BBB Accredited Business since

L.A. Fitness International, LLC

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 2110 Route 110 Broad Hollow Road, Farmingdale, NY 11735 http://www.lafitness.com View Additional Web Addresses


View BBB Rating for L.A. Fitness International, LLC's headquarters.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that L.A. Fitness International, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for L.A. Fitness International, LLC. BBB Serving San Diego, Orange & Imperial Counties has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for L.A. Fitness International, LLC.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 24, 2004 Business started: 11/01/1984 in NY Business incorporated: 01/01/1997 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jill Greuling, Vice President, Operations Mr. Louis Welch, Chief Executive Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jill Greuling, Vice President, Operations
Principal: Mr. Louis Welch, Chief Executive Officer
Business Category

HEALTH CLUBS

Alternate Business Names
L.A. Fitness - Farmingdale L.A. Fitness International LLC-Lake Success

Additional Locations

  • 1046 Route 112

    Port Jeff Sta, NY 11776

  • 110 New Moriches Rd

    Lake Grove, NY 11755 (631) 619-2222

  • 1111 Marcus Ave

    New Hyde Park, NY 11042 (516) 355-2302

  • 122 E Main St

    Smithtown, NY 11787

  • 145 E Service Rd

    Staten Island, NY 10314 (718) 761-5606

  • 1776 Eastchester Rd

    Bronx, NY 10461

  • 1934 Middle Country Rd

    Centereach, NY 11720

  • 2110 Route 110 Broad Hollow Road

    Farmingdale, NY 11735

  • 260 Boston Post Rd

    Port Chester, NY 10573

  • 3231 Richmond Ave

    Staten Island, NY 10312

  • 3601C Hempstead Tpke

    Levittown, NY 11756

  • 455 Park Ave

    Lindenhurst, NY 11757 (631) 412-6000

  • 5 Gateway Blvd

    Patchogue, NY 11772 (631) 247-7001

  • 68 Veterans Memorial Hwy

    Commack, NY 11725

  • 711 Stewart Ave

    Garden City, NY 11530

  • 77 Cole St

    Yonkers, NY 10710

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am extremely disappointed with LA Fitness. The staff at their ******* facility has no good faith practices that are stated on the Website: But what we are most proud of are the people who are there to serve you. The people, who warmly greet you, expertly train you. Dedicated to making your fitness experience an exceptional one...we continue to enhance emotional well being of our diverse membership. The staff at the ******* LA Fitness has failed to provide me with an honest and exceptional fitness experience. Instead of enhancing my emotional wellbeing, the staff has had an adverse effect on my emotional wellbeing because of their fraudulent business practices.On November 3, 2012 I attended a complimentary personal fitness training. Upon completion, I was hesitating to sign up for a personal fitness trainer. I was told by the personal training manager, **** *******, to take advantage of the promotion because the following week (11/10/12) was their open house and that the prices for eight sessions would increase drastically. I signed an agreement believing that it was for only eight sessions, and the fees and length of agreement were not written. Also, I did not receive a copy of the contract on that date because I did not have my credit card with me. I was rushed to go home without thoroughly thinking about what was happening. Two hours after arriving home, I received a phone call demanding for the credit card number so I would not lose this great opportunity of eight sessions plus 26 free sessions compliments of LA Fitness. Afterwards, on several occasions I received phone calls from their staff to come in to sign/initial the New Client Checklist. By that time I realized the company was forcing me to a 52- week term, which was not what we had discussed nor had I agreed to because it was not written in the contract when I signed. I informed the staff that I had not agreed to such a costly agreement. But, I was told that I had to sign/initial the New Client Contract regardless because I had signed the agreement. Therefore, against my will, on November 24, 2012, after suffering from the devastation of hurricane Sandy, I signed the document. I complained to the staff about the way I was fraudulently forced to enter into this lengthy, expensive agreement and that I wanted to cancel my membership. But, my complaints fell on deaf ears. My attempts to discuss the matter with the personal training manager in person were not making headway. Then I contacted the LA Fitness headquarters to inform them of the deceptive way in which I was forced into this expensive agreement. The lady whom I spoke with refused to give me her name, was not interested in hearing my complaints, constantly interrupted me when I spoke, and stated that there was nothing I could do to get out of the agreement I was under pressure to sign. She also informed me that I should not contact Better Business Bureau because she had worked for the BBB and she knew I would lose my case since I had signed the agreement. She even insisted in changing my topic of conversation and kept telling me to just let it go and schedule some sessions because there was no way out of this. So, I tried to speak with the manager, **** *******, again several times. But, was just ignored. I had also asked many times for a copy of the agreement and the staff would not give me the copy. I recently received a copy because I had to send my husband to obtain it. It was then that I realized that the paperwork that I had signed had information that I did not see when I originally signed it. It did not even have an agreement number, date, employee identification number, or the clubs information. Had I been aware of the price and length of time of the contract prior to signing it, I never would have signed or agreed to such terms. I cannot afford it. I cannot even afford to send my daughter to daycare and the monthly price costs less than your fees. The staff failed to act in good faith. This deceptiveness, trickery by your company has caused me an enormous amount of anxiety, stress, and has emotionally drained me. I entered into this agreement under a cloud of deception, and pressure by the ******* LA Fitness staff. A fraud was perpetrated in the execution of the contract because I entered into it based upon fraudulent representations by their staff. Therefore, this contract is not legally binding and should be voided. I want my personal training membership cancelled, cancellation fee waived, money already paid refunded and my automatic payments halted.

Desired Settlement: I would like my personal training membership cancelled, cancellation fee waived, money already paid refunded and my automatic payments halted. But most importantly, I would like these types of situations to stop. I would not like anyone else to go through the anxiety of paying high fees that were not fully explained in the first place. I would not like any of the employees to lose their jobs, however, I would like the staff to be more considerate and thoroughly explain the "contract".

Business Response:
 
Please find our response below to the unanswered complaint case #: ******* for ******* *******. Thank you
 
 
LA Fitness contacted member regarding member’s concerns. Member was reminded that member’s personal training agreements include a provision that allows member the option to voluntarily cancel the agreements at any time for any reason during the initial term by paying a termination fee equal to 50% of the remaining balance at the time of the notice. Nevertheless, LA Fitness offered to reduce the termination fee to 25% of the remaining agreement balance. Member elected to take advantage of this reduced cancellation fee and authorized two payments in the amount of $350.00 each today to terminate member’s personal training agreements early (copies of cancellation confirmation receipts attached for reference). 
 
 
 
 

4/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The complainant states the following:

"The consumer states:  "My Fiance and I signed a contract to join LA Fitness on September 25,2012. They told us the Gym would have a pool, basketball court and fitness classes, its December 4, 2012 and the pool service is still not available which is one of the main reasons that we joined. We were told we were getting a "pre-sale" deal by joining that day and if we did not join that day the fees would go up so we paid $349.00 initiation fees and $139.96 in prepaid dues. We explained to ******** that my Fiance only has one kidney so the main interests we had was for joining was the pool, I also have a muscle spasm on my lower back for which I have been going to therapy for so therefore there are certain instruments in the gym that we cannot use and the pool and classes were what drew us to signing this contract. They told us the Gym would open that Monday which it did not and more than 2 months later the pool is still not finished and no date of completion has been given to me. I called the facility last week and spoke to a man named **** and explained that I was upset because we had been forced into signing that day and the complete services have not been offered. I also told him that on their site they are advertising no initiation fee and that I wanted a refund because we had given basically $500.00 to start and 2 months later the gym is still not finished, he admitted that they false advertise on their sites when they state "no initiation fee" and said that it is not his fault the pool has not been finished they just sell the product they are told to sell. **** then told me to speak to **** ****** the Operations Manager. When I spoke to **** ****** and explained to him my complaint he said "we are not a pool facility so I don't have to compensate you for anything" and offered me no solution. I am outraged at how we were pressured into signing this contract because we thought we were getting a good deal and 2 months later the services promised have not been rendered. Their staff has been very rude and everytime I call to try and cancel my membership I am told **** is on the phone or if not I get put on hold for 20 minutes."

Desired Settlement: The consumer seeks the following:  "would like to be reimbursed for our initiation fees because they have failed to provide the services promised."

Business Response: The following is our reply for ID ******* ***** *******; Our ******* location opened up on 10/3/2012. There was a delay in the construction and opening of our pool. Due to the recent Hurricane at that time of year, our original construction crew went out of business. Our pool opened in March of this year. Our local Operations Manager spoke to our members back in Dec and discussed her refund request. Her refund was respectfully declined as the membership agreement enrolled in was not for a specific amenity. At this time the pool is open and the membership is active and can currently use the facility and the membership also grants them access to our multiple locations in the NY area. A corporate office representative has left a message to further discuss her concerns/complaint. For any additional questions or concerns, we can be contacted at the information below. Thank You
 
 
Sincerely
****** *******
LA Fitness International, LLC
3161 Michelson Suite 600
Irvine, CA  92612