BBB Accredited Business since

Blizzard Fence Corp.

Phone: (631) 598-0040 Fax: (631) 598-1670 1707 Great Neck Road, Copiague, NY 11726


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blizzard Fence Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blizzard Fence Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Blizzard Fence Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1975
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Nassau County Office Of Consumer Affairs
200 County Seat Drive, , Mineola NY 11501
http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/oca/index.html
Phone Number: (516) 571-2600

Business Management
Mr. Tony Prisco, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony Prisco, President
Business Category

FENCES


Additional Locations

  • 1707 Great Neck Road

    Copiague, NY 11726

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Blizzard Fence to install fencing on my property in May 2012. The installation also included a gate. Upon completion of the installation, it was noticed that the gate was not closing properly. I immediately contacted Blizzard customer service regarding the issue, and I was informed that it would be resolved within the week. After repeatedly calling throughout the Summer of 2012, the matter had not been resolved, and in Fall 2012, Blizzard stated that it was too cold to perform the work, and that they would put the job in the queue for Spring 2013. It is currently Spring 2014, and I have contacted Blizzard several times, but to no avail. Not only has the issue not been resolved, due to a terrible winter and large wind gusts that occurred, the gate has broken and now is no longer functional.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that Blizzard come to my house and repair/replace the gate that has not been damaged due to Blizzard's neglect to remedy the issue when first contacted in May 2012.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ************



 

10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: September 2010 Blizzard Fence charged us $2,585 for 46' offence and a a 10' driveway gate. **** told us it was the best fence around and would stand up to wind and weather conditions and there is a lifetime guarantee. a year later one side of the gate blew off and cracked. **** came by and said we must have hit it with the car and the best he would do is charge us 350 for a new gate and we would have to pick it up from him and install it ourselves. now the other gate is broke and we are holding the gate together with metal and wood so the dog doesn't get out. we are so annoyed that after spending eight hundred dollars more than all the other fence companies were going to charge for the job because we believed they would stand by their product and installation we are left with an inoperable gate and a complete eyesore.

Desired Settlement: We would like them to either come and replace the gates or send me a refund in the amount of $700 so we can buy a gate from a different company.

Business Response:


In regard to Complaint #: *******, we have been researching the
background of this customer history through computer and written reports. The following are the facts in our records:

On January **, 2012, we received a repair request for a gate
After evaluations by both the sales associate, *** ******** and then myself, it was determined that the customer compromised the gate integrity and a new gate was ordered and the price was negotiated down to $325 on March *, 2012.
Customer never paid for the gate
After reviewing all our repair calls for 2012, we have found that *** ****** did not call us AT ALL concerning a second gate issue.


It behooves me how I am to respond to this complaint, when the customer never gave us the opportunity to evaluate this 2" gate issue. I await your directive as to our next step.

Business Response:
This is to bring you current with assignment ********. When our secretary called to make a date for the gate installation, the wife introduced an additional issue of a 2" gate. This was not in the original complaint. Therefore, **** had to go and evaluate. The customer was aware of this.
After evaluating and speaking with *** ******, we established that the install date would be March **, 2013 for the original complaint.
Once again, we cannot understand why the customer is contacting you when we are following through on the agreement and it Is the customer that changed the details.


Thank you for your continued time and cooperation.


***** ** ***

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ******



 
consumer emailed 3/**/2013

*** ******,
I am emailing you in response to the attached letter dated 3/**/13.  The letter states that I contacted the BBB regarding the complaint. I have not corresponded with the BBB regarding the complaint since I accepted Blizzards initial response in resolving the issue. The letter also states that the second gate being broken was first introduced when I spoke with Blizzard when they contacted me to set up the install. This is not correct as the issue with the second gate most certainly was addressed in my initial complaint to the BBB (attached). However, someone from Blizzard did come to my house and inspect the gates and the install is scheduled for tomorrow 3/**/13.  I feel Blizzard is following through and is taking the necessary actions to rectify the problem with the gates.  
Thanks,
******* ******

2/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our fence was installed by Blizzard Fence about two years ago. We have a lifetime guarentee on the fence. During the past storm in November, there was damage to the fence. While checking the fence I noticed that Blizzard Fence failed to install the fence properly as there was no cement put into the ground to secure the fence pilon to the rest of the fence. This caused the fence to break and become damaged. I have called several times and I am getting the run around regarding a repair to the fence. This needs to be handled. This is now the second time within two years that we have had problems with their fencing.

Desired Settlement: We want the fence to be replaced in the area that it is damaged and we want them to honor the warranty which clearly states there is a lifetime guarentee. We also want a written copy of the warranty for our records.

Business Response:
In reference to Complaint #*******, please know that Blizzard Fence is not ignoring this customer. Due to Superstorm Sandy, we have been inundated with an unprecedented number of jobs. Priority is being given to those with exposed structures, children, animals, and pools. We have even scheduled installation jobs on Sunday, normally a non-working day. Repairs are being done when time allows.


*** ****** is not being overlooked. We had spoken to him before this complaint arrived
in our office. Please note that we have already done a repair for *** ****** within this past year.
In addition, my *** **** was flooded and ** ****** was relocated during the first few weeks of the storm. The office was non-operable for over a week.
We moved as quickly as possible to get our trucks running, especially during the gas shortage,
*** ****** is on the schedule for repairs. His issues will be addressed if not before the end of the year, but definitely within the first weeks of the new year.
Thank you for your time and understanding.

Business Response:


This is in response to complaint #:*******.
Our records indicate that Blizzard Fence made the necessary repairs to *** ******'s home on January *, 2013.
We acknowledge *** ******** frustration and apologize for any inconvenience he endured while waiting for his repair.


It was never the intent of our company to ignore or disrespect our customer.
We hope that *** ****** will accept our apology and be assured that we value him as a customer.


Thank you for your time and cooperation.











Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely, 

****** ****** 


 

9/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues