BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

Gothic Cabinet Craft, Inc.

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 5877 57th St, Maspeth, NY 11378 http://www.gothiccabinetcraft.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm is a retail furniture store specializing in unfinished and custom-made household furniture. The company operates several locations in Metropolitan New York and New Jersey.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gothic Cabinet Craft, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gothic Cabinet Craft, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gothic Cabinet Craft, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 13, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1969 in NY Business incorporated: 05/14/1976 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Aristidis Zaharopoulos, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aristidis Zaharopoulos, President
Business Category

FURNITURE-UNFINISHED FURNITURE MANUFACTURERS CABINET MAKERS CABINETS

Alternate Business Names
Elmsford Furniture Corp. Gothic Furniture

Additional Locations

  • 100-2 Rockaway Blvd.

    Ozone Park, NY 11417 (718) 641-4767

  • 104 3rd Ave

    New York, NY 10003 (212) 420-9556

  • 1076 Old Country Rd

    Riverhead, NY 11901

  • 14802 Jamaica Ave

    Jamaica, NY 11435 (718) 297-1109

  • 15 E Main St

    Elmsford, NY 10523 (914) 345-6161

  • 160 Empire Blvd

    Brooklyn, NY 11225 (718) 703-8722

  • 1646 2nd Ave

    New York, NY 10028 (212) 472-7359

  • 1756 Forest Ave

    Staten Island, NY 10303 (718) 477-6363

  • 19122 Northern Blvd

    Flushing, NY 11358 (718) 321-3757

  • 195 Lexington Ave

    New York, NY 10016 (212) 252-8478

  • 2011 Westchester Ave

    Bronx, NY 10462 (718) 239-4667

  • 2119 Broadhollow Rd

    Farmingdale, NY 11735 (516) 777-7580

  • 2157 White Plains Rd

    Bronx, NY 10462 (718) 863-7440

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2167 Central Park Ave

    Yonkers, NY 10710 (914) 779-7422

  • 2361 Central Park Aveue

    Yonkers, NY 10710

  • 2366 University Ave

    Bronx, NY 10468 (718) 365-9333

  • 244 E Merrick Rd

    Freeport, NY 11520

  • 245 Old Country Rd

    Carle Place, NY 11514 (516) 333-5560

  • 2494 Flatbush Ave

    Brooklyn, NY 11234

  • 253-01 Rockaway Blvd.

    Woodmere, NY 11598 (516) 791-7072

  • 2652 Broadway

    New York, NY 10025 (212) 678-4368

  • 2849 Steinway St

    Astoria, NY 11103 (718) 932-0830

  • 31 Smith St

    Brooklyn, NY 11201 (718) 625-2333

  • 5877 57th St

    Maspeth, NY 11378

  • 609 E Main St

    Bay Shore, NY 11706 (631) 969-2203

  • 636 S Broadway

    Yonkers, NY 10705

  • 6929 5th Ave

    Brooklyn, NY 11209 (718) 745-0715

  • 8216 37th Ave

    Jackson Hts, NY 11372 (718) 426-6622

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (347) 881-1420(Phone)
  • (877) 446-8442(Phone)
  • (347) 881-1429 (Fax)
  • (347) 881-1432 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am disabled mobility and weight bearing. I purchased a large dresser less than 2 years ago on upPer east side store From beginning I notified salesperson that drawers would get stuck she told me to spray ad 40???? I figured the Problem was the tracking but living alone I could not lift drawers. One month ago two drawers could not close and now the entire thing has totally collapsed on it self , all the drawers on to each other cannot be moved in or out , my clothes are stuck inside, and it is in danger of keeling over. I spoke with one of the stores and customer service, they refuse to help me,and my receipt was lost when I moved to another apartment. But surely a dresser that I paid approx 500 dollars for should last more than 15 months otherwise they do not deserve to be in business.

Desired Settlement: Repair or replace please

Business Response: Dear ****** *******,


I  have read the customer's complaint. I  want to apologize to them for any inconvenience. I  would like to send someone to her home to inspect the piece.  The customer claims that the dresser has collapsed and is ready to tip over.  Based on this description, and the fact that they do not have their invoice, I believe that this dresser has been damaged through excessive wear and tear or is not one of our products. I have never heard of one of our dressers tipping over, collapsing on itself, or all of the drawers not working.  Something does not sound right.  Nevertheless,  we will send someone to inspect it. I will have someone from my office contact the customer.

Sincerely,
*************************

Business Response: Dear ****** *******,

 
I want to bring to your attention the experience we had with the customer that filed this complaint. We sent one of our service men to inspect and or repair the piece of furniture in question.  As I had suspected, the piece was damaged by movers that the customer had  hired.  Upon Inspecting the piece, the customer confronted our service man and accused him of breaking one of her picture frames.  Our service man denied that he had caused any damaged, and the customer became irate and difficult.  She then continued to call our off ice and had  our representatives  on the phone for 40 minutes.  We were more than  prepared  to try to accommodate the customer  despite the  fact that they made this purchase over 2 yea rs ago and could not even provide a receipt.  The BBB, I believe, is an organization that is supposes to help customers that are being mistreated by irreputable retailers.  We on the other hand, are more than reputable and tried to assist her. In this case, we are being mistreated and we want your support to help deal with this customer. The only solution I can offer is for the customer to make her own arrangements for her piece to be sent to our factory and we will repair it free of charge.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Thank you for your letter of Oct **,
I must reiterate that this dresser was not damaged in moving and the facts that I stated were true.
Also I could not possibly pay the costs of returning the dresser to them for repair as they offered in their last letter.
I could not afford the expense and I don't think I should have to under the circumstances.
However I just received a call earlier today from ******* at Gothics office saying they will pick up the dresser, repair it and return it to me.
I do appreciate their offer and will accept, however I informed her that I am having surgery Tuesday morn, October ** and that the earliest day that I will be home will be Thursday October **.
Please keep me informed should you have any further contact from them, and shall do the same.

Thankyou
**** ******


 

10/29/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been waiting a month for my order & have received nothing. I can't even get an answer from them of a status update or even a response at all for that matter. Sent countless emails & left messages no return on anything. Very unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: Delivery of my order or a refund

Business Response: Dear **** ** *******,


I  have read the customer's complaint. I want to apologize to them for any delays in delivering their  order or for our office not responding to their inquiry in a timely manner.  Unfortunately, these items where backordered form our supplier, causing a delay In shipment.  However, we  re expecting these items to come in this week and we will deliver to the customer shortly after.  Contrary to the customer's complaint dated  10/**/13, our office did respond to their email on 10/**/2013, a date that precedes their complaint.  Our office also called the customer and updated them to the status of their order. As a courtesy for any i nconvenience due to the delay, we will refund the customer the delivery fee.


Sincerely,
********* ** ********** 

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a dining room set and bedroom set. Most of items were defective. They were able to replace a few parts in a timely manner, but I have been waiting for my last piece for 2 months already. They say that it is backordered from the manufacturer and don't have control because it is coming from China. He doesn't know when it will come. He is making inappropriate and unfair negotiations about the product. I had to argue but after weeks he has finally agreed to give me some money off for inconvenience. For me actually receiving my replacement bed, he gave me the ultimatum that if the bed does not ship in the next 8-12 weeks I will keep bed as is with an additional discount. He will view bed as "discontinued." Even if it comes in after that time I am stuck with damaged bed.. If the manufacturer is saying it is not discontinued, then there is no reason why I shouldn't receive my bed. It is extremely unfair that I am given a time limit on a product that is defective or was damaged on delivery and it should be replaced in a more timely manner, with discount for my troubles. Company wants us to be stuck with damaged bed so that they don't take a loss of money.

Desired Settlement: I would like a discount for all I have been through with this company. On top of that, I would like the bed to be replaced regardless of time frame it takes. If item never gets shipped or gets discontinued, then I expect a full refund for the complete bed set which will be returned regardless of time.

Business Response: RE: ID# *******
We are more than willing to work with *** **** on the issue with her backordered bed model # CM7053Q. She currently has the defective bed in her home but the replacement is on backorder from the manufacturer and we have been given a timetable of 6-8 weeks for it to be shipped here from overseas. In the last email contact with *** **** dated 4/**/13 she has agreed to a $200 discount for her troubles and we have offered to exchange the bed if it comes in stock within the next 12 weeks. If the bed does not arrive in 12 weeks we will consider it to be discontinued and we will pick up the bedroom set from the customer and we will refund the purchase price for the bedroom set which was $1,769.00-15% original discount= $1,503.00 +tax.



Best Regards,
**********





District Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Hi,

 

I am having an issue with a complaint. Gothic Furniture and I have
had an issue with my replacement bed. The agreement was to give the company 3
months or I would be given a full refund. It has been way over three months and
still no sign of my bed. Part of the agreement was also to refund me $200 for
my inconvenience, which they are now denying me and saying let's settle on
$100. If you could please get back to me with information about this case. I
misplaced the letter the company sent to you and would like to get a copy.
Thank you.

 

********* ****

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

********* ****




 

Business Response: To whom It may concern,

The above mentioned case regarding *****. ********* ****'s order has been completed as of
 9/**/13. The bedroom set was picked up on Saturday 9/**/13 and customer was issued a full refund as previously agreed.

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a full sized bed which was to be 54" x 75"; honey oak with 4 storage doors. What I received is a bed that is 63" x 48", honey oak with 4 storage drawers. It is beautiful, but the way too small. I have repeatedly tried to contact Gothic Cabinet to resolve this matter, but they have not responded. (For the last week)

Desired Settlement: I would like the correct size bed or a refund. If they could remake the frame so I could use the drawers that are on this one, I would be happy.

Business Response: I am in receipt of the customer's complaint.  I apologize for the delay in responding to the customer.
We were overloaded with orders from our Memorial Day Promotions.  I believe the customer received a partial shipment.  I will have our Web Sales manager contact the customer. We will correct any
problems the customer may have.


Sincerely
********* ************ 

6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I ordered 4 cabinets from Gothic via their website on or about December **, 2012. Upon delivery of the products, on February **, 2013, two of the cabinets arrived damaged. We noted the damage with the UPS delivery driver and promptly notified Gothic who said we should retain the cabinets while they arranged delivery of replacement cabinet. It has been over two months since Gothic said they would resolve this issue and we are still waiting. We have sent photos of the damage and have patiently waited. For the past two weeks, the Gothic representative, **** ** ******* has refused to respond to my telephone calls or otherwise explain why we are still waiting for the replacement shelves. The damaged shelves are in our way and the lack of merchantable shelves has deprived us of the benefit for which we ordered the shelves.

Desired Settlement: Prompt replacement, respectful communications, a partial refund to compensate us for the annoyance of having damaged shelves in our way and not having merchantable shelves for our use, and any other damages that may be equitable.

Business Response: Dear ******** *****,


I have read the customer's complaint.  Unfortunately, my staff is making our problem with UPS, the customer's problem.  The customer's are 100% correct, and I am very sorry for their inconvenience.  They will be contacted by *** ***** ********* immediately to have the shelves or entire units exchanged, We will also refund the shipping fees to the customer.

Sincerely,

********* ************ Gothic Cabinet Craft President

6/3/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a storage bed on 3/*. Credit card was charged on 3/*. Product pages clearly state multiple times 3 week production time. After 4 weeks I called for an update and was told 2 more weeks. Received email after about 5 weeks saying shipping would be closer to 7 weeks. Responded asking if there was anything they could do to get it to me faster as I had a mattress in the middle of the livingroom waiting for the bed and they had already missed their original commitment by 3 weeks. No response. Called last week and was told if it did not ship Friday (4/**) it would ship 4/** or 4/**. Today is 4/**. I called and was promissed a call back. Several hours later, after no call back, I called again and was told it MIGHT ship this WEEK, but the person with my information was not at his desk and will have to call back. Another several hours have gome by and still I have no answers!!!

Desired Settlement: I not only expect immediate shipping of my bed, but I expect an profuse apology as well as a correction of their website to reflect ACTUAL production times and timely responses to customer inquiries

Business Response: Dear ***** *********,
Thank you for contacting us with this problem.  Please let me address the issues one by one. Firstly, our website does clearly state 3 weeks production time as the customer explains in her complaint. Shipping time however, Is different than production time. Our regular practice is that after a customer places an order, we call them to give them a delivery time frame. In this case, the customer was informed that it would take 4-5 weeks. We did however, take a little more time than that. We are truly sorry for this and to compensate the customer we upgraded their delivery service from a "curbside delivery" to a "home delivery with set up" at no extra charge. Secondly, all of the customer's calls where returned in a timely manner.  Furthermore, the customer has received the bed that they ordered.
There is no need for a correction on our website.  As for the apology she is requesting, we are extremely apologetic for not delivering on time.  If she so desires to purchase from us again, we would  be more than willing to offer the customer a sizable discount for her inconvenience.  We do not live in a perfect world.  Sometimes, things get delayed.
 
 
 
 
Sincerely,
 
 
 
********* ************

Business Response: Dear ***** *********,
 
 
I am in receipt of the customer's 4th correspondence with the BBB and my office. Once again, I have made an attempt to rectify the problem with my previous proposal but the customer refuses to accept my proposal or suggest another form of resolution. Please have the customer tell us what they want. I believe their tactic is to tire us down so we can offer a full refund. We can give them a full refund if she makes arrangements to send us back all the pieces, in good condition, at her expense.
 
 
 
Sincerely,
 
 
 
********* ************
Gothic Cabinet Craft President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

BBB,

Please close this complaint as UNRESOLVED.  While they have addressed the shipping delay with upgraded shipping, the repeated and adamant refusal of the business to acknowledge any of the product quality concerns I have raised makes it clear to me it is a waste of time to continue to try to reason with them. 

I am unclear why they would assume I am looking for a “full refund” as I have said nothing of the sort.  In fact, I have said the furniture is exactly what I wanted – it is just the execution and timing that are below my expectations.

I am extremely disappointed that we could not reach a resolution.  I will certainly use this as a learning experience and can only hope that the business will do the same.

Thanks,

********

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******** **********




 

5/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered furniture on March **** and was told it would take three weeks. It has now been 1.5 months!!!! Once the date came, I received only one of the pieces that I ordered. I called ****** to find out about the other piece and was informed that there was a mix up and I should have the other piece in about a week. I hadn't heard anything once the week passed and called back to ****** and was told that they never told me one week that it was two weeks and should hear back. I was upset and asked for some sort of credit since the mess up was on their end with the delivery and was told that I would get a call back. The next week went by and still did not hear anything. I called back and spoke to the same person and they said they had no idea when my other piece was coming and I asked why I didn't hear about the credit and was informed that they noted their supervisor(*****) to call me and didn't know why I hadn't heard anything. I was furious and wanted to speak with supervisor and they were not available. Four phone call later, I was finally able to speak with someone (****)that said they would find out about my delivery time and about the credit and get back to me. I wrote a letter to the company via their website to the attention of the president of the company ********* ************ and still have not heard back. Another week went by and I still hadn't heard back and I called and spoke with ****. **** said that he asked the original guy ****** to call me and he placed me hold and came back to tell me that my piece was arriving at the warehouse that day and I should receive on Saturday. He said they would be in contact on Thursday and let me know the delivery times. It is Thursday evening and I still haven't heard anything. Everyone here blames everyone else. I just want my furniture and a credit back for the hassle!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want my end table that goes with the other and a partial refund for my experience. They should give me my other piece and a full refund since they have mishandled my entire transaction. I have yet to receive follow-up or an apology for the mistreatment and poor handling of my issue. I honestly don't think that they care!

Business Response: Dear ******** *****,
Thank you for contacting us for this complaint.  Firstly, I would like to apologize to the customer for the inconvenience. After reviewing the order with my staff, I did find that his delivery took longer than expected. The problem was that the supplier did not have both pieces in stock. The customer placed their order on March ****. He received a phone call from our delivery department and was given a choice of delivery dates. The customer chose the delivery date April ***. This is longer than the 2-3 weeks delivery time posted on our website for this item, but in our defense, the customer did discuss and chose this date with our delivery representative.  On the day before the delivery date of April ***, the customer received a phone call from our office to confirm the delivery. This Is where we are at fault. We should
have notified the customer at this point that one piece was missing. He finally received his second item on May ***. The customer now has both pieces.
 
The customer was offered  10% off the items for his inconvenience, but he did not accept. Subsequently, we received the complaint from your office.  We are willing to refund the customer his delivery fee of $55 since we failed to deliver on time.  We can also give him a 15% discount on his next order If he chooses to shop with us again. If the customer wants a separate letter of apology, we can provide that as well. We are very sorry that the customer was inconvenienced.




Sincerely,

********* ************
Gothic Cabinet Craft President
 


Business Response: Dear ********  *****,
 
***** **** ** ********  ** ***** **** ***** ******** **** ***** ********
 
Contrary to *** ******* comments, I  am truly sorry for his Inconvenience.  I  am also a professional and a consumer and have experienced the same thing.  It is very frustrating.  I  did not receive an email from *** *******.  Otherwise, I would have responded as I  do with all of my customers.  My direct email for his reference Is ******************.   I  have already agreed to give back *** ******* shipping cost which is $59.88 ($55 +tax).  I can increase the discount on a future order to 20%.  As for giving him 50% off on one of the tables, this is not feasible.  He has the tables and he has not stated any problems with the tables.  I  am willing to refund  him 20% off one of the tables.  I appreciate *** ******* comments and will make sure to fix the problem  on our end to ensure that this does not happen  in the future.




Sincerely

********* ************ Gothic Cabinet Craft President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

I am still unhappy with the resolution but will accept the refund of shipping and 20% of one of the tables to the original form of payment within the next 14 days.   I want to close this out but I will never shop at this company again based on my experience and will dissuade others to do the same.  I hope that you give this company a F rating!

 
Sincerely,

**** *******



 

12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/3/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues