BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Voxx International Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Voxx International Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 19

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 1971 Business started: 12/22/1960 in DE Business incorporated: 12/22/1960 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John J. Shalam, President Mr. Carl Peters, VP of Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John J. Shalam, President
Business Category

HOME ELECTRONICS


Additional Locations

  • 150 Marcus Blvd.

    Hauppauge, NY 11788 (631) 231-7750

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 645-4994(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered a contest on ******** and WON a pair of 808 Audio headphones.I was contacted by 808 Audio by email on * January and they stated that after I confirmed that I was the winner I would thereby receive my prize within 4-6 weeks. That window of time has expired. I have contacted 808 Audio by email three times regarding this issue but have NOT received a response as of yet. The 12th man contest was hosted by ******** but delivery of my prize is the responsibility of 808 Audio. 808 Audio is owned by Voxx International. I could not find an address for 808 Audio so I am listing Voxx as parent Co.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my prize ASAP since it is long over due.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.


Please be advised that I received a phone call from 808 audio this morning. The rep who called me was ***** *****. She did inform me that she has shipped my prize ( one 808 audio headphones) and also said she was sorry that there was a problem getting them to me. She was very cordial and sincere. She provided me with a UPS tracking number so I did verify that the package was in transit to me. I would like to Thank the fine people at BBB for addressing this problem to Voxx International in my behalf. It's nice to know that the BBB is always there to help consumers with problems like mine. Again I am most grateful for your kind help. 
Sincerely,

**** ********



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/27/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a RCA 32in LCD HDTV Flat screen, and since last friday i,ve tried to resolve this issue. little hard white crystals whiched formed on the back of my TV side to side and up down on the whole back.Wiped it off and a few days later they reappear. Dont know what they are and if they are an health issue. I,ve call atleast 12 different numbers and was either switched given another number blown off and rudely talked too. My TV is still under warranty until 9/*/2013.

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement TV of same value or better at no cost to me for my time, patience and how i was handled. RCA Customer Service is rude and unable to help the customer.Here and in Canada.

Business Response: Dear *** ******,

Regarding the file number above please be advised that the product referred to in your complaint is not an Audiovox product. RCA televisions were not included in the Audiovox accusation of RCA products.  It is my understanding that the RCA televisions were acquired by On Corporation (###-###-####).

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to call me at ###-###-####.  We now consider this matter closed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a replacement remote for my vehicle for $92 from Voxx on 3-**-13. I tried to program the remote over the phone with a tech from Voxx and it did not work so I returned it and they sent me a replacemen on 4-**. The replacement did not work and I went to have my alarm system checked out and I found out that it was a issue with the alarm system itself. The sytem was fixed, my old remote was still good so I called Voxx and informed them that I would be sending their product back. I sent the remote back on 5-*-13 and they received it on 5-*-13 from Fedex. I called them on 5-*-13 and they told me it takes a couple of dys for them to get it back in the system and then my money will be placed back on my Visa card. There was no money back on my card by the 5-** so I gave them a call everyday for the rest of that week. Still no money on Monday 5-** so i called again that Monday and spoke to ******** who told me the process has been done so I should receive my money in a couple of days. On Thursday 5-** I called that morning and spoke with ****** and she said they already sent the money and I told her I have not received so she placed me on hold and did some checking. She came back to the phone and told me they had reversed the charges but did not send it back to my card. Tuesday 5-** came and still no money but they sent me a free of charge gift through the mail which I do not need I need my money. I called Wednesday 5-** and spoke to **** and she said she would look into it and call me on Thursday. Thursday 5-** came and no call from **** so I called and spoke to ******** again and he contacted **** and she told him to tell me the sytem was down and would call me back. **** never called back so this is where I am now.

Desired Settlement: I just simply want my $92 back so I do not have to deal with them again.

Business Response: Dear *** ******,

In reference to the ID number above, please be advised that a representative of Audiovox spoke with *** ******** on 5/**/13, apologized and assured him his refund would be received.  The representative then called *** ********'s bank several times to check on the refund.  On 6/*/13, she held a three way conversation with *** ******** and his bank.  The bank acknowledged the money had been received and was posted to his account.

*** ******** was happy with the result and thanked the representative for her help in resolving the issue.  This matter is now considered closed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I just purchased a surface cleaner from my local Walmart from this company. After reading the product info, I opened it and started using it on my computer monitor. I am a photographer and do a lot of Photoshop work. I need my monitors clean, clean, clean and this product just left STREAKS all over it. So I did it again and got the same issue, and again with no change. I went to the web address on the package (*********************) and could not find a way of contacting the company other than the link to the BBB web site. I feel this is not a Walmart issue and it should be addressed to the product maker. That is all, I do not expect that this company will do anything about a $10.00 product. Thank you...

Desired Settlement: That is all, I do not expect that this company will do anything about a $10.00 product. The little guy losses again.

Business Response: Dear *** ******,

In reference to the ID number above, please be advised that a representative of Audiovox called *** ******* on 5/**/13 and left a message asking him to return her call.  On 5/**/13 the representative left another message and *** ******* responded to this call. He said he had a receipt for the purchase and would e-mail it to the representative.  On 6/*/13, the receipt had not been received and the representative e-mailed *** ******* reminding him of their conversation.  On 6/*/13 the receipt was received and the representative processed the paperwork for a $10.79 refund to *** *******.  She also
e-mailed him to let him know it may take approximately four (4) weeks to receive the check.
This matter is now considered closed

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

 
The customer service team acted fast and was very respectful for my concerns. I do consider this issue resolved and I thank you... 

Sincerely,

******* ** *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/29/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1