BBB Accredited Business since

Goya Foods, Inc.

Phone: (201) 348-4900 Fax: (201) 348-6609 View Additional Phone Numbers 100 Seaview Drive, Secaucus, NJ 07094 http://www.goya.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells a variety of Hispanic-style foods to grocery stores nationwide.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Goya Foods, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Goya Foods, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Goya Foods, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1936
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob Unanue, President & CEO Mr. Joseph F. Perez, Senior Vice President Mr. Conrad Colon, VP & Marketing Director Mr. Peter J. Unanue, Executive Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Unanue, President & CEO
Business Category

FOOD MANUFACTURERS, WHOLESALERS, DIST.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Seaview Drive

    Secaucus, NJ 07094

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 06/**/2015, I opened a bag of frozen peas to cook and alas to my suprise I found a bug which i can describe as a big greenish/black fly in it. I have the pictures, the lot number on the bag, exp date and the whole bag itself intact. I would like not just Goya but the whole world to see this. As a customer who paid for this food, I am entitled share my experience albeit a disgusting one with all. It pains me to think what If I had not paid attention and cooked with it and god forbid anyone in my family had fallen ill???? Is this the regulation I am getting on my food???? Thank You Sincerely A troubled Customer

Desired Settlement: I would like a call from the higher management at Goya, FDA or any other authority that regulates these products. I will share my personal experience on social platforms as well.

Business Response: Dear BBB & ***** ********

First of all, on behalf of Goya Foods, Inc., I would like to apologize for any inconvenience or dissatisfaction we may have caused *** ***** *******.

According to the information we received from the BBB on behalf of *** ***** *******, she was dissatisfied with one of our products, frozen peas. We typically reimburse a consumer if they are not satisfied with our products in anyway.

Our Consumer Affairs Specialist attempted to contact *** ***** ******* by telephone and by email but was unsuccessful. We requested she contact us but has yet to do so. Consumer Affairs can be contacted by email ****************** or by telephone, ###-###-####.

Goya Foods, Inc. strives to provide excellent quality products and is committed to 100% consumer satisfaction. If there is anything else we can do, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Ronald B. G****
Quality Assurance Director

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *******



 

5/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Goya Foods, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)