BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company manufactures and markets color cosmetics, fragrances, skin care, sun care, and personal care products under multiple brand names, including exclusive licenses with major celebrities and designers.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Coty Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Coty Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Coty Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1904 Business incorporated 01/01/1996 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Category

COSMETICS & PERFUMES-RETAIL SKIN CARE

Alternate Business Names
Coty Beauty Coty Prestige

Additional Locations

  • Empire State Building
    350 Fifth Avenue, 17th Floor

    New York, NY 10118

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased several Sally Hansen Salon instaGel strips, I have the original *** if required, and they fail to meet to the standards. The strips appear dry or not sticky and because they have been used, the store would not take them back. It fails to meet the "up to 2 weeks", it doesn't even apply/adhere to all nails correctly.

Desired Settlement: I would like replacements for the salon instagel strips. The color codes I had purchased are 130, 310, 250, and 330.

Business Response:

Thank you for telling us about your unfortunate experience with Sally Hansen Insta Gel strips.  This product has since been discontinued so we are unable to send you replacements.  In lieu of a replacement, we are sending you a reimbursement in the amount of $60.00.  You can expect to receive the check within 6-8 weeks.
We hope all your future purchases of Coty brands meet your expectations.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,



 

2/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had wrote to the company explaining how unhappy i was with the purchase of a product that this company produces, i had explained how the product would not sharpen and they responsed telling me that i could sharpen it with any sharpener. I felt as though they were arguing with me, telling me the oppisite of what was happening. They did not offer to fix the problem or refund my money.

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back for this product. I am completely unsatisfied with they way they handled it.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *****



 

Business Response: Thank you for contacting us and giving us this opportunity to respond. We are sorry to learn of your disappointing experience with our Rimmel ScandalEyes Waterproof Kohl Liner Black.

Coty is dedicated to supporting quality products with excellent service. Consumer feedback confirms we are consistently successful in achieving this goal. Nevertheless, there are times when a consumer, such as yourself, expresses dissatisfaction. We do regret this, and we will share your comments with the appropriate management teams.

We understand you have requested a reimbursement, which we are unable to accommodate your request, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. If you would like to reconsider our previous offer of replacing your product with the same product or another Coty product of your choice, in addition to receiving a complimentary cosmetic pencil sharpener, please reply back to this email with your selection. 

If this offer is unsatisfactory, so that we can better understand your experience, we ask your assistance in providing the following using a Loomis label we will be sending, for your convenience**:

1. Unused portion of the product; if still available
2. Any receipts or packaging; if still available
3. Photograph(s); if applicable
4. State specifically how Coty Inc. can help you further

Upon receipt of all requested information, this matter will be turned over to our insurance company. Please retain a copy of everything you submit to us. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Calvin Klein Eternity For Men Cologne STAINED several of my shirts. I've contacted Coty Inc Global ******** ******* already and we've been emailing back & forth endlessly. A) I already sent them pictures of shirts stained by their cologne. Yet, they keep asking me for the pictures. B) They've yet to send me postage-free merchandise return label so I can return the product & get a refund. I've followed up bazillion times already. This is their internal reference # *********

Desired Settlement: A) Cash/check refund on CK Eternity For Men Cologne = about $ 27.00 B) $ 140.00 cash/check for the shirts damaged by their product ($ 20 each x 7 shirts) = Note that some shirts were more expensive than $ 20 each.

Business Response: Thank you for taking the time to contact us. We regret to learn of your disappointment with Calvin Klein Eternity For Men Eau de Toilette Spray, and appreciate your letting us know.

Coty is dedicated to supporting quality products with excellent service. Consumer feedback confirms we are consistently successful in achieving this goal. Nevertheless, there are times when a consumer, such as yourself, expresses dissatisfaction. We do regret this, and we will share your comments with the appropriate management teams.
Now that we have received your full mailing address, our First Class Postal Service mailing label should arrive within 10-12 business days, subject to **** service fluctuations in your local area. Please refer to the important instructions included with the mailing label.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback. All consumer comments are welcome and taken seriously. We hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, you will again consider our fine products for your fragrance, cosmetic, skin, sun, and personal care needs.

Wishing you a scent-sational day,

**** ******** **** *** ****** ******** ******* ************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I've yet to receive the prepaid mailing label and refund. Please keep this complaint OPEN.
Coty engaged in delaying tactics probably hoping unhappy consumers will get frustrated & just go away. The Consumer Care team there is probably rewarded in that manner.
With BBB's involvement, I at least got an immediate direct phone call from Coty. Thank You BBB. 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *****




 

Business Response: Our records from October ***, do not indicate your reimbursement of $70.00 being returned to our offices, and we apologize for your not having received it. We have stopped payment on that check, and a new check was issued and mailed to you on December ****.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I'm out of the country.
I won't be able to confirm physical receipt of this LONG LONG LONG awaited $ 70.00 check until I get back.
Thank you. 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *****




 

11/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought both Sally Hansen gel polish And gel top coat at rite aide $10.00 each! Both products chip off my nails the next day,

Desired Settlement: Both products were defective, I've been calling their 800 number since August and ********* ***** has jerked me around, never recieved my credits ********** reference number, don't even know if it's a good number, since August I've been waiting,

Business Response: Thank you for taking the time to contact us. We regret to learn of your disappointment with Sally Hansen Miracle Gel Pink Up, and appreciate your letting us know.

Please be assured our products are produced under the supervision of Quality Assurance professionals, and rigorous performance standards must be met before any product is placed on the market. We are therefore concerned by your report of this experience, and apologize for any inconvenience incurred. In the unlikely event that you encounter a problem with a Coty product in the future, we would appreciate your returning it to us so that our Quality Assurance team can have the opportunity to examine it.

Your satisfaction is important. As a gesture of goodwill, we are pleased to mail a reimbursement check in the amount of $21.00. Kindly allow 6-8 weeks for delivery.

Once again, thank you for contacting us. We hope you will continue to look to Coty brands for all your beauty solutions.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *******

Iam excepting my refund for two failed products, the customer service is horrible and untruthful they put me off 2 times, never sent me an envelope to return item, never sen t a refund check this is going on from the beginning of September, I would never by this faulty product, a gel manicure is $26 I spent $20 on something that came off the next day and the customer service is rude

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *******

I accept only if I am getting a Check for reimbursement of the product Not A COUPON!


 

Business Response: Followed up with consumer on 11/*/14 regarding BBB complaint and status of refund check. Informed consumer that refund check was processed 10/** and should arrive within 4-6 weeks. Offered fragrance mini which consumer was satisfied with and appreciated. Advised delivery of mini will take 10-12 business days.

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: hello a few months a go i purchased a large bottle of mark jacobs eau so fresh delight which was a birthday gift for my neice who is disable it was to be given to her at her birthday party well when the time came to give her her gifts this one was from me we took out the box and it wont spray so we waited ran it under warm water and let it sit and still could not get it to work when my mother looked in the bottle we noticed the plastic straw for the product to come up through was gone we contact the place we brought it from they would not take it back we sent ti back they sent it back so we decided to get in contact with the company that put this defective stuff out which was coty they sent us a return label to send the defective bottle back and we did that was over a month ago and still we have not heard from this company or did we receive a replacement i made contact after some time of not hearing anything from them i made contact an got no where i spoke to several people they claim they never got the defective bottle tracking shows they did it went through the postal mail i made contact and go no where i spoke with ***** and she played me like i was a idiot i still got no call or no replacement from them i want my perfume replace tracking shows someone received it please replace my perfume that perfume was a limited edition im yired of waiting and playing with this company i want my perfume replaced after being played like a fool i decided to file this because the package never came back to me they claim they stand behind their products well they didnt stand behind this because im out off money and perfume im sitting with nothing no money or perfume $85.00 gone on their product i guess they thought i ws going to let this ride no way

Desired Settlement: i want my perfume replaced im not looking for no money i want my marc jacobs eau so fresh delight replaced thanks

Business Response: Called and spoke with consumer to let her know that although we have not yet received return, we would send her out a replacement bottle of the Marc Jacobs Eau so Fresh Delight. Consumer stated it was the big bottle. Let her know it would take about 10-12 business days for her to receive that in the mail. Re-verified mailing address.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

 hello bbb please c;ose this case business responed thank you



Sincerely,

******** *********



 

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First off I've tried to file a complaint twice with Coty Inc. online, I went to ***** ****** website and found the contact us page, which populated the complaint page for Coty Inc. I sent the email twice within a three week period and have let to hear back from Coty Inc. I was not satisfied with the ***** ****** nail gel strip product which I purchased at local target. The product cost m 27.99 plus tax and I was not happy with the products results. I've used the nail strips before, not the gel (this was my first time) so I'm very familiar with the process which you put the product on your nails but the end result was terrible. I put this product on the evening which I purchased the gel strips and by the morning the gel strips had chipped, by the end of the day the gel strips were peeling off. Like I stated before I'm familiar with this type of product, just not the gels but I do not believe there should have been an issues with staying on my nail for less than 24 hours. The night I put them on I literally did nothing with my hands, I pretty much ended up going to bed. I'm unhappy with the product and now the poor customer service.

Desired Settlement: I'd like a cash or check refund for the 27.99 plus tax. Originally I wanted a refund even if it was a ***** ****** coupon, but now I just want my money refunded to me due to the poor customer service.

Business Response:

Thank you for taking the time to contact us. We regret to learn of your disappointment with our ***** ****** Insta Gel Strips Starter Kit, and appreciate your letting us know. We're sorry to hear you have not heard from our company, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We will be researching any possible technical issues with our teams.

Your experience is atypical, and our Quality Assurance team is interested in evaluating the product you used. We are therefore sending a postage-paid mailing label for your convenience in returning the product to us. If you still have them, please include the product package and sales receipt. When your package is received, we will contact you about replacement coupons or a replacement product of similar value which we trust you will find completely satisfactory.

Our First Class Postal Service mailing label should arrive within 10-12 business days, subject to USPS service fluctuations in your local area. Please refer to the important instructions included with the mailing label.

Additionally, we will be reaching out to you via the telephone provided and leave a detailed voicemail, should we not be able reach you.

Coty has a strong commitment to product quality and customer satisfaction, and in this regard, we thank you in advance for the opportunity to examine this product. Despite your recent experience, we hope you will continue to look to Coty brands for all your beauty needs.

Watch ***** ****** Gel Nail Color Work! Visit ******************************************* for How-to videos on applying and removing your long lasting manicure.

Wishing you a scent-sational day.

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the Sally hansen nail press on applications. (5 boxes) - I had a severe allergic reaction that caused blisters over two fingers and made my cuticle blister - It was extremely painful and horrible to look at. As a professional it was hard to hide my hands I was ashamed and thought I would do the right thing and contact the company so that they could review my issue. Not all people will have the same reaction ... all I wanted was a refund for the boxes I purchased. I have been working with Coty Inc the parent company for over 3 months now. I shipped the product back and every time I ask for a status on my refund or coupons for another product i get more shipping materials sent to my home. I have received over 6 of them ???? They expect me to track the one I sent two months ago when they cannot even keep up with my complaint and track the shipment I sent. I dropped it at the US post office here in Garland and I know it went out -

Desired Settlement: All i want is the amount of money I spent on this defective product. I estimated that with 5 boxes I spent over 50 plus taxes. This product was not cheep as i bought it when it came out.

Business Response: Initial Response
Thank you for E-mailing us regarding your experience with our Sally Hansen Salon Effects Gold Cabaret. While we sincerely regret the episode you described, we are always pleased to hear from our consumers and we value your comments.

Our products contain ingredients which have established acceptability for use in fragrance and cosmetic products. Select people in a given population may develop sensitivities to an otherwise harmless ingredient or develop an unpredictable allergic reaction to something which is in use every day by thousands of others. For instance, some people may suddenly display allergic reactions to common everyday foods such as milk products, tomatoes or strawberries.

We apologize for any disappointment this may have caused you. Coty sympathizes with people who experience this type of sensitivity and we always wish to maintain your good will.

To proceed, we ask that you complete the attached questionnaire and return the unused portion of the products. Save the questionnaire to your computer. Complete the form fields and then re-save the document. Reply to this email and attach the completed document. For your convenience in returning the product, we are sending a pre-paid return label, to the address you provided, within 10-12 business days. Please include your preference for a refund or replacement from another Coty collection. (Visit us at www.coty.com to view our many fine brands.) Your responses to the questionnaire will help us better understand your experience with our product.

Upon receipt of your package, we will contact you promptly. You are invited to call our Consumer Affairs Department with any questions or comments. It is always our pleasure to assist you.

Tips and Tricks -
Sally Hansen Salon Effects are Real Nail Polish using breakthrough technology! If left opened from the original sealed packaging and not used immediately, these strips will dry out when exposed to air and should be discarded.
For extra fortification and extended wear, we suggest using one coat of a clear top coat, such as our Sally Hansen Mega Shine, over your freshly applied Salon Effects. It is recommended that you avoid significant periods of exposure to water for 1 hour after application.
For easy removal, we suggest using an acetone based polish remover. You can soak a cotton ball with this product and rest it on top of your nail for approximately 1 minute to allow for penetration to fully remove strips.
You can also learn more about how to create a gorgeous nail design by viewing our You Tube guide by SallyHansenTV at: ******************************************
To better assist our Quality Assurance team in investigating your valued complaint, we kindly ask that you use the link below to respond to this email with the manufacturing code of your product. You can find the manufacturing code printed or embossed on the bottom or lower side of the bottle / jar / can / box, or the crimped end of the tube. An example of the code is: *****Your cooperation is appreciated.
*******
Product Care Specialist
Coty Inc Global Consumer Affairs
Sally Hansen/N.Y.C. brands ph: ************ (US & Canada)
WWW.COTY.COM

Final Response

Dear *********:
Thank you for telling us about your disappointment with our Sally Hansen Salon Effects and return process. We're so sorry to hear you've had this experience. We received notification of the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau.
We would like to inform you to date we have not received the returned merchandise however, because we wish to maintain your goodwill, we are sending you a reimbursement check in the amount of $60.00, which you will be receiving within 6-8 weeks.
We trust that future purchases of Coty brands will meet your expectations.
*****
Manager
Coty Inc Global Consumer Affairs
Sally Hansen/N.Y.C. brands ph: ###-###-#### (US & Canada)
WWW.COTY.COM


6/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello. ***** ******, which is part of Coty Inc, has a line of Gel Manicure products that they advertise as "2 Week Wear - no chipping or peeling." On April **, 2013, I purchased their Gel Manicure Starter Kit for $59.99 + tax from a local grocery store (kit is supposed to last for 10 manicures). This kit was for their Gel Polish. After 3 manicures that chipped and peeled within days, I decided to try their Insta Gel Strips from the same line of product. Each Insta Gel Strip kit is good for 1 manicure. I purchased kits on 6/*/13 ($9.99 + tax), 6/*/13 ($9.99 + tax) and 6/**/13 ($19.99 + tax). Now, for a manicure that is supposed to last 2 weeks with no chipping, I purchased the product way too often. The kit purchased on 6/*/13 chipped and peeled within one day - the kit from 6/*/13 took 2 days, and finally, on 6/**/13 - I returned the $59.99 Gel Polish Kit and purchased Insta Gel Starter kit for $19.99 as stated above. This kit is again, good for 1 manicure. After this manicure chipped by the next morning, I had had enough - I cannot return these kits to my local grocery store as there is no product left in them. So, I contacted the company. The company responded and told me that I needed to send them the left over product so it can be evaluated for defective qualities. I want to bring to your attention the fact that the back of their box says "Open, unused strips should be discarded." Since I had already tried to use some of my unused gel strips to touch up my manicures with no avail, I did in fact, throw them away, per package directions. I contacted the company back and told them I had no product to send them to evaluate, as their packaging says to throw away unused gel strips. They kept replying with the fact that I would need to send them my unused product so they could do an array of tests. I sent scanned copies of 3 receipts (1 receipt is missing) as well as pictures of my 3 gel kit boxes and pictures of my chipped manicure. Like a robot, they kept telling me that they could not help me without the product to test. I told them I believed that they were scamming consumers, by telling them on their packaging to throw away unused gel strips and then telling them they need the product when the consumer complains it doesn't work.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund for my 3 purchased kits - $9.99 + $9.99 + $19.99 x 8% sales tax = $43.17

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

***** ****** has agreed to issue me a refund for my products.

 

******* *******
 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Coty Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)