This business is not BBB accredited.

J&R Music and Computer World

Additional Locations

Fax: (212) 238-9175 View Additional Phone Numbers 22 Cortlandt Street  Lower Level, New York, NY 10007 http://www.jr.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm offers retail sale of a variety of electronic items including sound equipment, music, computers and home and office equipment.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • BBB does not have sufficient information to issue a rating on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 18
Total Closed Complaints 25

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J&R Music and Computer World
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 11, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1973 in 0
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Rachelle Friedman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rachelle Friedman, President
Business Category

ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES-DEALERS AUDIO-VISUAL EQUIPMENT-SUPPLIES & PARTS COMPUTERS-SUPPLIES & PARTS

Service Area
On April 10, 2014, J&R closed the doors of its brick-and-mortar location for renovations. The retailer will continue to sell products online. (Click here for more information)
Alternate Business Names
J&R Computer World J&R Express J&R Music World

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    22 Cortlandt Street
    Lower Level

    New York, NY 10007

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    23 Park Row

    New York, NY 10038

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5950 Qns Midtown Expy

    Maspeth, NY 11378

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: J&R closed their doors last year with no notice. They claimed that they were redeveloping the site and would reopen in 2015. There is no record that they are in Chapter 11. They sold me an extended warranty on a camera that I purchased through them for $59.99 and now I need service on the camera. There is no way to get in touch with them anymore but as they are not officially bankrupt I was hoping there is some recourse for the many customers they sold warranties to. There was most likely an outside company that they used for their warranty business.

Desired Settlement: the money back for the extended warranty I purchased.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

********** **********

4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: J&R closed its physical and online stores. I have 1 store gift cards totaling approximately $180. At the time of closing, I spoke with a phone representative who agreed to confirm the remaining balance in their records and issue a refund. I haven't yet received the money and now they are not able reach them to follow up.

Desired Settlement: Will be OK to get ****** gift card or check where I can get refunds.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

**** ********

1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 1 $1000 gift card from J&R music and computer world and now there is no place on their website to enter to buy merchandise. Gift cards by law can't expire.

Desired Settlement: i want a refund in the form of a check for $1000 since I no longer have the original credit card I used to purchase the gift card.

11/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a laptop in 4/2014, with a warranty at additional cost, and they shut down the store. I have tried contacting them online but have not gotten a response. The website shut down, there is no phone number. They should have given me notice, rather than promising to fix my computer, which I would not have purchased from there, had I known tet were closing the same month.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

***** ******

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: J&R closed its physical and online stores approximately 6 months ago. I have 2 store gift cards totaling $171.76. At the time of closing, I spoke with a phone representative who agreed to confirm the remaining balance in their records and issue a refund. I haven't yet received the refund, and the customer service number I used (************) is no longer in service. I would be happy to deal directly with the company myself, but I no longer have a way to reach them to follow up.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the amount of the remaining gift card balance, $171.76.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

***** ******

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a few gift cards from J&R Music and Computer World in 2013, and the total amount is $1,092.27. Since J&R suddenly closed their online store in April 2014, all of these J&R gift cards can not be used anymore. I contacted J&R earlier in June 2014, and was confirmed by them that they will refund me the remaining credits of those gift cards in a check. However, I didn't receive any refund in the next 2 months. In August, I had to contact them again via their contact information at ********** because J&R started to sell on ********** after their physical store closed. They gave me a return RA# and return instructions. Again, they confirmed that after receiving the returned gift cards, they will send me the refund. However, they lost their words again this time. I mailed all the gift cards back to them, exactly following the instructions. The tracking information also showed that they already received the return item one month ago ( I have the proof from US Post Office). Till now, I still got nothing from them yet. The even worse thing is that, I could not reach them via any contact information now. So, they are just gone without refunding me the $1,092,27 money. I have all the email history between J&R and myself as the proof for this. Could you please help on this?

Desired Settlement: I will to be able to hear from J&R music and world store, and get my refund check that they already promised.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,
*** **

10/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: * MARCH 2013 I purchased a new Sony VAIO laptop computer from J&R's Computer Dept at * **** *** *** ***** (Part of the same Company located at ** **** ***) With it at the same time I paid extra to buy a 3 year Warranty from J$R. In mid AUGUST 2014 the charger stopped working so I couldn't use my computer. I tried a new identical charger but that didn't do anything so I called J&R but no such business any more. I then discovered they had gone out of business. I called Sony to explain my predicament hoping they'd honor my J&R Warranty but they said no, they don't. They suggested I take the computer etc to their (Sony's) Authorized Repair people in NYC which is the store **** ***. I did so and their Geek Squad checked it out and said the problem is that there's something wrong with the port inside the computer where the charger plugs into, and they estimate it will cost at around $500 to fix and would take about 3 weeks for me to get back as their repair place is not in NY State but KY I think. This is almost what I paid for the computer in the first place and I can't afford $500 to fix it let alone to buy a new computer. I took out the 3 yr warranty in good faith and it still has 18 months to go. I've been a loyal customer to J&R for years as has my family but they closed without notice to this warranty holder at least (and I imagine there are quite a few of us in the same predicament who acted in good faith) I'm FURIOUS and feel stuck and "had", not to mention that it's so hard not to have a computer of my own, and that I saved up for it, my first lap top, for ages.

Desired Settlement: I would either like my computer repaired through J&R /**** *** or some other reputable outfit at no cost. I would like the remaining time on my warranty honored by J&R or for them to arrange a Sony contract for the remaining period of my warranty free of charge. Otherwise I would like a comparable replacement computer with a Warranty that will be honoured by a reputable company not about to close its doors without notice to its customers who have warranties with them for their products. (I imagine there are many other J&R customers with warranties who are also in the same position as me) Thank you very much for helping with this and I look forward to your reply

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

**** **********

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Friedrich Air Conditioner back in April and returned it on May **, 2014. I was told that it would take 7- 10 business days for my refund. It has been 2 months now and I still haven't received my refund. I have called several times and was given the run around about where my money was. I went down to the J&R returns department July **, 2014 to find that it is no longer in operation. All the phone numbers and other contacts are no longer in operation as well. I want my money back now, but I don't know how to get it back.

Desired Settlement: I want my full refund, ASAP!

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********

Sincerely,

********* ******

8/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have received instructions on March * 2014 : Hi Per your request, we have generated a Return Authorization, RA# ****** for you. To facilitate the return of this item, please follow these instructions: -Place the item back in its manufacturer's box including all internal packing, accessories, warranty cards, and manuals. The manufacturer's cannot be written on or defaced in any way. Please be sure that the serial number on the product matches the serial number on the manufacturer’s box if there is one on it. They will be matched against our files. -Place the manufacturer's box into an outer shipping box if it shipped in one. -Include a brief note explaining as specifically as possible why you are returning the item. -Write this address on to the shipping package: J&R Music World Returns ***** ****** ******* ******* *** ******** ** ***** RA# ****** Please be sure to write the Return Authorization Number, RA# ****** on the outer shipping box, not on the manufacturer's box. Make sure the merchandise is well packed for shipping. Do not add any other paper inside the package. Ship it through any convenient shipping carrier and do provide us the tracking no. Once received, we will issue refund I have returned the products CDN $325.98 March ** 2014 they have signed received returned products March ** 2014 I have proof from Courier service however I did not receive refund. Seller feedback to me without specific date: We're sorry. More than 90 days have passed since you placed this order my comments: seller delayed instructions replied to me March * 2014 (above) and delivery (to me) was very late reasons of returns: The products malfunction, not working at all I received products very late Jan. ** 2014 they said should arrive by/before Jan. ** 2014

Desired Settlement: Seller should pay me back courier charges from Calgary, AB Canada to USA I did not know I have to return to USA, cost of the courier charges about the same as returned product

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May *, 2014 , I called to the Customer Service Center and spoke to a Representative named ***** for a refund on four (4) outstanding Gift Cards with the total value of $650. I was told that I would receive a refund check in about two weeks by mail. No confirmation numbers were given as a proof of my request. As of today, July *, 1014, I have not received the check yet. I have sent emails several times without any response.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a refund check.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

**** ****

8/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a gift card valued at $350 from J&R Music that I've never used. I was told the card would always hold it full value. When I read about J&R closing it's doors I called the 800 number that was active at the time in May 2014 to find out about cashing in the gift card. I was told J&R was offering refunds in full by a representative named ******. I gave him the number on the gift certificate and was told I would get a refund check in the mail. Afterwards I checked the value of the gift certificate over the automated phone number and was informed the card has a zero balance. Thus far I have not recieved anything in the mail.I sent two e-mails but have not recieved any reply. I want to know the status of the refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like to recieve a refund in full as I was told I would get. If not I would like to know what options J&R are offering.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J & R Electronics Inc. regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,
******* *******

8/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in April as soon as I found out J&R music had closed without notice; I called a number on their website and asked what I should do with my unused gift cards totaling $250. A man answered the phone who sounded like he was the ***** and told me without hesitation to call back with the gift card numbers and they would issue a refund in the form of a check to be mailed to me without question. I phoned back the following day and spoke to ******** and gave her the numbers of three gift cards totaling $200; and my name and address. She told me she would process them and mail me a check in 2-3 weeks. I then got the other gift card for $50 which I had given to my daughter and tried to call back but this time there was no answer on the phone. I emailed a couple of times as there was an email address on the website and the recorded voice message. I got no response from leaving messages verbally and written, so about a week later I went down to the store on Park Row and luckily for me (I thought) there was a customer service man downstairs in the basement and I told him my situation. He assured me that ******** would be mailing the check for the other 3 cards totaling $200 and he proceeded to swipe the other card of $50 through a machine and zero out the balance and he gave me a receipt which said Redeemed $50. He told me the refund for this card would also come in the mail. I asked him to check the other cards that I had given ******** and he confirmed that they had infact been zeroed out but not to worry as I would be getting a check in the mail. This was on May **** and I have the receipt. I have not received any check in the mail for the total $250. I went back down to J and R on Park Row last week and managed to find someone downstairs who claimed not to know anything about anything. No one is answer any phone and the email is not working. I WOULD LIKE TO GET THE $250 that the promised . Why put me through the hassle and zero out the gift cards and not send the refund. That is Fraud. I am furious that they promise to refund back the gift cards in cash/check and now I have four gift cards that show a zero balance because the purposely zeroed them out right in front of me.

Desired Settlement: I dont trust them to send me a check at this point so I would like a cashiers check or certified bank check for $250 made out to me.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

**** ******

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a gift card to J&R for Christmas in 2013. When I walked to the store to use it in May 4014, I saw that the store was closed and "hoped to reopen" in 2015. The company website has the same message that was posted on the door of the store's entrance and no contact information is listed. I tried calling the phone number listed on the J&R ******** page but it has been disconnected. I sent a ******** message asking for a refund but have not heard back. I would like a refund. Thank you, *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

******* ******

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a gift card from my girlfriend in Dec of 2013. When I went to redeem at ****************** I was unable. I nor my girlfriend where notified of the business closing. It was stated there would be a online store which that is closed as well. I have emailed the customer service several times with no response.

Desired Settlement: Want refund. Check is fine.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

*********** ****

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Some tiem ago I received two gift cards totaling $900 for J&R Music World at Park Row. I recently heard that they would be closing so I contacted them and asked if I needed to rush to use the cards. Two different ***** ******** ******* ******** told me "no, give us the numbers and we will mail you a refund check". I did so and several weeks have gone by without a refund. I have tried to call them but they have shut down their phone lines. I am not rich and $900 is a ton of money to my family. Please help me. I would have been happy to make a purchase at the time but I was lied to.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a check for $900, or store credit somewhere, or something at all. I still have the two physical gift cards and several emails wherein I plead for a response.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********.

They are defrauding me out of $900 and I don't know what to do about it.

Sincerely,

***** *******

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've purchased electronic equipment through their website for years and participated in their rewards program. I had $162.61 in rewards dollars left to use, but when I went to the site this weekend to look up an existing order, the site was taken offline. I contacted customer service via email and asked about tracking information for my existing order and about my rewards money. They responded by saying the program had been discontinued. This was done without any warning to the consumer. Had I known the program was going away, I would have used the rewards that were owed to me. To be clear, this organization has not gone out of business; they still maintain a sales relationship with **********.

Desired Settlement: Given jr.com is no longer selling goods directly, but still sells equipment on **********, I would accept an amazon gift card for $162. I would also accept a check.

Business Response: We have taken a look at the customer's Rewards account and verified the amount in question.  We will be issuing a refund check in the amount of $162.61.  The customer should receive his refund check in approximately 2 weeks.  We hope this will resolve this issue for this customer.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.  However, according to the statement from the business, I will be receiving a check within two weeks.  Assuming my response of acceptance will close complaint ID *********, do I have the option to re-open it if I do not receive the check?


Sincerely,

********



 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I received their check on 6/*.  This matter is now resolved.

Sincerely,
**** *****



 

5/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ORDER APP ME662LL/ Apple ME662LL/A 2.6GHz 13.3" MacBook Pro 2013 with Retina Display on 12/*/2013 Order Number: ******** Tracking number ****************** from J&R item was shipped unfortunately I did not receive the item the UPS tracking number shows item was delivered to my front door I did not receive this item or signed. J&R is refusing to provide me with refund for item I did not receive. A reached out to Jenner audio several times I was told they are still working with UPS to locate lost package as of April **, 2014 still hasn't received A phone call our refund from J&R audio.

Desired Settlement: I'm requesting a full refund.

Business Response:

UPS responded to our initial tracer request and claim on 3/** that their driver had confirmed with the recipient on 12/** that this package had been received.  We reopened the claim with UPS at the end of March and are still awaiting final resolution from them.  However, customer has also filed a chargeback with his credit card bank on this order.  We cannot issue any refund until the chargeback resolution is determined by the bank.  Thank you.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

There is no confirmation that the package was deliver,UPS tracking just say deliver to the front door does not indicate that package was signed for by anyone at my residence.
  
The issue is between J&R and UPS It's no reason I should be inconvenient for something between the shipper and UPS. J&R is refusing to refund my money because they did not provide insurance on the package. j&R should be providing us with some more detail documentations.    

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ********




 

Business Response:

We have now received a confirmation of the insurance claim on *** ********'s order and we will be issuing a full refund in the amount of $1504.66 to his credit card account.  *** ******** should expect a credit to show in his account within 5-7 business days.  We expect that this will resolve this issue.   Thank you.

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** T889TI Samsung Galaxy Note II Quad-Band GSM Smartphone Unlocked - Titanium Gray Purchased a phone from the retailer and asked if the phone was unbranded and unlocked and was informed that indeed the phone met those requirements. Instead I received a branded (tmobile), locked phone, that neither Tmobile or Samsung will unlock. The phone is also refurbished and is not a brand new product, this is not indicated in their ad or on the receipt.

Desired Settlement: I would like to reimbursed for 50% of the cost including shipping which is $298.54 to the credit card used for this purchase. I would also like the unlock codes to be provided and the phone unlocked. Additionally I would the warranty for the device to be extended to cover all device failures that are not as a result of abuse. Also would like to know why the first owner returned the phone and how many times this devices has been repaired and resold.

Business Response:

This is a transaction from November ***2013, and was advised of the issue on November **.

The action we took at the time was to offer the customer a return on the order for FULL refund, and we issued a prepaid UPS label tracking # ********. This was electronically sent (via email) on November **.

 

Because we are not able to obtain the unlock codes for this phone, we will not be able to fulfill ********’s request.

 

We will still stand by our original action, return for full refund, and I’ve re-attached another UPS pre-paid label, once the item is returned we will issue a FULL refund of purchase price and original shipping for a total of $597.07.

 

Click here to retrieve the Pre-paid shipping label.

 

Actual URL to retrieve the label - ***********

 

I believe this is a fair offer, and apologize for ***********’s experience.

 

****************

 

1/31/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/**/13, I ordered Ergotron Panasonic CF-52PGNBX3M Notebook computer on JR.Com for $91.99. I received an email confirmation for my order for the same product from JR.com. On 12/**/13, I have received an email confirming that my computer was shipped; they had charged my Visa; and provided the UPS tracking number. Again, the shipping confirmation email had the correct product description - Ergotron Panasonic CF-52PGNBX3M notebook computer. On 12/**/13, I received a package from UPS sent to me by JR.COM dropped at the front of my house. However, when I picked it up, it was making a noise as if there were loose metal pieces. I suspected that they did not packaged it right as computer should not move nor make any noise. Fortunately, the UPS was delivering packages to my neighbor and I rejected the package and gave it back to the UPS guy. I called J&R Customer Service, however they were closed. Thus, I called them next day to get a replacement and ensure it is packaged properly. I was told by them that item was mis-described on the website. It had the correct SKU number but wrong description. Hence, it should not have shipped to you in the first place. They would give me a credit once they would receive my package back. I informed them that in my emails from J&R, they have never mentioned any SKU numbers and I did not order (nor do any consumers) items by SKU numbers. Since they have charged my credit card and confirmed my order by emails only on product description, they need to fulfill the order and send me the correct item that I have ordered. She refused to do it. So far, I have not received any confirmation on refunding my money nor shipment of correct item that I have ordered.

Desired Settlement: Please ship the correct item that I have ordered.

Business Response:

This customer was advised that we had a listing error on our website. A return authroization was offered by phone along with a no-charge return label. Since the customer ended the call to us, we are proactively sending a Return Label to his listed email address. Once we get this back, a full refund will be issued.

 

************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ************, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I have a copy of their emails where they clearly show that they have received my order and shipped me a laptop (item that I ordered).  Hence, there is no question regarding listing error.  Further, I have not received anything from the business as I rejected the package since it was making a rattling noise.  I had called them regarding why my package was making a rattling noise and informed that I had rejected the package since it was making rattling noise.  I requested to send me another unit with proper packaging.  I was told that they should not have sent the package to me and they would not be sending anything for replacement.  I requested to talk to supervisor and they hung up on me after waiting on hold for 5 mins. or so.  To-date, I have not received anything including return label (as there is no need for it) and UPS website shows that I have rejected the package and the package is back with shipper.  Still they have not credited my credit card.  Thus, the business is not honest and has been practicing unethical and illegal activities.  

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
***********



 

Business Response:

We are pleased to report that this customer has been refunded in full in the amount of $91.99. It was sent from our bank on January *******and has likely been posted to the account this customer originally used for this purchase.

This draws the matter to a close.

Thank you.

**********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *************, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[The vendor has fulfilled the order that I had place and vendor had agreed and informed that they shipped.  They have been consistently changing the story and do not have their act together.  BBB should not keep such vendor as approved vendor as they are a fraud and mis-representing and trying to cheat customers.]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******



 

12/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got this note * April 2013 I never received the item I have a letter from the **** **** ****** saying they never received it, I sent letter to J&R and they keep saying they will refund money but never send it. I signed a letter from them saying I never got the item and they would refund money but if I got the item I would have to return the money. They are just running around on this matter. I have been asking for return sice June 2013. We are pleased to tell you that the following items of yours have been shipped: Order Number: ********* Shipping Method: Priority Mail Tracking Number: (no tracking available) Qty Model Product Description THIS WAS LAST CONTACT over 3 weeks ago still no refund check. Dear *******, To complete the process we ask that you fill in, and sign the attached for,. Once we have received it from you your refund will be issued within 48 hours. I filled out the form and sent by post office and email. Please assist. Thank you ****** ****** | Customer Service Rep J&R Music and Computer World ** **** **** *** **** * ********** ###-###-#### **** *** ********** ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------- * *** *** ****** *** ***** ****** *******

Desired Settlement: I want my money returned!

Business Response:

We are pleased to report that a full refund in the amount of $453.87 is being processed for this customer. We apologize for the delay. The refund should be reflected in the customer's credit card account that was used for this transaction withing 5-10 business days.

  *** ******* **********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *****


Thank you for the assistance I do not like to complain about things but this was a bit too much, thanks again and thanks to J&R for their response I appreciate their response. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on J&R Music and Computer World
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)