BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

National Debt Relief, LLC

Phone: (888) 703-4948 View Additional Phone Numbers 11 Broadway  Suite 1600, New York, NY 10004 http://www.nationaldebtrelief.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers debt relief services to consumers, including consolidation and non-bankruptcy options including debt settlement and debt negotiation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that National Debt Relief, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for National Debt Relief, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for National Debt Relief, LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 16, 2009 Business started: 09/23/2009 in NY Business incorporated: 09/23/2009 in NY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Tilipman, CEO Mr. Alex Kleyner, CFO Mr. Tom Leydiker, Chair
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Alex Kleyner, CFO
Principal: Mr. Daniel Tilipman, CEO
Business Category

CREDIT & DEBT COUNSELING

Industry Tips
Debt Consolidation/Bill Paying Services Take Control of your Debt

Additional Locations

  • 11 Broadway  Suite 1600

    New York, NY 10004 (888) 703-4948 (888) 660-7427

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 660-7427(Phone)
  • (866) 460-5541 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/**/2014 I sent an email to National Debt Relief (NDR) stating "I have decided to not use *** (Global Client Solutions) to hold my money while you work with my creditors. I will be creating a savings account at my PNC Bank. I will update you via email as deposits are made which should be every 2 weeks.". This is allowed per the contract I e-signed. I began receiving calls from someone in the quality assurance dept. stating if I had any questions to call them back. As I had no questions I did not call back. I finally decided to answer one of these calls and he was asking why I wanted to cancel my contract with NDR. I stated I did not want to cancel my contract and that I was just informing them I would not be using *** as the fees to use them were ridiculous. Both the guy I spoke with and his ******* stated that I am required to use *** to keep my contract with NDR. I consider this a breach of contract as the contract states I have the option to use ***.

Desired Settlement: I expect NDR to allow me to save the funds for their program in an FDIC bank account as per the e-signed contract.

Business Response: Thank you for bringing *** *******’s concerns to National Debt Relief’s attention.  National Debt Relief is committed to providing a world-class experience to each and every client whom we assist in becoming debt-free.

Upon receiving notice of *** *******’s concerns, we promptly reached out to him in order to evaluate the confusion around his perceived desire to cancel his Global Client Solutions account.  We encourage our clients to use Global Client Solutions for the same reason we make every decision in our business: it is in the client’s best interest!

When we spoke with *** *******, we reviewed the important benefits of using Global Client Solutions for his savings account in lieu of his own personal savings account.  For instance, our internal systems are tightly integrated with those of Global Client Solutions.  This synergy allows us to have accurate information on how much a client has saved towards their program in real time.  By having this data at our fingertips at any given moment, our ************ *********** are able to maximize their efficiency – and effectiveness – in working towards helping clients resolve their debts.

After explaining the benefits of both, remaining in our program and using Global Client Solutions, we are happy to report that *** ******* has elected to do both.  We will continue to do our very best and provide him with first-rate service.  As such, we
consider this matter to have been resolved for all parties.

Thank you for taking the time to review our response!

Sincerely,
**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I initiated help from National Debt Relief to ease my debt issues in mid March 2014. Approximately 4/**/14 I contacted National Debt Relief and told them that I wanted to cancel their program and not go through with their program. National debt relief attempted to conserve my business with a series of phone call and I talked with my representative on 4/**/14 and he said he would cancel the program and I said I would consider starting again after giving it a few days of thought. On 4/**/14, National Debt Relief drafted my account against my wishes for the amount of $313.15, the amount that I asked in the beginning of March to cancel, the amount my representative said he would cancel on 04/**/14. I talked with my representative the same day the draft was done on 4/**/14 and he said it was his mistake and he would insure me a refund the next day , 4/**/14 if I emailed him my request; which I did immediately. As of 4/**/14 the refund has not been completed by National Debt Relief, and I have been charged by my financial institution late fees because of the money that have taken after my initial request and subsequent requests that were timely, in order, and proper have been ignored. I have yet to hear back from my representative or been able to reach anyone from National Debt Relief about my request for a refund and the bank fees keep adding with each subsequent withdrawal after this.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund (313.15) electronically back into my account and no fees imposed because of their mistakes and lack of attention. I am being imposed a fee from them and fees fro my financial institution because of their actions.

Business Response: Thank you for bring *** *******'s complaint to National Debt Relief's (NDR) attention. Being committed to providing consumers with exemplary service National Debt Relief appreciates the opportunity to respond to, and most importantly resolve *** *******'s complaint.

*** ******* asked National Debt Relief to negotiate settlements with his unsecured creditors when signing an agreement on March **, 2014.

On April **, 2014 *** ******* called into NDR's customer service department and asked that his file be closed. At which time the status of his file was changed to ensure no future deposits would be processed and his file would be closed with our office.

The next interactions between our office and *** ******* occurred on April **, 2014 then again on April **, 2014 when *** ******* called into our office. *** ******* was transferred to NDR’s Quality Assurance Team when he called. During the transfers *** ******* disconnected the calls at which time our agent called him back unsuccessfully, therefore, having to leave messages asking for a return call. Finally on April **, 2014 a Quality Assurance Team Member of NDR was able to speak with *** ******* at about 3:00PM EST.

The result of this call was *** ******* wanting his file to be reinstated and for NDR to continue the process of negotiating with his unsecured creditors. At this time his file was placed in to a Pending Reinstatement status. The following day after an internal review, his file was upgraded to an Active status with his first deposit scheduled for the following day since it had originally been scheduled for April **, 2014 according to the agreement he signed. This deposit was confirmed during the April **, 2014 phone call.

*** ******* next called our office on April **, 2014 upset and wishing to close his file again because he “didn’t expect his deposit for April to happen and thought it was on a different day”. The status of his file was again changed to ensure he would not be drafted again and closed. Since a deposit had now occurred, the process for closing his file included closing his Global Client Solutions account and ensuring he received a refund the balance.

Refunds can only be processed by Global Client Solutions once deposits clear. Deposits clear at 3PM on the third business day after the deposit date. *** *******’s deposit cleared on at 3PM on April **, 2014. The following day on April **, 2014 the available balance in *** *******’s Global Client Solutions account was wired into his checking account. NDR paid the wire fee accessed by Global Client Solutions and issued a physical check to *** ******* for the fees Global Client Solutions charged him. The check was sent to his home address via Fed Ex.

*** *******’s complaint was filed on April **, 2014 before a refund could be issued since the funds had yet to clear. I believe National Debt Relief upheld the standards we hold ourselves to by resolving *** *******’s complaint as quickly as possible and by going the extra mile in issuing him refund of the fees charged to him by Global Client Solutions. I personally unsuccessfully attempted to reach out to *** ******* on multiple occasions to ensure he is satisfied with the results.

Thank you again for taking the time to review National Debt Relief’s response and assisting in reaching a successful resolution for *** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to ask the company, National Debt Relief, based in New York to cease calling me 3 weeks ago. The calls have still been consistently coming in. I am not, have never been, and never will be interested in their "product". How they obtained my number is a mystery to me.

Desired Settlement: For this company to cease contacting me.

Business Response: Thank you bring *** ******** complaint to National Debt Relief's attention. Being committed to providing consumers with exemplary service National Debt Relief appreciates the opportunity to respond to and most importantly resolve *** ******** complaint.

Looking in to *** ******** complaint I found the following relevant information.

On 11/*/2013 National Debt Relief received contact information for ****** ******** from IP Address ************. A Google search was performed from this IP address for 'debt relief'. The searcher clicked on a sponsored link for National Debt Relief. This link took the searcher to a National Debt Relief's web where the following information was entered as means of requesting information about National Debt Relief’s services at 7:31 PM EST.

Name - ****** ********
Total Debt Amount - $5,000-$7,499
Phone Number - ###-###-####
Email Address - ******************

The location information below was captured by our system based on the IP address

City - Columbus
State - Ohio

During my review I found the IP address and phone number to both be from Columbus, Ohio. A online search of the phone number entered shows it to be registered to a ****** ******** through New Cingular Wireless in the Columbus, Ohio area.

National Debt Relief called ###-###-#### eight times between 11/*/2013 and 5/*/2014 on the following dates and times;

Each of these calls resulted in a voice mail being left for for ****** ******** as requested when he submitted his online request. National Debt Relief provides all consumers visiting our website with a Privacy Policy outlining the terms and conditions of submitting an online request for additional information about our services. The Privacy Policy can be viewed by visiting *************************************************

The first communication National Debt Relief received from *** ******** after the initial online request for additional information was the Complaint received by the BBB. Immediately upon reading the Complaint I placed *** ******** on National Debt Relief's internal Do Not Call List to ensure no further calls were made to his phone number.

The facts revealed during my thorough review of *** ******** complaint lead me to request the BBB determine this complaint ‘not valid’ and remove it from National Debt Relief's record. Thank you again for your time and assistance in this matter. Do not hesitate to ask for additional information or supporting documentation if needed. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company told me they would take care of my credit card debt, i was set up to make a deposit of 253 monthly, for a couple of months I could not pay this amt due to being short on money, thats why I called them in the first place and they weren't saving me much either. They never told me I couldn't do this, they closed my acct and never told me and my credit cards were never paid a penny by them. Now I am stuck with higher balances since I was told not to pay my creditors anyting. this started in November I am in a mess.

Desired Settlement: Also they can pay the interest that has accured on my cards since November 2013. They never told me i would be kicked off program if I didn't pay the set amount, Crooks

Business Response:

Dear *** *******,

Thank you for bringing the above mentioned complaint to National Debt Relief’s attention. National Debt Relief is committed to providing each and every consumer we come in contact with exemplary service that holds true to our goal of “doing what is best for the Client”

This complaint is quite a surprise. *** ******* originally signed an agreement with National Debt Relief on November *, 2013 that required her to deposit $251.37 monthly beginning on November **, 2013. Between November 2013 and February **, 2014, the day National Debt Relief terminated *** ******* agreement, she made deposits totaling $300.37 instead of the contractually agreed amount of $1005.48. It was on this same day *** ******* called in to again reduce her next scheduled deposit to $20 instead of the regularly scheduled $251.37. It was at this time *** ******* was informed her file would be closed with our office in accordance to Section 13 of the agreement she signed. When the Customer Service representative attempted to explain the reason her file was being closed *** ******* disconnected the phone call. The Customer Service Representative escalated the matter to the point I personally emailed and called *** ******* who again chose to hang up on me after saying. &ld quo;I get it, It is my entire fault”.

* ******* ** ** ********** *** ****** ** ********* ******** **** ****** ******** *** ***** ** *********** ******** *** ****** ** *** ***** **** **** ******** ** ******** ** *** ******* ********* *** *** ******* ** *** ****** ******* ** ******* *** ****** **** ******* ******* ******* ****** **** **** ******* ********** ******* ******** ****** ******* ** ******* ******** **** ****** **** *** ******** **** *** ******** *** ****** *** ** ***** ***** ******** *** ****** **** **** ** ******** **** ****** **** ** *** ** **** ** *** **** ** *** ****** *** ********** ************** ** *** ********* ******** **** ****** **** ******* ** *** ****** ******** ** ********* *** ******* ** ******* ** * ****** *******


• Email Sent to *** *******;

Good Morning ******,

Your file was brought to my attention this morning by ***** ***** the ******** ******* ******* here at National Debt Relief a few moments ago. He tells me you are frustrated with the services you have received from our office. As the ********** ******* this concerns me greatly. National Debt Relief prides itself on providing each and every client with outstanding service. When we fall short of this mark we will do everything within our power to “make it right”.

I invite you to contact me directly by calling ###-###-#### so that I may better understand your frustration and “make it right” for you. If I do not answer my phone when you call in please leave a message with the best time to return your call. When we talk I will have two simple goals. This first is to understand your frustrations and the second is to make you happy. I know if given the opportunity I will accomplish both goals in a very short time.

I look forward to speaking with you,


***** ****
**** ********** **********
National Debt Relief
** ******** **** **** *** ***** ** ***** ************ **** **** ************ ****** ******************************


National Debt Relief holds itself to the highest standards in the industry and must make the difficult decision to terminate a Client’s file when we no longer believe our services are in their best interest. This determination was made in *** ******* case because our ability to negotiate settlements on her behalf is only possible if she makes the deposits outlined and required of her under the agreement.
I would like to take a moment and address each of the complaints raised by *** *******
• “They never told me I couldn’t do this”.
o The agreement clearly outlines *** ******* required monthly deposit
o The agreement clearly states it may be terminated by National Debt Relief for Breach of Contract on *** ******* part. One of the definitions of Breach of contract is failing to make the agreed upon deposits.
o When *** ******* was told reducing her February deposit would result in the
o termination of her agreement she hung up on not one, but, two different representatives of National Debt Relief.

• “Now I am stuck with higher balances……”
o At the time of *** ******* enrollment with National Debt Relief she was already 60 days late on at least one of the debts she enrolled with National Debt Relief.
o *** ******* monthly minimum payment prior to enrolling with National Debt Relief was approximately $400. Since she could not make a $253 monthly deposit into her savings account with National Debt Relief, it is logical to assume she would not have been able to make her monthly minimums and therefore would have fallen behind on her own.

• “They never told me I would be kicked off the program if I didn’t pay the set amount, Crooks”
o National Debt Relief did not charge or receive a single dollar in fees from *** *******. Once her agreement was terminated due to her “Breach of Contract” the deposits she had made were returned to her less bank fees charged by Global Client Solutions.

National Debt Relief is committed to doing what is in our client’s best interest even when they may not agree. Debt Settlement is not the best course of action for *** ******* to alleviate her over burdensome debt load. Her inability to make the required monthly deposits led us to this conclusion. I understand *** ******* frustration from being overwhelmed by debt. I also understand her lashing out against National Debt Relief, as miss placed as it may be.

Thank you for the time spent in resolving this matter. Feel free to contact me with any follow up questions you may have regarding *** ******* complaint.

***** ****
**** ********** **********
National Debt Relief

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

THAT IS WHY I CONTACTED BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU; THEY DID NOT TELL ME THE FILE COULD BE CLOSED, THEY ARE JUST SAYING THAT TO COVER FOR THE MISTAKE AND I'VE HEARD OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THEM ALSO.  I AM AN HONEST PERSON BUT I DON'T APPRECIATE NOT BEING TOLD SOMETHING AND THAT THEY TOLD ME IT WAS OK TO DO THIS AFTER I ACTUALLY ASKED THEM IF IT WAS AND COULD I BE KICKED OFF THE PROGRAM, THEY SAID NO IT WOULD JUST TAKE LONGER TO PAY.  I HAVE SINCE CONTACTED ANOTHER DEBT RELIEF PROGRAM THAT HAS THINGS SET UP CORRECTLY AND ARE GOING TO PAY MY DEBTORS RIGHT AWAY INSTEAD OF WAITING WHILE 2 OF MY CARDS WENT INTO COLLECTIONS BECAUSE OF THIS.  NOT A GOOD PROGRAM!  THEY CAN CONTINUE TO SAY THEY TOLD ME SUCH AND SUCH BUT I WAS THE ONE ON THE OTHER END AND THEY NEED TO EITHER REDO THEIR PROGRAM OR LET PEOPLE KNOW THEY CANNOT MAKE SMALLER DEPOSITS.  THEY REALLY MESSED THINGS UP FOR ME!! 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *******




 

Business Response: Thank you for giving National Debt Relief an opportunity to respond to *** *******' most recent comments.

National Debt Relief stands behind our initial response to *** *******' complaint as accurate and factual.

In *** *******' most resent comments she again asserts National Debt Relief failed to inform her the repercussions of failing to make timely deposits according to the agreement could result in her file being closed by our office for Breach of Contract. She makes this claim in the face of overwhelming evidence to the contrary. Including but not limited to, the Breach of Contract clause in the agreement she signed, the disclaimer she was read each time she altered her deposit, the information contained in the Welcome Package she received electronically and physically by mail.

In her most recent comments she insinuates National Debt Relief stole money from her by not giving her a complete and full refund. At no time did National Debt Relief receive or refund any monies to *** *******. At the onset of the relationship established by the agreement she signed with our office *** ******* opened a Dedicated Account with Global Client Solutions to be used to fund settlements and fees for National Debt Relief. Global Client Solutions is a third party entity responsible for drafting, housing clients funds in an FDIC insured bank account and the disbursement of those funds. *** ******* received monthly statements for the account as well as having online access to view her account activity at any time she would like. Global Client Solutions drafted funds from *** ******* and processed her refund when her account was closed. National Debt Relief made no settlements for *** *******, therefor did not earn or receive a fee. Her vague insinuation is consistent w ith the lack of validity of her entire complaint.

I cannot speak to the "Debt Relief Program" she has sent entered, but, in her most recent comments she stated "instead of waiting while my two cards go into collections..." National Debt Relief clearly states in its agreement and all supporting documentation and communications including, but not limited to; Recorded Welcome Call, Welcome Package, emails and telephone conversations clearly state all debts enrolled with National Debt Relief will become delinquent or further delinquent before a settlement is reached.

You have asked National Debt Relief what actions our office can take to resolve this complaint. I am not certain how to answer this question since *** ******* has not asked for anything as a way to resolve her complaint. She simply seems to be lashing out and complaining in the face of overwhelming evidence to the contrary.

National Debt Relief sets client's expectations properly at the outset of the relationship at all times. I understand *** ******* is frustrated and simply wants to complain and can appreciate her frustration. National Debt Relief is committed to providing an unparalleled service to each and every client. Even when executing on that commitment not the popular choice. National Debt Relief cannot in good conscience continue to represent a client when we believe our representation is not in the client's best interest and/or will serve no benefit to the client.

*** ******* file was closed because of this commitment and only after a number of representatives, including myself, attempted to discuss the situation with her to no avail. Before my conversation with her she spoke to a Customer Service Representative, a Supervisor, a Manager and a Department Head. *** ******* hung up on me as well as many others and did not allow any of us to assist her. The call I personally had with her went much like the recorded calls I listened to when researching her complaint. During these calls *** ******* stated what she wanted and why she wanted it. When a National Debt Relief representative would attempt to explain the ramifications she would simply say something to the like of "I am the client do what I am asking" and would hang up. When speaking to me she said "I get it, it is my entire fault." and hung up. When I attempted to call her back she did not answer nor did she return any of my calls.

A Debt Settlement Program will not work for anyone unless we are working together as a Team towards the common goal. This is the reason our agreement specifically states that each and every client must communicate with our office in an open, honest nature by discussing their account and answering all questions and communications from our office. When National Debt Relief is faced with a client who is unwilling to do so we must make the unfortunate decision to close their file since we know through experience they will not benefit from our service.

Thank you for your time and effort in attempting to resolve *** ******* complaint. If their is anything National Debt Relief can do in assisting to close this complaint amicably please don't hesitate to ask.

***** ****
** **********
National Debt Relief

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with NDR in March 2013. In December they "settled" my largest account with a Federal Credit Union. They informed me that they reached a settlement agreement for a specified amount and time frame determined by the Credit Union. I was beyond surprise to hear from the Credit Union legal team that NDR OFFERED a judgement on my account, the credit union DID NOTbring judgement against me. Now, I was made to believe by NDR that they were working in my best interest, why would they OFFER a judgement instead of a settlement agreement. I was told by the credit union legal team that the judgement will be on my credit report for several years. To be honest I signed the "judgement because I didnt want to be taken to court, but i've never seen a judgement before and have never been to court and based on NDR explanation i signed the aggrement. I raised concerns with the CSR I spoke with and ***** cant remember if it was a male or female) stated that it was a settlement and if I don't take it the credit union will file judgement against me. Also, they cancelled my account with their company without notifying me. I learned about this through a creditor who left me a voicemail stating that they called NDR to negotiate and was told that my account was cancelled and they are no longer representing me. I received the voicremail from the creditor on 2/*/14 and I only received a cancellation email from NDR on 2/**/14. Their email stated that my agreement was cancelled due to consecutive "missed payments along with lack of communication from me. THAT IS INCORRECT. Their recordings will show the NUMEROUS times i've spoken with them. I have the names of FOUR ******* ********* ******** i spoke with on multiple occasions. they were a few times I lowered my payment due to other finicial obligations, after all I am in a hardship program, that's why I joined NDR. Their Quality Assurance Managers approved my request to lower my payments. If there was a problem with my account they should have told me. Also, their contract states that if either party (me or NDR) is cancelling the agreement either of us needs to give 30 day notice. I received no such notice. Another problem I had with NDR, they do not listen to their customers, I received settlement offers that I was willing to pay and they would not accept them. The ******* ********* ******* would tell me they will take the offers to the *********** ******* and get back to me and they would not get back to me. I had to keep calling them. I think they threw me under the bus with the credit union account because it was my largest account and therefore the largest fee they would receive from me, which is well over $2000. I had a payment due to the credit union at the end of January, because I am moving this month and I requested to lower my payment and was approved by ******* *******. I did not have enough money in my account after they took their fee ( a quality asssurance manager told me they were going to take a percentage that would equal to $900, but over $2000 was taken). I raised the concern with the ******* ********* ******* of not having enough money he told me management "may" advance money to make the payments, "not to worry" they'll take care of me". he said it would be in their best interest to advance the funds because they receive their fee for that account only once and it doesnt make sense to miss a payment and void the "settlement" and then they'd have to work on getting it back and wouldn't be paid for that work. Which also made sense to me. Apparently, I was not approved for the advance and NDR did not notify me that i was not approved and the payment was not made. If they had let me know i was not approved I couldv'e tried to make the payment, but I was robbed of that opportunity because I was not contacted. I trusted NDR, they were my financial advisers and they were supposed to be working in my best interest. On many occasions they proudly stated to me that they have years of experience negotiating. I deceided to use their company because I wanted to get out of debt and they were accredited by BBB. I was under stress from all the calls from the creditors and all I was thinking about was getting out of debt. NDR screwed me big time.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my money invested into their program. Because they terminated the agreement, I am now left with way more expenses because I now owe my creditors more fees for the months i was in their program. I have seek legal advise and will be taking this further. I have a clearance and that judgement will impact my clearance and that is bacause i trusted NDR!

Consumer Response:

Hello:

 

Per an agreement with National Debt Relief I would like to dismiss the complaint I have against the company. A satisfactory settlement has been reached and this particular matter is now closed.

 

 

Thank you for your assistance

****** *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They do not stop calling me. Its going on non stop.

Desired Settlement: I need them to stop contacting me.

Business Response: RE: ID *******
Dear *** ******,
Thank you for bringing the above mentioned complaint to National Debt Relief’s attention. National Debt Relief is committed to providing each and every consumer we come in contact with exemplary service.
This complaint is quite a surprise. The facts show the complainant visited NationalDebtRelief.com on 9/**/2013. The complainant came to NationalDebtReleif.com after viewing our information on ********************** after completing a ****** ****** for Debt Relief. Once at NationalRelief.com the complainant completed an online “request for Information” form. In this form the complainant provided the contact information used by National Debt Relief in an effort to reach him as he requested. National Debt Relief is able to provide the Meta Data along with IP addresses to support the above facts. 
NationalDebtRelief.com provides all consumers with a privacy policy that includes how our office uses personal information submitted online. The privacy policy also allows National Debt Relief to contact consumers who submit their personal information to our office via NationalDebtRelief.com.
At no time did the complainant request not to be contacted by National Debt Relief until we received the BBB complaint sent to us by your office. That day the clients contact information was added to our in-house do not call list.
Based on the facts stated above I believe this to be a frivolous complaint and ask the BBB to expunge it from National Debt Relief’s record.
Thank you for the time your office spends in resolving this matter.

***** ****
Vice President, Operations
National Debt Relief

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have already been in contact with ***** ****, who states he is Vice President of National Debt Relief, but he has not gotten back to me and I have been charged and incurred numerous overdraft fees thanks to his company. I contacted National debt relief and let their representative know that I was considering whether to file bankruptcy or to use their service. Unsurprising the representative was pushing for me to use their service, to the point of making a bold faced lie. The lie was that I would not be able to get a loan for seven years. This lie was the determining factor for me to use National Debt Relief. Upon further research I found out that this was not true at all. I contacted USAA to talk to a financial advisor about my situation, and it was during this discussion that I was informed that what I was told was a lie. If I had not been told this lie, I would have not used National Debt Relief and would have filed for bankruptcy. To say that I am very upset that I was misled would be an understatement. If a person is in a situation where they are considering bankruptcy, and contact a debt relief company, they are in a very stressful situation. After talking with the financial advisor I made an appointment with a bankruptcy lawyer. After my consultation with him I have come to a few conclusions: 1. I was deliberately lied to. 2. The lie was used in order to get my business. 3. That the lie uses the fact that a person is under extreme emotional stress to influence the decision a person makes. My perception is that during the financial crisis that our country is facing, National Debt Relief is using blatant lies to ensure people use their service. This is unethical at best, illegal at worst. National Debt Relief has caused me undue anxiety, stress, and also bank fees. **** *********

Desired Settlement: National Debt Relief needs to stop trying to pull money from my account. I am barely getting by and thanks to them I have the added stress of being negative in my account. They need to refund bank fees and then some...

Business Response: Good Morning *****,
 
I hope you had a wonderful weekend. I have attached National Debt Relief’s response to the above referenced complaint to this email along with copies of two transcribed phone calls the complainant had with our office. The response references call recordings which I will forward to you on a CD along with a copy of our response. The attached transcriptions are from the recordings I will be sending via USPS. I will send 2 copies so that you can forward one to the  complainant.
 
Thank you for working with me and National Debt Relief to resolve this matter. Let me know if there is anything else you need or questions you have.
 
***** ****
National Debt Relief

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally contacted the business to take control of my debt. I spent many hours over the phone with a "consultant" sharing personal and financial information while working toward an agreement to settle my debts. After weeks of sharing information, not to mention the amount of personal time I invested, I was finally asked to list my source of income. I am a veteran of the US Navy, and u receive both VA Disability and the Post 9/11 GI Bill as income. Once I shared this with my contact, I was told everything was fine, and that it would now be going to the underwriters for final approval. Within an hour of hanging up, I received a call from my contact explaining to me that the underwriters don't want to do business with me for the following reason: Supposedly, in the past 3 years, a veteran with a loan from NFCU had their benefits garnished/seized by NFCU to pay off the debt after being contacted by National Debt Relief. Now, this was something I had always been told couldn't happen by both the Navy and the VA. I assured my contact that this would not be the case, and cited some resources he could use to verify. He then took this to the underwriters, and they came back requesting that I get written documentation from the VA guaranteeing this wouldn't occur. So, I spent roughly 24 hours researching the topic online. What I found was Title 38 of the US Code that SPECIFICALLY STATES that under no circumstances can a creditor garnish, levy, seize, etc., any VA benefit. There is much more detail to the Code, but that is a very accurate summation of its language. I figured, what could be better to present to National Debt Relief than a US Law that refers to situations just like mine. I emailed this information to my contact, and waited for the good news. They came back and said they were uncertain about one word "except". I explained the nature of its usage in the paragraph, and offered to send multiple online resources that would support what I was telling them. I was telling them that it simply didn't apply to veterans such as myself unless it is a Federal Government debt. While they were doing their "research" on that, I was made aware that they were also hung up on the credit it's name, Navy Federal Credit Union. I had to be the one to tell my contact that they are not a Federal company, nor are they affiliated with the US Navy on any official capacity. I invited him to contact NFCU for verification. He did not. In the end, even though I provided them with ample information, they still wanted me to contact the VA. I did, and I spoke with a VA lawyer out of Portland, OR. She assured me that my interpretation was correct, but that she, under law, couldn't provide me with a personalized letter. She told me to continue referring NDR to Title 38. I brought this to NDR, and they (not being lawyers), were too afraid to sign me on as an official client. I specifically was told they didn't want to do it because they aren't lawyers, and that I would have to pay for a lawyer to contact them and support my information before they would accept me. Now, I'm in debt. My debt-income ratio isn't looking so hot, so hiring a lawyer isn't really an option. Finally, they officially rejected my request for service, and said they didn't want to get a complaint on the BBB due to the fact that they make their money from advertising their high GPA with BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like NDR to have someone qualified look at the information in Title 38 that I provided. If they do, they will see there is no risk for taking me on as a client. I am simply trying to clear up my debt, and make life easier. NDR takes a 23% commission off the total debt, and I have no problem paying for their services.

Business Response:
Dear ******** *****,

National Debt Relief has received your letter dated May **, 2013 along with a copy of the complaint *** ******* filed with your office. First of all, thank you for giving National Debt Relief (NDR) the opportunity to respond to *** ******* complaint. NDR strives to provide each and every consumer we come in contact with an unparalleled service. On the rare occasion a consumer is not happy with our office we will do everything within our power to “right the wrong”.

I have taken the time to review our records regarding *** *******. When reading the complaint for the first time I thought I recognized *** *******’s situation. The notes logged in our CRM confirmed that I was personally involved in the decision making process *** ******* takes issue with in his complaint.

The simple fact is, *** ******* did not meet NDR’s Underwriting Guidelines and could not be enrolled. NDR respects the time, effort and conclusion *** ******* came to after his research. In an effort to provide clients with an honest, ethical Debt Relief option NDR requires each new enrollment to go through two separate underwriting steps to ensure the likelihood of success for each and every client is reasonable. The underwriting guidelines are the culmination of the many years of Debt Settlement experience NDR’s management team offers our clients.

NDR will only enroll clients we believe Debt Settlement is in their best interest. NDR does not believe Debt Settlement is in *** ******* best interest and cannot in good faith enroll him into a Debt Settlement program. I personally made this decision after *** *******’s asked his enrollment agent that his file be reviewed again for acceptance into NDR’s Debt Settlement program. I mention this because in *** ******* complaint he asks to have his file reviewed by, “some qualified”. With over 20 years of Debt Settlement experience I am qualified and stand by the decision National Debt Relief made.

This complaint comes at a fortuitous time for our office. NDR’s BBB Accreditation is currently under review. One of the questions asked of us, was to describe the screening procedures used to determine whether Debt Settlement is appropriate for each consumer. Below you can read an excerpt of our response. *** ******* did not pass the pre-approval step due to his creditors and income source. *** ******* file being reject is the perfect example of NDR’s Underwriting Team doing what is right and in the consumer’s best interest, even when the consumer doesn’t realize it.
 



National Debt Relief has implemented underwriting procedures to ensure each client enrolling is enrolling in the best possible program for their individual needs. This process starts with the sales representative who collects all the prospective clients’ relevant information including monthly income expense report, assets, credit report, unsecured debts, and goals. When this is complete options are discussed with the prospective client. When DS is determined to be the clients best option the sales representative submits the file to underwriting for pre-approval. The underwriter reviews the file for a strictly “numbers basis”. The underwriter reviews the client’s income level to decide if the client can they afford another option. The underwriter reviews the client’s creditors ensuring National Debt Relief believes we will have success in negotiating with the client’s creditors. This belief is based on our past experience with the creditors clients are attempting to enroll into their debt settlement program. Debt Settlement is only for consumers who are experiencing a financial hardship and are not able to pay back their creditors according to the original agreement. The underwriter reviews the client’s credit report to verify the financial information obtained by the sales representative. The underwriter then makes a determination on the file and notes that finding in the file. This pre approval process serves many functions including giving the prospective client some time to think about their decision. Once the file is pre-approved the sales representative reaches out to the client to complete the process of signing the agreement. Once the agreement is signed the client is transferred to an underwriter who reviews their DS program with them on the telephone ensuring they understand the ramifications of the DS program, the information they provided is complete and accurate.

NDR understands the industry we are in. The BBB asks how we decide if Debt Settlement is right for a client because of all the unscrupulous companies that will enroll everyone they come in contact with, many of whom are set up for failure the day they sign a Debt Settlement agreement. I am proud to work for NDR and with over 100 likeminded team members who truly care about people and our client’s success. We turn prospective clients like *** ******* away every day because it is the right thing to do.

I must say when I received this complaint I was astonished. *** ******* entire complaint is that NDR would not enroll him into our Debt Settlement program. This is a first for me in my many years in this industry. He didn’t complain about our service, nor did he complain about how he was treated by NDR’s team members. I am disappointed to know this complaint will be a stain on our BBB record for the next three years when all we did was, do what is in *** ******* best interest. *** ******* complaint reminds me of that old saying, “no good deed goes unpunished”.

NDR understand the role the BBB plays in today’s market place. Rightfully so, you are a trusted resource for consumers to visit for an unbiased opinion on how companies live up to their clients expectations. This complaint will be seen by the many people who search our company on your website as a black mark against NDR. For this reason I ask that the BBB mark this complaint invalid and expunge it from our record based on the facts of what transpired.

NDR understands *** ******* frustration, even if he doesn’t realize NDR did what is in his best interest.
 
Knowing *** ******* will receive a copy of this response I would like to caution him from enrolling with another Debt Settlement company since there are many companies out there who do not have the same standards, principles or ethics as National Debt Relief. Many of these companies would be happy to give him false hope by enrolling him into their Debt Settlement program. I also invite *** ******* to contact me personally by calling ###-###-#### if he wishes. I will be happy to review his file and make a recommendation as to the course of action I think will be best for his situation and goals.

Thank you for taking the time to review this lengthy response. Should you require any addition information you are welcome to contact me directly.



Sincerely,




***** ****
National Debt Relief

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1