This business is not BBB accredited.

TRICO Electrical Maintenance Corp

Phone: (914) 774-3182 Fax: (914) 423-0746 2 Hoover Rd, Yonkers, NY 10710 View Additional Email Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TRICO Electrical Maintenance Corp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on TRICO Electrical Maintenance Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 2009 Business started: 02/01/1999 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/2004 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Westchester County Clerk
110 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., White Plains NY 10601
http://www.westchesterclerk.com/
Phone Number: (914) 995-3094

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Antero Oliveira, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Antero Oliveira, President
Business Category

ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS

Service Area
Westchester and Sullivan counties.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2 Hoover Rd

    Yonkers, NY 10710 (914) 774-3182

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Trico Electric to install ethernet cables to give us hard-wired internet access in three rooms in our home. The owner of the company took advantage of us and charged us for hours that his men were not here and more wiring then he actually installed. We negotiated the price with him and he agreed to reduce the price from $1619.00 to $1250.00. We paid this in full. However, the wiring does not work and he refuses to come back to complete the work and make sure the set up is working properly. I called the owner for weeks and texted him. He did not respond and when he finally answered the phone he said he would come and then didn't. I texted him again last week and he said he would come and now he is sending me inappropriate angry messages saying if he "decides' he will come when he has time. He has been giving me the runaround for 5 days saying he would maybe come if he felt like it. Additionally, I consulted with a computer professional today who said that the electrician should have installed the newer CAT6 cable wire and a "switch," rather than the box he installed with older CAT 5 wiring. Overall, the electrician tried to over charge us for the work he did, is unwilling to come back to make the wiring work, he has sent me unprofessional texts, has given me the run around and apparently did not do the work properly.

Desired Settlement: Since Antero has refused to come and make the wiring functional, I would like a refund as I will now have to hire someone else to redo the work

Business Response:

The business has responded.  Please see below:

In a response to the complain that *****  from *** ******* *** *n *** ******** . I did a job for her of running some data lines and interconnected her phone and computer system to her office, bed room kids room and attic room . we also did some electrical work on her bed room. I send them a invoice for this work , of $ 1650.00 . I didn't got anything until I finish the job . when they got the invoice , the husband , that I never dell with it, calls me screaming that was to much money and that I didn't use the amount of materials that I was charging them for . So we start a disagreement and a argument about the payment . The husband told me after a wild that we will pay me in cash if we could agree on something . we did agree on $ 1250.00 in cash . They send me the amount we agree but the check was made to Trico electrical . They never complained about the work and now 4 months later she's claiming that the work is not working ? After what they said and did with payment , they have no word on what they say . What I told her was if they pay me the diference I'll go back and check on the wiring otherwise they have the difference on the amount they pay me to pay some one helse  to fix it . I don't want to deal with this type of people that use working people and abuse them at there owne convenience . 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The original work scope that was requested by my wife and I was to place Internet connection points in the master bedroom, home office located in the attic and in our sun room. The purpose of these connection points was to allow for connectivity throughout our home. Contrary to Trico’s response statement the SOW did not include integration of telephony and Internet nor was any work done in my children's bedrooms. The equipment that was installed by Trico was designed for telephone usage and would not be functional for Internet connectivity. Trico never tested the system or provided any guarantee of the performance of their work. Given that the work requested was not properly done and that the equipment installed was designed for telephony not Internet I am requesting that Trico Electric refund the $1,250 we paid them. 

 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *******




 

Business Response:

The business has responded.  Please see below:

Good morning . Re , ********

 

Now this person is claiming the 1,250 dollars back . All the work and materials we install where cat 5e Internet wiring, the internet split box on office closet is ready for internet signal . The wall jacks where probably cat3 jacks versus cat5e that is probably claiming he didn't get . There is no reason for as to refund the money to this person . Since he never payed the original invoiced amount of 1,640 . We have lost to much time with this isues.  If we want we will go back and remove ALL WIRING, MATERIALS, BOXES, PATCH BOX ON CLOSET, ALL WALL PLATES , EQUIPMENT . And then we can think of refunding the money .

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because

Trico Electrical in his second response conceded
that the statement of work only included internet connectivity after claiming
that the job scope was for both internet and telephony in their previous
response. As I have stated in my previous reply Trico installed improper
equipment that made internet connectivity impossible. The box that Trico
installed was designed for telephone connectivity only (see attached photo); it
was not designed for Ethernet cables.  It
was clear that it was the wrong box as they had to drill a hole in the front of
the plastic box to fit the Ethernet wire through it. As I am not an
electrician, I had to take several hours to troubleshoot the system by
contacting my network provider, my router manufacturer and ultimately the
manufacturer of the telephone box he installed who explained to me that the
problem was the box which can only be used for telephone wires. A special
switch box for Ethernet cables was supposed to be installed.  As I am out the money I paid Trico
Electrical, I could not afford to hire another electrician to install the
proper Ethernet switch box. The wiring he installed was stripped and too short
to reach my router so I did pay for custom extender cables to be built and
installed as a temporary fix for the system. Trico did not test their
installation when the work was completed. When requested (multiple times) to
come and fix the system the owner refused saying he would come “if he felt like
it” and then never came. Trico electrical did not do the work they were
contracted and paid to do. I request a full refund of the $1,250 the amount
that I paid to them. 


 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *******



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on TRICO Electrical Maintenance Corp
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)