This business is not BBB accredited.

Daka Plumbing & Heating LLC

Phone: (845) 724-5615 Fax: (845) 724-4600 2561 Route 55, Poughquag, NY 12570 ! BBB Business Review on Daka Plumbing & Heating LLC is being Updated by BBB !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company services heating, pumps and septic systems. They also offer sewer cleaning.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.

Additional Locations


    2561 Route 55

    Poughquag, NY 12570 (845) 724-5615


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Daka Plumbing and told them I needed a water spigot & water softener. He gives me an appointment for the following week. This man shows up with no uniform or tools,only to find out he is the owner . He tells me he will order the parts and come back . After a week 2 men show up and one is an apprentice. The 2 acted like clowns. They could't sweat a pipe to save their lives. The installed a water spigot that was defective plus they didn't place a shut off in. The second problem is they placed a $195.00 water softener in that you get on ****** and that is NOTt what his website advertises? These 2 guys knew I just had my driveway blacktopped and still backed there truck in my driveway, and left tire tracks! It took 3 days for them to so call finish the softener, due to he melted the bypass with his propane torch. The 2 guys leave. So I thought I should test it in the afternoon instead of waiting to late night as instructed. He is lucky I did because it started dumping water in my basement floor due to them not inserting the tube in a drain. Now here is another day I have to watch someone come back and the place the drain tube in with my washers drain. The softener never worked. I sent 2 emails and no answer. I called Daka Plumbing and the women said she would have him return my call. One week goes by and I placed a complaint with ******* ****. I called and he Mr. Daka answers the phone. he tells me the softener works? (How, who knows, he never took water sample nor set softener up. I told him I hired another plumbing company to place a faucet in my kitchen. Then this company tech. tells me that the tube on the softener don't work due to the excess tubing is wrapped in a circle, and this is not the correct type to place in my home. Also I had to pay this other company to fix the spigot Daka messed up and I replaced the softener with the type Mr. Daka should have installed. (Funny he shows this type on his website but installs inferior system in my home.)

Desired Settlement: Mr. Daka charged me $2318.00 only for me to have to write another check with a 5 star company for $ 2997.07 . I would like to have a refund for the stress and headaches he put me thru. I don't want this man in my home, but he can have the softener back. Let him send one of his guys to my garage to pick it up! Looking at reviews on yelp and other sites he should be shut down. This goes for the others that came to my home to fix the problems, when I told them who did the shabby work they all gave me that look and said NO you didn't have him in your house did you? My heart dropped.

3/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My recent experience with Daka Plumbing: My hot water storage tank was leaking so I called my local plumber. It was determined that that tank needed to be replaced. The existing tank was still covered under warranty. Daka called the company and confirmed the tank was covered. After 1 week not be able to find a replace tank the company needed to make a new one with a 2 week lead-time. The tank final arrived and Daka sent someone to install the plumber took 3 hours to install the tank. I was charged 1405.63 plus 137.00 Freight plus 175.00 credit card fee for the deposit. I have no issue with the quality of work just the price I paid. Total $1717.63

Desired Settlement: Refund $500-600

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

This letter is in response to the document received on 12/**/13 from the BBB for the above named customer that we recently did work for. Daka Plumbing was hired by *** ******* on 10/*/13 for hot water heater leaking. We called the company to verify that the unit was still under warranty and found out that the warranty was good thru 12/2014. The company did not have this particular unit in stock anymore and said that they had to build one with the exact measurements for the customer and it would take a few weeks. Our technician gave *** ******* a quote to remove the defective unit and to install the new for $1,300.00 plus NYS tax ($1,405.63). *** ******* said let me think about it and I will call you back. At the same time our technician also gave the customer 2 other quotes for different units to purchase so he would not have to wait weeks for hot water- customer declined those quotes.

A few days went by and the customer called back and said “ok, I want your company to order the same unit from the Amtrol and I will wait for the same unit”. He was adamant that he gets that same unit and didn’t care at this point that he would be without hot water for a long period of time.

The unit the customer originally purchased was over $6,000.00 and in order for Daka Plumbing to place the order through our supplier they needed the remainder amount that was left on the warranty side which came to $2,760.00 from us. Now granted that this was a lot of money for Daka Plumbing to shell out of pocket and considering that *** ******* was a first time customer with us at this point. We wanted to make sure we are securing our money as well and needed to make payment to the supplier on 10/**/13 in order to place the order. *** ******* was at work when called on that day to collect the $2,760.00 to expedite this order. We asked him to pay this amount to Daka Plumbing in order to get the ball rolling quicker and a portion would be returned once unit is in. Daka Plumbing cut a check to the supplier that same day to place the order in that amount.

Because the customer wanted this unit so desperately it also comes with a price. Daka Plumbing had to pay the freight charges and additional fees because the customer used his credit card to expedite this order. The total fees incurred were $313.50 additional to the original price and there was no reason for Daka Plumbing to pay for these additional fees. It is the customer’s responsibility to do so.

On November 1st we returned the customers home to install the new unit that came in from Amtrol. *** ******* called the office once the unit was installed and said to return his money. I then explained to him that Daka Plumbing can not refund you until the warranty company pays our supplier then the suppler would refund Daka Plumbing a check and that could take a few weeks for this to happen and make sure checks would clear. On 12/2/13, Daka Plumbing cut a check out for *** ******* in the amount of $1,040.87 refunds.

*** ******* called our office and stated that we charged him a ridiculous amount of money and carried on that he would never use us again and I did reiterate to him that this is a service that you paid for. On the original invoice we quoted you “our” price and you didn’t even blink at the price but because you had not hot water and signed off the ticket. But now that you do have hot water, now there is a problem? I asked *** ******* was Daka Plumbing professional as a company to you from day one and did exactly what we said we would do? He said yes! So then, what is the problem I asked? He said he didn’t feel that he should pay the additional fees incurred. I had to make it clear to him again that it is not our responsibility to pay for these charges therefore; the customer is responsible to pay!

Daka Plumbing was called on 11/**/13 by the customer stating that he did not have enough hot water. We sent back the same technician back to make minor adjustments and did not charge the customer for any trip charges.

In the dispute letter from the BBB, *** ******* expresses a desired settlement of $500-$600 back.  Daka Plumbing has no intention of any settlement to be refunded. We are a service company; we provided a service with the highest professionalism. We are not in business to cheat anyone especially not *** *******. Daka Plumbing has been doing business in the Hudson Valley well over 20 years and in NYC since 1985. It brings me such distress that *** ******* can make such accusations towards our company and all we did was try help him out in a time of need.

In the future, *** ******* may call upon other plumbing companies for work at his home. Daka Plumbing feels that this customer has no remorse to his words or his actions towards our company.

If you should need further assistance about this complaint, please do not hesitate and call our office. We will be more than glad to assist you in this matter.


**** ********

Owner of Daka Plumbing & Heating, LLC

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:


[Your Answer Here]

I think **** ******** is missing my point.

First the $313.50 was a complete surprise, nobody ever mentioned that I would have more added expense.

How do you justify charging 1300.00 for 3 hours of work by install plumber and maybe 2 hours

of an Admin time?  No special equipment was needed.

Most service company’s rates are justified by how long the job takes and if any expensive equipment is needed I understand that the job will cost more.


***** *******




In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


***** *******


Customer Review(s)