BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that New York Health and Racquet Club meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on New York Health and Racquet Club
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 17, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1972
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Howard Brodsky, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Bodnar, Director of Operations
Principal: Mr. Howard Brodsky, President
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
New York Health Club NYHRC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

New York Health and Racquet Club has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 110 West 56th Street

    New York, NY 10019 (212) 541-7200

  • 115 East 57th Street

    New York, NY 10022 (212) 826-9650

  • 132 East 45th Street

    New York, NY 10017 (212) 986-3100

  • 1433 York Avenue

    New York, NY 10021 (212) 737-6666

  • 18 East 50th Street - 4th Fl.

    New York, NY 10022

  • 20 East 50th Street

    New York, NY 10022 (212) 593-1500

  • 24 East 13th Street

    New York, NY 10003 (212) 924-4600

  • 3 New York Plaza, 19th Floor

    New York, NY 10004

  • 38 Great Neck Road

    Great Neck, NY 11021 (516) 773-4888

  • 39 Whitehall Street

    New York, NY 10004 (212) 269-9800

  • 60 West 23rd Street

    New York, NY 10010 (212) 989-2300

  • 62 Cooper Square

    New York, NY 10003 (212) 904-0400


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
8/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/7/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
4/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a personal training package at New York Health and Racquet Club, and after using two of the 30 sessions, was diagnosed with a stress fracture in my hip and ordered by my doctor, via a doctor's note, not to do any sort of exercise until further notice. I submitted my doctor's note to the club and asked for a refund of my unused personal training sessions, because their contract deems injury a right to cancellation. They will not grant me a refund and have been fighting me on this issue since March.

Desired Settlement: I believe NYHRC has the responsibility to refund me $3,000

Business Response:

I'm replying to the complaint made by *** ***** * *******.


I've enclosed the Doctor's letter she presented---the usage report which shows that she

continued the exercise until she canceled her membership on 6/**/15.  She continued

doing the same exercises & usage as she always did.---Our records show that she

used 13 out of the 30 personal training sessions that she had purchased on 12/**/14.---

The breakdown which shows the dates & the trainer she worked with to use those

13 sessions.--The cancellation request she sent on 6/**/15. Last of all, the notice that

*** ******* is taking us to Small Claims Court.


Whenever someone presents us with a Doctor's note & is canceling their membership

& needs a refund for the unused personal training sessions, there usually is no question.

The problem that we have with this former member is that she presented that letter after

her trainer left our employ.  She did not want to train with anybody else.  She also continued

with her regular exercise schedule.  She also claimed that she used 2 sessions when in reality

13 sessions were used.  Because of these circumstances, we had no choice but to deny her

request without closer scrutiny.


We are going to see *** ******* at Small Claims Court on 10/*/15.  We'll present our

case & douments.  We  will try to get this resolved.


Best regards,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

There are three issues at hand here.

Firstly, the records that NYHRC provided, that they believe show that I resumed a normal exercise routine, show only that I checked into the gym facility. As I stated previously in an email to Mr. G****, I did continue to use the HRC facilities after my diagnosis, but only to use the showers. I believe that paying a monthly membership fee allows me that privilege. I don't know how else to prove that I was not exercising except for to say that I was on crutches, which anyone working the front desk at ********* can confirm. If my doctor's note exempting me from personal training sessions also prohibited me from using the gym's facilities, then that is a different conversation.

Secondly, I was under the impression that I had only used two of my thirty sessions from my package because that's what I had been told by one of the staff working at the front desk. If NYHRC's records show I used 13 of those sessions, then I can't dispute that - but it still means that there were 17 sessions I did not use. I would like to be reimbursed for those 17 unused sessions.

Thirdly, it is completely coincidental that I was diagnosed with the stress fracture around the same time that the personal trainer left the employ of NYHRC. From the very beginning, HRC has made this about the personal trainer leaving, even after I submitted the doctor's note; I declined the offer to train with someone else not because I didn't want to, but because I was unable to. To suggest otherwise is to call not only my integrity into question, but also the integrity of my doctor. I did not make up this injury, nor did I ask the doctor to lie for me.

I, too, hope that we can resolve this issue.

[Your Answer Here]





In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


***** *******


Business Response:

I tried to check *** ********* usage. From what I understand is that she came on

crutches during March & that after March, nobody seems to remember crutches.

I'm also getting conflicting regarding the usage of the gym. 


As a member, *** ******* can use or not use whatever facility she chooses.  Usually

members "freeze" or cancel their membership if there is an injury.  At our ********* **.

Club, the showers are in the basement area with lots of stairs. It seems costly & dangerous

to just use the club in that manner.


I'm not judging *** ********* integrity.  I'm getting various accounts.  I'm glad that

*** ******* initiated the small claims court case for 10/*/15.  I'm sure everything

will get sorted out at that time & this will be settled.




Heidi K****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

When I initially inquired about canceling or getting a refund for my personal training package, I was not informed that freezing my account was an option. I had every intention of continuing my membership and using the gym equipment and machines when I was able to resume a normal exercise routine, so I certainly would have frozen my account had I known that I could do so. When I was diagnosed with a stress fracture by *** *******, he ordered me to use crutches for four weeks, but to refrain from "any type of exercises...until further notice" so it does make sense that after the month of March, none of the staff remembers seeing me with crutches; at that time I was able to walk, but still was unable to exercise. During that time, I continued to use the gym exclusively to shower. It was inconvenient to negotiate the stairs, however since I continued to pay membership dues, it was my right to do so. 

It is still my hope that we can come to an agreement on this issue.

***** *******


1/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a package in April 2012 for $500 for 10 half-hour swimming lessons. I believe I got a discount while signing up and the amount I paid was $472.50. I have my credit card statement. This was at the **** ****** *** **** location of New York Health & Racquet Club (NYHRC), **** **** ****** (at **** ******), *** **** ** *****. The club was unable to find me an instructor and whoever was there gave me one lesson (which they said was a trial/sample lesson to see if I got along with the instructor and liked their teaching style). These instructors left the club. The club never responded to any of my requests in a timely manner and I was mistreated and they kept me going round in circles. My company sponsored our gym membership and I was laid off last year. So my gym membership expired at the end of December 2013. I did not renew my gym membership as I am unemployed. I am fed up of dealing with the rude, unprofessional and inefficient people at NYHRC. *****, the gym person who said he was in charge (at **** * ****), apologized for the way I had been treated the past few years and promised to set things right. He verbally promised that I would get the money refunded to me. Then he was away for a while to get some surgery and after he returned he started avoiding me and asked me to contact their corporate office. I have been dealing with a lady called ***** *****. Below is her response to me. I find this unacceptable, outrageous and equivalent to daylight robbery. I want my money back. I would have loved to have actually received proper swimming lessons. But, they couldn't arrange for anything for me in two years and kept stalling and making me go back & forth and in circles. I am now fed up of NYHRC and do not trust anyone there. Email from ***** *****: "Unfortunately, as per your contract agreement, any services such as massages, personal training, swim lessons etc., are only valid when a membership is in effect & any unused balance (or sessions) are nonrefundable. You purchased these 10 half hours (5 hours) on 4/**/12. You were a member until 1/*/14. I'm really sorry that you did not complete those sessions within that time." This is her contact information - ***** ***** Member Services New York Health & Racquet Club ** **** **** ****** ****** ***** *** ***** ** ***** O: ###-###-#### F: ###-###-####

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back and do not want to ever have to deal with NYHRC again. Refund amount: $472.50

Business Response:


I've been out of the office for 2 weeks due to illness.  I am sorry for any delay

in getting back to you regarding the case #******.


I spoke to the people involved at our **** ****** Club. I looked at all the records

in order to be fair to ** *********.


I've enclosed a covering letter & additional information regarding the cost, the used

lessons, & the expiration date of ** **********s contract. 






***** *****

****** ******** *** **** ****** * ******* **** ** **** **** ****** ****** ***** *** ***** ** *****   ** ************ **  ************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I did not pay close to $500 to NOT learn and NOT take the swimming lessons I paid for. I wanted to learn how to swim. NYHRC had/has a lot of employee turnover and internal issues. ***** told me this himself in February 2014 and apologized for all the improper business practices they subjected me to. Every swim instructor I had quit NYHRC and I was shuffled around with no proper training or continuity in lessons. 

Please ask them to take responsibility for their poor management and customer service skills and reimburse me. This amount means nothing to them, but to me as an individual, it is a lot of money. I never got the service I paid for, the right thing to do is give me my money back. 





In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


***** *********


2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The compliant centers around what I believe to be an inadequate refund by NY H&RC ("HRC') to consumer, *** *******. I believe I am owed an additional - $133.43 Events - I joined NY Health & Racquet Club – Great Neck, NY location – around 2005; - The membership was $999 for 24 months ($41.63 per mo.). I renewed several times after that date; - In 2011, I injured my knee and froze my membership (under terms of contract) for 4 months (provided doctor's note to HRC); - H&RC was presented with the note and accepted the freeze; Hence, I only had use of the facility for 20 months – not 24 months; - When I renewed my membership on 6/**/2012 through 12/**/14 – I have Contract & Receipt - NY H&RC gave me: 4 months credit for the knee / 2 months promotion / 24 month membership – through DECEMBER 2014; - Somewhere in the August 2013 time, HRC informed all members that the Great Neck lease would not be renewed and the Great Neck club would close on September **, 2013. I Spoke to manager at Great Neck and was told I would receive $624.38 (15 months left on contract x $41.63); - With 15 months left on my contract - NY H& RC refunds only $490.95. HR&C did not credit my four months and HRC doubled counted. I had 15 months left remaining on my contract (at $41.63 per month) of the 24 months - $624.38 - $490.95 = $133.43; I paid for 4 months which I did not receive under the previous contract; - When I tried to explain that I am out 4 months – I was basically told we are busy refunding 2,000 members and “it is what it is. Go ahead and complain to the BBB and Attorney General. You think I care” - ***** *****

Desired Settlement: Refund of $133.43

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

This letter is in response to *** *** *******'s complaint.  *************'s previous contract had expired 5/**.  When he joined  on 6/**/12, he was given 6 additional free months.

As per *** *******' s signed contract, free time added to a contract is not considered when calculating any refund that is due.  He mentions that he was given some additional months due to an injury in 2011 .  That time would have been added to the contract which he had at that time.

Since our club closed on 9/**/13, as a good will gesture, we did consider any free time that was given to all those members. *** ******* paid $999.00 for 30 months (913 days) which is $1.09 per day. The membership was in effect from 6/**/12 to 9/**/13. We refunded for the 457 remaining days. The refund amount was $498.95.

I've spoken to *** *******. He wants us to calculate the refund based on 24 months (730 days). This would make the daily fee $1.37. He wants the remaining 457 days based on that amount. This would make the refund amount $624.03.

Unfortunately, *** ******* cannot have it both ways. If we calculate based on 24 months, then the free time is not considered. The refund would be based on 273 remaining days for a refund amount of $373.60.

I've enclosed a copy of the contract. I've marked the part which states that free time is not considered.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:


December 20, 2013

Case: #*******

To Whom It May Concern:

It is *** ***** who wants it both ways.  These months are not free months – as she suggests.  She is referring to the wrong section of the contract.      

These 4 months are owed to me - under Section #6 – Membership Freeze.    My rollover of 4 months was due to an injury. 

Previous to rejoining in June **, 2012, I had a 24 month contract (for $999) in which I used only 20 months due to my knee injury. Because of the injury, I decided to “freeze” my membership – Refer to Section #6 – Membership Freeze (Contract & Doctor’s note was provided).  The manager at the Great Neck facility approved it. 

As per my verbal agreement with HR&C management at Great Neck at the time of the injury, and more importantly as part of the Terms of the Membership Commitment – Section #6 - “a time freeze is effective upon members’ request to a manager”.  The manager approved my request. 

When I renewed the 6/**/12 contract, the manager at Great Neck (not me) said HR&C will just add the owed 4 months because of the injury to your new contract.  Hence, this is why the contract goes beyond 24 months.  The manager at Great Neck realized HR&C owed me 4 months and gave me a new contract to reflect that.  The Great Neck facility doesn't offer membership for $999 for 30 months (24 plus 6 free months).  Plain and simple.  This is not difficult to understand.  

*** ***** wants me to: 1) pay the full amount ($999 for 24 months) from 5/**/10 – 5/**/12 - when I only used 20 months; 2) ignore the agreement between me and the manager and; 3) ignore their own terms and conditions - Membership Freeze section; and 4) call these months free when I “froze” my membership.

HR&C is double charging.  This is not right.

In short, HR&C should refund my four months for the contract between:

-          5/**/10 – 5/**/15  or

-          refund my four months under my new contract. 

*** ***** cannot have it both ways.



*** *******





In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


*** *******


Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

This is the 3rd notice that we've received. I got a notice on  11/**/13 which I replied to on 11/**/13 by fax. I thought that was sufficient.  I now understand that you want me to
reply again.

I run enclosing the papers that I had sent previously. As I had stated, our club at Great Neck closed on 9/**/13. *** ******* signed up for a new 2-year contract on 6/**/12. He received 6 free months. As per the contract agreement, free time is NOT considered when calculating any refund that is due.

Since we were closing the club, as a good will measure, we included all the free time in our calculations. *** ******* contacted us after the refund of $498.95 was issued. He wants the math based on 24 mouths & be refunded for the additional.457 remaining days based on those calculations. This would be a double refund.

I've enclosed the previous cover letter & the contract copy.

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on New York Health and Racquet Club
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart