BBB Accredited Business since

Amendola Fence Co.

Additional Locations

Phone: (631) 842-7800 Fax: (631) 693-0961 View Additional Phone Numbers 1084 Sunrise Highway, Amityville, NY 11701 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.amendolas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Amendola Fence Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Amendola Fence Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Amendola Fence Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1965 Business started: 03/01/1961 in NY Business incorporated 07/01/1975 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Nassau County Office Of Consumer Affairs
200 County Seat Drive, , Mineola NY 11501
http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/oca/index.html
Phone Number: (516) 571-2600

Department of Consumer Affairs - NYC
42 Broadway, New York NY 10004
http://www.nyc.gov/html/dca/html/home/home.shtml
Phone Number: 311

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Amendola, President Ms. Sheila Amendola, Owner Ms. Jennifer Cerullo, Chief Executive Officer Mr. Eli Miller, Installation & Expediting Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jennifer Amendola
Principal: Mr. Michael Amendola, President
Principal: Ms. Sheila Amendola, Owner
Principal: Ms. Jennifer Cerullo, Chief Executive Officer
Business Category

FENCES

Alternate Business Names
Amendola Industries, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Amendola Fence Co. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1084 Sunrise Highway

    Amityville, NY 11701 (631) 842-7800

  • 2130 Grand Avenue

    Baldwin, NY 11510 (516) 223-9556

  • 3076 Middle Country Road

    Lake Grove, NY 11755

  • 585 East Jericho Turnpike

    Huntington Station, NY 11746 (631) 760-9790

  • 600 Hillside Avenue

    New Hyde Park, NY 11040 (516) 488-8200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/12/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our fence was damaged slightly in the storm, but our gate attachments completely broke off and needed repair. A repair date for 4/** was scheduled and we left the check for $380.00 in the mailbox. Gates were not repaired. I called and told they would be back "tomorrow." No show. When called, the repair department man said definitely Friday or Monday the latest. No show. Called him again the following Wednesday, again he said "tomorrow." No show. Called today and asked "*****" for the manager or supervisor. After hesitating, she asked for which department. I told her repairs(by the way this was after several calls with no one answering and when the answering machine is on, it does not take messages!). After several minutes, "***** " picked up. after listening to our complaint, he said he didn't know why the call was routed to him because he was in sales. However, he said he would "personally" get back to us in a little while. Never heard back, so much for personal integrity.

Desired Settlement: We want the fence/gate repaired well and quickly.

Business Response:

We did the initial repair and didn't complete the work.  We apologize for any inconvenience.  We have schedualed the repair crew to go to the home on Friday May * between 12-2.  We have left messages on the 3 numbers that we have on file including the one on the complaint.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** *******



 

4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July, 2012 Amendola Fence installed a PVC fence around my house and quarter acre lot for $6350. This past winter two panels of the fence went down. I contacted Amendola and they sent their inspector, ******, who said that he had "never seen anything like this before", the damage was "probably caused by a snowplow" and therefore Amendola was not responsible to make the repair under the warranty. He wanted me to pay $550 to replace the two panels. The damaged panels were on an elevated sidewalk ten feet from the road, there were no tire tracks near the fence, and the shrubbery in front of the damaged panels, facing the road, was intact. I spoke to ******* ******** at Amendola and he said that the plow didn't necessarily hit the fence, but that snow shooting off the end of the shovel hit and damaged the fence. He further stated that this was a corner lot, and the plows often cut the corner, getting very close to the fence. I then measured the distance from the curb at the corner to the fence. This distance was more than thirty feet. The snow plow would have had to drive across my front lawn, and knock down a tree, to get near the fence. In conclusion , Amendola feels that snow coming off the side of a snow plow, which could not have been closer than ten feet to the fence, caused the damage. To me this is a defective fence. I made further calls to Amendola but they were not returned.

Desired Settlement: Replace the two panels free of charge.

Business Response: ***** ******* spoke with *** **** after ******* ******** (Service Manager) had spoke with him to explain to him that its not something that is covered under any material or labor warranty. After explaining everything to him he agreed with him to only charge him $550 plus tax to install the new pieces of fence and posts needed. He said he appreciated the gesture of lowering the price and wanted to get going with the repair. We never heard back from *** **** to schedule a date, the next call we received was a call from *** ****s father stating that they are not paying for the repair, that it is something that should be covered under warranty.We explained to him that it not covered under any warranty.In my professional opinion, there is NOT a defect in the pvc material installed at *** ****s house. The only way the fence could have broke like that would be if something struck the fence with significant force.

Acts of nature are not covered.  Never have been.


Tell us why here...

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

A company offering a guarantee must justify its refusal to honor that guarantee.  Nobody was shown any area of the fence where it may have been struck.  "I never saw damage like this" or a fabricated scenario about snowplows is not sufficient to allow Amendola to not honor its guarantee.
When called I was in the midst of treating patients and was unable to fully evaluate the situation.  We immediately called Amendola before they made any plans or expenditure to repair the fence.  Their $550 offer to repair the fence was not at all generous.  A local competitor of theirs asked $600 to repair the fence. (They said that was only because $600 is their minimum charge to send out a truck.)  They wanted $225 to sell me the material to make the repair.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ****




 

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday 4/**/14 I went to Amendola's Fence Company in Baldwin NY to request a quote for a privacy fence because I planned on purchasing a pool. I spoke with *** ****** who offered me a great deal and offered to take a refundable deposit to lock in the quote. *** ****** claimed that I did not need a permit because I live in Oceanside, which I have learned is false. I explained that the fence was contingent on my purchasing a pool. I recieved a quote for the pool that was above my budget and decided against getting the pool and fence. I read the paperwork that I recieved from *** ****** and noticed that he checked that I needed a permit and the sheet with the cancelation policy stated that I had 3 business days from the date on the sheet (4/**/14) but on the bottom it incorrectly stated that the 3rd day fell on 4/**/14 (which is neither 3 days nor 3 business days). I went back to Amendola's Fence Company on Monday 4/**/14 to cancel my order. I figured I would bring up the date error if they gave me a problem but they didn't. I spoke with *** ****** and explained that the pool I wanted was beyond my price range and would not need the fence since I was not getting the pool. He asked for my paper work I gave him the forms I had he went through it and stated that everything was in order. He explained that I would recieve a call to verify why I cancelled the order and how I was treated as a customer. Less than a week later I had a voice mail from an employee stating that there should be no problem to install the fence. I figured that someone forgot to notifiy the installer that the job had been cancelled. A few days later I get a call from *** ****** who stated that the job would be a little larger than we originally thought but he would give it to me for the same price. I explained that I had already cancelled the order on 4/**/14 he said that he would look into it for me. On May **** or **** I went into the office to find out why I hadn't recieved my refund yet. *** ****** asked me for my paper work and I explained that I already brought it in on 4/**/14, he took my name and phone number and said he would look into it for me. I was not contacted by anyone at Amendola's Fence Company. On 5/**/14 I went to back and told *** ****** that I was there to find out about my refund. He told me to speak to the bookkeeper ******. I told ****** that I cancelled the order on 4/**/14 and brought in all my paperwork. She contacted the *********** office, who did not have any paperwork about the cancellation, and told me to be patient that I would get my money back. Thus far I have not recieved my $200.00 refund nor any form of contact from Amendola's Fence Company.

Desired Settlement: I would like to recieve a refund for the $200.00 that I put down as a deposit.

Business Response: I processed the credit and spoke with the customer. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ********



 

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/13/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Amendola Fence Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart