BBB Accredited Business since

Knee Walker Central

Phone: (800) 893-1264 Fax: (800) 779-7601 228 Park Avenue South  # 41071, New York, NY 10003

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Knee Walker Central meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Knee Walker Central include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Knee Walker Central
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 20, 2011 Business started: 08/27/2009 in NY Business incorporated 08/19/2009 in NY
Type of Entity


Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Krassner, Founder/ CEO
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Northrup Medical Supply LLC

Additional Locations

  • 228 Park Avenue South  # 41071

    New York, NY 10003 (800) 893-1264


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had **** ******* on 6/**/14, I ordered the knee walker on 6/**/14 (they assured me that it would be there by Tues 6/**/14), it had not arrived by Wed (6/**/14), so I called again, the Rep said it should be there by the end of day Wed (6/**/14), in the mean time I couldn't get around the house. It was delivered that Wed (6/**/14), late. The next morning (6/**/14) I struggled to put this thing together while balancing on one foot bent over, which was my problem, I agree. Then I struggled to tighten the bolts so it would be sturdy and hold me up. I tried everything and the handlebar neck, that really holds you up, was very loose, shakey, rocked back and forth and was not good and sturdy. I had my son come over the next day (6/**/14)to tighten it and he did everything he could, but said the tread was stripped and it wasn't going to get any tighter, to get rid of it. I ended up using it around the house for a few days, then I called the company again to tell them about the problem. It was defective and I thought that this would not be a good situation if it was my grandmother! The Rep said I could send it back and they would send another one out, I said I didn't want to wait or go without, seeing as how long it took for me to get it in the first place, so I had to think about it and I kept it a little longer. I ended up not using it (hopping around the house) and I finally decided to call them to have it picked it up on or around July ***. Then I did not hear from them for a month or so. Now they are billing me $103 for the use of defective equipment, the original charge for a month was going to be $100! When I called today, the Rep said they charged me for 2 weeks and pick up/shipping charges. Which originally when I called to tell them that I had a problem with it, they said no charge for pick up, delivery, shipping, etc… At this point their customer service is terrible and I will not be using this company ever again and I will be contacting my Dr (foot surgeon) office to make sure they know that this company is sending out defective equipment to their patients and charging them for it. Its not right, I feel I should not have been charged for this at all and I want my money back! I had major **** ******* last year (on the same foot) and I did not have this problem with another knee walker company that I had used, I didn't know at the time when I was scheduling for yet another surgery (on the same foot) that this was a difference company, I just picked up the brochure and didn't realize that at the time. But it most defiantly was not there same company that I had used before, the company I used last year was very focused on customer service and my needs, they delivered the equipment to me on time as promised and even sent someone to put it together for me! Big difference! When I have my other foot done in a few months I will not be contacting this company and for the ***** ******* ******* ** ** **** problems the major one has me off my foot for 2-3 months, not just 1 month! But I guess that they don't care about that because they are making enough money on ripping people off!

Desired Settlement: I do not see a "desired outcome" section. But "desired outcome" would be getting my MONEY BACK.

Business Response:

Hi ******,


Thank you for bringing ********'s issue to my attention. Here is my response...


Hi ********,


This is **** ********, the founder of Knee Walker Central. I thoroughly read everything you wrote, had a look at the notes on your account and listened to the recordings in which you spoke with representatives on the team. I agree, the shaky handlebar neck is not something you should have to deal with when you get a knee walker, and I'm sorry the unit didn't come with a more secure handlebar. I saw that we offered to send you a replacement, and part of the reason you declined it is because you didn't want to go without a knee walker; I feel bad about this as well because our exchange policy states that when we send out a replacement unit free of charge, you get to keep the original for up to 3 days after it arrives to insure that you always have a knee walker to use, and it seems like we missed an opportunity to help you in that area. 


Regarding the billing for the unit, your knee walker rental was viewed just like any other because the replacement of the knee walker was declined, and we were under the impression that you were going to keep the unit you had and continue to use it. It get's a bit intricate because the unit was kept for less than our one month minimum, and the prorated price is a little tricky compared to our cut and dry monthly prices, but here is a breakdown for the purposes of our conversation... 


Two week rental = $70 - Our weekly rate is $35 per week.

Delivery = $20 - When someone keeps a unit for less than 1 month, they are responsible for delivery that we would normally cover if they kept the unit for 1 month or more. We do this because if we rented out knee walkers for less than one month and paid for shipping, in most cases we would loose money. We make no profit on this, as the $20 is approximately what we pay for shipping. 

Return shipping = $0 (but normally $20) - We include a FedEx return label with all shipments. Customers can send their knee walker back any way they would like, but if they use our label get access to the discounts we have with FedEx. We make no profit on this, as the customer would pay approximately what we pay for shipment. This was wiped out because of the inconvenience you had with the handlebars. 

FedEx pickup at your home = $13 - FedEx charges us $13 for this service. As a courtesy we coordinate with FedEx on behalf of our customers, and pass the $13 fee on to them at the end of their rental. We make no profit on this.

Order processing for rentals that are under 4 weeks = $0 (but normally $20) - Fulfillment for a knee walker rental is quite expensive because of the custom box it comes in and the labor involved in getting each unit ready for it's next shipment. Anyone that wants to rent a knee walker for less than 4 weeks would be charged this price, but this is something that one of our customer service representatives had wiped out on your account to make up for the inconvenience you experienced with the handlebar. 

Total = $103


I understand the logic that $103 is more than the $100 that you would have paid for your original rental, but that doesn't take into account the cost of return shipping and a FedEx pickup that you would have paid at the end of a one month rental, which would have in total added $33 to your original $100, so there was a savings of $30. Also, we have it as a policy to only offer a prorated price on a knee walker that's kept for less than a month if it's going to save someone money; we would never charge more than you would have been responsible for. I realize that things weren't presented in a way that would make all of our billing clear, and I am sorry for the lack of information in this arena. 


Since you received a knee walker that had an issue and you were not informed of our billing procedure in a clear way, I'm going to have your account refunded 100%. Please look out for an email confirming this by Tuesday the latest. I hope you'll accept my apology for the inconvenience and consider giving us a second try for your upcoming surgery in a few months. 


If you would like to speak about any of this, or make any suggestions on ways we can create a better organization, please give me a call on my cell phone at ###-###-#### or send an email to **************************. I would love to hear from you. 




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.


******** *******