sorry that our response is not to your satisfaction. I read your complaint and will again repeat what we have said, if the item was washed according to the instructions the cover would never have shrunk. The fabrics that we carry are upholstery grade and are used in the furnishing industry. We have not had any complaints in regards to this fabric in the past.  There is nothing else that we can do but offer the discount on future purchases.

 

Thank you,

*******

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 Then you are telling me to my face that I am lying?  This is ridiculous.  I have made it very clear that I followed the instructions carefully, then you are pointing the finger at me telling me that I'm lying.  I am not sure how to even respond to that, other than that this is NOT acceptable and this issue is NOT resolved whatsoever, and I hope other customers can read this and see that you will accuse them of lying if there is an issue with your product.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

*********** ****




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company charges $10 shipping for APO address PER ITEM, even though they are only sending one box. I find this unnecessary price gouging to military addresses. I contacted the company regarding a refund of $30 and the response I got was: "** ******, We will not be issuing any refunds for the shipping as I have explained the shipping charges to you. We will process your order now. Thank you *********************** "

Desired Settlement: I'd like them to change the policy, and refund part (if not all) of my shipping due to the unnecessary and unfair policy. I've never seen a legitimate company charge shipping per item v. per box.

Business Response:

Hello ******,

I am responding to your claim that you feel that we are charging you more money then you should be paying.  I would like to clarify that we do not charge any one more money that what is posted on our site no matter where we ship to. You did contact us in regards to the shipping fees and our customer service department did reply back and also attached a shipping price list that is shown on our site. I will explain how the shipping fees are calculated which can also be verified on our site.

When a product is put in to a shopping cart the shipping is then calculated based on the dollar amount of the shopping cart and not per piece. Any package that is sent to an APO, AE, Puerto Rico and Alaska will incur an addition charge of $10.00 for the whole order and not per piece. 

We are a reputable company and have been in business for many years and your accusation is uncalled for.

We are cancelling your and a full refund will be issued immediately.

Sincerely,

******* ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

See attached. The business said it charged me $10 in shipping when, in fact, it charged me $40 for shipping for 1 order. As you can see the business response is not correct. I actually did want the order, but I wanted them to be honest about the shipping charges. Unless they actually change the policy and charge people at military addresses correctly (that is $10 total not $10 per item) then they are still price gouging and have not fixed the problem. 


Of course I will accept the refund if they do not want to make my slipcovers, but the issue with the shipping cost to APO/FPO addresses is still unresolved. 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *****




 

Business Response:

The refund has been issued. We have tried to explain to the customer that we don't charge per item, the shipping fee is based on the dollar amount of the shopping cart. in this case the shopping cart was $262.00 (see our shipping rate for details) so the shipping fee is $30.00 plus an additional $10.00 for an APO address. This is common with any online store and we do not price gouge any one.

 

Thank you,

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a custom slipcover. 3 simple measurements, Width, Depth , Height, a plain rectangle. When I received the cover, I was very pleased, the fabric and construction appeared perfect. The fabric on the website (brushed denim, poly cotton blend) stated that it was machine washable. I washed and dried it gentle cycle before putting on my cushion. When I tried to put it onto the cushion I discovered it was MUCH too short. I measured the cover, and it was 63" long, vs the 70" I requested. When I called the company, they asked me to send a photo with a tape measure on the cover. I complied, however the photo was blurry, my husband had to stand on a ladder to get the entire cover into the photo, and used his cell phone camera. You can however, see the basic markings on the tape measure, and tell that the cover is only a little over 5 feet long. When I told the representative that I had laundered the cover, she told me that they would not replace/refund. She told me that the website and the tag on the inside of the cover recommends dry cleaning. (conflicting with the website - I would not have purchased a dry clean only fabric) She told me they would not be able to tell what the cover looked like "originally". I find it implausible that the cover could only shrink in length by that amount, and that the zipper would not be affected. She told me they would not accept the cover by mail to look at it, and they would "return to sender". I understand that if I was trying to return this cover because of an error on my part (I didn't like the fabric, etc) why they would not help me in this matter, but this is their mistake, and it is a very obvious one if you measure the cover.

Desired Settlement: send me the correct slipcover.

Business Response: The customer purchased a Custom Zippered Cushion Cover and contacted us stating that the cover she received was made incorrectly. We reviewed the order and confirmed with production that the cover was made correctly to the measurements provided on the order. As part of our procedure we requested that she send us a picture evidencing the incorrect measurement. As the picture was not clear we asked that she return the cover for inspection. As per the customers own admittance, she did not follow the care instructions that are shown under the product details. She stated that the cover was washed in medium cycle and machine dried. As per our care instructions, we recommend dry cleaning custom slipcovers even if the fabric is machine washable.According to our policy, custom slipcover are not returnable. We also do not accept laundered slipcovers for return or exchange. We attempted to assist the customer, however she replied with profanity and insults. We offered a discount of 15% towards a replacement slipcover however the customer refused.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I DID NOT use profanity.  I came very close, but as someone that worked in a service related business for years, I try to avoid that.  I was and am very angry about this.  I would still like to see a piece of fabric that only shrinks on one measurement, the other measurements were perfect. 

I also did not receive the offer for the 15% off, and I will take this.  I am stuck with this unusable cover, and after searching online, it appears that this company is the only game in town.  Have to admit, I will wash this one also, but ONLY AFTER MEASURING IT FIRST!  Please tell me how to receive the discount.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,
****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Site states that all products are in stock and ready for delivery. I selected a futon cover with a 10" loft so it would go over my mattress. This is a selection readily available and offered through a drop down on the company website. The company states that since I chose an option other than 8" loft, that my order was "custom" and as such, is non-returnable. I have returned the pillows(today and am expecting a credit to my Visa card for that portion of my order the company feels is eligible for return since the color and texture are not as depicted online and do not look good in our home. My wife called and asked for an exception to the policy and was denied. I also called and spoke to a manager named ******* who was more concerned with interrupting me so she could tell me company policy than she was in hearing my concern and desired resolution.

Desired Settlement: I expect the company to refund my purchase price in full. Selecting options that are offered in a company website does not indicate a custom order. I chose their fabric, and one of their dimensional offerings...sounds pretty standard to me!

Business Response:

The customer is not entitled to a refund on an item that was custom made.  The item that **** ******** ordered is a futon cover with a 10" loft which is not a standard loft and it is marked as "Not Returnable". We also offer free fabric samples that the customer can get prior to placing an order, **** ******** did not get the sample.

 A refund will be issued on the pillows once they are received.

Our web-site clearly states our terms and condition and which items can be returned.

 

Thank you,

*******

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

Consider this unresolved.  I have thrown the product away and consider myself taken advantage by a poorly managed company.
 
Thank you,
**** ********
###-###-####
*******************

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ********




 

Business Response:

I consider this case closed as we have done everything that was possible to explain and resolve this issue.

 

Thank you,

*******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March **, 2013 I purchased two fitted mattress slipcovers: a full size cover and a queen sized cover. After receiving shipment and according to the manufacturers directions, I cold water rinsed and hung to dry the two slipcovers before installing them on the bed as I did not want to put the factory state mattress slipcovers on human bedding . To my astonishment, the full sized mattress slip cover did not fit a full sized mattress by almost 12 inches. I proceeded to attempt to install the larger ( queen sized ) mattress slipcover on the full sized mattress and it also did not fit the mattress by several inches. Needless to say, it was impossible by over 12 inches to install the queen sized mattress slipcover on a queen sized mattress. I contacted the manufacturer and at my cost I returned the two items. Today, April **, 2013 the manufacture states they will not honor my claim because according to their website they will not exchange or refund laundered items. In several emails during the initial reception of the items and today I have repeatedly told the manufacturer that the mattress slipcovers were improperly cut to size during the manufacturing process. They did not respond to this comment. I also informed them that as a person familiar with fabric materials they are responsible to inform purchasers that they are not using preshrunk fabrics in the manufacturing process of the mattress slip covers. Normally, when items such as these are sold where the materials are not preshrunk, the buyer is warned that the merchandise requires dry cleaning. I cannot believe that the cold water rinsing of the two products caused that level of shrinkage. In addition, I informed the manufacturer that they were most likely not cut to size as indicated on the website. They have not responded to this observation either. Whether or not the items were not cut to size in the manufacturing process I cannot be sure of but it is obvious that any purchaser of the fitted mattress slip covers in the fabric I selected (Solid Natural fitted mattress slipcover) is going to face the same problem I have had when they first cold water wash the slip covers as they will shrink by several inches to one foot and can never be used again. be advised that the manufacturer states on the website regarding this fabric: "Fitted Mattress Slipcover in Solid Natural fabric is crafted from upholstery grade duck and will last the test of time." http************************************************************************************************ This is clearly false advertising regarding this product. Either SlipCoverShop.com did not properly cut to size the 2 items I ordered or they shrunk by several inches to 12 inches after the cold water rinse and hang drying. I would have appreciated to have been advised to DRY CLEAN this product only as it may shrink substantially. Buyers must be informed when manufacturers are NOT using pre-shrunk fabrics or non stretch fabrics. The total cost of the 2 items was $105.61 plus the additional shipping cost I incurred of $ 10.35 for a total of: $115.96

Desired Settlement: Refund.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered custom-made sofa arm protectors ROUND 6.5" and received SQUARE 6". When I called to exchange for correct item, I was told to photograph the ill-fitted cover on the sofa and slipcovershop would determine whether it fit. WHAT THE?? Bottom line it was not what I ordred and slipcovershop refused to correct the order or refund because they think that the 6" drap of fabric is enough. The arm covers are not cheap. Cost $57 advertised as CUSTOM-MADE TO MEASUREMENTS PROVIDED, instead I got some badly made factory reject. Seller says norefundable. Unbelievable.

Desired Settlement: Refund to paypal account

Business Response:

It’s our policy to request pictures if there is a complaint. We ask to see pictures of what the consumer is covering and pictures of the actual product received showing the problem. Once pictures are received we then take appropriate actions to fix/correct the issue. The item in question is a Custom Made item which is made to the measurements that the consumer provides us with, so in order for us to see where the problem is we request pictures which the customer refused to do and put in a complaint and is accusing us of false advertising and not proving the correct item. The customer state that she has already returned the item, which will be inspected upon receipt and if we did indeed make a mistake  a refund will be issued for that item, however if upon inspection we determine that it was made correctly no refund will be issued. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

 I returned the item via first class mail usps the same day I received it. slipcovershop.com should have received the item by now. Unfortunately, I did not have enough funds to pay for tracking. 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ** *****




 

Business Response: According to USPS there is no additonal fee to obtain tracking information when sending a First Class package. A tracking number is provided automatically at the time the package is shipped. The customer has yet to provide us with any proof that this item was returned.  In order for us to proceed in a resolution we require the customer to provide us with adequate tracking information or a receipt evidencing that the package was returned. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1