BBB Accredited Business since

PrivateIslandParty.com

Phone: (845) 888-4000 Fax: (845) 888-4008 View Additional Phone Numbers 148 South Rd, Wurtsboro, NY 12790 http://privateislandparty.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PrivateIslandParty.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PrivateIslandParty.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on PrivateIslandParty.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 27, 2011 Business started: 01/27/2010 in NY
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jonathan Glatt, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Felicia Astudillo, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Jonathan Glatt, Owner
Business Category

COSTUMES-MASQUERADE & THEATRICAL EVENT PLANNERS BALLOONS-NOVELTY & TOY COSTUME FABRICS, TRIM & ACCESSORIES HATS-RETAIL SUNGLASSES

Alternate Business Names
Private Island Entertainment LLC

Additional Locations

  • 148 South Rd

    Wurtsboro, NY 12790 (845) 888-4000 (914) 805-0598

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The following is the product review I tried to post, but they monitor each review, and take down unpleasant reviews... which explains why there are only two available, and they are both 5 star ratings, for a 1 star product and company: "I ordered this product (item# 1864 - 100 pc plastic easter eggs- Neon Color) last year (in 2013), and received an excellent product. Granted, a couple eggs here and there had holes or wouldn't shut properly, but for the most part, they were high quality, and I was very pleased. This year, however, I tried to place an order online for the same product, and noted that it said "this item is for presale only", so I called to inquire about that. I asked to place an order, but was informed that I had to place my order online to have a coupon honored. No big deal, but while we were on the phone, I requested they verify that they had 600 eggs in stock. After being placed on hold a couple times, I was told that yes, they had 600 eggs, so I hung up and placed my order. I received my order within 10 days, but it was NOT my order, nor was it complete. I was sent 6 bags- 4 containing 50 eggs each, 1 containing 70 eggs, and 1 containing 80. 350 total. Only 150 of them could be considered "neon", but were NOT the same good quality or size I'd ordered the year previous- the other 200 were super flimsy, small, pastel looking eggs. I was pretty anxious, as these are needed for a big community event in a week, so I called Private Island Party and explained the situation, feeling that they would be able to rectify it, and surely this was an honest error. I was promised a call back in the afternoon, but received no call. I called back the next day, and spoke to the same representative, who did not even apologize, but placed blame on the picker/ packer, and said they were being dealt with. Oh, and that they were out of eggs, and would receive no more until the next year. Hoping to find some resolve, I asked for a refund. She asked if I wanted to keep the flimsy pastel eggs. I said "No", so she promised to send a return label, and told me that only after they received the eggs would they refund our charge, but would not refund the $14 of shipping, even though I didn't want more than HALF of the order. After speaking with the rep, I have no doubt they just sent whatever they had laying around, and hoped I wouldn't care or notice that it was wrong and drastically shorted. Very rude, unapologetic, and unreliable. If you call this company to verify something is in stock, don't count on what they tell you."

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a FULL refund, or for someone at the company to figure out how to order in the product that was promised to me, and deliver it by June **** for the price I've already paid. I was treated very poorly, even though I started the conversation from a place of complete understanding that mistakes happen. We have a big event happening in ten days, and I'm at a complete loss. Thank you for your time.

Business Response: We here at PrivateIslandParty.com acknowledge your concerns as we aim to meet your specific needs. Unfortunately the eggs are a seasonal accommodation. We are more than willing to issue a full refund and we are truly sorry for the inconvenience. We would love to keep you as a customer. we are more than willing to offer an 10% off on your next purchase. Once again we are truly apologetic. we take our customers and their business seriously. If you have any more questions please feel free to contact us at ###-###-#### Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm Eastern Standard Time. Thank you for your time in this matter.

Sincerely Yours,
PrivateIslandParty

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *****



 

2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service