BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Business Cash Advance, Merchant Cash Advance, Small Business Resources, Merchant Cash Advance Calculator, Small Business Funding

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Merchant Cash and Capital, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Merchant Cash and Capital, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 19, 2007 Business started: 03/22/2005 in DE Business incorporated: 03/22/2005 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lindsey Truax, Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lindsey Truax, Operations
Business Category

FINANCING LOANS-SMALL BUSINESS FINANCIAL SERVICES BUSINESS SERVICES (GENERAL) CREDIT CARD PROCESSING SERVICE

Products & Services

Merchant Cash and Capital, LLC sells the following brand(s): Business Cash Advance, Merchant Cash Advance

Merchant Cash and Capital, LLC offers the following product(s): Business Cash Advance, Merchant Cash Advance, Small Business Funding

Alternate Business Names
Merchant Cash and Capital

Additional Locations

  • 460 Park Avenue South, 10th Floor

    New York, NY 10016

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (212) 545-3180(Phone)
  • (877) 646-3365(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have received un-solicited e-mail on a few occasions now, requesting information for loans I have not applied for. This may be a scam, or identity theft situation. I have not opened the email, but have looked at the message source, and have attached a copy below. In the e-mail, the contact person is wrong, and no one with that name,(******),has ever been associated with me or my company. I want any and all loan requests in my name or business name stopped, and all information the company has, turned over to the New York State police, for possible prosecution. I have marked e-mails as spam, and continue to keep receiving them. Copy of e-mail source:

Desired Settlement: I want my name, and business name removed from your solictation lists.

Business Response:

Hello, 

 

We apologize for any inconveniences you may have been caused.  Your name, your business name, and your contact information have been removed. 

 

Thank you and we wish you the best. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I referred one of my client to Merchant Cash and Capital. One of your agents continuously bad mouth me to my client. I do not appreciate this and I will NEVER refer another client to Merchant Cash and Capital again. Furthermore, we never received a finders fee for referring out client to Merchant Cash and Cash and Capital.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a finders fee for referring a client to Merchant Cash and Capital. I want an apology from **** ********, and he needs to apologize to my client for bad mouthing me and and telling lies. Quite Frankly, **** needs to be fired because he totally discredits himself as well as the company.

Business Response:

Elps Financing is a sub broker to UB Financing, who is the company that brought us this deal, called I Love Kickboxing. UB Financing is the ISO that we have on record and is who we paid. Evidently, UB Financing has gone out of business and did not pay its sub broker, Elps Financing. We apologize for this invconvenience but we paid the ISO for this. However, no one at MCC has ever "bad mouthed" the sub broker, Elps Financing.

Please let me know if there is anything else you need from us.

 

Thank you,

MCC

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are a small Heating and Air Business, we took out a loan with this merchant company for 7,897.00, the agreement was to deduct 37% of each credit card transaction to pay off loan. Our last transaction was for $3,000.00 but our balance was $444.00, this company kept 37% of the $3,000 again when they should have taken only $444.00. I spoke to ******** from their customer service department, contact# ###-###-####, she advised me that I will get a refund of 677.03, on Friday March the *** 2013. When the refund never showed up I called her back and she transfered me to *** in Accounting, this gentleman told me I was never going to see that money in my account that he was going to keep it without an explanation, so basically the company stole my funds. On top of that woke up this morning and checked my account balance and they are deducting funds from our bank account. I have reported them to my Bank and placed a stop payment on all the charges, but I'm a concerned citizen because they are robbing people. I'm probably that the only one going through this, PLEASE HELP.

Desired Settlement: I need this company to refund me the $677.03, that they told me they were. Also an explanation of why they feel they can keep it!!!

Business Response:

On March *** at 11:08 AM EST, **** ****** was called by our collections department and notified that she will be receiving a refund via ACH credit in the amount of $677.03.  She has accepted this refund and confirmed via telephone that this is sufficient.   In addition, MCC will not pursue additional legal or collection fees from **** ******.   

 

The reason, requested by **** ****** via BBB complaint, that MCC held these funds is because this customer is in violation and breach of our agreement.  She has admitted to “splitting” credit card processors via telephone conversations with MCC’s collection department by transacting with Intuit.  Merchant is in breach of section 3.1 “ sellers conduct” and as per section 4.4 “remedies”.  Due to this material breach of our agreement, MCC has the rights to collect associated collection and legal fees, which is why the $677.03 was held.  Would **** ****** like to request additional information or a copy of her contract to view the sections that she breached?  We can provide that detail to her. 

 

The customer service representative, ********, that she spoke only had access to minimal information which showed that she held a positive balance with MCC.  ******** told **** ****** about this balance, without knowing that this particular merchant was currently in collections and in breach of her contract.  ******** has been notified of her error, and consequently, **** ****** will be refunded.   

 

If there is additional information that the parties would like to request, please do so by emailing ******************************** 

 

Thank you. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1