BBB Accredited Business since

IBM

Find a Location

Fax: (914) 765-7382 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504 http://www.ibm.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm markets and services information handling systems including hardware, software and training services. The company's products also include information processing systems, program products, telecommunication systems and related supplies and services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that IBM meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for IBM include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on IBM
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1968 Business started: 01/01/1911
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Virginia M. Rometty, CEO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Pamela Haas, Manager, Corporate Citizenship & Corporate Affairs
Principal: Ms. Virginia M. Rometty, CEO
Business Category

DATA COMMUNICATIONS EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS COMPUTERS-DEALERS COMPUTERS SOFTWARE & SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
International Business Machines Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 1 New Orchard Road

    Armonk, NY 10504

  • 1133 Westchester Avenue

    White Plains , NY 10604

  • 590 Madison Avenue-12th Fl.

    New York, NY 10022

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2900 Charlevoix Drive SE

    Grand Rapids, MI 49546

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3039 Cornwallis RoadB002/NN223/9CCA

    Durham, NC 27709

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3808 Six Forks Road

    Raleigh, NC 27609

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4800 Falls of Neuse Road

    Raleigh, NC 27609

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    900 Aviation Pkwy

    Morrisville, NC 27560

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 12195

    Durham, NC 27709

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2155 Louisiana Blvd NE Ste 10500

    Albuquerque, NM 87110

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7201 I-40 West Suite 220

    Amarillo, TX 79106

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11400 Burnet Depot 010 #3

    Austin, TX 78758

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9000 South Rita Road

    Tucson, AZ 85744

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15450 SW Koll Parkway

    Beaverton, OR 97006

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2495 140th Ave NE D200

    Bellevue, WA 98005

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3600 Carillon Point

    Kirkland, WA 98033

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Billed for a non returned part that was never received for repair. Invoice #******* Called and opened dispute with the company, never received a service repair part, and we are being billed for not returning a defective part. The bill goes to ***** ************ out of ****** *****. We have not received a part and do not feel that we should have to pay this bill. I'm very upset that the service repair was forgotten and the part never received. All i have is messages from IBM saying the part is delayed and has not been shipped. We would like these charges to be removed.

Desired Settlement: Seeking a statement or invoice saying we do not owe the above amount and this will not be charged to our business ***** **** ********.

Business Response: The customer has also reached out to IBM at the same time as submitting this issue to the BBB.  It appears that IBM has already begun to process the change to clear the invoice and this will be processed this week.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ******



 

8/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refund for ******** ******* I am a Systems Administrator for our sister company, ********. On June **** of last year, I inquired into an update for the ******** ******* software, since we were having an issue and the IBM knowledgebase said we needed to upgrade. Here is the link: ********************************************************* I just looked at it today and it looks like they updated the verbage. It no longer says to get an update but use a different mapper. So we got the latest upgrade (version 6.2) through ****** and found out that our maps would no longer work with it. I contacted ****** on August ***, and let them know of this issue. I tried to get the earlier version of the software (version 6.1), but because of legal issues, they could not provide me with it. I asked for a refund since we could not use the software and I have been working with ****** over the past year to get ******** the refund. This has been very frustrating and it appears that IBM is dragging their feet.

Desired Settlement: Total refund of the software $10,600 as soon as possible.

Business Response: IBM has ******ated the end user's complaint and request.  IBM has reviewed and responded to their request by issuing a full refund of the product purchased.  The credit has been issued to ***** from IBM.  ***** is now processing the credit to ******, and expect it to be released to ********.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******** *******



 

5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, We closed our account with IBM's SoftLayer division (account #******) a couple years ago after several months of performance that was below SLA levels. However, we have not yet received a refund for months when service was impaired. Please let me know when refunds for four months of service ($111.50/month * 4 months = $446.00) will be issued. Thank you, ****

Desired Settlement: Seeking a refund for months when service was below agreed-to service levels: $111.50/month * 4 months = $446.00

Business Response:

*** ********** partnership with SoftLayer ended on amicable terms 2 years ago. During its tenure with SoftLayer however, the PolariStar, LLC. account experienced numerous 'delinquent' months resulting in disconnection of service as outlined in SoftLayer’s MSA – section 5.1. Further, abuse related issues involving spam and/or DMCA complaints are documented throughout the accounts lifespan. It’s for these reasons that no compensation is due to *** ********.

 

Our service level agreements (SLA's) were continually met throughout the tenure of the PolariStar, LLC account. In reference to this same document, any breach deemed worthy of such credit has a serviceable lifespan of 7 days. As these claims fail to meet both the timetable and measurable qualities of an SLA credit, the claim should be denied.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

Thank you for this e-mail.

We are deeply disappointed and shocked by SoftLayer's false accusations and assertions.  The "spam" and "DMCA complaints" SoftLayer notes resulted from unauthorized third parties gaining access to the SoftLayer equipment we were renting.  This unauthorized access was achieved due to SoftLayer's failure to secure its network and equipment.  To have SoftLayer compromise customer security in this way -- and then pin the blame on the customers -- is utterly outrageous.

Furthermore, we dispute that accounts were delinquent since SoftLayer always had up-to-date and valid payment info on-file.  Any account standing issues are therefore the result of SoftLayer's billing system.

Under the circumstances, we reiterate our request for a refund as originally submitted.

Thank you,
 



 

Business Response: Softlayer has responded to the customer with information regarding the claim.
There is no further action Softlayer can take at this time."

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

This a non-response.  Please have SoftLayer address our legitimate concerns, or mark this complaint as one that SoftLayer did not resolve.

Thank you,

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fraudulent data theft Softlayer.com (IBM) was a service provider to us for over five years. During that time we spent tens of thousands of dollars on their services. Over a short term billing dispute, they erased both our primary hard drive of data AND backup of well over ten thousand hours of work. This is a dangerous service provider to use-- consider one of their many excellent competitors.

Desired Settlement: All of our payments to this company.

Consumer Response:

I registered fifty plus domain names with the company, and paid for the registrations at the time of making them.
 
The total expenditure by me and my firms was thousands of dollars for this service.
 
In spite of the timely payments, they have asserted ownership of those domains and restricted my access to them.
 
That is a major part of my billing dispute with them.
 
Other consumers need to be warned because domain names can be valuable.  In fact they can become the heart of your company's online marketing.
 
Imagine if someone you used to register ownership of BBB.org unilaterally asserted control over your BBB.org and thus your online presence and restricted your access to transfer or point that domain the way you wanted, even though you had made payments to them for it for them to act as your representative for five or ten years.
 
It's a horrific behavior on the part of Softlayer / IBM (previously called Planet prior to IBM's assuming full ownership) and I'm sure partly responsible for their receiving an F rating from BBB prior to my filing this complaint.
 
Consumers need to be warned about the risk of doing business with them.
 
I have contacted the company for clarification on their view of their contract with customers so far without a reply.  Deplorable.

Business Response: SoftLayer is a provider of Internet hosting
services.     Dual Eagle LLC (apparently *** *********’s
company) signed up for services with SoftLayer in June 2008.   
In doing so, he agreed to SoftLayer’s Master Services Agreement.   
A copy of that agreement is on file.
SoftLayer collects payment from its customers monthly, in
advance, through an automated charge to the customer’s credit card.  
*** ********* paid for services via his credit card for five and a half
years.   However, when SoftLayer attempted to charge his credit card
for services for January 2014, *** *********’s credit card company would not
process the charge.   From January ** through January **, 2014,
SoftLayer sent daily electronic messages to *** ********* notifying him of the
payment default.   SoftLayer also left a voicemail on the phone
number listed on *** *********’s account on January 13, 2014.  
Despite all these efforts, *** ********* did not respond to SoftLayer, and his
monthly charge was never paid by his credit card company.   Finally,
on January **, 2014, SoftLayer disconnected *** *********’s services due to
non-payment.   In keeping with policy and practice, SoftLayer
reclaimed the computer servers that had been assigned to *** *********’s
account, and erased the contents of those servers.   This was all
done pursuant to the terms of the Master Services Agreement.   
SoftLayer has not “asserted ownership” of *** *********’s
Internet domains.   Those domains are still registered to ***
*********.    As soon as he pays his outstanding balance, his
access to those domains will be restored.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 

Thank you for providing that link to the Master Agreement. 


I see in section in section 16.5 that Softlayer has recently added language that relates to handling of domain names in event of termination.  That language would seem to speak to this complaint.


But the problem still exists that in previous versions of the Master Agreement, including the agreements that were entered into between myself and both Planet and Softlayer, I believe no such section or language existed.  


While Softlayer may now be expressing such language in the Master Agreement, other customers have been confused by rapidly changing policies.  One client wrote on another consumer protection website that, "...this complaint is being filed [because of] my discontent with softlayer's ever changing policies." 


Here is the link to the complaint he filed to show this is not an isolated claim-- but one others are making as well: 

****************************

My guess is that there is an entire class of customer who have lost domain names and data that would take issue with losing their data and domain names, who might rightly point out that the company's rapidly changing policies have created an impossible confusion.


Please provide your past versions of that agreement, as well your agreements specifically relating to domain names, so that we can get to the bottom of this issue.


Kind regards.

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***************




 

Business Response: Softlayer has provided the customer with the information they can use to
remediate this situation as stated previously.  There is no further action
Softlayer can take at this time."

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not able to get Production server repaired in a timely matter. We have been trying to get a resolution for a server that keeps hanging since June of 2013. IBM continues to ask for logs, and fails to replace the bad hardware. We have asked IBM repeatedly to send a service tech onsite to replace parts, and they claim to have contacted us, when in fact no one from IBM has contacted us. I have kept a complete history of events including all the tickets & cases that IBM has opened. Previously IBM has replaced cables and controller cards both in our *** and in our server, but the same issue continues to occur (IE the items that have replaced does not resolve the issue). We are not able to use this host in a production environment, and because of that we are unable to move forward on any IT projects involving our environment. This issue has been escalated several times within IBM support, but we seem to get nowhere.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting that either the server is replaced, or all the parts inside are replaced.

Business Response: IBM along with *******/service vendor are working with the customer, on remediation of issues. 

12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service