BBB Accredited Business since

Kiss Electronics

Phone: (212) 666-8224 Fax: (212) 936-1116 View Additional Phone Numbers 230 West 125th Street, New York, NY 10027 http://www.kisselectronicsnyc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm provides retail consumer electronics.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kiss Electronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kiss Electronics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Kiss Electronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 07, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1980 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/1995 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Affairs - NYC
42 Broadway, , New York NY 10004
http://www.nyc.gov/html/dca/html/home/home.shtml
Phone Number: (212) 639-9675

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven Betesch, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Betesch, President
Business Category

ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES-DEALERS


Additional Locations

  • 230 West 125th Street

    New York, NY 10027

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 60 inch Vizio e series TV and warranty at 930 pm at kiss electronics on *** * *** ** ****** NYC on Tuesday march * ** ,,, i was taking it home and slipped on ice because it been snowing all day and dropped the TV. , When i plugged it in it had color lines all over the screen and didn't work.. I brought the TV back at 8.00 am march *** only a couple hours after purchasing the TV and they told me ( They cant exchange it or refund it and its not covered under warranty , he said that it has to be an extended warranty , and sorry im out of luck) im telling him sir please the TV is not even 12 hours old please please please help me im not rich i don't know what to do ********** ****

Desired Settlement: Replace the tv , thats all i ask it wasnt even 12 hours old

Business Response: ****** ***** Purchased a 60" Vizio Smart Television From the Kiss Electronics Store on March ***, 2015. As Per Our store policy, The television was opened and checked in front of the customer to ensure there was no physical damage done to the television. (This policy Insures us that no Television can taken out of the store physically Damaged therefor not allowing the customer to tell us that we sold them a broken Television). So, as stated, ******'s Tv was checked for him. He also purchased an extended warranty on the product. As stated on His receipt, by the salesperson, and by all registers of the store; PHYSICALLY DAMAGED MERCHANDISE CAN NOT BE RETURNED, EXCHANGED, OR BROUGHT BACK TO THE STORE. ALSO, A PHYSCIALLY DAMAMGED ITEM IS NOT COVERED UNDER ANY WARRANTY.
On the morning of 3/*/15 ****** ***** Brought back the television to our location. He explained to us that when taking the television home, He slipped outside his house and the television dropped on the ground. This resulted in the inside panel of the television breaking, therefor voiding the warranty of his television. Because of the physical damage it voids any warranty .
Also, Before the purchase, ****** Explained to us that his reason for purchasing a television that day was because he physically damaged the previous television he owned and the company he purchased it from would not take it back. We then explained to him that our policy would be the same, hence the reason we check all televisions in front of the customer before they leave our location.
Finally, as a courtesy, because of the tough situation he was going through, we refunded his warranty money for him plus an additional $100 totaling $150.(which we were not entitled to do). Unfortunately, at this point , there is nothing else we can do.

8/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased impression for 74.99, when I got home no charger was in the box the box was not sealed and no identifying model number or serial number was anywhere on the box , the store makes you purchase they item before you get it from stock personnel when stock handed me the box he said to bring it to the salesman he signed my receipt and I placed it in a bag that was give to me by the sales man. On the box in ink was the words TRASH written on the box ,I called the store to tell them and they told me there will be no refund no exchange even though my sales receipt says it can be returned within 7 Days. I believe the store is committing Fruad as the consumer does not know what he is receiving , I additionally called the 800 number for support for the tablet but the phone is disconnected this item has no support form the manufacturer there no warranty period for the item there the warranty the sales man says is 90 days does not exist. I want a complete refund for misrepresenting this item and for paying for an item which was never salable to the consumer, additionally false advertising is promoted for this item claiming it is new, thisitem has no merchanibility dueto it not having any warranty period for defects or parts, the store wanted me to purchase insurance for the item but i declined thinking I had a () day warranty from the manufacturerer, the store additional comits fraud by ofering insurance which does not exist the store has no repair dept, they want me to pay for insurance on merchadise sold they know has no warranty the items are not warrantable and should never be sold to the consumer.

Desired Settlement: a 100% refund of the purchase price, I will not pay a restocking fee for merchandise that cannot be sold without a warranty which is valid by the Manufacturer.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is not satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved. but accepted without resolution. I never wanted the model or type of tablet given in exchange for the tablet returned to the store, The store told me this was the only option I had to take the tablet offered or a store credit which I was not interested in, after what had Transpired over my first purchase in the store.
              
Sincerely,

* ********

 I was given a diffrent model this was a bait and switch tatic the store posted signs that no refund would be given at no time after a sale is made . This is bait and switch you cannot sell electronics witout at least a 90 day warranty from the Manufacturer, kiss electronics encourages customers to but insurance when they sell some merchandise that is not saleable due to the dissolutionof the Buisness. additionally the reciept states that no refund is given and a restocking charge of 25% is charged for a returned item this is ludicrous. stores have the right to return to the manufacturer items returned by consumers no one would buy the tablet I purchased if they new no warranty by the manufacturer was given at time of purchase.I am not satisfied by the Merchants buisness pracitices and will not shop there again

 

3/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 03/**/2013 I purchased a 7" Sylvania Internet Netbook Computer on line Went I receive the unit don't work at all I call the store and they told me to call the company that supply the warranty I most to call about 40 times with no respond also send it a message by email never respond them I send a certified mail was receive on April **/2013as up today no respond from the warranty company is DIGITAL GADGETS located in Monreo N.J. tel.num is ###-###-#### the only think I one is to replaced me the unit .

Business Response: Dear ********,
We wish you would of contacted us to notify us that you were unable to get in touch with the manufacturer of the product. We would love for you to bring the piece back and we would be more than happy to give you a new one. customer satisfaction means everything to us and we never want to leave a customer off on a bad note. If you have any questions please feel free to call us.

Sincerely,
******, ********* **** *********** *** * ***** *** *** ***** *** ***** ***** ********

4/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March *, 2013 I ****** ***** purchased a 19"LCD/DVD Combo Emerson television. The tv was defective showing the picture on the screen upside down. When I returned the tv on March **, 2013 I was told I would have to wait 3 days to collect my refund and that a restocking fee of 25% would be subtracted from my refund. I feel a 25% restocking fee is an unfair practice and I would like to know if it is against the law for a company to charge me a restocking fee of their own product.

Desired Settlement: A change in store policy and a refund of the 25% restocking fee.

Business Response: ID #*******
**** ****** ******* claim is accurate. Please have **** ******* come back to the store and see the manager *******. He will reimburse her for the $38.47 she was charged as a restocking fee. We apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused to **** *******.

Sincerely,
Kiss Electronics Mgmt.
###-###-####
###-###-####-fax

12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service