BBB Accredited Business since

Dix Hills Air Conditioning Inc.

Phone: (631) 499-4080 Fax: (631) 499-4702 View Additional Phone Numbers 2090 Jericho Turnpike, East Northport, NY 11731 http://www.dixhillsairconditioning.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dix Hills Air Conditioning Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dix Hills Air Conditioning Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dix Hills Air Conditioning Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1968 Business started: 07/05/1966 in NY Business incorporated: 07/05/1966 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Nassau County Office Of Consumer Affairs
200 County Seat Drive, , Mineola NY 11501
http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/oca/index.html
Phone Number: (516) 571-2600

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Laurence M. LoScalzo, President
Business Category

HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING HEATING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS CLEANING & REPAIR AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS HEATING CONTRACTORS


Additional Locations

  • 2090 Jericho Turnpike

    East Northport, NY 11731

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dix Hills installed new system in a two-fold manner, that is 2 complete systems to handle upper and lower halves of the 1950s split level house. System began to under perform thereafter. The Upper System blew hot air time after time. The Lower System couldn't handle whole house load (it was not designed to). Service personnel were slow to respond and did a number of tests and could not agree on where/what the problem was. A cycle of getting some cool air in the summer after numerous visits followed by failure to cool at all in the spring-time set in. A inconclusive dye test last year failed to find any leaks in system, but coolant gas kept showing low levels. This spring was the third year in a row in which this system couldn't cool house after hours of operation. This year's repair person found a leaky coil in attic based on last year's inconclusive dye test. It appears to be a very slow leak in a hard to find place. Since the latest visit (** May 2013) the needed Evaporator Coil has not been installed. The house temperature is over 90 degrees at night. Office person blames manufacturer for not supplying part and has no idea when it might come in. They plan to call when they have it whenever that might be. Owner called once from unlisted source to admit he needs to fix situation and plans to do something. What he's going to do or or when is not clear. Office and/or owner do not follow up with any news of a solution. A five (5) week delay in 90 degree weather after three years of constant problems is completely unacceptable and shoddy response for an A+ BBB company. It seems clear to me that Dix Hills sold a defective device and failed to correct situation. If manufacturing company was going to respond with part, they would have done so by now. If I am stuck with a defective part(s) for which no repairs are possible, then Dix Hills needs to replace this unit with something they can service. They can't hide behind their unresponsive supplier. Much of my employment involves work from a home office. I find it hard to impossible to work or sleep at home under conditions Dix Hills has caused in my home. This situation is unjustified and unreasonable and continues day by day without resolution.

Desired Settlement: ---Fix defective coli immediately OR replace unit with an alternate unit. ---Apologize for unreasonable delays. ---Pledge to do better in the future.

Business Response:

Hello,   sorry for the delay....  This customer had a defective coil, which we had ordered from the supplier, it did take longer then expected to be delivered... it was ordered May ****, 2013 and it arrived at our shop June ****. We removed the defective coil and installed the new one for the customer.. to my knowledge the customer is happy and all is working as it should... I can understand the customer was not happy, but again the problem has been fixed, and we are stuck just like the customer waiting for parts.. we do not make the equipment so we must wait for it to arrive from the manufacturer... but I do feel we did our best to correct the problem for the customer as best we could...  We have a copy of the invoice for the replacement coil showing the date ordered and the date delivered if you need to see it...

 

thank you

******** ******** ***

Dix Hills Air Conditioning Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ******



 

6/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: System not working properly. Loud noise in the master bedroom. The system is not balanced after 2 technician visits. The lights flicker when the system is on. Dix Hill AC makes appointments and does not keep them. They have kept us waiting home at least 3 times - waiting into the night with a no show technician. The two that did show up haven't been able to fix the system. Installed on 1/*/13. This week is the first time of use

Desired Settlement: Needed ***** ***** (only) to come out at a specific date and time to fix this system. Only resolution. Not waiting for another technician/.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely, 

******* ********* 



 

9/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service