BBB Accredited Business since

Woodrow Fence & Decks Inc

Phone: (646) 648-0702 16 Oak Lane, Staten Island, NY 10312


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Woodrow Fence & Decks Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Woodrow Fence & Decks Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 29, 2013 Business started: 10/26/2011 in NY Business incorporated 10/26/2011 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Affairs - NYC
42 Broadway, New York NY 10004
http://www.nyc.gov/html/dca/html/home/home.shtml
Phone Number: 311

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derek Shapiro, Owner
Business Category

FENCES


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Woodrow Fence & Decks Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 16 Oak Lane

    Staten Island, NY 10312 (646) 648-0702

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about 4/*/16 or 4/*/16 Woodrow Fence undertook the removal and installation of a fence on a property adjacent to mine. During the construction, Woodrow Fence and it's employees acted to damage my real and physical property including shrubbery, planters, decking, buried pipes and wires. At no time did Woodrow Fence contact me about performing any work adjacent to my property, nor did they gain my approval and consent before entering onto and trespassing upon my property. I attempted to remedy this matter with the property owner but I was referred directly to the entity who undertook the project, Woodrow Fence and Decks. I was informed that Derrick was the individual who dealt with my neighbors. I have tried repeatedly to contact Woodrow Fence at their listed telephone number and address, but I have received no response.

Desired Settlement: I desire to have my property repaired to the condition it was in prior to the actions undertaken by Woodrow Fence and Deck and its employees. Given the time-sensitive nature of my request (as the area damaged includes planting beds that had already been seeded and prepared for spring plantings) I am requesting that the repair work be completed immediately. I am also seeking a reimbursement for the damage to my decking, retaining wall, damaged shrubbery and plantings, planters, and seed bed.

Business Response: On April *** 2016 I was present while working on a fence installation on ******** ******, the property behind *** ******, at no time did ********* property get damaged. I'm an experienced worker and business owner who prides myself on reputation and concerns of clients, with that being said *** ****** called and left 1 voice message, I returned his call and he explained his concerns. I informed him I was able to meet with him and speak in person but unfortunately we had conflicting schedules, I gave him my personal phone number and asked him to call me when he was home or when he knew he was going to be available to meet with him to see what his concerns were. As far as all the damage he's "claiming" I find that highly unlikely if not impossible. As with all my jobs I photograph the finished jobs for my portfolio and my pictures clearly show a different side to his story or extortion plot. *** ****** is an attorney who h as the ability and resources to fabricate a phony story to make a profit such as this. "Shame on you Attorney *** ******" 

6/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Removal of my fence that was not in contract and accessing my property when told to leave my property after stomping shrubs. When I sent a registered letter to the address on the invoice it was returned - no such number. It is an empty lot.

Desired Settlement: Refund of deposit or replacement of chain link fence

Business Response: I was contracted by *** ***** ******* on April *, 2015 to take down the existing fence and install a new vinyl fence. *** ******* signed my contact, agreeing to the terms, and gave a deposit in the amount of $200 (check).

On May **, 2015, I came to *** ******* ******* ****** ******* ** ***** to begin work. The work was being done on *** *******’s property in a workmanlike manor. I removed the existing fence as per her request, placed it neatly on the side of her house (refer to attached picture number 1), and installed 2 white vinyl poles and 1 section of white vinyl fence (refer to attached picture number 2). The shrubbery which *** ******* claims I “stomped” on can clearly be seen undamaged in the attached pictures (refer to attached picture number 3). I was working until she started yelling at me to get off her property. Without engaging in an argument, I packed up my belongings and materials, and left the job.
Based on the amount of materials installed and hours of labor, the $200 was applied to the work rendered. However, if *** ******* wishes to adhere to the contract stipulations, I will gladly return to her residence and complete the remainder of the work.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Woodrow Fence & Decks Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart