BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Colgate-Palmolive Co. manufactures and sells a variety of toothpastes, laundry detergents, soaps, shampoos, dishwashing liquids, cleaners and other household personal and health care products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Colgate-Palmolive Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Colgate-Palmolive Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 26, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1806
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ian Cook, Chief Executive Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ian Cook, Chief Executive Officer
Business Category

COSMETICS & TOILET PREPS-MANUFACTURERS E/S PRODUCT SALES - GENERAL


Additional Locations

  • 300 Park Avenue

    New York, NY 10022

  • 300 Park Avenue-10th Floor

    New York, NY 10022

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    400 Elbow Ln

    Burlington, NJ 08016

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 363865

    San Juan, PR 00936

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
4/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have requested on numerous occasions to have my email removed from their system. I have manually unsubscribe from their emails but still continue to get emails. I call customer relations on January **, 2015 and had customer relations remove my email. Which never happened. I continue to get emails. Today, I spoke to *** * customer relations manager and she was going to remove my name from their system. I have called the corporate office without any reply. COLGATE-PALMOLIVE is being non responsive.

Desired Settlement: Full compliance on my request. REMOVE MY EMAIL FROM ALL COLGATE-PALMOLIVE email list. I want a follow up phone call and a letter of apology. Please be advised that I attain all my criminal and civil rights and if I pursue legal action its is my choice. By complaining to the Better Business Bureau dose not change my rights. ** *****

Business Response: Once the consumer reached our contact center, we contacted our agency who manages our email subscriptions and requested that they remove the consumer from our database.  Once confirmation was received of the consumer's removal from our database, we re-contacted him to inform him that we had successfully unsubscribed him from any future mailings.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

  

 

I do not accept the resolution because on January **** 2015,  after contacting customer relations they claim my email was removed from the database. Which it was not removed.  Now the same thing has happened and I cannot confirm that my email has been removed. I want Colgate-Palmolive to call me to discuss this matter.

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *****




 

Business Response: I contacted the consumer personally and informed him that I had confirmation of the removal of his email from our database and informed him that if he should receive additional mailings that he email me the information personally so I could investigate.  I will send my email address out under a seperate cover.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *****



 

9/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: More than a year ago, we asked the company to stop putting us on the automatic shipment plan where they send us toothbrushes in 3 sizes, kids, teenagers and adults. Since then, they have continually have sent us toothbrushes periodically when we requested them not to, and this has been going on for over a year. They said the plan would be canceled and of course it has not been canceled at all. They even told us a new plan started in May 2014 that will go until April 2015 when we never requested a renewal at all. We have not given any consent to be billed over the past year, and we have told them 5 years to stop, and they still have not.

Desired Settlement: Over the past year, they have charged us about $500 of tooth brushes we did not order. I want $300 credit back, and to ask the company again to stop billing us without our permission.

Business Response:

Colgate has reviewed the complaint with our Oral Pharmaceutical group and we are coordinating a meeting to resolve the issue directly with the office.  A represenative from our organization will be contacting the office shorlty and will work towards a resolution.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 Nothing has been done yet.  No one has contacted me or offered me a refund for charges that were NOT authorized.  

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *****




 

Business Response: The consumer has been contacted directly by our representatives and the sitaution has been resolved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Colgate-Palmolive Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)