BBB Accredited Business since

Health Street

Phone: (888) 378-2499 Fax: (888) 977-9409 2417 Third Avenue, Suite 813, Bronx, NY 10451 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.health-street.net/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Health Street meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Health Street include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Health Street
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 22, 2013 Business started: 09/01/1994 in NY Business incorporated 08/31/1994 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jared Rosenthal, President
Business Category

DRUG & ALCOHOL SCREENING & TESTING DNA TESTING PATERNITY TESTS & SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
Sansei Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 2417 Third Avenue, Suite 813

    Bronx, NY 10451 (888) 378-2499

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Health Street to get a DNA- paternity test. I was told the cost for the testing was $350, with a deposit of $175 due prior to setting up the appointment. I agreed and proceeded to give my credit card number. Then was told afterwards that the deposit is non-refundable, and the remaining $175 is DUE AT THE TIME OF THE APPOINTMENT. (I spoke to a man named Brian) I asked, if for some reason the appointment needs to be changed or rescheduled, would the balance still be charged? The answer was, you can change the time or date and the balance will not be charged until services are rendered. Low and behold, i had to cancel the appointment. I told them the representative named Shavon, I would call back at a later time to rescedule. I was assured my card would not be charged until services were completed, however, it was. I never received an email including details on what to expect in reguards to their billing procedures and policies. I believe Health Street purposely did not tell me that the deposit was non refundable until after getting me credit card information and knee i would still be charged for the remainder, despite canceling.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund including the deposit, as I do not wish to do business with a shady company that is neglectful when informing the consumer of their policies and practices.

Business Response: *****,
I am sorry you felt you were misled, that certainly wasn't our intention.  The second payment of $175 was set to charge your card automatically on the day of the appointment, but is fully refundable since you didn't show up. (Our customer service center wasn't made aware of the missed appt, that's why we charged the card, but not to worry, it is easily refunded). I already refunded the money, and that should hit your bank account in a max of 3-5 business days.  

The initial deposit that you placed to hold the appointment is still active.  Although you didn't show up, we don't charge anything to change the appointment, and we'll keep the deposit on your account for as long as you need to reschedule that appointment.  We will not charge you anything more, of course, until you come in for the appt.
I hope this resolves the matter.
Thanks,
Jared.

12/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently went through Health-street in order to obtain a ten panel urinalysis test, which was to include two integrity variables (such as pH or temperature). I ordered the drug test online, which cost 89 dollars, and went and took the drug test here at ******* in *******, **. When I received my results I noticed that they did not have the integrity variables on them as requested. To try to solve this issue I then called the Health-street company on a ****** in order for them to call the ******* to have my results resent to them so they could get me the correct drug test with all of the information required on it. They informed me that this would cost six dollars and that it would be no problem and that they would try to have the new results to me by the end of the week. AS of today, a week and a half later, I called and informed them I had been waiting over a week for the new results and I really needed them because I am on a strict time limit to get my drug test in. Upon calling them they informed that they would not be able to put the correct information on my drug test results, deeming my drug test void and unusable for the purpose I needed it, and also said that they would not refund the money I had already paid for the drug test in order to take a new one to obtain all the correct information. Instead, they tried to give me a six dollar credit towards another drug test which would cost another 89 dollars. To me this seems very unfair and unprofessional as the original agreement I had reached with Health-street was unfulfilled and has left me in a bad situation due to their lack of tedious, but necessary, work.

Desired Settlement: I would like all 95 dollars that were paid to be applied to a new drug test order so that I can get the proper test results including all necessary information.

Business Response: The customer seems to have ordered the wrong test for his particular needs, and while we attempted to make the change, it was too late by the time he realized it.  Here's what happened: the customer ordered a 10 panel drug test for $89, and came to the clinic and was provided that service, by his account. However, what he realized later (after the lab ran the test and we provided results) is that what he really needed was the 10 panel drug test plus pH (integrity variables), for which we charge $95.  He didn't realize this until after he took the test, and after the lab ran the specimen.  We did attempt, by his account, to re-run the specimen with the integrity variables, and we simply charged him the $6 difference, but it turned out to not be possible.  As with any lab test, it is FAR easier for all involved when the right (desired) test is ordered from the beginning. It is very time consuming and costly for us to try and change a test, especially once the specimen has been analyzed, but we attempted to do so on his behalf. In the end, it was not possible to re-run the initial specimen.  Therefore, the only option now is to get a new test.  

I feel bad that he ordered the wrong test, and we would have changed it at no charge had he realized before he used the test. At this point, the service was already used, so the credit can't be transferred to a new test.  Despite the fact that we provided exactly the service that he ordered, even by his account, it bothers me that he still needs to get this done right, and he spent money on the wrong thing, so I would be happy to offer him the $95 test for half-price if he wishes to do this in the next 90 days.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ******



 

7/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They charged my card with out any authorization and held my card information with out my consent.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund and a reason why they held my information and charged my card with out authorization from me. It is illegal to hold credit/debit card information with out consent and at no point did I give them that permission.

Business Response: Health Street does not store any client credit card information unless specifically asked to do so by the client. In this case, we do not have any record of credit card payment from this client since March, when she placed an order and we charged her card appropriately.  There are no payments from this client in June, and once again, we absolutely did not store her credit card number.  I have confirmed with our credit card processor that we received zero payments from her since the one order in March. Nevertheless, on behalf of Health Street, I do apologize for any inconvenience she may have experienced as a result of this, and I assure her that she can call her credit card company or check her statement and she will see that we did not charge her for anything at all.

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Today 3/**/14 I was scheduled through health Street for a DNA/ Paternity test as well as possible father, two separate locations of testing and both places did not have information needed to complete the test after over and hour wait time for myself they finally agreed to complete test only to find out the person doing the DNA swabbing had never done this. I called health street 3 different times speaking to Cecilia Perez the first time, she was extremely rude and very unhelpful she told me she could not work magic! Possible father waited over and hour and a half then to be told they were unsure of information needed and had so much confusion this left him with the thought of a inaccurate test. I then called health street again to make sure information was correct to be told yes and all should be fine. third call was to health street and I spoke with ******** ****** who had nothing to say to help situation at hand and refused to let me talk to her boss.

Desired Settlement: Desired outcome would be accurate DNA testing and partial or full refund.

2/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan **2014 I made an appointment with health Street to conduct a DNA paternity test. Total cost of the test I was quoted was $350. They told me a local office that could collect the DNA sample and made me an appointment for the following morning.. At that time they requested half of the price of the test. They offered financing for the remainder ($175). I told them I would pay the next day before I took the test. Shortly after hanging up the phone I received several emails from Health Street. One involved their policies etc. I clicked on it and informed me that by using their web site I agreed that any unused balance would only be available as a lifetime credit. This after I had already paid. The following day my son (an adult) and I decided not to take the test. I was already feeling as if Health Street was being somewhat dishonest by having me pay then telling me there was no refund. So basically I paid $175 for a missed doctors office appointment. Then today it got worse. Without my permission on January **, 2014 Health Street then ran my credit card again for another $175. I assume they felt they were justified because the total cost of the test I never took was $350. So now I have paid $350 for a test I have never taken. Other than my complaint here I intend to inform my bank that the second charge was without my permission and I am contesting the charge. Informing me of their "non refund" policy after I made the initial payment seems like pretty shady business practices. But charging my card a second time is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: My money back

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,
******************