BBB Accredited Business since

Laptop MD

Phone: (212) 920-4833 Fax: (718) 701-1949 248 West 35th Street  Suite 1205, New York , NY 10001 http://www.laptopmd.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Laptop MD meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Laptop MD include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Laptop MD
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 11, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2005 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/2005 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Arthur Zilberman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Arthur Zilberman, President
Business Category

COMPUTERS-SERVICE & REPAIR


Additional Locations

  • 248 West 35th Street  Suite 1205

    New York , NY 10001

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I left my laptop with LaptopMD and i tried to get it back after a while but they said my hard drive is either lost or they've used it as parts.

Desired Settlement: I want my hard drive or the data inside it.

Business Response:
Dear ******* *******:
Thank you for informing us about a customer complaint regarding LaptopMD+ services.
 
Please know that LaptopMD+ has been in business for over 8 years and we are consistently ranked the Best Computer Repair by **** and ranked highly on other major review sites. Our clients value the convenience and options LaptopMD+ offers for each repair job and trust us with the quality repair services we provide.
 
According to our records, *** ******* ******* brought his laptop to LaptopMD+ for repair back in May of2012. After an initial exam we told *** ******* that his laptop is not fixable, but we may try to recover data from the laptop's hard drive. In August 2012 *** ******* authorized us to take out the hard drive from his laptop for data recovery attempt. Unfortunately, our technicians were not able to recover any data due to the hard drive's bad condition, and we immediately notified *** ******* that he can take his laptop back. However, *** ******* failed to do so and did not respond to our requests.
 
Since August 2012, our managers contacted *** ******* numerous times asking him to retrieve his laptop. Our policy (which is spelled out on the written contract every customer signs) clearly states that "we will hold on to the devices for up to 30 days after we contact you to pick up your device. If we have not heard from you we will consider your device abandoned and it will become property of the LaptopMD+". Nevertheless, we did not hear from *** ******* until April 2013, or 8 months after we last contacted him.
 
We regret that, when *** ******* called us on April 2013, we were not able to locate his hard drive right away. However, we are not a storage facility and do not provide equipment storage, so we cannot guarantee that our customer's equipment will not be discarded after the initial 30 day period.
 
As soon as we found the missing hard drive, we apologized to *** ******* for this unfortunate event. Our records show that the issue was completely resolved on April**, 2013 during a phone conversation with *** *******, and, soon after that, the laptop with hard drive was returned to the customer.
 
Again, we regret the inconvenience *** ******* experienced with his repair order.
If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *******