BBB Accredited Business since

Rose Fence Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (516) 223-0777 Fax: (516) 223-0791 View Additional Phone Numbers 345 West Sunrise Highway, Freeport, NY 11520 http://www.rosefence.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rose Fence Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rose Fence Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1981 Business started: 01/23/1980 in NY Business incorporated 01/26/1995 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Department of Consumer Affairs - NYC
42 Broadway, New York NY 10004
http://www.nyc.gov/html/dca/html/home/home.shtml
Phone Number: 311

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Janice Rose, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Janice Rose, President
Business Category

FENCES FENCE - SALES, SERVICE & CONTRACTORS CHAIN LINK FENCE SALES, SERVICE & CONTRACTORS FENCES - VINYL FENCES - WOOD


Additional Locations

  • 231 Jericho Tpke.

    Huntington Station, NY 11746 (631) 427-7442

  • 345 West Sunrise Highway

    Freeport, NY 11520 (516) 223-0777 (516) 759-6425

  • 532 Cedar Swamp Road

    Glen Head, NY 11545 (516) 759-6425

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rose Fence installed part of our fence on our neighbor's property. The installer was told by our neighbor, the owner of the property, that it was his property that the fence was being installed on. The installer proceeded to install the fence on our neighbor's property claiming "the owner of this house says that you're a nice guy and you'll let us". Customer service was contacted, but were rude, and did not want to hear our complaints. Problem is, we didn't notice that the fence was on our neighbor's property until now, almost a year later, when we started repaving our backyard. When our neighbor saw that we were repaving, he notified us of the experience he had with the installer about a year prior, and said that he didn't say anything until now to 'keep the peace'. Now that it is clear that the fence is on the wrong property, Rose Fence is claiming that we were responsible, according to the contract, for being home during the time of installation; however, the contract was left for us AFTER the installation was complete and nobody was home during the actual installation.

Desired Settlement: I would like my fence to be reinstalled onto my property without charge.

Business Response: Dear **** ******,
We went to the ******** home on Sept * 2013 to give a estimate which was for $2100 and a option for additional for $700 . They contacted us on Sept * 2013
to hire us for work and wanted to do the option of 24 feet on the other side of home . They were given a date of 9/**/13 which we called to confirm the date before
and confirmed with a man at phone number ###-###-#### who said the they would be home. What i don't understand is how my men could put a fence on both sides 
of a home without anyone to guide them on location of fence work does not seem possible . If no one is home when we get to a house we call customer and if they
cannot be there we reschedule when they can be home. I have sent the Orlosky a estimate for $995 to do work. I will reduce that by $200 dollars to $795 the property
needs to be marked by a land surveyor and customer needs to be there .
Regards
****** *********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

Somebody WAS home when the installer arrived; however, nobody informed us that we needed to be home overseeing the installer's work. Prior to leaving, the installer had specific instructions as to how to carry out the installation. While the installer was working, my babysitter was in the house. As I have mentioned in my previous email, the installer was SPECIFICALLY told by my neighbor that he was putting part of OUR fence onto HIS property. Indeed the installer knew that he was putting the fence onto the wrong property AT THE TIME OF THE INSTALLATION. Let me explain what happened: the back two columns of our fence are installed properly onto OUR property line. These back two columns that were correctly installed were installed into dirt.The front two columns of our fence needed to be installed into cement since we have about 6 inches of cement extending outward on our property. Instead of the installer digging through cement, he decided to dig through dirt, on our neighbors property, to finish his job more easily. If you look at the fence you could even tell that the fence is not installed on a straight line. From the naked eye, we could not tell that it was on our neighbors property. Now, while we are repaving, the mistake is clear.  All I want is for my fence to be moved over a little so that it is on our property and not my neighbor's- it is most certainly not a $795 job. 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ********




 

Business Response: *********
The property at this home is a irregular shaped plot which had old cement pads in place that were most likely 50 years old . There is no way of knowing where
the boundary line unless you had a land surveyor mark the lines. This is really no one's fault the ******** did not know where the line was. I am willing to split
the cost of the job with them. I will forward you the copy of survey and pictures of installation showing the placement of old cement pad.
Regards
*** *********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

You could blame the problem on us all you want, but the bottom line is that you know exactly where we, and our neighbor whose fence the property is on, want you to move the fence. It is about 6 inches over on one side. When the installer was told by our neighbor NOT to put the fence on his property, he should have stopped his work immediately and called us, or the company, to find out how to proceed. YOUR guys who YOU sent to assess the mistake have agreed. Aside from the fact that if the fence is moved over now, the door will no longer fit, which means that the measurements were wrong to begin with. I'm not exactly sure how or why you are turning the blame on us, but if you were a reputable company, you would stand behind your mistake and your work. $500 is an unreasonable and unacceptable amount of money to be asking for when YOU are to blame.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ********




 

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted Rose Fence Inc. last year, August 2013, to install a fence at our house. Around October 2013, the initial worker who installed the fence damaged the cement walkway leading to our backyard which at the time was approximately 2 weeks old. *** *** ********* was contacted immediately and informed about the damages. ************ told us to get an estimate for the repair of the walkway and he would take care of it. The estimate of repair is $800.00. All this occurred October 2013. Once again we contacted *** ********* in November then again in December to remind him about the damages he agreed to take care of. He informed us that there was a family death and that was the reason for delay in taking care of the damages to our walkway. Once again he asked me to email him the estimate for the cost of repair, which we did. We emailed him the estimate again on January ****, 2014 and March *, 2014. I have not did not hear from *** ********* since our last contact.. There have been numerous contact attempts with Rose Fence via phone, email and mail (registered return receipt) to have them reimburse the damages they caused to our cement walkway leading to the backyard. A registered return receipt letter and estimation from the mason contractor for the damages was addressed to the owner of the company *** ****** **** on May ****, 2014. Nobody from Rose Fence contacted us regarding this matter once they received the letter. The most recent contacts were via phone on Thursday June **** and Friday June ****, 2014 where we left a message asking him *** ********* to return our call. He has not done so as of yet. The letter informed both parties, *** **** and *** ********* ,that if the matter wasn't resolved we would get a third party involved. At this point, we ask to be fully reimbursed for the damages done and acknowledged by Rose Fence Inc. to our cement walkway. This matter has dragged on too long and We await a full payment of the damage that was caused by Rose Fence Inc.

Desired Settlement: We want a cash refund for the damages to our cement walkway of the amount stipulated in the mason contractor's estimation of $800.00.

Business Response: ** ****** ,
 I have reached out several times to there " contractor " with no reply from him. I have his estimate without any license number on it . Work has never been done
and our deal was to take care of damage not to give them $800.00 dollars . We will deal with contractor who is doing repair as promised .
Regards
****** *********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

*** ********* has not contacted the contractor, Multiboro Contracting, nor has he left a message for them to return his call. His claims are false!! We know this because we have called Multiboro numerous times asking if Rose Fence has called about repair work to be done at our house. The representative of Multiboro Contracting told me that no one called or left a message by the name of Rose Fence or *** *********. As for the agreement, it was clearly stipulated that he would take care of the damages,  and he didn't. As stipulated in our original complaint, we contacted *** ********* numerous times and the matter has not been resolved. At this point we feel Rose Fence is playing games and doesn't want to pay for the damages they caused to our walkway. Therefore, since *** *********/Rose Fence isn't honoring what they claimed they would do we want full payment of the damages they owe us. They broke/damaged our walkway and now they are responsible  to pay the amount for the  damages and not make false claims about Multiboro not returning  calls. *** ********* is the one who doesn't return calls, like our calls we made to him last week. We want a payment of $800.00 without Rose Fence acting as middle man between us and our contractor to the damage they caused to our property. They admitted responsibility for  the damages to our property and now they need to do the honorable thing and pay the $800.00 without anymore stories on their behalf or wanting to act as the middle man.

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

*********** *** ********




 **

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

 Dear *** *******

Rose Fence's

The bill from Multiboro of $800.00 is the repair to damages caused to our property by Rose Fence. We are requesting that Rose Fence pays for those damages directly to us. This is contingent upon their relationship with us and not their relationship with the contractor. We therefore request that payment due is sent to us directly since the damages were made to our property by the employees of Rose Fence.  We have met our financial responsibilities to Rose Fence in a timely matter and therefore we expect payment to us directly also in a timely matter. This issue has dragged on too long and if it isn't resolved to our satisfaction we will pursue other avenues for its resolution. 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

*********** *** ********




 *

Business Response:

Please be advised we are mailing $800 ck to ******** today July ** 2014. For settlement of complaint #******** .

Regards

****** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rose Fence Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)