BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

This Business is not BBB accredited

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Yost and Campbell Heating & A/C include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 01, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1939 in NY Business incorporated: 10/19/1945 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Westchester County Department of Consumer Protection
148 Martine Avenue, Room 407, White Plains NY 10601
http://consumer.westchestergov.com/
Phone Number: (914) 995-2155
Fax Number: (914) 995-3115
conpro@westchestergov.com

Rockland County Office of Consumer Protection
County Office Building, 18 New Hempstead Rd., New City NY 10956
http://rocklandgov.com/departments/consumer-protection-weights-and-measures/
Phone Number: (845) 708-7600

Office of the Westchester County Clerk
110 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., White Plains NY 10601
http://www.westchesterclerk.com/
Phone Number: (914) 995-3094

NYC Department of Buildings - NYC
280 Broadway, 3rd floor, , New York NY 10007
http://www.nyc.gov/buildings
Phone Number: (212) 566-5000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Monahan, Vice President Mr. Thomas Monahan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Monahan, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Thomas Monahan, President
Business Category

HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING BOILERS - SALES & SERVICE GENERATORS HEATING CONTRACTORS

Products & Services

Yost and Campbell Heating & A/C offers the following product(s): hot water boilers, steam boilers, water heaters, a/c, furnace, generators

Alternate Business Names
Yost & Campbell of Rockland Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    20 Brookdale Place

    Mount Vernon, NY 10550

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (914) 592-2999(Phone)
  • (914) 668-6461 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September ***, 2013, I signed a contract with Yost and Campbell for the removal of an existing oil fired boiler that heated my house and its replacement with a gas fired boiler. The new boiler was installed on November **, 2013. We immediately noticed that about one third of the radiators in our home were not getting any steam. After several service calls by Yost and Campbell, a field tech explained to us that the existing gas line which had supplied the kitchen stove and a hot water heater, was of an insufficient diameter to supply sufficient gas to allow the boiler to operate at full capacity. I was told that Yost and Campbell techs would need to return to my home to install a larger gas line and on that same day a Town of Mamaroneck building inspector would do a final inspection. The line was installed but not hooked up and the Town inspection was done on December ***, 2013. At that days's end I found out that the larger gas line would not be hooked up until ConEd received documentation from Yost and Campbell and set up an appointment for their own inspection and installation of a larger gas meter. On December ***, 2013, the Installation Coordinator at Yost and ******* ****** ********, told me that all the required documentation had been sent to ConEd. On January **, 2014 I received an e-mail from ** ********, requesting a payment of the balance for the job and also a set of dates to set up an appointment with ConEd. At that time I respectfully emailed back that I was unwilling to pay the balance until I had heat to my entire house. I did make the offer to escrow the money with a mutually acceptable attorney but I have heard nothing back from Yost and Campbell since. On January **, 2014 I contacted the ConEd District 5 office that serves my area. They told me that they have an open file but never received supporting documentation including a so called Town of Mamaroneck issued "blue card" from Yost and Campbell. I contacted the Town of Mamaroneck Building Department on the same day. They informed me that they had a confirmed fax of the Certificate of Approval (Blue Card) sent to Yost and Campbell on January **, 2014, but that Y and C never signed and returned it. I was faxed a copy of the as yet incomplete Blue Card by the building department. I left a message for Owner, ***** ******* at Y & C which at this point he has not returned.

Desired Settlement: My family and I have so far suffered through one of the coldest winters in recent history with marginal heating. I don't understand why they misled us on several occasions regarding both the permit status and the actual need for a bigger gas line which I only found out incidentally from a service tech at my home. I am concerned that they intend to delay ConEd until spring, at which time it may be more difficult to prove that there is a possible inadequacy in either the boiler or the installation. I also believe that the inadequacies of the boiler, for whatever the reasons, have resulted in my use of considerably larger amounts of gas.

Business Response: The business has responded with the statement below:

"We submitted a work request with Con Edison in October and received notice that the gas line coming into the house from the street was large enough to handle the Gas Fired Steam Boiler. The homeowner wanted things expedited so that he would not have to fill up his oil tank again so on  November **** we installed the boiler. The unit was not firing properly when first installed.

We sent a few service technicians to the home and although the home was getting heat it wasn't running as well as it should be. On November **** One of the technicians determined that we should use a larger gas pipe going to the boiler area. We offered November **** and a few days after to fix the issue but the homeowner couldn't do it. It was decided that the work would be done the same day the inspection was completed which was December ****.

The inspector passed the inspection noting that the job was installed perfectly to code with all proper safeties.

 

Since December **** we have not received one phone call in regard to poor heat in his home. I am certain that if he and his family were "suffering" in their home due to poor heat we would have rightfully heard from him every day.

 

Even though he has not abided by the terms of the contract we have still scheduled the Con Edison Final inspection which will close out the job within the 140 Days which by Con Edison's standard is the normal time it takes to complete an Oil to Gas Conversion. Yost & Campbell is concerned that the homeowner is using the issue that has been fixed months ago as a reason to avoid paying the balance."

 

-----Original Message-----

From: ******* ***** *******************************

Sent: Wednesday, February **, 2014 1:38 PM

To: *************************

Subject: FW: ******* *********

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Please read attached.

(Please let the BBB know the outcome of this meeting.)

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *******




 

Business Response: The business has responded.  Please read below:

We were able to resolve the situation yesterday and settled for $4310.00 which ******* paid.

 

Please advise if you need anything further and if this case is now considered closed.

You were very helpful yesterday and I really do appreciate it

 

********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.


I am sorry to express my disappointment at BBB's lack of involvement with my complaint as we were trying to reach a settlement. 2 emails and a voicemail I left in the span of the last 2 - and most important business days - leading up to this final agreement were ignored. Were it not for ******at Westchester.gov, I do not believe we would not have arrived at a satisfactory conclusion.

I now fully understand that BBB exists only to serve the interests of its members and is not a forum for a reasonable airing of a legitimate grievance.

Sincerely, 
**



 

2/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a gas steam boiler installed with a one year guarantee which expired December *,2012. In the early Spring of 2013, we noticed rusting and water around 1 of the return pipe fittings. We did not call **** and ******** until we noticed the rusting and water leak had spread to several more fittings-Aug 2013.**** and ******** wanted $150 fee to come look at the problem. We were able to negotiate someone coming to look at it without the fee. The person who came out stated it that if it was old pipe and not the new install we would have to pay $150 an hour plus cost of materials and tax. I immediately made him aware that the footprint of the old boiler was where the new pipe was so it could not be old pipe. The service man said he would relay this info back to the office. After some calls and emails, *** *******(********* ** ***), looked at the pipes and stated someone from the office would call to arrange repairing the pipes early the next week (no mention of fee was made). No one called and eventually after our calls and emails- I received a response stating someone will come out to repair at the cost stated previously. Realizing that the heat season was approaching and repair needed to be done we negotiated $95 hourly fee plus tax and materials. We reluctantly agreed because the work needed to be done even though we feel it was a faulty installation to begin with. Another service man came to inspect the job- I asked him at the most how long it would take to repair and materials cost-he said at most 3 hours and $50 for materials. Another repairman came on 9-**-2013 to perform the replacement of the pipes. The cost came out to $567.95 much more than the $350 estimated cost. On 10-**-2013, we sent an email to *** ******* expressing our disappointment that we had to pay for the faulty installation and Y&C not standing by their work. We asked that the repair fee be waived. We also asked for a prompt response. We did not receive any communication until 12-**-13 when a request for payment was made.

Desired Settlement: A response to our emails regarding waiving the fee of the pipe re-installation.

Business Response: The pipes that were leaking were existing pipes that were not touched when the installation was done. We would never charge someone to fix leaks on piping we just installed recently. The customer is correct that we did give her a discounted hourly rate of $95 per hour plus material. Although I don't have proof I believe her when she was told no more than three hours. The job was more difficult than the technician who looked at the job thought but since she was told 3 hours I think that its fair to cap it at that amount.

Since the customer agreed to do the work before we started I would be will to accept a payment of $350 and consider the bill settled.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

 

 Please view attached pictures. As stated in our original complaint -the piping had to be new because the old boiler took up the space where the new piping currently stands. The bottom faucet was new both with the first Y&C install and subsequent repair. I don't think old piping would have been reused for just 1-2 feet of pipe when all other piping was new.

 

 

 

Sincerely,

***** *******



 

Business Response: As noted in the original complaint, an hourly rate and amount of material had been agreed to. The service order was signed after completion but now the terms are not being honored.

I did not receive the attachment but the piping that was repaired was part of the existing pipe.

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been with Yost & Campbell since 2005. I pay every year for a Service/Maintenance Contract, however receiving the annual cleaning and maintenance service that is a key benefit of the contract, and advertised as such, has been very problematic. For the third year in a row, the company has been unable to fulfill the scheduled service appointment. Since they perform this service in the winter, and since the winter is a busy time for the company, their claim every time they do not show up (after I spend a day away from my professional job to wait for them) is that they had to service more critical or urgent issues. While I appreciate this, and then try to re-schedule, that does not work either! Two years ago, I made three appointments, and never got the service. It is immensely frustrating. Today after yet another case of no service yesterday, the point they made when I tried to re-schedule early this morning for today (as instructed to do by the company last night, with assurances they would fit me in this morning) was that they could not "same day" schedule me because they must reserve enough drivers for emergency calls that MIGHT come in. They offered to try and schedule me tomorrow, but I leave for the Christmas holiday with family tomorrow, and really wanted this service before I left. One year, they promised to schedule me in the next calendar year in January, and then treated that as my following year service appointment, so I could not get a service visit the following fall. They offered this option again this time, but I do not trust that they will not pull the same fraudulent scheme, essentially providing one visit for what should be two visits.

Desired Settlement: I would like Y&C to offer me a service visit after I return from holiday; and, if it falls in Jan., I want assurance IN WRITING that this will count as my 2013 service visit, and that I will be offered my usual maintenance visit in the fall of 2014 as part of that year's contract. I want it in writing because when this was mis-managed last time, I spent a great deal of time arguing on the phone with the "customer service" rep to no avail. She simply would not honor what had been promised orally

Business Response: The business has responded.  Please find response below:

In response to *** ****** complaint I will be more than happy to offer a service visit in order to inspect her unit as her nearest convenience. This visit will be for the 2013 Contract.

 

The 2014 Visit for the heating inspection will be done in the late Summer or fall.

3/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yost and Campbell claims that they are a Generac, whole house generator, dealer. They do not honor the Generac's warranty program. I m in the process of suing them for fees paid, that even Generac, corporate, say, is covered under the warranty. They've got you in a difficult postion becuase you typically need them during times when you are without power and when your generator is down. You are desperate when your house in under 45 degrees and they finally send a technician. Yes, they say that your unit is covered by labor warranty but they still charge you and despite Generac's efforts, they will not refund my money. They are not honest and they do not represent Generac in the manner which a consumer can depend.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund of $275.00 for all fees paid.

Business Response: The charge was for a service call on a Generator we did not install. Whether the Generator is new or old if the customer does not have a service contract and we did not install it there will be a service call. We informed the customer what he needed to fix the issue but he decided to have someone else do the repair. The customer signed the invoice and paid.

Business Response: We have heard back from Generac and they are granting a warranty so we will be sending a refund check on Friday.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

 The issues at hand were alaways covered under warranty.  Yost and Campbell never even submitted a claim until they were told to do so by Generac.  They continue to falsley represent themselves as a legitimate Generac representitive.  I would have expected a return phone call explaining their position...that never happened.  I would have expected a letter detailing the warranty issues...that never happened. 

Those are the facts.   Very simple and uncomplicated.  

Yost and Campbell, to this very day, has never provided any type of explanation.  None...

A company that operates in this fashion cannot be trusted and they lack the integrity needed to be considered as a bonafide choice for a large homeowner expenditure.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *******




 

2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/10/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer states that he purchased a generator. The consumer claims that in his contract, the business was in charge of obtaining all applicable permits and signoffs. The consumer goes on to say that although the generator was installed, the business has not filed for a permit.

Desired Settlement: The consumer is seeking that the business follows through with the contract.