This business is not BBB accredited.

JR Fencing Company

View Additional Phone Numbers 68 Ludwig Lane, Staten Island, NY 10303 http://www.jrfencing.net/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Company installs and repairs fences.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for JR Fencing Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on JR Fencing Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 03, 2005 Business started: 02/01/2002 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/2002 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Affairs - NYC
42 Broadway, , New York NY 10004
http://www.nyc.gov/html/dca/html/home/home.shtml
Phone Number: (212) 639-9675

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ruben Guzman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ruben Guzman, President
Business Category

FENCES


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    68 Ludwig Lane

    Staten Island, NY 10303

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for a PVC fence with ****** . He told me it would take 2 weeks since the gate I wanted was customized. They came two weeks later put up the fence with no gate. He said still not ready. I told him I needed a temporary gate I have children and a pool. Came back 1week later with temporary gate. He return 2weeks later when I was not home put up the gate . He returned next day for the remainder of the payment. He did not have gate handle with him said joe would return with handles. I have called and sent text asking for the handles. He does not answer my calls or return my text. I would like my handles which I already paid for. He is very unreliable and I would not use this company again.

Desired Settlement: I would like the handles put on the gate which I already paid for.

Business Response: When **** ******** inquired for a custom arch gate, I told her that it would a couple of weeks for the job to be completed. This was mainly because I had to wait for production. After I finally installed the fence, I still had to wait for the gate. She asked me for a temporary gate which I installed the next day. Weeks later I returned to install the gate. **** ******** had then requested white locks and hinges. I told her that I only had black available and would have to order them. After the job was complete she then asked me for a white gate handle which I had to then make another order. As soon as I received the white handle for the gate I returned to install it. By this time **** ******** had already contacted the BBB. I did apologize to *** ******** for the long wait and my busy schedule.

9/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Installation was poor, materials poor and parts missing. Very poor customer satisfaction. Company is not willing to make corrections or to finish the job they were paid to do. Phone calls and messages go unanswered.

Desired Settlement: Refund or corrections made.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

*** ****



 

9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The issue is in regards to a fence installation. I met with the owner originally to go over the fence design (positioning/location etc). The day prior to the installation I was told to go oer this again with the owners son. We specifically agreed on how a portion of the fence which meets a side stair case would be installed. It was supposed to be installed using multiple posts etc. so that it would line up at the end directly with the banaster of the stair case. Instead, it was put on an angle (easier instalation for the workers) less posts involve (I guess cheaper for the owner as well). The angle design narrows my walk way area from the stair case leading into the yard. My wife called me at work to question the fence being put on an angle and I said no and that i told the son and he knoew how the set was to be. She then told me that the workers told her that he didn't know what he was talking about and that it had to be set up this way. I don't know why the owner would send his son to go over the design plan when the workers have the final say (as such in this case). This is what caused the problem to begin with. When the owner came to install the doors the following day. (6/**/2013) I spoke with him about it and he told me that it was a misunderstanding and that he would come back in a couple of days to fix the problem. I also paid him in FULL on 6/**/13. Needless to say, he never returned. Over the next couple of weeks i text him to ask when he was coming back and he told me to relax that when he has time that he would come back and that I didn't need to be home. He knew exaclty what he needed to do. Several weeks passed, I text him to please provide me with a date that he would be coming and he never replied. I also text him that the doors he installed did not have handles on them and that I could not open the doors and both doors also needed to be adjusted. Both doors were rubbing against the posts and did not close properly. So 1- he never returned to adjsut the fence 2- he never had the respect to even install the handles to my doors 3- nor did he come to adjust the doors. All i wanted was handles on my door and for them to close properly. You would think you would at least get that 100% on installation. And for a 3ft part of the fence to be set up as agreed upon. Thank you. I then decided to call him after I did not get any response to any of my test messages. He picked up the phone (i guess he didn't know it was me). I went over the whole story once again and he said "ill be there tonight" this was on 8/**/2013. Its now 8/** and I text hiim once again with no reply.

Desired Settlement: He he does not want to finish the job. I want money back on the costs for me to: 1 purchase and install handles 2 adjsut the doors 3 fix the portion of the fence that was installed incorrectly. Thanks

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

*********** ******



 

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor showed up to my home this morning 6/*/13 to start a fencing project located on my property after agreeing to install chain link fencing, and privacy slats with 2 entrance gates for a total of 186' and a price of $5,220.00. Contractor took down our existing fence, and after taking it down he rang my doorbell and told me he needed to charge me more than our original agreement, because his material costs were higher than he expected. There was no change to the scope of work we originally agreed upon. I felt he was trying to take advantage of me, by first taking down our existing fence, and then trying to charge me more. We live on a very busy main road, and he has forced us to risk the possibility of violations (we have a pool in the yard with no fence), and safety concerns (burglars trespassing). I have his paperwork with the agreement, pictures of them leaving my yard, and what I was left with. I'm now forced to build a temporary 4' high fence (department of building requirements) in order to protect my property from the above listed potential problems I may occur, until I can find another contractor to perform the services costing me materials and labor. The labor will cost me extra, because I had to hire somebody in an emergency manner.

Desired Settlement: This is going to cost me $523.00 for materials and another $525.00 for labor. I want ****** to mail me a check for both amounts otherwise I will be taking him to small claims court with all of the above receipts, and evidence.

Business Response: Dear *** ****,
It is very important to me in my line of work as a contractor to develop a binding contract with all of my clients. This contract consists of a signed estimate and a deposit before any work is started. On May **** 2013 I met with **** ******** concerning a fence that he wanted me to build on his property. The first price that I proposed to *** ******** was $2,700 per side which would have come to a total of $5,600. *** ******** was not in compliance and then asked me to lower my price. I then proceeded to give him a new estimate of $2,610 per side resulting in a new total of $5,220. He was still not pleased and complained that another company (****** *****) said that they would do the same job for $2,400 per side. I then agreed to his price. 
Two weeks later, after we discussed his proposition of $2,400, I purchased the materials for his fence. The price of the materials had exceeded my expectations. I was then forced to increase the price of the estimate for the fence back to my original quote of $2,610 per side. I then proceeded to contact *** ******** and inform him of the prices of the materials needed for the job. When I returned to his home to show him the prices he ignored my advances twice; however he still insisted that I complete the job. After that, I told him that if he wanted me to start I would need him to sign my estimate and give me a deposit for the work. He then denied both of my requests. I even went as far removing 25 feet of his left over fence from prior work with other contractors.  Since he seemed like he no longer wanted my services, I asked him if he would like me to put back up his old fence. *** ******** declined again and told me to leave even though his backyard was previously exposed due to other contracting work.  As I was leaving *** ******** began to threaten me saying he would defame my character and the way I ran my business via social media if I did not do the work for $2,400 per side. About an hour after this incident I called him back because I was afraid for my reputation and asked him if could do it for $2,400 per side. He answered and declined my offer again and hung up on me.  
In reference to his complaint, he never bought material to close his backyard after our dispute. I know this for a fact because I returned there several times.  In essence, *** ******** was looking for a free fence.
I am thanking you in advance for handling this matter please feel free to contact me concerning any issues or comments.

Respectfully Yours,

***** ******
JR Fencing
***********