BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

Daka Plumbing & Heating LLC

Phone: (845) 724-5615 Fax: (845) 724-4600 2561 Route 55, Poughquag, NY 12570

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company services heating, pumps and septic systems. They also offer sewer cleaning.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Daka Plumbing & Heating LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Daka Plumbing & Heating LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 19, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1985 in NY Business incorporated: 01/26/2006 in NY
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Putnam County Department of Consumer Affairs
Donald. B. Smith County Government Campus, 110 Old Route 6, Bldg. 3, Carmel NY 10512
http://www.putnamcountyny.com/consumers/index.htm
Phone Number: (845) 808-1617

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Deda Gazivoda, Owner Ms. Violet Jankovic, Project Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Deda Gazivoda, Owner
Principal: Ms. Violet Jankovic, Project Manager
Business Category

HEATING CONTRACTORS PUMPING CONTRACTORS SEWER CONTRACTORS SEPTIC TANKS & SYSTEMS CLEANING


Additional Locations

  • 2561 Route 55

    Poughquag, NY 12570 (845) 724-5615

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My recent experience with Daka Plumbing: My hot water storage tank was leaking so I called my local plumber. It was determined that that tank needed to be replaced. The existing tank was still covered under warranty. Daka called the company and confirmed the tank was covered. After 1 week not be able to find a replace tank the company needed to make a new one with a 2 week lead-time. The tank final arrived and Daka sent someone to install the plumber took 3 hours to install the tank. I was charged 1405.63 plus 137.00 Freight plus 175.00 credit card fee for the deposit. I have no issue with the quality of work just the price I paid. Total $1717.63

Desired Settlement: Refund $500-600

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

This letter is in response to the document received on 12/**/13 from the BBB for the above named customer that we recently did work for. Daka Plumbing was hired by *** ******* on 10/*/13 for hot water heater leaking. We called the company to verify that the unit was still under warranty and found out that the warranty was good thru 12/2014. The company did not have this particular unit in stock anymore and said that they had to build one with the exact measurements for the customer and it would take a few weeks. Our technician gave *** ******* a quote to remove the defective unit and to install the new for $1,300.00 plus NYS tax ($1,405.63). *** ******* said let me think about it and I will call you back. At the same time our technician also gave the customer 2 other quotes for different units to purchase so he would not have to wait weeks for hot water- customer declined those quotes.

A few days went by and the customer called back and said “ok, I want your company to order the same unit from the Amtrol and I will wait for the same unit”. He was adamant that he gets that same unit and didn’t care at this point that he would be without hot water for a long period of time.

The unit the customer originally purchased was over $6,000.00 and in order for Daka Plumbing to place the order through our supplier they needed the remainder amount that was left on the warranty side which came to $2,760.00 from us. Now granted that this was a lot of money for Daka Plumbing to shell out of pocket and considering that *** ******* was a first time customer with us at this point. We wanted to make sure we are securing our money as well and needed to make payment to the supplier on 10/**/13 in order to place the order. *** ******* was at work when called on that day to collect the $2,760.00 to expedite this order. We asked him to pay this amount to Daka Plumbing in order to get the ball rolling quicker and a portion would be returned once unit is in. Daka Plumbing cut a check to the supplier that same day to place the order in that amount.

Because the customer wanted this unit so desperately it also comes with a price. Daka Plumbing had to pay the freight charges and additional fees because the customer used his credit card to expedite this order. The total fees incurred were $313.50 additional to the original price and there was no reason for Daka Plumbing to pay for these additional fees. It is the customer’s responsibility to do so.

On November 1st we returned the customers home to install the new unit that came in from Amtrol. *** ******* called the office once the unit was installed and said to return his money. I then explained to him that Daka Plumbing can not refund you until the warranty company pays our supplier then the suppler would refund Daka Plumbing a check and that could take a few weeks for this to happen and make sure checks would clear. On 12/2/13, Daka Plumbing cut a check out for *** ******* in the amount of $1,040.87 refunds.

*** ******* called our office and stated that we charged him a ridiculous amount of money and carried on that he would never use us again and I did reiterate to him that this is a service that you paid for. On the original invoice we quoted you “our” price and you didn’t even blink at the price but because you had not hot water and signed off the ticket. But now that you do have hot water, now there is a problem? I asked *** ******* was Daka Plumbing professional as a company to you from day one and did exactly what we said we would do? He said yes! So then, what is the problem I asked? He said he didn’t feel that he should pay the additional fees incurred. I had to make it clear to him again that it is not our responsibility to pay for these charges therefore; the customer is responsible to pay!

Daka Plumbing was called on 11/**/13 by the customer stating that he did not have enough hot water. We sent back the same technician back to make minor adjustments and did not charge the customer for any trip charges.


In the dispute letter from the BBB, *** ******* expresses a desired settlement of $500-$600 back.  Daka Plumbing has no intention of any settlement to be refunded. We are a service company; we provided a service with the highest professionalism. We are not in business to cheat anyone especially not *** *******. Daka Plumbing has been doing business in the Hudson Valley well over 20 years and in NYC since 1985. It brings me such distress that *** ******* can make such accusations towards our company and all we did was try help him out in a time of need.


In the future, *** ******* may call upon other plumbing companies for work at his home. Daka Plumbing feels that this customer has no remorse to his words or his actions towards our company.

If you should need further assistance about this complaint, please do not hesitate and call our office. We will be more than glad to assist you in this matter.

Sincerely,

**** ********

Owner of Daka Plumbing & Heating, LLC

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

I think **** ******** is missing my point.

First the $313.50 was a complete surprise, nobody ever mentioned that I would have more added expense.

How do you justify charging 1300.00 for 3 hours of work by install plumber and maybe 2 hours

of an Admin time?  No special equipment was needed.

Most service company’s rates are justified by how long the job takes and if any expensive equipment is needed I understand that the job will cost more.

Sincerely

***** *******

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *******




 

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

11/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called **** Plumbing because there was an alarm going off regarding our septic pump. The service provider showed up two hours late and did not call. When he did show up, he explained that he got lost. That is understandable. We had our system pumped a few weeks before so we knew exactly where the two septic openings were. When we told *** from **** exactly where to dig, he did not listen to us and explained that he had to dig up my entire front walk to find "what's under there". After listening to my explanation that we know exactly where everything was, he continued to disregard our instructions. My front walk, along with all of my perennials were destroyed. When he did finally dig where we told him to, he immediately found exactly what he was looking for (after destroying my front walk). He then immediately explained that our septic pump motor was burned out. He said he had to come back for further investigation/work. The second time he came, he was over an hour late, still with no phone call, and we made sure he had all of our contact information. Before digging the entire septic pump out we stopped him because he didn't seem to know what he was doing. We then called a wonderful company who looked at our lawn and front walk with horror. The first thing that the gentleman told us was that the quote that **** gave us for the new pump was overpriced by 300%. The pump, plus the labor would have cost us over $4,000! We looked online and found this extremely overpriced septic pump to be exactly that. I can understand marking up prices, of course, but to this amount seemed to be excessive to the point of fraud. My husband immediately called **** to tell them this and we were told by ******, the woman who answers the phones at ****, (these are her exact words, she was on speaker and I heard her say this) "If you like the internet more, why don't you go buy it there and install it yourself". My husband said thank you but no and we asked the professional from the other company to begin investigating the problem. Within ten minutes he found out exactly what the problem was. The person from **** did not even do the most basic troubleshooting of our septic pump. There was nothing wrong with it but a loose wire connection! The total cost of the repair was $280, a far cry from the $4,000 that **** assured us we had to pay for a fix. We then called **** again and spoke to ******, explaining exactly what had happened with the reputable company. ****** then explained to us that they would be sending us a bill for over $600 for the "work" they did, telling us that the man was here for over five hours. I was present the entire time and his total time on my property was two hours. I have work emails I sent from my home IP address during the entire time he was here and can prove in a court of law if I have to that I was there the entire time. Today, on September ****, we received a bill for $675 that **** is demanding we pay. We are happy to pay for the two hours the worker was here, but for no more time than that. They are now not answering our calls or returning our messages. If we do not hear from them within the next few days (and we will continue to call) we will be calling the Health Dept (the other company told us to do so, as this is possibly hazardous work they would have done). I have never done anything like this in my life. I have never had to call any BBB or County department in my life and I have never written a bad review of any service we have had done to our home. This is an egregious misuse of power, time and money if we were foolish enough to let them work on our septic tank. DO NOT USE **** PLUMBING! You might not be as lucky as us and stop them in time. My front walk is still destroyed and I have to go buy all new perennials and grass seed. The gentleman from the reputable company was nice enough to fill in all the holes the worker from **** left in the front of our house, and smooth over the dirt as much as he could. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

Desired Settlement: We will happily pay for the two hours of service that the worker was here. We will not pay for five hours of service that was not rendered. We are not even asking the company to pay for the damage done to our home.

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern:

This letter is in response to letter sent to our office from the Better Business Bureau, dated 9/**/13
regarding the above named person(s).

On September **, 2013, our office received a call from *** **** stating that he was having
issues with his septic pumps. He went on and on exclaiming how he really wanted our company
to go all the way down to Putnam Valley, NY because he did not trust any one else. He proceeded
to indicate how we are a reliable & reputable company and that he gave his friends referrals
about our company since he was very pleased with our work in the past with us.

I explained to *** **** that we would arrive in a few hours from his call because
we had prior appointments already in progress and arranged. He said ''No problem! I will be home today and l
will wait for your technician to arrive".

We pulled off one of our technicians off of another job to go to *** ****'s home and investigate the
Problem  he was experiencing with the pumps Our technician arrived  to find the alarms on the pump going off.
Located the septic tank with out the knowledge there was a pump station. Found septic tank to be a 1000 gallon tank
and the tank was found full which needed desperately to be emptied to avoid any backups in the home.

 
Our technician had to hand dig to get to the pump station. And, when indeed it was found it was found burned out.
The customer was told by our tech and explained what needed to get done. The septic tank needs to get pumped
out and the pump needs to be replaced with a new. A quote was given to the customer for the replacement of the
sewer ejector pump of$ 3,400.00 plus NYS tax. In that Quote. we included and factored in the labor cost.
the pump itself and to pump out his  septic tank. NOT THE PUMP ALONE!

 
*** **** then called our office and agreed to do the work the following day and wanted
to know if he can give half the money down in cash to start and finish the job and pay the balance in two
(2) weeks of job completion. *** **** agreed to this considering he was a customer in the past and paid.  After
a short while of this conversation over the phone bad taken place, *** **** called back again at the office to ask
what are the prices we pay for the pumps and materials and stated "well I found something similar online and
why can't **** install a pump for the price I Correspondence Regarding "******* *********** * **** ****"
am find them for on the web" I explained to *** **** that we do not order materials from online. We use our own
suppliers. We will guarantee our work with our own materials used and not what is ordered from the customer
or from the web. I told him that we warrantee 1 year on our workmanship and will honor the manufacture warrantee
if there should be a future problem again. He then said "well I guess I have no choice but to install it considering it would
 take much longer to order the pump from online and have us install it." It was made clear to *** **** that any
materials used that did not come from **** Plumbing would not be warranted.

A 3rd call came in a fun minutes later again from the same customer and stated the be has a "friend" that
can help him out since money was tight at the moment and that he will not need our services. He then stated
"maybe I'lljust get my septic pumped out from you guys''. This customer was very indecisive and at this point
Itold him to call other local plumber and get other quotes. I also explained to him that **** Plumbing is not looking
to rob nor scam him but gave him a rather great quote to include all that was stated above and we did not even
charge him the travel time since he requested he wanted our company to do this work. ***. **** was never in these
conversations with my self nor with my technicians. Every conversation that took place was with *** ****. I am unsure
why ***. **** took it upon herself to say such things as she did in her brief statement that she submitted.

On 9/**, we were on route to the ****'s residence to pump out his septic tank and received
a call to not show up and to just send in bill for our expenses which we did. NEVER did either ******* nor
***** call our office again. I do not know why she stated that she left messages at the office. We always return customer
related calls promptly.

Along with this letter, please find a copy of our invoice that was sent to tge customer and also a signature letter of which how the money should have been broken down for payments as requested by the customer if work had started.

If you should have any further questions about this matter, please feel free to call our company, email us and or mail.

**** Plumbing would  like to maintain the accredited A+ standing with the BBB and with his customers and also, with ******* **** we were accredited a grade "A" for good customer service and work performance.

We have been in business for a long time and we thrive to make our customers happy. Sometimes, there are just some people
we can not please and we need to walk away. The crooks arc the short time businesses that fail immediately. Just goes to show that
**** Plumbing has been in business for over 25 yrs and is still going strong.

Sincerely,

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by **** Plumbing & Heating LLC regarding complaint ID *******.

Sincerely,

******* ***********

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

 
This letter is in response to letter sent to our office from the Better Business Bureau, dated 9/**/13 regard ing the above named person(s).
 
On September ***', 2013, our office received a call from *** **** stating that he was haviug issues with his septic pumps. He went on and on exclaiming how he really wanted our company to go all the way down to Putnam Valley, NY because he did not trust any one else. He proceeded to indicate how we are a reliable & reputable company and that he gave h is friends referrals about our company since he was very pleased with our work in the past with us.

I explained to *** **** that we would arrive in a few hours from his call because we had prior appointments already
in progress and arranged. He said "No problem! I will be home today and I will wait for your technicianto arrive".

We pulled off one of our technicians off of another job to go to *** ****'s home and investigate the problem he was experiencing with the pumps. Our technician arrived to find the alarms on the pump going off. Located the septic tank with out the knowledge
there was a pump station. Found septic tank to be a 1000 gallon tank and the tank was found full which needed desperately to be emptied to avoid any backups in the home.

 
Our technician had to hand dig to get to the pump station. And, when indeed it was found it was found burned out. The customer was told by our tech and explained what needed to get done. The septic tank needs to get pumped out and the pump needs to be replaced with a new. A quote was given to the customer for the replacement of the sewer ejector pump of $ 3,400.00 plus NYS tax. In that quote, we included and factored in the labor cost, the pump itself and to pump out his septic tank. NOT THE PUMP ALONE!

*** **** then ca lled our office and agreed to do the work the following day and wanted to know if he can give ha lf the money down in cash to stait and finish the job and pay the balance in two (2) weeks of job completion. *** Daka agreed to this considering he was a customer in the past and paid.  After a shmt while of this conversation over the phone had taken place, *** **** called back again at the office to ask what are the prices we pay for the pumps and materials and stated "well I found something similar online and why can't Daka install a pump for the price I

************** ********* ******** *********** * **** *****


I am find them for on the web" I explained to *** **** that we do not order materials from on line. We use our own suppliers. We will guarantee our work with our own materials used and not what is ordered from the customer or from the web. I told him that we warrantee 1 year on our workmanship and will honor the manufacture warrantee if there should be a future problem again. He then said "well I guess I have no choice but to install it considering it would take much longer to order the pump from online and have us install it." It was made clear to *** **** that any materials used that did not come from Daka Plumbing would not be warranted.

A 3rd call came in a few minutes later again from the same customer and stated the he has a "friend" that can help him out since money was tight at the moment and that he will not need our services. He then stated "maybe I'll just get my septic pumped out from you guys''. This customer was very indecisive and at this point I told him to call other local plumber and get other quotes. I also explained to him that Daka Plumbing is not looking to rob nor scam him but gave him a  rather great quote to include all that was stated above and we did not even charge him the travel time since he requested he wanted our company to do this work. ***. **** was never in these conversations with myself nor with my technicians. Every conversation that took place was with *** ****. I am unsure why ***. **** took it upon herself to say such things as she d id in her brief statement that she submitted.

On 9/**, we were on route to the ****'s residence to pump out his septic tank and received a call to not show up and to just send in bill for our expenses which we did. NEVER did either ******* nor ***** call our office again. I do not know why she stated that she left messages at the office. We always return customer related calls promptly.

Along with this letter, please find a copy of our invoice that was sent to the customer and also a signat ure letter of which how the money should have been broken down for payments as requested by the customer if work had started.

 

If you should have any fwther questions about this matter, please feel free to ca ll our company, email us and or mail.

Daka Plumbing would like to maintain the accredited A+ stand ing with the BBB and with his customers and also, with ******* **** we were accredited a grade "A" for good customer service and work performance.

We have been in business for a long time and we thrive to make our customers happy. Sometimes, there are just some people we can not please and we need to walk away. The crooks are the sho1t time businesses that fail immediately. Just goes to show that Daka Plumbing
has been in business for over 25 yrs and is still going strong.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 
**** ********* ***** **** ******** * ******** ***

.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1