This business is not BBB accredited.

Griffon Corp.

Phone: (516) 938-5544 Fax: (516) 938-5644 100 Jericho Quadrangle, Jericho, NY 11753 http://www.griffoncorp.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Griffon Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Griffon Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 25, 2007
Business Category

HOLDING COMPANIES


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Jericho Quadrangle

    Jericho, NY 11753

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a True Temper fiberglass rake under its 25 year warranty. The wooden section broke where the fiberglass handle attaches to the metal head. This happened while we were raking. I contact **** via their website on 7/**/15 requesting either money for a replacement or a physical replacement. **** responded on 7/** asking for pictures and the barcode. I emailed back with several pictures, including the barcode, on 7/**. I did not receive a response. We needed a new rake to finish our project, so we purchased a new **** rake from **** *****. I emailed **** telling them we needed to be reimbursed. No response from ****. I emailed again on 8/** asking the status of my warranty claim. They did not respond.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the cost of the new rake plus sales tax.

Business Response: Customer claimed that our TrueTemper(R) fiberglass rake broke during use while under warranty, and that despite filing a warranty claim via the company website and providing back-up documentation as requested, no replacement was provided and no response received, requiring Customer to purchase a replacement in order to complete their project.

Upon learning of this complaint on January **, 2016, ****' Customer Service Manager immediately contacted the Customer via voicemail and email and offered -- at Customer's option -- to replace the rake or reimburse the full cost of purchasing the prior replacement.

On January **, 2016, the Customer confirmed via email that she would prefer to be refunded. ****' Customer Service Manager processed a refund check for the full amount paid by the Customer for her new rake.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

As of 1/**/16, I am awaiting the refund check from the company. Once the check in received, I will be satisfied with the resolution.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
**** ********



 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Today I received the check for the amount paid for the replacement rake. Thank you for your help.

Sincerely,

**** ********


 

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a True Temper CP6TC14 6CU ft. Poly Wheelbarrow from Home Depot around October of 2013. I used the wheelbarrow for typical home chores and the base of the tub developed a large crack in the middle bottom portion. I have only used this product for a couple of chores and I am very disappointed in the reliability of this product. The Customer service desk at Home Depot said the complaint would need to go to the manufacturer since the warranty period of 90 days has expired. I called the customer service number (###-###-####) at True Temper and they could not help me since they only have a 90 day warranty. I explained that I only used the wheelbarrow a few times and I was disappointed that it did not hold up to home chores. The Customer Service Rep at True Temper said I should have bought a wheelbarrow with a steel tub. I believe the product is defective and the materials used for the tub are inferior for typical home and garden use.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the wheelbarrow repaired or replaced as soon as possible.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.
David Marler Director of Sales for The Ames Companies, Inc.Direct ###-###-#### has been more than gracious by sending me a new wheelbarrow but also calling me directly and letting me know he would personally make sure that I was a satisfied customer. I received an upgraded steel wheelbarrow on 5/*/14 along with a complimentary garden rake and shovel.
I am more than satisfied with the response of both the BBB and the Ames Company.

Sincerely,

***** *********



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Griffon Corp.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)