BBB Accredited Business since

Behr's Baby & Kid's Furniture

Phone: (516) 541-2347 1220 Hicksville Road, Rte. 107, Seaford, NY 11783 http://www.behrsfurniture.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Behr's Baby & Kid's Furniture meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Behr's Baby & Kid's Furniture include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Behr's Baby & Kid's Furniture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1972
Business Category

FURNITURE-CHILDREN'S

Alternate Business Names
Behr's Furniture Behr, Henry & Son Inc. Henry S. Behr Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1220 Hicksville Road, Rte. 107

    Seaford, NY 11783

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a broken rocking chair for my baby's room. Store says I can't get a new one. I paid $600 for a new chair and they said they'll get some parts to fix it. I don't want one fixed. I want it new. I ordered it 3 months ago and it would be another 3 months for a new one. My baby is due any day and I need it now. I want refund

Desired Settlement: I want refund

Business Response:

We have been in contact with our mutual customer in regards to the matter specified in her complaint. We are satisfying the customer's request and consider this matter resolved to the customer's satisfaction. 

 

- John, Manager

Behr's Furniture

9/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a nursery bedroom set for my unborn child at the end of May 2015. I was told that the set would be delivered by the third or fourth week of July at the latest. Because I am due to give birth on August **, 2015, I proceeded with the order assuming that the furniture would be delivered well before my due date. My husband first called the store on the third week of July to inquire about the delivery date. We were told it was scheduled to arrive at the store within 2 weeks and would be delivered the first week of August. We were not happy, but again assumed that it would be here well before the baby's arrival. On the first week of August, we called again to inquire about a firm delivery date and were told that only the crib was in, and that the rest of the furniture was on due to be delivered at the end of that week, and they would call us to schedule delivery for the 2nd week of August. When the second week of August started, and we still did not have a firm date, we called again. I called this time and spoke with Danielle who told me that the crib and one of the dressers were in and that they were waiting for one other dresser which was going to be on the delivery truck for Thursday or Friday. She informed me that the changing kit would be delayed, but that the furniture set would be delivered first and they could deliver the changing kit when it came in. She said they would call when the truck was unloaded and we would get delivery the following week. When I did not hear from them on Thursday, I called Friday afternoon and again spoke with Danielle. She informed me that the crib and the changing kit were in but both dressers were now on back order with the manufacturer. I asked her about the discrepancy in what I was told earlier in the week and she said she did not know. She then told me that it was possible that a delivery would come in Monday or Tuesday and that we would get the furniture delivered this week. I informed her that my due date is August **, and that I needed the furniture before the birth of my child. I asked her what they could do to speed up delivery, she had no answer. She told me that she would call me back on Monday or Tuesday to let me know if the furniture had come in. Instead, later that day, on Friday August **, 2015, she called my husband to inform him the furniture would not be in on Monday or Tuesday, and would probably be on the truck for this week on Thursday or Friday and we would likely have delivery on Monday August **, 2015. My husband called today and spoke with Linda. This time Linda told my husband that only the crib was in and that there was no way they could deliver anything to us on Monday. Upon hearing this, I got on the phone with Linda and asked about the discrepancy in what we were told originally. She told me that IF the furniture was on the truck for tomorrow, that could not deliver the furniture until the end of next week because they do not have any trucks available to come into my area to deliver the furniture. She then said they usually do not schedule delivery for 3 to 4 days after a shipment arrives. I informed her that Danielle had told us that it takes 2 days for delivery, and that she said if it came in this week we would get it by Monday. At this point, Linda became very rude. She was upset that she was no longer speaking with my husband and proceeded to speak over me while I was asking her about delivery. She then backtracked and told me that the company does schedule delivery in 2 days, but that they didn't have any trucks for my area and didn't have the furniture, so couldn't schedule anything for us. She said she could only schedule the crib delivery but not until the end of next week. I informed her that my due date is this Saturday, and to not have this furniture and be dealing with delivery with a newborn was unacceptable. I asked her what they do for expecting parents in this situation. She told me that they are concerned about all their customers and did not give me an answer. At the end of the conversation, she told me that the delivery truck comes in between 10 am and 4 pm and they would not know if our furniture was in before then. She then told me that I could call, but that it would basically be a waste of time because they would call me if the furniture was in. She did not give me any other information or attempt in any way to rectify this situation.

Desired Settlement: I ordered this furniture over 2 months ago and now have no furniture for my nursery. I want a firm delivery date and for delivery to happen next week, hopefully before I go into labor or return home from the hospital. I also think for this hassle I should get a waived or reduced delivery fee. I paid a lot of money for the set that I ordered and put down a deposit of half of the furniture. Thus, I now have to wait and cannot get a replacement. And I likely have to bring my new baby home to an empty room.

Business Response: Customer received delivery of all merchandise on August **, 2015. Customer signed for the merchandise and accepted it in good condition. 

We apologize for the delivery delays the customer experienced with her order. We are offering the customer compensation for these delays.

Sincerely,

John
Manager
Behr's Furniture 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.  I would like to add that we received our furniture a few days after the complaint was made and the delivery staff was very courteous and professional.  Additionally, John the manager called me to apologize for the delay with the delivery and the customer service issues.  John was very courteous and professional as well.  Further, Behrs has offered me more than fair compensation for the delivery delay and customer service issues, which I have accepted.  Overall, I am very happy with the stores response and will definitely shop there again as a result of their efforts to rectify the situation.  Thank you for all your help with this matter.

Sincerely,

******** ******



 

8/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a crib, dresser and mattress on 4/*/15. I was told this furniture would be delivered in 10 weeks time. It is now 15+ weeks and the furniture has not shipped from the manufacturer. I have called multiple times and been told that it will ship soon. I received a voicemail from Behr on 7/* stating that the furniture would ship in the middle of that week. It is now 7/** and I have just learned that the furniture has still not shipped. This is completely unacceptable. I demand to understand WHEN exactly this furniture will arrive. Does Behr understand their customers are expectant parents with a FIRM DEADLINE on when they need the furniture delivered?

Desired Settlement: DELIVERY OF FURNITURE BY THE END OF THIS WEEK.

Business Response: We delivered the customer's furniture on July ****, 2015, and the customer signed for the furniture in good condition. The customer accepted the compensation that we offered. 

6/24/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a crib and dresser from this company five months ago. It was supposed to be delivered in 8-12 weeks, this was pushed back four additional weeks and now it still is not available.

Desired Settlement: I would like my crib and dresser. I would also like accountability by the store. They are not helpful in any possible way and they act as if they are doing no wrong. They need to take responsibility for the shipment of the products they are selling and to abide by the agreement of delivery at the time of purchase.

Business Response: First, we apologize for the delays our customer has experienced with her order. Our only goal is deliver the customer's order in the time frame we originally told her, but the manufacturer had extreme delays that affected all sales nationally. We have attached a copy of a letter given to us by the *** of the manufacturer taking full responsibility for the delays and explaining them to the best of their ability. We truly share in the customer's frustration with the delay in delivering her furniture, but unfortunately our hands were tied because the product simply was no available to deliver until very recently. 

When we finally received the customer's furniture, we immediately delivered her furniture on June ****, for which all goods were signed for and accepted. 

6/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this store on April **, 2015. I was helped by *****. I explained to him that due to a previous order from another business I was on a time crunch to get a bedroom set for my daughter. I asked questions regarding availability and delivery of the bedroom set I was considering buying. He went and called the company and came back and told me the set was available and assured me I would get it within 4 weeks. I made the decision to place the order due to that fact. I called customer service on Tuesday May *** 2015 to check status of the order. After being put on hold the woman came back and told me the manufacturer is waiting on a part and that I can expect the bedroom set within two weeks. That would be two weeks past what I was told! Being in the situation I had no option but to wait. Called again on May **** 2015 for the status of set. I was again put on hold and when the woman came back the same information was given too me. The manufacturer is still waiting for a part and they do not expect until mid June. When I asked why wasn't I informed she told me that unless the customer calls for a status they would not know to call manufacturer for an update. Keep in mind I only ordered this set because I was told it was available and I would have it in 4 weeks! How does a business in good standing NOT tell OR contact their customers if something is backordered or not available? ***** knew my time frame he knew my situations and still sold me the product. When I spoke to the woman in customer service (who was very nice) and told her this is unacceptable all she could do is say that she would give my information to the manger (who will be out for a few days) and have him call me.

Desired Settlement: the company should compensate and deduct a percentage from the order and give some sort of guarantee of delivery of item promised ... Also they should consider their customers and be HONEST about the products availability and delivery... I feel like I was taken advantage of because he knew the situation

Business Response: We spoke with our mutual customer. We apologized greatly for any inconvenience we caused her. The customer is correct that we told her the items were in stock when she placed her order. That information was given to us by the manufacturer on the date the customer placed her order with us. After discovering the delay, we contacted the manufacturer again, and the manufacturer's customer service supervisor explained that the person we spoke with when the customer placed her order was mistaken and that this item has been out of stock for some time and will not be in again until the middle of June. We assuredly had no intention of misleading the customer, but we were unfortunately given bad information by the manufacturer. 

We reached out to our mutual customer and explained to her what happened. We apologized greatly and told her that we will update her with any new information the manufacturer gives us. 

We offered the customer compensation for her delays, and the customer was satisfied with the compensation we offered.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** *******



 

5/6/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order for baby furniture placed 01/**/2015. When the order was placed we were very clear to the salesman that we would go with another furniture company if they could not guarantee that our furniture would be in by the end of March as we wanted to make sure we had time to setup the baby's room before she arrived. We were promised and it was written on our receipt that the furniture would be delivered by the end of March. We gave a deposit of $1180. When the end of March arrived and we had not received a call for delivery we made several calls to the store and were given the same answer each time. "There is a delivery coming in soon and your furniture might be on that truck". As we progressed into April we decided to ask for a *******s assistance. We spoke to the ******* **** on April *** or *** and he promised us a call back by the next Monday with a status. He never called on Monday and when we called on Tuesday we found out that he was out of the office until Thursday. When I finally got to speak to him on Thursday April *** he spoke to me in a very unprofessional manner and lied to me about the fact that he promised us a call back by Monday, in fact he denied that he ever even spoke to us. He then told me that one of the pieces would be in within a day or two, the second piece would be in by April **** and the last piece would be very delayed and not available until the end of April. It is now April ****, my wife delivered the baby a few days ago and we have not heard from Behrs at all. I called this morning and was told that our furniture should be on the truck that is coming in a few days, but they couldn't tell me which pieces of my order. Again, the ******* is out of the office and won't be available until Friday. When I asked who else I could speak to and expressed my frustration I was told that there is nobody else that I can speak to. ****, the guy that lied to me and didn't deliver on his promises is the only employee that I can complain to.

Desired Settlement: The business has a responsibility to: 1. Sincerely apologize to my wife who is putting baby clothes in bins and changing our daughter on the dining room table. 2. Deliver our furniture immediately without charge. 3. Provide an additional discount for the stress and aggravation they have caused us in addition to the fact that we paid them $1100 already and they are severely delayed on their part of the bargain. 4. Make a commitment to their customers that they will provide a better management structure that knows how to focus on customer service.

Business Response: First, let me thank you for being our customer. We understand that you have several options when shopping for baby furniture and appreciate that you chose Behr's. 

On April ***** we delivered all of the customer's furniture, which the customer accepted in good condition. Prior to the delivery, our store ******* **** contacted the customer directly and apologized for the delays with his order. **** also refunded the customer the delivery charge. Further, we are evaluating our customer service procedures to continue to ensure that our customers have the best possible shopping experience at Behr's. 

Thank you, again. 

- Behr's


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ********



 

9/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After multiple phone calls to Behrs to the Sales department and customer service department we are still without the products for which we paid in full February *, 2013. It is now August **th 2013. We are missing the conversion Kit and the toddler rail to the order. We are worried that we will never receive these products and our "crib to college" (as our salesman promised the crib coverts from crib to toddler bed to full size bed) will never "make it to college". We were promised delivery of this product in April and as the last complainant on BBB website we have been given the "run around" as to where our product(s) today are sitting. One of the items they say has shipped but they are awaiting the other piece before they deliver. We have heard month after month that "it will be delivered next month" and "it's out of our hands" referring that BEHRS should not to be to blame, instead the manufacturer should be blamed. We wrote out a check to BEHRS in full on February *. 2013 for this product and feel slighted and betrayed.. We do NOT care to hear its the manufacturers fault as you are the ones featuring their products in your store and should by now after 107 years find companies who can supply products which you demand payment. We fear if this Manufacturer goes out of business then we have a crib which will not be useful for its intended purposes.

Desired Settlement: We would like Behrs to take responsibility for this inconvenience as these items were paid in full 6 months ago. It has taken much time an effort to track down these missing pieces.

Business Response: First, we would like to thank you for being our customer and apologize that you were not completely satisfied with our services.  Our only goal is for every customer to have a pleasant shopping experience, start to finish, because this is one of the most fun and exciting purchases you will ever make.  Clearly, we did not reach our goal in this instance and sincerely apologize.  The unfortunate reality is that we are at the mercy of manufacturers, and when they make a mistake as to when certain products will ship, all we can do is pass along the information we receive and hopefully work towards keeping the customer happy.  The most frustrating part, for both of us, is to get inaccurate information that makes us look bad our customers.  We can assure you that we did not intentionally give this customer the "run around," but merely passed along the information we received from the manufacturer, good or bad.  Such a long delay is extremely out of character for this manufacturer and we apologize that it happened with your purchase.  


It is our understanding that you received the furniture on August **th, 2013 in good condition, and were satisfied with the delivery.  As compensation for they delay, as well as the bad information we both received from the manufacturer, we will be mailing a refund check for both the adult rails and the guard rail.  We hope that this expresses our sincere apology and hopefully will change how you view our store.  Customers such as yourself are the only reason we have been fortunate enough to serve Long Island families for the past 107 years, and hope that you ultimately enjoy your purchase from us. Thank you. 

Sincerely, 

Behr's

Consumer Response:

************** ******:

The items were shipped to our house within a week of our complaint. whether it was by coinciendence or because of the letter is undetermined. If we do recieve a check in the mail for a refund that would be a good foot foward on behalf of the business. (Until that point we remain optimistic). We will follow up on this matter with the BBB.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely, 

******** ****** 



 

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Young America furniture set( invoice number *****) which was delivered the first week of April this year. The finish has begun to wear off and chip ion several spots. I called Behrs at aproximatly 11;30 this morning and was told by their customer service representative that this is occurring because I rub against it and that children's furniture is made different than adult. This was NOT was stated by their sale representatives I their showroom as this was a major concern for me. I went to Behrs to avoid this exact problem, and am now confronted by it! The customer device representative statins that thus will continue to be a problem, and I should not lean on the furniture- strange to say about a changing table. This furniture was misrepresented to me when I bought it and the customer service has failed to resolve this issue. I was told a ******** rresntative would contact me. When I asked when I was told maybe by next week, but to call back if no one called! I was further told that there was no manager on the premise until Thursday.

Desired Settlement: Either repair or replace defective item and advertise truthfully about your products.

Business Response: First, we would like to thank this customer for choosing to shop with us and apologize that she was not satisfied with her experience at the time she made this complaint.  After being notified of the problem, our store manager **** sent a furniture technician to our customer's home, at no expense, to repair all of the defects on her furniture.  Further, our store manager **** ordered a replacement top for the piece of furniture in question.  We apologize that our customer felt we made false representations about the furniture we sell, and about when she would be contacted by the furniture technician.  We always strive to create an easy, pleasant, and honest shopping experience for all of our customers and hope that our efforts to fix the defects, as well as order a replacement top, have satisfied our customer.  

 
To our knowledge, all of our customer's issues were resolved and we sincerely hope that she will choose to do business with us again in the future.  
 
Sincerely, 
 
Behr's

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.
I would like to add that **** the manager was extremely helpful and truly went out of his way to resolve this problem.
Sincerely,

********** *********



 

6/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We placed a furniture order on March *, 2012 and were told at that time that we could expect to receive our order around early April. Since then it's been one thing after the other and now it's just about June and we still have not received our order. Every time I speak with the company I am told that the order will be arriving on the next truck but every time a truck arrives my order never is on it. I feel like we are getting the run around and that 13 weeks is unacceptable to have to wait for an order that was placed, especially after we were told it should arrive in 4. If I knew the order was going to take this long, I would have purchased from another company.

Desired Settlement: I would like a definite date when my furniture will be delivered. Surely, they can contact the manufacturer and track the paper trail and come up with a date that they will stand by. Enough is enough. Thank you.

Business Response: We apologize for our customer's frustration with the lack of specificity for shipping dates, and in fact share her frustration.  Shortly after placing their order, the company that makes the furniture our customer ordered switched to a new computer system and experienced several problems during the transition.  After being in constant contact with this manufacturer, we were given what turned out to be incorrect shipping dates that were passed along to our customer.  We strive to satisfy every customer and deliver as close to our estimated lead times as possible, and again share in the frustration our customer felt when we both received incorrect shipping dates. 


Our customer received delivery on Tuesday June *th, and signed a delivery ticket acknowledging they received the furniture in good condition.  As compensation for the delay in delivery, we refunded the $125 delivery charge.  To our knowledge this satisfied all of our customer's requests and consider this matter closed.  Thank you.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Unfortunately though, I will not purchase from Behr's again, and will discourage my friends and family from doing so as well.

Sincerely,

***** * ****** *******



 

5/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into Behr's childrens furiniture store to purchase 2 wood twin beds for my children thinking that this furiture and store would be reputable, high quality and be backed by the customer service the advertising quotes it to be.On March **, 2013 my husband and I ordered two wooden beds and explained to the manager, ****, that we were on a time crunch as I was 7 months pregnant with our 3 child, therefor needing the beds soon. He assured us that while he says the beds take 2 - 5 weeks for delivery they were in stock and should not take nearly the entire time. We then ordered with confidence and paid in full.Nearly 6 weeks later, the beds have bot arrived or even left the manufacturer. Both my husband and I have trid calling only to recieve the worst customer service, (worse than a used car saleman) and a different response each time. We were told the manager never said that time frame and would never say that as he knows that beds can take much longer. We asked repeatedly for a reimbursment to go and purchase other beds from another company to be told all sales are final. I have never in my entire life experienced such poor business, nad costomer services and unreputable responses. I am not stuch with two beds which I paid for and have to go to another company to purchase beds because my children have no beds.DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY

Desired Settlement: I want to cancel my order and recieved my full payment back to pay for other beds that will arrive in time.

Business Response: We apologize that *** ****** was upset with our customer service.  Our goal for the past 107 years has been to provide the best furniture and service possible to our customers.  On May ***, 2013, *** ****** did receive the two beds she ordered, and signed the delivery ticket indicating that the beds were delivered in good condition and that she was satisfied with our service.  All of the quoted lead times for customers are estimates because, like our customers, we are at the mercy of the manufacturers that make the product for us.  Further, it is clearly indicated on all receipts that any teen bed orders are special order and not subject to cancellation.  


Again, we apologize that *** ****** was initially unsatisfied with our service, however we hope that her acceptance of the beds, as well as her signature indicating they were in good condition, corrects her initial dissatisfaction.  We appreciate *** ****** business and hope that she will continue to be our customer in the future.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

While yes I did recieve the beds and they were in good condition my complaint was more about the customer service rather than the actual product.  I was specifically  told the beds would not be delivered until one week after which I received them.  I am confident that without placing a complaint with your agency I would not have received the beds on the day I did.

Thank you so much for your help and inetrvention because without your service I would not have received the beds when I did. 

Sincerely, 

***** ****** 



 

5/2/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a frequent customer of Behr's and hope to continue my shopping there! I also hope to continue recommending Behr's to neighbors, family members, and colleagues at my job. My problem involved the delivery of furniture this past Saturday, April **. We were given a "delivery window" of 2-6 PM. My five year old was very excited to receive his bed and we basically waited all afternoon for the furniture and mattress to arrive. By 5:30 PM, my wife said, "Why don't you call and see what's happening?" I did call, and spoke with ****, who immediately stated that there were huge delivery problems all day. My wife wanted the furniture that day (rather than wasting another day in the house), so we waited till @ 7PM for the furniture. The delivery men were efficient and pleasant. My problem is not with them. My problem is that we, the customers, were never called with a "heads up" that the delivery was going to be delayed. If we were promised a window of 2-6 PM, I completely understand that delays sometimes happen. But the customer should be alerted as to the delay and given an option as to what to do. Otherwise, why bother even giving a window? Just give a day. There are bigger problems in the world, I know, but there really should be a Behr's policy of alerting the customer as to delays, especially given how expensive it is to have furniture delivered from Behr's. Finally, the Behr's website states that the cost of delivery includes removal of boxes and Styrofoam. I don't think we have ever been told this; in fact, I think we have been told just the opposite. Saturday was no different - no boxes or packaging were taken away. Again, not a problem with the delivery men -- rather a discrepancy between the website and what I believe we have been told over the past 5 years and several deliveries.

Desired Settlement: Given the circumstances, I think a partial refund of the delivery charge is more than fair. $50-$75 seems right in this instance, not taken out of the pockets of the delivery men though.

Business Response: We apologize that that our customer was not satisfied with the service he received from our company, and will be more than happy to compensate him.  We would like the customer to know that we are currently in the process of implementing a system for our drivers to inform the customers if their delivery is going to be delayed, which unfortunately given the nature of our delivery and assembly service does occur sometimes.  Further, the customer is correct that our website states we remove all garbage and debris after delivery.  This is a newly instated policy and we apologize that our drivers failed to remove the boxes from the customers home after their delivery.  Tomorrow morning, our store manager **** will mail a $75 check to our customer to compensate for the delayed delivery and for not removing the boxes.  We hope that the customer knows we appreciate his repeat business and loyalty to our store, and hope he is satisfied with what we are offering. Thank you. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely, 

****** **** 



 

4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am still having issues with my Ocean Collection V1 convertible crib. I purchased the crib in 2007 with the twin bed conversion kit. I recently contacted the manufacturer's website to find out if I could hire someone to convert it. The rep recommended that I contact the store that it was purchased from (Behrs). I called Behrs and we were able to make arrangements to have it converted. My wife and I noticed that after it was constructed that the bunky board underneath was not stable. We contacted the store and they didn't know how to fix it. Last night the bed collapsed with my son in it. He is now terrified to go near the bed. I have no idea what the problem is with this bed but I am NOT happy.

Desired Settlement: Had I known at the time of purchase back in 2007 that the conversion was going to be defective I would have purchased something different. I would like the entire collection that we purchased - convertible crib, 2 mattresses, dresser and conversion kit to be replaced and assembled at my home.

Business Response:

                               I reference to case#*******, ****** ******, As soon and he called me I told him we will send out service to fix any problem, we scheduled him for wed 3/27, he then emailed us morning of 3/25 that the bed had collapsed, I sent service person that day and fixed all issues, was called that day by his wife and thanked that we took care of the problem in such a timely fashion, And she sign our delivery ticket that all was fine. No other action needed.

                                                                                                        Respectfully,

                                                                                                             ************

Business Response:

We regret that Mr. ****** is still upset with our service and hope that he knows we have done everything possible to make him satisfied. 

Mr. ****** called our store manager **** on Friday March 22nd to say he felt there was a problem with the mattress or the Bunkie board.  **** looked at the photographs Mr. ****** sent, tried to help him over the phone, and arranged for a Behr’s service person to look at the bed on Wednesday March 27th.

It was our understanding that Mr. ****** was comfortable with the service call being on the mutually reached date of Wednesday the 27th

On Saturday March 23rd, Mr. ****** contacted **** again to express his concerns after the mattress slipped off the bed rails.  After he spoke with ****, Mr. ****** was still okay with the Wednesday service date and did not ask us to take any further action at that time. 

On Monday March 25th, Mr. ****** emailed more pictures and asked us to take immediate action.  With Mr. ******’s satisfaction as our ultimate goal, we immediately sent our warehouse manager ****** to Mr. ******’s house to correct the problem.  Upon his arrival, Mr. ******’s wife, not Mr. ******, was at home to demonstrate the problem. 

After our warehouse manager corrected the problem, Mrs. ****** contacted **** to tell him that problem was corrected to her satisfaction and to thank him for taking care of the problem so swiftly.

Despite our efforts, Mr. ****** is still not satisfied with our customer service and has put a stop to the credit card payment for the installation charge.  We have chosen not to fight the stopped payment, in hopes of compensating the ******s for any inconvenience they have experienced.   

It is our belief that we have done everything in our power, including allowing Mr. ****** to stop payment on the installation charge, and hope that ultimately the Better Business Bureau will be satisfied with our efforts to address this customer’s complaints.  Thank you.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I would like to wait until American Express has completed their inquiry until this case is closed.

Sincerely, 

****** ******