BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Estee Lauder Companies meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Estee Lauder Companies include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Estee Lauder Companies
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 07, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated 01/01/1946 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Leonard Lauder, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leonard Lauder, Chairman
Business Category

COSMETICS-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Estee Lauder Companies has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 767 Fifth Avenue

    New York, NY 10153

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    130 Bloor St W

    Toronto, ON M5S 1

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    300 Borough Dr
    Scarborough Town Centre

    Scarborough, ON M1P 4

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    550 Petrolia Ro

    North York, ON M3J 2

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8705 Factory Shops Blvd

    Jeffersonville, OH 43128

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    900 SW 16th St Ste 305

    Renton, WA 98057

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/2/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aveda (owned by Estee Lauder) salon sign (i'd like to attach a copy but can't seem to find a link) states their products are "manufactured with 100% wind energy". This is simply untrue and misleading consumers by conveying that their products have a higher degree of environmental care than is actually the case.. While Aveda may be supporting wind energy companies, etc......it is not manufacturing with 100% wind energy as they state. Wind is an intermittent form of energy and NOTHING can be manufactured using 100% wind energy. What happens when the wind doesn't blow? Does manufacturing stop, do people leave? As well, Aveda's own documents show they use over 50% natural gas at their manufacturing plant in Minnesota. Too many companies are painting themselves "green" these days with misleading information.

Desired Settlement: Take down their posters -- I don't care if they are replaced stating they support wind, believe it's the saviour of all, etc. Just can't state that their products are" manufactured using 100% wind energy"

Business Response:

We have reached out to this consumer directly to discuss her concerns with this poster.

Thank you,

Linda

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

The business acknowledged that their poster stating that their products are "manufactured using 100% wind power" is inaccurate and that they would send me a copy of the poster they claim has an asterix somewhere stating this statement is not correct -- rather their production plant uses natural gas and that they actually just financially support wind energy projects and believe their financial contribution equals the amount of energy used at their plants.  I asked to see the details of this -- ie. exact numbers but didn't get that response either.  This is an example of "FALSE ADVERTISEMENT" to deliberately mislead the public and the supposed asterix with explanation of the falseness of the claim is not acceptable.  AVEDA should remove these posters. 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ****




 

Business Response:

Dear *** ****:

Thank you for speaking with me regarding this issue.  I trust you also received my email with a copy of our poster as follow up from our conversation.

As we discussed, the poster states that Aveda purchases wind energy for its primary manufacturing facility and the wind power goes into the utility grid from which we purchase electrical power, and our use of natural gas is offset with wind energy credits.  Specifically, Aveda purchases Green-e certified renewable wind energy for 100% of the grid electricity used by our Blaine, Minnesota manufacturing facility directly from our Minnesota utility provider, Xcel Energy, through their Windsource® program.  By doing so, we help increase the amount of wind energy available to the entire power grid from which we draw our electricity.  In addition, we purchase carbon offsets generated by wind energy equivalent to all of the GHG emissions associated with our manufacturing facility’s natural gas consumption.  Environmental responsibility is core to Aveda’s mission, and our support and use of renewable wind energy to help offset our carbon footprint is one of many initiatives.  We regret your unhappiness, but appreciate your taking the time to share your opinion with us.

Please let me know if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,

Linda C******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 

The business through this correspondence  acknowledges that their poster stating that their products are "manufactured using 100% wind power" is inaccurate and misleading.  This claim has an asterix with VERY SMALL PRINT stating this statement is not correct -- rather their production plant uses natural gas and that they actually just financially support wind energy projects and believe their financial contribution equals the amount of energy used at their plants.  I asked to see the details of this -- ie. exact numbers but didn't get that response; I even question this is true.  In any event, this is an example of "FALSE ADVERTISEMENT" to deliberately mislead the public and the supposed asterix with explanation of the falseness of the claim is NOT ACCEPTABLE.  AVEDA should remove these posters as the statement that their products are "manufactured using 100% wind power" is inaccurate and misleading to the public.

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ****




 

4/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The purchase was made with ** ******, an Estee Lauder subsidiary on ** ******'s website. I returned items in order ********** to the company on November * 2015, and never received a refund. I have contacted customer service several times by phone or email, and no satisfying resolution was given.

Desired Settlement: I request a full refund of $26.56 to original method of payment.

Business Response:

Our online team has reached out to the consumer and facilitated their refund.

 

***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,
****** ****



 

3/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: order#**********.hello,my estee lauder online order was cancelled on Nov.*.and i paid with ******,but still not got any refund more than 16 days. and my ****** status was removed.i talked to one of the Estee Lauder cs,she said they will refund me in 10 days,but today i talked to them again,they said they cant do anything to help ,and told me i should go to get a help from ******. since the order was cancelled,but my money is taken by esteelauder online.could you help me with it? this is the order status of ****** about this order. Pending Balance Payment (Unique Transaction ID # *****************) See related ***************** Original Order Date Type Status Details Amount Nov *, 2015 Order To Estee Lauder Canceled Details -$76.00 USD Related Transactions Date Type Status Details Amount Nov ** 2015 Pending Balance Payment Placed Details -$76.00 USD Nov **, 2015 Pending Balance Payment Removed ... $76.00 USD Original Order: Total Payment: -$76.00 USD $0.00 USD

Desired Settlement: just refund my money

Business Response:

Our online department has reached out to the consumer to resolve the issue.

Please let me know if any further assistance is needed.

 

11/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received much less than what I was promised when I purchased the product; I called twice to complain and was promised that my order would be sent to me (reimbursed). This never happened, in spite of my being reassured that I was going to be sent another product (a replica of what I received the first time, which was deficient in product, and the reason that I called in the first place).

Desired Settlement: wow - I want more than just replacement, I want people to know that this company is crap - they cheat people and then do not stand by their word.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *****



 

8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Estée Lauder Re-Nutriv Intensive Lifting Makeup Broad Spectrum SPF 15, 1.1 oz. I will never go to a twist off cap make-up again. With the price I paid for this there should not of been any issue.The make up leaks all over the place. I had to put it in a plastic bag and it still is oozing . I contacted Customer Service who responded this: ***** ********** ***** *** *** **** ****** ****** ** ******* ***** ** *** *** ****** *** *** *** ********** ********* **** *** ******** *** **** ********* ** ***** ****** ******* *** *** ****** **** ******** ** ** *** * **** ******* ** ***** ****** ******* ** ********** ****** ******* ** ***** ********* ** ******************** ***** ********* ********* ****** ** ******** ** *** ******** ***** ********** ** *** *** ****** ** ****** ** *** ******** ******** ********* *** *** **** ** ******* ***** ****** ****** ******** ************** *** ********** *********** **** *** ** ******* *** ***** ** ************************************ ** **** *** **** ***** ** ** ***** ****** ******* ** ** *** ** ** ******* *********** ****** ***** ** **** ****** ** *** ***** ****** ** ***** **** *** ** *** *************** ** *** ***** ****** **** *************** ******* ******** ***** ****** ******** ******* I have yet to receive an email or anything!

Desired Settlement: Please just send me a different make - up or refund. I have supported and purchased from this company for over 15 years. This product was a bust.

Business Response:

We have reached out to the consumer directly to resolve her issue.

Please let me know if you need any further information.

Linda C******
Executive Director

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

Christine A*******



 

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello to whom this may concern in January 2015 I purchase so products from a department store that were defective. Two bottles of perfume modern muse chic tuscany two tubes of lipsticks one was brazing the other was insolent plum both tubes were broken also the perfumes were defective when we tried to return the products store they would not take. them back they sent them back after having the stuff for almost two weeks so we decided to contact the company which we go on where but a lot of nonsense estee lauder claim they make to quilality stuff wee guess what I didn't get it also we we treated like second class citizens. After spending my hard earned money so I decided to file this complaints hopefully they will learn how to treat paying customers both lipsticks were broken the lipsticks are from her sculpting lipstick collection and the perfumes won't spray this is not the first time I brought a defective product I want my purchase replaced

Desired Settlement: Products replaced also perfumes were full sizes bottles 3.4 ounces

Business Response:

Thank you for contacting the Estee Lauder Companies.

We will be contacting the consumer in the next few days to reach a resolution.

Sincerely,

***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Hedear re] dear ********** I would like the stuff replaced other than that there is nothing to talk about just replace the stuff if you can't replace everything replace one perfume and lipstick something but I want all four pieces replaced

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******** *****




 

Business Response: Tell us why here...

Thank you for your additional comments and for speaking with ****** last week.

As you confirmed in your conversation, the items were actually purchased at *********, rather than in a ****** department store.  Although damage complaints are generally handled by online vendors, in this case we will be sending you replacements.  ****** will be contacting you again with specific details.

Please let me know if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,

***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:
**** ****** did get in contact with me the stuff will be replaced i will be receiving my replacements in three to four weeks hopefully they can ship them sooner thank you ****** for the replacements
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******** *****



 

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While vacationing in NY this past week, I purchased a 1.7 ounce Revitalizing Supreme Cream, to try when I got home. On Friday night, Spetember **, after returning from my vacation, I opened the box, and found that the cream had been opened and looked as if it were used. The next day, I took it to my local ****'s, explained to the girl at the Estee Lauder counter what had happened, and she refused to exchange it, siting that I had no receipt and could have used it myself before bringing it there. I asked to speak to a *******, but there was no one available. Now I am stuck with what could be contaminated cream, so to be safe, I am throwing it away. I just want you to know how your company is being represented.

Desired Settlement: At the very lease, I would like Estee Lauder to replace this cream with a new one, hopefully in a sealed container.

Business Response: Thank you for contacting Estee Lauder.

We have reached out to the consumer directly and are sending her a replacement product.

Please let us know if you need anything else.

Thank you,

***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ***** *********



 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

About two months ago, I filed a complaint with the BBB regarding a Revitalizing Supreme Cream that I had purchased while vacationing in New York City. When I finally opened it, it appeared to be used, so I tried to return it to my local ****'s, and the Estee Lauder representative would not allow the return, so I filed a formal complaint. I received a phone call from Estee Lauder a few days later, and then a few e-mails, stating that the company would send me a new cream and would look into the problem with the Estee Lauder counter at ****'s. I have waited and waited, and have not received anything from Estee Lauder, which I find to be quite unprofessional at best. I have been a loyal customer for years, but now I am just about through. I would like the replacement cream immediately, as well as a reason as to why this has gone this far in the first place.



Sincerely,

***** ***** *********




 

Business Response: Thank you for your additional comments.

According to our records, we shipped replacement product to *** ********* on 9/**/14, so we are unsure as to what might have happened.  However, we will reach back out to her directly to resolve the issue.

Thank you,

***** *******

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Case ID# ******* In August I contacted *** (Estee Consumer Care) about an issue with a fluid line product (Macro Violet). I was advised they would send a pre-paid envelope & to send the product back which I did. I was offered the choice of a refund in the form of a check or a replacement product.On September **** received an email from ************************************* to send a physical address so that a replacement item of my choice(Candy Yum Yum lipstick) would be sent in exchange.I responded to the email & called in the same day. *** advised to give the product until October **** to receive it. Every week I have called ###-###-#### and been advised this.Finally today Octobe* **** I call & *** advised product still hasn't shipped & now state and additional 2 weeks.This was after Jessica asked that I giver her a chance to check with fulfillment which I agreed to do.She called back later in the day to advise again nothing had shipped & wouldn't even as I was advised several times previously it would.She also gave me the address to headquarters so that I could place a complaint. It is starting to appear *** has kept the product I sent & is not honoring a replacement product. It doesn't not take 6 weeks or even 4 weeks to mail a product. To add to further frustration I was told it is too late to request a check in place of the product. I have been wearing *** over 15 yrs since college & find it unacceptable that services promised are not being rendered.

Desired Settlement: I would like the Candy Yum Yum lipstick as promised or the check refund which ever can be mailed immediately.

Business Response: Thank you for contacting us.

We have researched the consumer's files and have requested that her replacement be sent overnight to arrive tomorrow, 10/**.  We sincerely apologize for the delay and will be following the tracking number to be sure that it arrives.

Please let me know if anything further is needed.

Thank you,
***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

** ****



 

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August **, 2014,esteelauder.com help me to order online for a bottle of eye creams without authorization,And buckled money in my credit card. ORDER NUMBER:**********;TRACKING NUMBER:UPS ****************** Because this is the order without my consent,Now I do not need eye cream,Once a few times after receive the goods I contact website customer ask to return money,But there has been no received return single.Now after more than 20 days,I have already can't wait any longer,So I want to apply for a refund immediately, and take this bottle of eye cream returns. thank

Desired Settlement: I want to apply for a refund immediately, and take this bottle of eye cream returns.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this to our attention.

We have shared the consumer's comments with our online team.  They reached out to the consumer both by telephone and email and have resolved the issue.

Please let me know if you need any further information.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

***** ******** ********* *** **** **** **

Hi:

 

I am *** ** ,my Complaint # ********,‍After I complained BBB, BB is still giving me a reply at sep- **- 2014, that said they have arranged for a prepaid return label to be sent to you via email to be received within 3-5 business days.But I still did not receive the prepaid return label.I do this very distressed.

 

Thank you!

 

*** **

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

*** **




 

Business Response: Thank you for contacting Estee Lauder.

We reached out to the consumer directly and are issuing her a credit without the product return.  We called back today to let her know this is happening.

Please let me know if you need anything further.

***** *******

7/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to share with all those who use Estee Lauder products or any other company products under Estee Lauder ownership - my experience with the Customer Service at the Headquarters. It all started by my purchase at the Duty Free at Heathrow Airport in London- - Origins eye cream - a company owned by Estee Lauder . Few days ago as I opened the box - by the way they haven't got any seal of security - I discovered that the jar was used and half empty. I called the Customer Service a couple of times - but they completely ignored my call!!! Then I called the Headquarters Executive Customer Service and asked for *** ******** ***** the ***** Of course I wasn't transferred to his office. So I asked to be transferred to the Executive Customer Service. After waiting for a very long time they told me that they will call me back as the line is static!!! They didn't call but the phone rang twice, as I answered there was no one on the other end … I called several times and the reply was the same. The Conglomerate Estee Lauder ignores the customers though they don't exist It's too important for the "little" people who happen to be those who had made them. So I urge you to start to boycott the use of Estee Lauder products or any other companies they own and put up in the facebook your own experience with the customer service when you tried to complain. Sincerely *** *. ###-###-#### ***********

Desired Settlement: Replacement of the product

Business Response: Thanks for forwarding this complaint to us.

We spoke directly with the consumer on June ** and resolved her complaint with a refund and some complimentary product.

Please let me know if you need anything else from us.

Thank you,

***** ******* ********* ********* ******** ******** **** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

*** ******



 

6/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June *, 2014, I stayed up all night to place an order for their limited edition collection which i normally do when they have launches. I placed an order for $523.11 only to receive an email the morning of the *** saying my order had been cancelled without any prior contact to me to provide an alternate source of payment which is their normal policy. According to the cust serv rep i spoke to who knew nothing, they placed a hold on the funds, this i could clearly see, however they don't accept Bahamian cards as a form of payment. I have previously made purchases with this website using a Bahamian credit/debit card and the rep told me to use my us address as the billing address and i had no issues. My current issue is that this collection is now completely sold out and they are not sure if they can assist me even though they failed to contact me, a long time dedicated customer who has spent a boat load of money with them, before cancelling my order. The representative then had the nerve to respond to me as if she was doing me a favor by trying to assist me. I am the consumer. Without me and my monetary support, there is no you. You don't make millions. You need to follow your policy and expand it to facilitate the people who shop with you. The Caribbean is not catered to and this is a mistake as you make money from there s well. I need my order to be processed and I need my products to be delivered. You already have a hold on my money and as a result there should be no issue processing and shipping it which i expect to have done in a timely fashion. If you are not able to facilitate this then i need to have arrangements made to return everything i have purchased from you within the last 6 years for a refund because you don't deserve to have my money if i don't deserve courtesy and respect. Your representative telling me she will contact me in 48 hours to see if they can help is not effective and certainly not satisfying. You sell limited edition collections and because of you i don't have the option to receive mine because you broke your policy. you need to rectify this situation. I am beyond disappointed and disgusted.

Desired Settlement: Process my order since you already have a hold on my funds and deliver my order with all 18-19 products in a timely manner. Amend your policy to include Caribbean countries because we don't deserve to be differentiated and isolated when we pay for products as well. Be a better well rounded company that aims to satisfy its customers. Happy customers increase your revenue and build repeat business. Presently you have a lot of disgruntled employees who don't represent you well and as a result leaves a bad taste in the mouth of your customers.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *******



 

4/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Feb,**,2014 I bought an eye cream on esteelauder online store, the order no. is **********. but till today Mar,**,2014, I have not received the product. The UPS delivery tracking information (tracking no.******************)shows a wrong signed person –******. The delivery address is a forwarding company, but ****** is not the staff( can provide references if needed). I had contacted the customer service – *** via live chat, but she said they are not responsible for the lost package and refuse to refund.

Desired Settlement: i need refund as soon as possible.

Business Response:

We have reached out to the consumer, ******, and per their request have issued a refund.

We trust that this resolution is satisfactory.

Sincerely,

***********

1/17/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i bought 2 cleanser from esteelauder.com which the Order Number is ********** , but when i get the package that i find one of them was lost. it's obviously that the esteelauder didn't ship all of them to me. please help me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: refund the 30$ to my credit card.

Business Response:

We have reached out directly to this consumer.

Please contact me again if our resolution was not satisfactory.

1/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase on lineOrder **************** Order Date2013/**/20Tracking *************************** I did not receive my package. I contact Esteelauder on * Jan. they told me they will re-ship me the package with the item I purchased. But on * Jan, they call me again, and told me that they will not re-ship my order.It is unacceptable, I purchased and pay my order, when I fail to recieve the order I contact with esteelauder immediately and be told that the order will be received. How can they pull back they promise, left the customer got nothig after full paid.

Desired Settlement: I request Esteelauder to refund my payment immediately.

Business Response:

We have reached out directly to this consumer.

Please contact me again if our resolution was not satisfactory.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** **



 

1/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a skincare gift basket from Estee Lauder's online store. I entered my billing address (California) and a shipping address (Pennsylvania). I did NOT check "billing and shipping address the same." The website errantly put the Pennsylvania address for both addresses, including my billing address. As a result my credit card did not go through. The website also required me to enter my telephone number not, the website claimed, because they were building a database, but because they would call me if there was a problem with my order. When the credit card did not authorize they send me an email stating this fact. It was received after an order confirmation and the email simply had a subject of "Order Notice." There was nothing obvious stating that there was a problem. I received this email in between other emails from Estee Lauder that confirmed my order, thanked me for shopping with them, and advertised their other products. The notice that I needed to do something or my order would be CANCELLED was a foot note in a slew of emails from them, and of course the many other shipping information emails received during the Christmas holiday. No one ever picked up a phone and called me. This is despite the representation on Estee Lauder's website that they need your phone number for just that purpose. 48 hours later I received a notice that my order was cancelled. I immediately called in to see what had happened. They refused to do anything to help me. I dealt with ******* in Wisconsin. She said she talked to a manager named Kelly in Florida,but would not put me on with the manager. She said the product was sold out. She had her manager check that it was sold out and then told me again it was sold out and that there was nothing they could do. She said that they did actually have comparable gift packages, but since they were one price range up, they would not be able to provide them as a replacement. She also refused to see if there were retailers near the delivery area that still had the product in stock. She refused to give me her last name or any identification number. She refused to admit their system had made a mistake even though she had my California address which meant I had definitely put it into their system. Basically she told me it was my problem. I tried to explain that it was in fact THEIR problem and that I would seek any additional charges I incurred in getting this gift to my mother. She then said she felt threatened by legal action and was "releasing" my call. I asked them to please work towards finding a resolution and call me. I obviously never heard from them again.

Desired Settlement: One, Estee Lauder's web ordering is terrible. It made an error and is generally difficult to use. Two, when I wanted to get my mom something nicer than she is used to and do something special for her, I turned to Estee Lauder. While I have zero complaints about their product quality, they complement those products with horrifically incompetent online ordering services and at least one customer service representative who views her job not as a problem solver, but as the person who just keeps saying "oh shoot, too bad" until the person goes away. I did need to spend extra money getting my mom her order by Christmas. If they want to send my mother the difference, or just do something nice for her that would be great. She is **** ****** and her address is *** ** **** ******* ******** ** *****. I'd love an apology letter or just something recognizing that they owe their customers quality service and messed up on this one.

Business Response:

We have reached out directly to this consumer.

Please contact me again if our resolution was not satisfactory.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

********* ******



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Estee Lauder Companies
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart