BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

aBaby.com

Phone: (718) 633-3760 Fax: (718) 972-0397 View Additional Phone Numbers 1958 59th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11204 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.ababy.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that aBaby.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for aBaby.com include:

  • 16 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for aBaby.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 8
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 16

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1998 in NY Business incorporated: 02/23/1999 in NY
Business Management
Mr. Isaac Greenfeld, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Isaac Greenfeld, President
Business Category

FURNITURE-CHILDREN'S BABY ACCESSORIES & SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
ABaby, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 552-2229(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an item on ********* for a bassinet cover on August *** 2014. The order itself was to come from *********, an affiliate that sells there product on *********. After several weeks I contacted ********* to find out about my order. I was told that it would be delivered to my home on the **** of Aug. they resubmitted the order to *********. On August **** I contacted sears by email. I received an email stating that I need to contact the seller(*********) myself. Which I think was very unprofessional in and of itself. I contacted the seller only to find out that my order was overlooked and that now it is on back order. I never received a letter or call regarding this problem. They said it may or may not be available in a week. My problem lies with the unprofessional way that this was handled. They could have let me or ********* know there was a issue. There response was now they would contact me periodically to let me know where my order stands. They also suggested that I could pick something different and they would send it out. My complaint is that I do not want something different, I wanted what I ordered. And if they knew there was a problem they should have notified me right away.

Desired Settlement: If they are unable to provide me with what I ordered, they should compensate me to upgrade my order to something different. I would also like them just to be aware of how there actions can affect people. They had several opportunities to let me know that my order was on back order, but failed to let me know. My first grandchild's baby shower is next week. The bassinet cover was supposed to cover my sons (baby daddy) bassinet when he was born 31 years ago. So as you can see this was a very special item.

Business Response: Our mutual customer ordered the Little Angel Bassinet liner & hood. We are in contact at this point and will work this out together.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/**/13 I ordered a My Little Seat Travel High Chair - Coco Fabric from ABaby.com. At the time when I ordered the item, the item was stated to be in stock, and it was not back ordered or discontinued. On 8/**/13, my credit card was charged the actual price of $25.00. I assumed that the item has been shipped, but I did not receive any form of shipping confirmation or tracking information even after several days of waiting. As of 8/**/13, I have not received any form of shipping or tracking confirmation. Thus, I proceeded to contact the company regarding this issue. I received a reply from ***** *. from ABaby.com customer service on 8/**/13 stating that the item will ship that same day, Monday 8/**/13. Today is 8/**/13, and I have not received any form of shipping or tracking information. I even logged onto my account on their website and the purchase status has not changed from "in process" to "shipped." As of today, we have not received any packages from this vendor and it has been 11 days since the purchase day.

Desired Settlement: I would like the item to be shipped promptly and upgrade to overnight shipping at no extra charge. Further delays and failure to deliver will result in a report to our credit card company to dispute this purchase.

Business Response: ** * *******

There was a technical error and the My Little seat travel high chair in the coco fabric was available to purchase on our site but it was not in stock. We did offer the customer  other options  but he requested to cancel the order so we issued a refund.



***** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/19/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Odered cradle bedding on 9-*-13. Have made 7 calls and was told it should ship anytime now. Was told on 10-**-13 that it would be overnighted and when I checked it hasn't even been sent out. It has been 5 weeks. My daughter's baby is due now and I am without bedding. They were paid in full on 9-*-13.

Desired Settlement: I would like the bedding I ordered overnighted to me ASAP!!

Business Response: ID# *******

There was a technical error in production so there was a delay on the cradle bedding. We did ny our best to rush the order and ship the bedding to the customer as soon as possible. The cradle bedding the customer ordered was shipped on 10/**/2013 and delivered on 10/**/2013 with the following ups tracking number ******************.

***** *********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 

 No technical error for cradle bedding takes 6 weeks to fix. My grandaughter was born before I received the bedding! Don't want another mother to have to go through this disappointment. They even lied to me. I called n asked if it was sent and would be over nighted. I was told, "yes". It was another week and a half after that when I finally received it. True lack of customer care.

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ****




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After canceling my order with Ababy.com, they filled my order and charged my credit card anyway. My original order date was May **, 2013. The order was canceled June **. I got an email from ababy.com saying they would contact me in 48 hours. They never did. June **** i received an email saying the item had been processed. Immediately I contacted ****** and they said they would contact Ababy.com and take care of it. 2 days later I received another email from Ababy.com saying they would contact me in 48 hours which they never did, for the second time. The next day the money was taken out of my bank account. IMMEDIATELY I contacted both companies. ****** sent another email to Ababy.com and I left a voice mail for Ababy.com. Ababy.com didnt call me back the next day, so I called them and they informed me they didn't checked their voice mails. I told them what happened and that I wanted my money back. The customer service rep told me they would contact me in 48 hours. Having been ignored twice by that excuse, I SAID NO! LET ME TALK TO WHO IS IN CHARGE AND THEN SHE HUNG UP ON ME! Then I contacted my bank and the Better Business Bureau. My money is gone and I still don't have the item which I cancelled within 2 weeks of ordering. I am greatly displeased. ABABY.COM ROBBED ME!

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. I want ababy.com to be aware of their imperfections. I want the customer service rep that hung up on me to stump her toe really hard later today.

Business Response: To whom this may concern:

We apologize for the inconvenience. There were some technical issues but the order was cancelled as per the customer's request and credited her account.




***** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company accepted an ordered (#******) for an item (#******) at a website listed price for $78.00 shipped. They are saying that the product is no longer availible at this price due to a manufacturer model update and it is now $109.00 for the new model. According to them, they attempted to contact us of the situation the next day (left a message on our answering maching ), which they did not do. At the time of the order it did not state anything about being "out of Stock" or any model changes affecting pricing. The part number is still the same as the one we ordered and they refuse to sell us/me one for the price at the time of the order placement. For now they are only willing to refund the Credit Card Charge amount.

Desired Settlement: I wish for them to accept the order and ship the item at the listed price at time of the original order.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

The customer placed her order on 6/*/2013 for an item that has been discontinued. We try our best to keep our site updated with current items and prices. In this case we still had an old model on our site that has already been discontinued. We contacted the customer right away to notify her and offer a similar item. The customer did not pick up so we left a message. We apologize if the message did not go through. We apologize for the inconvenience but unfortunately the model the customer ordered is not available.

Sincerely,
************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

They refuse to honor the order as it was placed and are unwilling to take any further steps to resolve the issue. What ever happened to "the customer is always right" or "Customer Satisfaction"? I'll just order it from a different store/site.

 They will never get any business from me, my family, friends, or any one else that I can tell this story to.

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *****




 

Business Response: To whom this may concern:


As we mentioned the first time around that although the pricing and information on our site has been checked for accuracy occasional error may occur. We reserve the right to made corrections to any errors which may have gone unnoticed. Thus we did refuse to honor the order as it was discontinued. We apologize for the inconvenience.




***** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had ordered two rugs on March ****. When they came they were not what I expected. I emailed the company twice for a return number and called them and left a message. There policy states you can not make any returns without emailing them and getting a return number. I have not heard from them. I called during regular business house but there was a recording that they were not there. I left a message but have not received a return call.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *********



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2012 Delivery Issues
9/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/5/2012 Delivery Issues
11/18/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service