BBB Accredited Business since

Ryan Anthony's Heating Service Inc.

Phone: (631) 422-0294 Fax: (631) 587-0949 View Additional Phone Numbers P.O. Box 1652, West Babylon, NY 11704


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ryan Anthony's Heating Service Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ryan Anthony's Heating Service Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ryan Anthony's Heating Service Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 17, 2012 Business started: 08/31/2006 in NY Business incorporated: 08/31/2006 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Nassau County Office Of Consumer Affairs
200 County Seat Drive, , Mineola NY 11501
http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/oca/index.html
Phone Number: (516) 571-2600

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Anthony Burnett, President
Business Category

HEATING CONTRACTORS


Additional Locations

  • P.O. Box 1652

    West Babylon, NY 11704 (631) 422-0294

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: End of January 2015 Arranged for service ....*** was the technician....he was polite, neat and seemed to do a good job...as a note unit had not been serviced for approximately two years but was running without any problem....after servicing, the unit had a smoke and odor condition ....i contacted **** and he told me that the problem was likely a frozen oil line....i explained to him we have been in the house for six years and never had that problem... the problem got worse by the day ,with black soot coming from the unit .after another call or two with, he told me to call the office and schedule an appointment which i did on the morning of Feb * ...i was told by his service to expect a call back....not hearing from anyone by noon i called another service company...they responded within two hours, cleaned the boiler again( which was heavily sooted ) changed the nozzle, made some adjustments and tested the unit ...**** called me about two hours after the unit was serviced by the other company....it has been running perfectly since then.....On Feb ** i contacted **** ******* and he told me he would call me back the next day....no call....I called him again on Feb **.....and explained the above.....and requested that some or all of my payment to him be refunded.....he refused ...

Desired Settlement: .total bill for services was $149.00 plus tax and was paid in cash.

Business Response: **** is an employee of a fellow plumbing company ****** ******** *** *******, which has referred my company to all of their customers and continues to refer Ryan Anthony’s Heating Service Inc. to this day. He approached me in a local supply house and introduced himself and told me he had worked for ****** ******** *** *******. He had described to me that he had not cleaned his heating system in 2 years and heard nothing but great things about my company and asked if I could come clean his boiler. I explained to him that we are extremely busy with no heat calls and emergencies. But I would do my best to get to him. He called several times after to make appointment but i can explained that we are very busy and if he had heat and hot water, we had to get to the emergency calls first. 
We ended up making an appointment which is usually scheduled between 8am and 2pm because my employees get overtime after 4 o clock. He said his wife couldn’t be home until after 2, so to accommodate him we agreed to come after 2, which is very difficult because a lot of emergency calls come in around 2. 
The day of the cleaning we were stuck on a job in ******* helping a freezing cold elderly customer get the heat up and going. I called **** and informed him we would be running late. Normally i would tell customer we would have to reschedule cleaning which I inform every customer that makes an appointment for a cleaning during winter season. But i sent my tech *** and **** to his house anyway around 5 o clockpm. **** did not go in because he was extremely sick.
*** took apart the boiler, vacuumed and brushed the inside and changed all the nozzles and filters. **** was very happy and we left. ‘
When **** called back he informed me that the boiler was running rough a week or so after we had cleaned it. Now mind you, every time he had called to tell me the boiler was running rough was when the outdoor temp was below 30 degrees. So I explained to **** that the oil line is jelling up and he needs to put additive into the oil tank and wrap the oil lines in pipe insulation. We left of with him saying “ok” I’ll put additive in the tank.
He then called ***** **** ****** at about 9 o’clock pm, which i of course answered the phone and spoke to him, which again was a below 30 degree night. He informed me that the burner was running rough. I asked him if he had heat and hot water, he said “yes” so i told him we would come tomorrow (******) afternoon and address the situation free of charge of course. Soon as I got all emergency calls done on ****** i called **** to inform him that we were on our way and he told me that he didn’t need us to come and that he had already had someone else come and look at the issue. I hung up and didn’t hear from him for a few weeks and then got a phone call at about 6 o clock pm while i was in the middle of thawing out frozen pipes and another customers house and i told him i can’t talk right now and I’m in the middle of and emergency call. I had no clue what he wanted to speak to me about .
He then called again a few days later asking for a refund and i told him “NO” because i had scheduled to go back to his house free of charge because we stand behind all of our work,  and it was his choice to call someone else.
The reason **** is no longer having an issue with the oil line jelling up is because he put additive in the tank after we had spoke a week after service. But the damage was already done. An oil burner not running properly for a few days with make a boiler dirty and must be cleaned  again.
He chose to call another company in to clean the unit, when I personally told him that we would be there ****** after i take care of the no heat calls that come in every morning.
I have customers tell me all the time that they have been living in there home for X amount of years and never had an issue, I then explain that outdoor above ground tanks get water inside of them during the summer months. The reason that happens is because customers don’t always keep the tanks 100% full and on hot summer days the inside of the boiler condensates and water gets into the tank, which over time causes frozen oil lines and jelling. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I have read the response from **** *******.  I disagree with many of his statements and will not address them individually in order to remain brief and concise.   

As stated the boiler fine until it was serviced.  After servicing it was smoking and emitting fumes which got progressively worse by the day.
 
**** insisted that  "the line is jelling up" due to the cold and was resistant to returning to check the unit.

I spoke with him  ****** Feb *....he did not say he was going to come on ****** but directed me to call his office ****** morning to make an appointment,  a women answered the phone and informed me she would let **** know.....no appointment was made....not having heard from **** or his office.. at 1pm I called **** ****** *******.  

**** ****** arrived at approximately 2:30 ****** Feb *...the boiler was found heavily  sooted and clogged.....****** was their tech...he cleaned it, replaced the parts that were installed by **** *******.....made appropriate adjustment....smoke tested the flue and the unit has been running fine since.

AN IMPORTANT NOTE NO FUEL ADDITIVE HAS BEEN USED AND THE LINE ARE STILL NOT INSULATED....


I reject  ****s insistence that the cause of  the problem was a "Jelled Fuel Line due to the cold"
I offer the following....

.For the eight days prior to servicing the boiler the average daily temperature was 32.55f with the lowest temp during that period of 19...
the unit was smoking the night of the service

From that night until the problem was corrected  Feb * by **** ****** the average daily temp was 24.5 f with the lowest of 13

In the following  days until end of February the average daily temp was 21.6 degrees with the low being 02 .... in fact there were two four consecutive day periods and one two consecutive day period where the temperatures were in the single digits....

The unit is still running fine......so clearly the issue was not a "Jelled Fuel Line"...but more  likely an error or oversite by ****s tech...

The daily temperature was as noted was derived from  ******************* for the zip code ****** ********


 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ********