BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

This Business is not BBB accredited

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm offers retail sale of a variety of electronic items including sound equipment, music, computers and home and office equipment.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • BBB does not have sufficient information to issue a rating on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

69 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 19 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 16
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 13
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 35
Total Closed Complaints 69

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 11, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1973 in 0
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Rachelle Friedman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rachelle Friedman, President
Business Category

ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES-DEALERS AUDIO-VISUAL EQUIPMENT-SUPPLIES & PARTS COMPUTERS-SUPPLIES & PARTS

Service Area
On April 10, 2014, J&R closed the doors of its brick-and-mortar location for renovations. The retailer will continue to sell products online. (Click here for more information)
Alternate Business Names
J&R Computer World J&R Music World

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    23 Park Row

    New York, NY 10038

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    23 Park Row-4th Floor

    New York, NY 10038

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    59-50 Q'NS MID-TOWN EXPRESSWAY

    MASPETH, NY 11378

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (212) 227-4777(Phone)
  • (212) 233-3017(Phone)
  • (212) 238-9000(Phone)
  • (212) 349-0062(Phone)
  • (212) 349-4727(Phone)
  • (212) 349-8400(Phone)
  • (212) 513-1858(Phone)
  • (212) 732-0379(Phone)
  • (212) 732-8600(Phone)
  • (718) 417-3737(Phone)
  • (718) 417-8600(Phone)
  • (718) 628-3010(Phone)
  • (800) 221-8180(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Friedrich Air Conditioner back in April and returned it on May **, 2014. I was told that it would take 7- 10 business days for my refund. It has been 2 months now and I still haven't received my refund. I have called several times and was given the run around about where my money was. I went down to the J&R returns department July **, 2014 to find that it is no longer in operation. All the phone numbers and other contacts are no longer in operation as well. I want my money back now, but I don't know how to get it back.

Desired Settlement: I want my full refund, ASAP!

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********

Sincerely,

********* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have received instructions on March * 2014 : Hi Per your request, we have generated a Return Authorization, RA# ****** for you. To facilitate the return of this item, please follow these instructions: -Place the item back in its manufacturer's box including all internal packing, accessories, warranty cards, and manuals. The manufacturer's cannot be written on or defaced in any way. Please be sure that the serial number on the product matches the serial number on the manufacturer’s box if there is one on it. They will be matched against our files. -Place the manufacturer's box into an outer shipping box if it shipped in one. -Include a brief note explaining as specifically as possible why you are returning the item. -Write this address on to the shipping package: J&R Music World Returns ***** ****** ******* ******* *** ******** ** ***** RA# ****** Please be sure to write the Return Authorization Number, RA# ****** on the outer shipping box, not on the manufacturer's box. Make sure the merchandise is well packed for shipping. Do not add any other paper inside the package. Ship it through any convenient shipping carrier and do provide us the tracking no. Once received, we will issue refund I have returned the products CDN $325.98 March ** 2014 they have signed received returned products March ** 2014 I have proof from Courier service however I did not receive refund. Seller feedback to me without specific date: We're sorry. More than 90 days have passed since you placed this order my comments: seller delayed instructions replied to me March * 2014 (above) and delivery (to me) was very late reasons of returns: The products malfunction, not working at all I received products very late Jan. ** 2014 they said should arrive by/before Jan. ** 2014

Desired Settlement: Seller should pay me back courier charges from Calgary, AB Canada to USA I did not know I have to return to USA, cost of the courier charges about the same as returned product

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May *, 2014 , I called to the Customer Service Center and spoke to a Representative named ***** for a refund on four (4) outstanding Gift Cards with the total value of $650. I was told that I would receive a refund check in about two weeks by mail. No confirmation numbers were given as a proof of my request. As of today, July *, 1014, I have not received the check yet. I have sent emails several times without any response.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a refund check.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

**** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a gift card valued at $350 from J&R Music that I've never used. I was told the card would always hold it full value. When I read about J&R closing it's doors I called the 800 number that was active at the time in May 2014 to find out about cashing in the gift card. I was told J&R was offering refunds in full by a representative named ******. I gave him the number on the gift certificate and was told I would get a refund check in the mail. Afterwards I checked the value of the gift certificate over the automated phone number and was informed the card has a zero balance. Thus far I have not recieved anything in the mail.I sent two e-mails but have not recieved any reply. I want to know the status of the refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like to recieve a refund in full as I was told I would get. If not I would like to know what options J&R are offering.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J & R Electronics Inc. regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,
******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in April as soon as I found out J&R music had closed without notice; I called a number on their website and asked what I should do with my unused gift cards totaling $250. A man answered the phone who sounded like he was the ***** and told me without hesitation to call back with the gift card numbers and they would issue a refund in the form of a check to be mailed to me without question. I phoned back the following day and spoke to ******** and gave her the numbers of three gift cards totaling $200; and my name and address. She told me she would process them and mail me a check in 2-3 weeks. I then got the other gift card for $50 which I had given to my daughter and tried to call back but this time there was no answer on the phone. I emailed a couple of times as there was an email address on the website and the recorded voice message. I got no response from leaving messages verbally and written, so about a week later I went down to the store on Park Row and luckily for me (I thought) there was a customer service man downstairs in the basement and I told him my situation. He assured me that ******** would be mailing the check for the other 3 cards totaling $200 and he proceeded to swipe the other card of $50 through a machine and zero out the balance and he gave me a receipt which said Redeemed $50. He told me the refund for this card would also come in the mail. I asked him to check the other cards that I had given ******** and he confirmed that they had infact been zeroed out but not to worry as I would be getting a check in the mail. This was on May **** and I have the receipt. I have not received any check in the mail for the total $250. I went back down to J and R on Park Row last week and managed to find someone downstairs who claimed not to know anything about anything. No one is answer any phone and the email is not working. I WOULD LIKE TO GET THE $250 that the promised . Why put me through the hassle and zero out the gift cards and not send the refund. That is Fraud. I am furious that they promise to refund back the gift cards in cash/check and now I have four gift cards that show a zero balance because the purposely zeroed them out right in front of me.

Desired Settlement: I dont trust them to send me a check at this point so I would like a cashiers check or certified bank check for $250 made out to me.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a gift card to J&R for Christmas in 2013. When I walked to the store to use it in May 4014, I saw that the store was closed and "hoped to reopen" in 2015. The company website has the same message that was posted on the door of the store's entrance and no contact information is listed. I tried calling the phone number listed on the J&R ******** page but it has been disconnected. I sent a ******** message asking for a refund but have not heard back. I would like a refund. Thank you, *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a gift card from my girlfriend in Dec of 2013. When I went to redeem at ****************** I was unable. I nor my girlfriend where notified of the business closing. It was stated there would be a online store which that is closed as well. I have emailed the customer service several times with no response.

Desired Settlement: Want refund. Check is fine.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

*********** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Some tiem ago I received two gift cards totaling $900 for J&R Music World at Park Row. I recently heard that they would be closing so I contacted them and asked if I needed to rush to use the cards. Two different ***** ******** ******* ******** told me "no, give us the numbers and we will mail you a refund check". I did so and several weeks have gone by without a refund. I have tried to call them but they have shut down their phone lines. I am not rich and $900 is a ton of money to my family. Please help me. I would have been happy to make a purchase at the time but I was lied to.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a check for $900, or store credit somewhere, or something at all. I still have the two physical gift cards and several emails wherein I plead for a response.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by J&R Music and Computer World regarding complaint ID ********.

They are defrauding me out of $900 and I don't know what to do about it.

Sincerely,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've purchased electronic equipment through their website for years and participated in their rewards program. I had $162.61 in rewards dollars left to use, but when I went to the site this weekend to look up an existing order, the site was taken offline. I contacted customer service via email and asked about tracking information for my existing order and about my rewards money. They responded by saying the program had been discontinued. This was done without any warning to the consumer. Had I known the program was going away, I would have used the rewards that were owed to me. To be clear, this organization has not gone out of business; they still maintain a sales relationship with **********.

Desired Settlement: Given jr.com is no longer selling goods directly, but still sells equipment on **********, I would accept an amazon gift card for $162. I would also accept a check.

Business Response: We have taken a look at the customer's Rewards account and verified the amount in question.  We will be issuing a refund check in the amount of $162.61.  The customer should receive his refund check in approximately 2 weeks.  We hope this will resolve this issue for this customer.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.  However, according to the statement from the business, I will be receiving a check within two weeks.  Assuming my response of acceptance will close complaint ID *********, do I have the option to re-open it if I do not receive the check?


Sincerely,

********



 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I received their check on 6/*.  This matter is now resolved.

Sincerely,
**** *****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ORDER APP ME662LL/ Apple ME662LL/A 2.6GHz 13.3" MacBook Pro 2013 with Retina Display on 12/*/2013 Order Number: ******** Tracking number ****************** from J&R item was shipped unfortunately I did not receive the item the UPS tracking number shows item was delivered to my front door I did not receive this item or signed. J&R is refusing to provide me with refund for item I did not receive. A reached out to Jenner audio several times I was told they are still working with UPS to locate lost package as of April **, 2014 still hasn't received A phone call our refund from J&R audio.

Desired Settlement: I'm requesting a full refund.

Business Response:

UPS responded to our initial tracer request and claim on 3/** that their driver had confirmed with the recipient on 12/** that this package had been received.  We reopened the claim with UPS at the end of March and are still awaiting final resolution from them.  However, customer has also filed a chargeback with his credit card bank on this order.  We cannot issue any refund until the chargeback resolution is determined by the bank.  Thank you.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

There is no confirmation that the package was deliver,UPS tracking just say deliver to the front door does not indicate that package was signed for by anyone at my residence.
  
The issue is between J&R and UPS It's no reason I should be inconvenient for something between the shipper and UPS. J&R is refusing to refund my money because they did not provide insurance on the package. j&R should be providing us with some more detail documentations.    

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ********




 

Business Response:

We have now received a confirmation of the insurance claim on *** ********'s order and we will be issuing a full refund in the amount of $1504.66 to his credit card account.  *** ******** should expect a credit to show in his account within 5-7 business days.  We expect that this will resolve this issue.   Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** T889TI Samsung Galaxy Note II Quad-Band GSM Smartphone Unlocked - Titanium Gray Purchased a phone from the retailer and asked if the phone was unbranded and unlocked and was informed that indeed the phone met those requirements. Instead I received a branded (tmobile), locked phone, that neither Tmobile or Samsung will unlock. The phone is also refurbished and is not a brand new product, this is not indicated in their ad or on the receipt.

Desired Settlement: I would like to reimbursed for 50% of the cost including shipping which is $298.54 to the credit card used for this purchase. I would also like the unlock codes to be provided and the phone unlocked. Additionally I would the warranty for the device to be extended to cover all device failures that are not as a result of abuse. Also would like to know why the first owner returned the phone and how many times this devices has been repaired and resold.

Business Response:

This is a transaction from November ***2013, and was advised of the issue on November **.

The action we took at the time was to offer the customer a return on the order for FULL refund, and we issued a prepaid UPS label tracking # ********. This was electronically sent (via email) on November **.

 

Because we are not able to obtain the unlock codes for this phone, we will not be able to fulfill ********’s request.

 

We will still stand by our original action, return for full refund, and I’ve re-attached another UPS pre-paid label, once the item is returned we will issue a FULL refund of purchase price and original shipping for a total of $597.07.

 

Click here to retrieve the Pre-paid shipping label.

 

Actual URL to retrieve the label - ***********

 

I believe this is a fair offer, and apologize for ***********’s experience.

 

****************

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/31/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/**/13, I ordered Ergotron Panasonic CF-52PGNBX3M Notebook computer on JR.Com for $91.99. I received an email confirmation for my order for the same product from JR.com. On 12/**/13, I have received an email confirming that my computer was shipped; they had charged my Visa; and provided the UPS tracking number. Again, the shipping confirmation email had the correct product description - Ergotron Panasonic CF-52PGNBX3M notebook computer. On 12/**/13, I received a package from UPS sent to me by JR.COM dropped at the front of my house. However, when I picked it up, it was making a noise as if there were loose metal pieces. I suspected that they did not packaged it right as computer should not move nor make any noise. Fortunately, the UPS was delivering packages to my neighbor and I rejected the package and gave it back to the UPS guy. I called J&R Customer Service, however they were closed. Thus, I called them next day to get a replacement and ensure it is packaged properly. I was told by them that item was mis-described on the website. It had the correct SKU number but wrong description. Hence, it should not have shipped to you in the first place. They would give me a credit once they would receive my package back. I informed them that in my emails from J&R, they have never mentioned any SKU numbers and I did not order (nor do any consumers) items by SKU numbers. Since they have charged my credit card and confirmed my order by emails only on product description, they need to fulfill the order and send me the correct item that I have ordered. She refused to do it. So far, I have not received any confirmation on refunding my money nor shipment of correct item that I have ordered.

Desired Settlement: Please ship the correct item that I have ordered.

Business Response:

This customer was advised that we had a listing error on our website. A return authroization was offered by phone along with a no-charge return label. Since the customer ended the call to us, we are proactively sending a Return Label to his listed email address. Once we get this back, a full refund will be issued.

 

************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ************, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I have a copy of their emails where they clearly show that they have received my order and shipped me a laptop (item that I ordered).  Hence, there is no question regarding listing error.  Further, I have not received anything from the business as I rejected the package since it was making a rattling noise.  I had called them regarding why my package was making a rattling noise and informed that I had rejected the package since it was making rattling noise.  I requested to send me another unit with proper packaging.  I was told that they should not have sent the package to me and they would not be sending anything for replacement.  I requested to talk to supervisor and they hung up on me after waiting on hold for 5 mins. or so.  To-date, I have not received anything including return label (as there is no need for it) and UPS website shows that I have rejected the package and the package is back with shipper.  Still they have not credited my credit card.  Thus, the business is not honest and has been practicing unethical and illegal activities.  

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
***********



 

Business Response:

We are pleased to report that this customer has been refunded in full in the amount of $91.99. It was sent from our bank on January *******and has likely been posted to the account this customer originally used for this purchase.

This draws the matter to a close.

Thank you.

**********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *************, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[The vendor has fulfilled the order that I had place and vendor had agreed and informed that they shipped.  They have been consistently changing the story and do not have their act together.  BBB should not keep such vendor as approved vendor as they are a fraud and mis-representing and trying to cheat customers.]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******



 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got this note * April 2013 I never received the item I have a letter from the **** **** ****** saying they never received it, I sent letter to J&R and they keep saying they will refund money but never send it. I signed a letter from them saying I never got the item and they would refund money but if I got the item I would have to return the money. They are just running around on this matter. I have been asking for return sice June 2013. We are pleased to tell you that the following items of yours have been shipped: Order Number: ********* Shipping Method: Priority Mail Tracking Number: (no tracking available) Qty Model Product Description THIS WAS LAST CONTACT over 3 weeks ago still no refund check. Dear *******, To complete the process we ask that you fill in, and sign the attached for,. Once we have received it from you your refund will be issued within 48 hours. I filled out the form and sent by post office and email. Please assist. Thank you ****** ****** | Customer Service Rep J&R Music and Computer World ** **** **** *** **** * ********** ###-###-#### **** *** ********** ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------- * *** *** ****** *** ***** ****** *******

Desired Settlement: I want my money returned!

Business Response:

We are pleased to report that a full refund in the amount of $453.87 is being processed for this customer. We apologize for the delay. The refund should be reflected in the customer's credit card account that was used for this transaction withing 5-10 business days.

  *** ******* **********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *****


Thank you for the assistance I do not like to complain about things but this was a bit too much, thanks again and thanks to J&R for their response I appreciate their response. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought an Sennheiser HDVD 800 Audiophile Headphone Amplifier from J&R music on **********. The order is fufilled by ****** but the actual seller is J&R Music. The order is not received but the seller claimed that UPS confirmed the delivery of product and the evidence of signature, which is impossible from my point of view because I didn't sign anything. Then the seller told me to deal with the UPS myself, which is unacceptable to me since it's the seller's duty to make sure the order is delivered, not the consumer.

Desired Settlement: Contact the UPS themselves if they so desire and give my money back.

Business Response:

We are pleased to report that a full refund in the amount of $1999.95 has been transmitted to this customer.

The claims process with UPS was frustratingly long for all concerned and we apologize for the delay. If the customer has any further questions, we invite him to call/email us.

*** *******

**********

**************

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Estimated, On february of this year i went to USA as first time. On *** of feb i bought a laptop at J&R (*****************) branch in New York. For the model i bought i asked 3 times to the seller if the computer have warranty in my country (Argentina). He replied me with an afirmative answer, telling that the product have international warranty and that there is an office in my city to go if any issue with the laptop. I came back to Argentina having to afford custom taxes becouse of the laptop. Four months after the purchase the device started to fail. Checking in internet the failure is hardware issue and many other users of this laptop model had the same problem having to go to the ASUS Technical service to repair the computer. I called asus and they told me that their warranty is not valid in Argentina. Then i called to J&R, they recogniced the error (i have recorded this call) but after 47 days of claiming and more than 40 emails they just acepted the return of the product but they refuse to refound the complete shipping costs and customs costs. i think this is a huge abuse from the store and i dont know what can i do about this. I will be really thankful if you tell me what can i do. I have the failed product, the invoice, the customs payment prove, the emails and the call recordings. Best regards ***** **********

Desired Settlement: The business must inform the customers about the exact terms of the warranty. Also the seler must know about the warranty terms out of the US territory, the must not invent favorable and fake terms to make the client to buy, that is fraud. The business must refund all the cost derivated from the fraudulent sell, that include: Product costs, customs taxes and shipping costs to return the product.

Business Response:

We were just as surprised and disappointed as *** ********** to find that when Asus says "global" warranty, that their odd globe apparently does not include Argentina and some other South American countries. Interestingly, Brazil IS included in this Asus globe. In any case, it was a surprise.

We have had lengthy correspondence with this customer in trying to come up with a solution and have concluded that the best way forward is to take this back for a full refund. A person acting on his behalf will be doing so. Our Returns Department will be ready for this and will process a full credit with deliberate speed.

*** *******

 

Business Response:

We have offered to take this problem unit back for a full refund. We have also offered to pay for the duty the customer paid ($187) when he brought the unit into Argentina. Our offer, one that we feel is reasonable,  stands and will not be enhanced, adulterated or increased any further.

*** at J&R

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

I apretiate that the business asumes the responsability. what i dont agree is that they dont want to asume all the costs derivated from the wrong information provided as i described before.

A concrete cost is the shipping back cost, if is necesary to use a courier to send the computer back, why that cost should be on me? even if i find someone that is going to US, why that persond should carry the computer, waste time going to the store, waiting for the inspection, etc, all for free?

Becouse of that i think that at least the cheapest shipping the business could find to send a computer from Argentina to US must be refouded too. They can use that money to hire the courier to collect the device and send it back (all the shipping risk on the business) or they can give that money to my friend if she finally goes to US and she agrees to carry the computer (in this case all the shiping risk of course is on me).

Also we have the costs of all the lost time claiming, sending emails, phone calls, and even the damage of can not use the computer i needed for more than 5 months.


Best regards

***** **********

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** **********




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought some music software form this company. (Playa Producer Pack). When it arrived I tried downloading the software to my MacBook Pro and the files would not open at all. Then I called the company who created the software they told me they didn't understand what was going on. S I called J&R and told them what was going on they told me to send it in. So before I sent in the software I also tried it on my DELL and it couldn't find any files on the disk. I tried internet sources and everything. So when I sent the software back in I asked them for my full refund. They claimed they couldnt give it to me and that they were checking the software and it seemed fine. So they said they were sending it back ( and may I remind you this is the same software I sent to them. So it finally arrived and the disk stilled don't work I feel as if I was scammed and all I want back is my $120.00 dollars. But they did nothing and really didn't even try to help me at all

Desired Settlement: All I want back is my money! As a customer I did exactly what I was suppose to do. I'm a student in college, so I really don't have money to be throwing away. And that is why I bought the software, so I could use it at school for different competitions we have I'm a music/business (major) undergraduate.

Business Response:

   We are not sure why this worked fine here but not there. We are calling this customer and will take this back for a refund. When we get it back we'll test it again. It's a mystery and an annoying one for all concerned, but we'll take of this customer in the meantime.

 

*** at J&R

**********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After paying twice for shipping to send the merchandise back I realized a item was not put in the box, I notified the company immediately and was advised to send the item with the same RMA #. I realized after a week the company failed to provide the refund back to my credit card. When I emailed the company to advise them of the refund I was questioned and advised they did not receive the second package. I called today to confirm the acceptance of both packages with the tracking # and was advised by ***** it was both received, it has been almost 30 days since the return & I still have not yer received the refund back to my credit card. I advised J & R i would call my credit card company and dispute these charges.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting 10% interest for the last 30 days my funds have been held up by J & R for the total amount charged of $229.99

Business Response:

The reason for the delay was that this item was returned incomplete. There were missing parts. We advised the customer. Subsequently, on 7/** we were contacted by the customer who said that she had located the missing parts. As a courtesy, we sent the customer a pre-paid shipping label via email on that same day, 7/**. Tracking for this label indicates that we finally received the missing parts last Wednesday. It was processed yesterday and a full refund of $229.99 is being put through.

Given these facts, we feel that a 10% additional credit is both unreasonable and unwarranted and will not be put through. $229.99 will be.

*** *******

**********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Asus Vivotab Smart from J&R Music and Computer World on May **** 2013, I received this product on June *** 2013, a month later on July *** 2013 my tablet made a loud popping sound, I opened the protective case and saw that the screen had cracked while charging. I email the Seller J&R and I contacted Asus, J&R told me to contact Asus and if I was unhappy with the results I got to contact them via Phone. I contacted them and spoke to a manager on July **** telling them that I had contacted Asus because they one have not contacted me back and two Asus RMA status say they can not repair the tablet unless if I pay for the repair and they are waiting on my confirmation to repair and pay for the repair I have yet to see such email for Asus reguarding the repairs. I contacted Asus and spoke to countless managers and they all told me the same thing if I refuse to pay for the repair no matter if the tablet was defective they will send it back to me unrepaired, and told me to contact the seller and see if there are able to replace the Vivotab Smart with a new one or give me a refund back. I contacted J&R and told them what Asus told me and they told me one they are un able to accept the Tablet back because of the damage and I am suppose to work it out with Asus then I receive another email from J&R telling me how truly sorry they were and that the tried taking it back from the Manufacture, I called Asus back telling them what the Seller told me and they said they have no record of J&R contacting them on my case and willing to take the tablet back. I feel like I am being screwed I explained to countless people via phone and via email through Asus and J&R that I did not drop or abuse the tablet in any way and that after 5 minutes after using the tablet while charging I heard a loud popping sound and notice my tablet screen was cracked. I also spoke to Asus about the situation and they told me to file an A to Z Claim which I did but was denied because J&R refuses to accept the return of the tablet. I asked J&R if they could possible give me a partial refund so I can has Asus repair the Tablet J&R refused to do that and said there are unable to assist me and that they tried to assist me but is not able to because since Asus is not able to take the tablet back they are not able to accept the tablet back either. I also asked if they could possibly replace the product with a new vivotab and they told me the same thing they are unable to help me. I feel like I am being screwed both by J&R and Asus. Asus is unable to fix the cracked screen unless if I pay for them to repair it because they have no way of knowing if the screen cracked due to a defect, so they are hold me accountable for the repair of a defective tablet which I think they know its a defective tablet but they don't want to admit because then they will be admitting that they vivotab has a design flaw which they will never do. I don't feel that I have to pay for a repair on a defective tablet which is not my fault to begin with. I think it is unfair to me the consumer to pay for the defective tablet and to pay the repair of the problem don't you. I tried working with both the Manufacture (Asus) and the Seller(J&R), and got no where, If choose not to pay for the tablet to be repair and Asus sends it back to me I am out $430 dollars and if I choose to pay to the defective tablet screen to be fix what happens if it cracks again then I wasted $430 dollars plus the money to get it fix then I will be in the same place. I charged this tablet on my ****** Store card which I was going to pay off in August when I got my school grant, now I don't know what to do ****** denied the A to Z claim because J&R fulfilled there order and showed ****** that they have a 30 day return policy. I appealed ******s decision and they still ruled in favor of J&R and basically told me that I am responsible and to contact the manufacture (Asus) which I did and still get the same result nothing and that I have to either pay for the repairs or contest the repairs and they send me the tablet back unrepaired. Which I think is unfair to me..

Desired Settlement: The Desired outcome I would like to either have a refund of my money that will go back on my ****** Store Card so I am able to purchase a different product, a partial refund in check from J&R Music and Computer World so I am able to pay for the repair of the Asus Vivotab Smart or for J&R to replace the vivotab with a new one, that's all I am asking I understand they're 30day return policy which I think should of ended on the *** of July instead of the **** of June because I didn't receive the product until June ***. plus J&R should have a 90 day defective policy where if in those 90days they either should replace the item or refund your money on electronics such as phones, tablets, computers etc... but they don't. I just either want my money back, partial refund so I am able to pay Asus so the can fix it, or a replacement that's all I am asking. I am hoping you are able to help because I feel like I am getting screwed from both Asus and J&R, or if you are unable to get J&R to do these thing I am hoping you can have Asus to repair the tablet for nothing or give me my $430 dollars back. Thanks I am sorry about the length of this but as you can see I am upset and frustrated because neither Asus nor J&R is helping me with this problem.

Business Response:

The item in question was shipped to this customer on May **** of this year.  She brought this issue to our attention on July ****. The problem is not so much the dates or 30 days versus 90 days, it is PHYSICAL DAMAGE. Virtually all companies will not cover physical damage after the item is delivered free and clear and without exception as this was. Physical damage at the time of delivery is a different story, of course. In speaking with this customer, we discovered that Asus had determined that this problem was caused by physical damage and as such was not covered under warranty. They are charging her $248 which is unfortunate but understandable. If we took this back at this point, Asus would refuse to take it back from us because of the aforementioned physical damage. In good faith, we offered the customer a $30 credit to help defray the cost of this repair, and that credit has gone through. No further adjustments will be made. The issue is now between Asus and this customer.

*** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

One J&R is a liar, I brought this to their attention  on July *** 2013, the day the SCREEN CRACKED BY ITSELF!!! Not on July ****. I even have the email to prove. I was told the next day in an email that I had to call the Manufacture and if I am not satisfied I had to call them via phone. Which I believe I did on July ****. Also I want to point out that I DID NOT PHYSICALLY DAMAGE OR ABUSE THIS TABLET IN AWAY, I HEARD A LOUD POPPING SOUND AND I LOOKED AT MY TABLET BECAUSE IT WAS CHARGING AND I SAW THAT THE SCREEN HAD CRACKED THIS TABLET WAS DEFECTIVE J&R CAN GOOGLE IT IF THEY DON'T BELIEVE ME BECAUSE ASUS PRODUCTS ARE KNOW TO DO THIS. I already got this tablet fixed because I didn't want to get it back and have to throw a $430 dollar tablet away, which is now worth $678 with the repair. I was told by an Asus tech that their could have been a small crack underneath the surface which was unnoticeable to me when I receive this that could have been cause by J&R handling or in the process of shipping the item to me which after some use of touch and charging the tablet cause the screen to crack on its own. I think that it was unfair to me that I had to pay for this item to get fix. The tablet is fixed now, but I am still out my money, I can't even sale this tablet for no more what I paid to fix this item. That sad when J&R sold me this tablet for $430. I guest I am going to have to take my loses because I keep on getting blamed for the cracked screen, or I guess I am going to have to make a complaint with my government about this with both J&R and Asus because this is ridiculous. Thanks.

 

 

 

 

Sincerely,

**** *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered the Quickbooks premier retail 2013 addition and received the Quickbooks premier general business 2013 addition. I called the company and they stated that the retail addition was out of stock and would be "about $100 more". Since both additions cost the same I don't know why I would have to pay more. I told them I would simply return the product and order the correct version from someone else. I feel that I was deliberately misled. This is obviously a bait and switch con. Now I have to wait to get my money back.

Desired Settlement: I would like the product I ordered for the amount I have already paid. Also, I want them to rush this order since I don't have an account system until I receive it.

Business Response:

We are pleased to report that we have spoken with this customer and a Retrun Authorizaion number given and a return label sent.

This appears to have been a web error.

Upon return and inspection of this item, this customer will be receiving a full refund. The item he should have gotten is currently out of stock so a refund makes more sense.

*** *******

**********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April **, 2013, I ordered a Toshiba laptop computer online (for my business), and paid via Amazon Payments. When I placed the order, the store's website clearly stated that the computer was in stock and would be shipped the next business day (Monday). Today, April **, 2013, I received, at 9:31 PM, an automated e-mail from the store indicating that the computer is on backorder, and would be shipped at a later unspecified date. This is unfair and disappointing, since I need the computer for my business, and had set aside time this weekend to set it up. It is not fair that I was led to believe that the computer was in stock and would be shipped the next business day, only to be told, four days later -and late at night, after the store's customer service is closed, per the store's website-, that it is actually not in stock, and will be shipped at some unspecified time in the future. As a matter of fact, as of right now, the computer is still listed as being in stock on the website.

Desired Settlement: I believe the store should ship the computer tomorrow (May *, 2013), and upgrade my shipping from two-day air to overnight delivery. I think the store should also make sure that, in the future, it does not represent an item as being in stock if it really is not. If the computer cannot be shipped in time for it to arrive this Friday, I would like the store to cancel my order tomorrow. In that case, it should also pay me the difference for ordering it from another merchant for overnight delivery, so that I can have it by Friday.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Soon after receiving the complaint last week, the business shipped the computer to me. Although it seems that a delivery attempt was made after business hours on Friday afternoon, I received the computer this Monday, in good working order. Therefore, I consider that there is nothing left to do in this case. I am satisfied that I received the computer, but am not satisfied in that my shipping was not upgraded to overnight shipping, in order for me to receive the computer on time.

Sincerely,

****** ****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/7/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered and paid for an item on December **, 2012. Almost a month later I still do not have my item or my money back.

Desired Settlement: I want my $159.99 back.

Business Response:

*** *****,

Per our conversation, we issued a refund in full to this customer on January ****, 2013. It would have posted back through his Amazon account by early February. Please let us know if the consumer reports that this is not the case and we'll be happy to follow up.

Thank you.

*** *******

**********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/7/2012 Delivery Issues
10/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/5/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/3/2012 Delivery Issues
10/2/2012 Delivery Issues
7/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2012 Delivery Issues
3/9/2012 Delivery Issues
1/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/13/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/12/2012 Delivery Issues
1/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/17/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/17/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/17/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/9/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/3/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/3/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/28/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues