BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

Tech Matrix Infosolutions Inc

Phone: (631) 757-7800 101 Broadway Ste 4, Greenlawn, NY 11740 http://www.yodacare.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tech Matrix Infosolutions Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Tech Matrix Infosolutions Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Tech Matrix Infosolutions Inc include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tech Matrix Infosolutions Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 19, 2014 Business started: 02/27/2012 in NY Business incorporated: 02/27/2012 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sanjay Chadha, President
Business Category

COMPUTERS SOFTWARE & SERVICES COMPUTERS-DISASTER RECOVERY COMPUTERS-SERVICE & REPAIR COMPUTERS-NETWORK SECURITY COMPUTERS-SECURITY EQUIP & SYSTEMS INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY SERVICES


Additional Locations

  • 101 Broadway Ste 4

    Greenlawn, NY 11740 (631) 757-7800

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/**/2014 I had an alert on my computer that it had been hacked along with a message to contact **** **** to resolve the issue. I tried to exit this warning but was blocked (?) somehow from being able to do this. Not being computer literate, I contacted the number on the warning, thinking that this was a service associated with my new computer and the only way to fix this warning. It is a new purchase/system of which I had no personal data to speak of on the hard drive. I fell for the pitch that I had been hacked and my computer was going to "crash in 72 minutes" if I did not allow them to "fix" it at the cost of $299.99 (cheapest and one of 3 options offered to purchase). The salesperson was extremely persistent that my system was compromised. He was relentless and very high pressure using every scenario to divert me and get me to think this is the only solution. In looking over the dialogue, of which I obtained a copy, I was on the phone for 1 hr and 53 minutes, well beyond that 72 minute warning he showed me, of my system crashing. The length of the conversation should have been the red flag that this 72 minute crash time had passed however, I was distracted by the conversation with the sales person.. The call started with the sales person at 2:03 and ended at 3:56 when the tech came online. As a consumer I have to say it is very high pressure and they are quick to divert any challenges or a no answer from you. This they are very good at. On 10/**/2014 I called for the "Full Money Back Guarantee " request for refund that their policy states. That call took over 35 minutes to get an answer of whether or not they would give me a refund. I was told that any refund was "void" and therefore I was not entitled to any amount. When I mentioned the FTC however, he had a conference with his "superiors" and at the risk of losing his life (his words several times to me) he was going to break the rules and refund my all but $150 of which he said was for services to the technician. I challenged him on the "full" money back guarantee of which he said I would only get $149.99. He asked me if I was satisfied. I stated I would take this amount now but that I wanted the full refund due to the coercion and extreme pressure from the sales person to purchase the product. I feel that I should receive the full refund and notice should be taken of how they are high pressure and state every angle possible to instill the fear factor. They try to get very personal and state how they feel bonded with you in a personal, trusting and special way (terms used by them).

Desired Settlement: Full refund (not partial as they say they will do) and no contact by way of email, internet or calls. They say I will get the partial refund of $149.99 in 7-10 business days but that is yet to been seen since this compliant is written same day of request.

Business Response: Dear ***** ******,
 
This is in response to the complaint that we have received on behalf of ****** *********, we have every desire to help the customer and have processed refund of rest of $150 that should be processed within 5-7 business days from today.
 
Please find below a brief about the situation for your reference:

>Customer called us on **** of October 2014 as her computer was infected. She also shown interest to buy YodaShield Total Security for one year.
>Customer was offered support on a one time charge of $299.99 for fixing the current issues and provide support for the next one year, along with YodaShield Total Security activation for one year.
>Customer agreed to it and authorized the sales supervisor to process the charge of $299.99 Call was further transferred to our tech team who resolved the issue and the customer gave her permission to close the case as resolved.
>Next day our customer service team called the customer for the feedback. The customer confirmed the issue resolution and the charges.
>The customer then called us on **** of October 2014 and asked for a refund. Since we did help the customer to resolve the issue, the customer agreed to pay a partial amount of $150.
>Our customer service team processed the refund of $149.99 for which the customer agreed and that has already been processed.
>Since then the customer never called us for any  complaints or refund request. Now, the customer has straight away filed in a complaint. We don’t have any reason for dissatisfaction as we offer 30 days of money back guarantee.
>Since, this has now been brought to our notice that the customer wants rest of $150 to be refunded and the customer do not want to receive any communication in any form from us, we have processed the rest of $150 amount which should be processed within 5-7 business days.

We would like to assure you that the company aims to consistently deliver a professional service to our customers and we want to state that on this occasion also, the level of service the customer received was at par.
 
Please feel free to contact us with any further questions or concerns you may have.
 
 
Sincerely,
 

******** ******** ******* *****

Email: ****************************
?

Consumer Response: Although I am accepting this response by the business, I have yet to receive the $150.00 as they indicate they will return within 5-7 day window. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,
****** *********



 

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After purchasing a Logitec UE boom wireless speaker I was unable to connect to my Dell Laptop. I contacted Logitec, and after some analysis they gave the the following number ###-###-####. I was told by the person who answered it was Dell Technical support. I allowed the technician to begin a remote connect secession and he (****** *****)spent about 45 min. diagnosing my computer. I was offer a number of services but declined. I was directed by the technician to close the secession and he directed the cursor to where I needed to click to close the secession. I closed as directed. I did not realize this was not the only place to disconnect the remote secession. I ended the conversation with the technician and secession with him. A hour later my wife noticed that someone was working the cursor and going through our personal files. She ran to get me. At the time the person was opening photograhs of our 11 year old daughter. I immediately shut off the computer and called back. I was told not to worry. Upon my questioning I could get no feedback on what steps to follow. I have the remote secession window showing the connection was alive for an hour after we ended or secession. I have a screen shot of it as well if it is needed for proof ******** employee ****** ***** was still connected to my machine. I called back a second time to the ******** number offered on their website. ###-###-####. On this call I was told by the person answering that I don't need to worry. I asked for what the formal process is to confirm what had happened. He told me not to worry. He eventually told me this was my fault. That 2 to 3 times a year this happens and "so he went through your photos." On top of the issue of view pictures of my daughter I am very concerned with the personal financial information that he may have gotten off the computer. I have now closed all my accounts, placed fraud alerts and I am taking additional steps to protect our identities.

Desired Settlement: I want a formal follow up from ********. They have the conversations recorded and the secession to my computer. I want confirmation that they are following up with ****** ***** and confirming he did not take personal information off my computer.

Business Response: The customer was contacted and concerns were discussed.  We will be pulling the recorded conversation of the support session and review it.  This issue will be looked into for a satisfactory resolution with the customer.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The response explains they are still looking into the matter.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *********




 

Business Response: Our office does not understand why the customer is not returning our calls to resolve this issue.  Upon the original complaint we spoke directly to him on this issue.  We have emailed him and received response from him.  Message dated August *** from customer has ALL of our contact information.  The customer was contacted again, minutes to us responding to the last message from the BBB and we have not heard from him.  The customer was contacted again and a voice mail was left again.  We ask that the customer please contact us directly to resolve this matter.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I was called twice on Friday 11/*/2014. I was in a meeting, no message was left after the first call so I didn't know who it was.  A message was left during the second call. I called back within 20 min and left a message to call me back and I have not heard anything. This is not my issue. It has taken months to get responses since this started. Saying that I have not responded is absurd.

**

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *********




 

9/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last November, I paid for services from Yoda Care. Basically it was for Yoda Care to keep my computer running smoothly by removing virus problems and other computer issues. I noticed that they removed the virus protection system that I purchased with the computer when I bought the computer. In about 3 months, I was told I needed to pay a fee for protection. I commented that I already had. I was given a sales pitch that I needed to upgrade and add additional protection. Huh. I was led to believe the original set up would take care of my computer. Recently, I received a call insisting that I need to pay additional fees again. I kept saying it was not the day to deal with any discussion and I was pushed constantly into taking care of the discussion on a day that was not the best for me. I finally realized that what was happening, they were blocking many of the programs that I ordered when I bought the computer and was no longer getting access to many of my needed processes. I finally told them to cancel me, never to contact me by phone or by my computer. I took the computer to a local shop and had all thing of Yoda Care removed and hopefully blocked from accessing. I believe that Yoda Care should refund some of the two fees that they already charged me. I was supposed to have services through late 2016. That means over 2 years paid for services. They had have ample time to refund the money and haven't. They will probably say there was a number of days to file for a refund and I didn't. Lets just say I learned a very expensive lesson. I still believe I should receive some refund for "services" time not used. Main thing is I want others to be aware that this outfit keeps adding charges every 3 or 4 months.

Desired Settlement: I still believe Yoda Care should refund a major part of at least one of the two payments if not both. This would cover for time charged that I will not be using.

Business Response: Complaint has been received and is under review.  We are reaching out to client to discuss situation and come to a resolution.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:
The business made contact this morning (Sept *), an offer to refund part of the bill has been made. I can not say things have been resolved satisfactory until I actually receive the check.
At least they have made contact and made an offer that is an attempt to resolve things.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *****



 

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early 2014, we received a call from Yoda Care to inform us that our service contract had expired and offering us a renewal for 1 year at the price of $149.99 to which we agreed and authorized billing us for. This was to include their Yoda Shield Security Anti Virus software. On July **, 2015 we received a call from Yoda Care informing us our contract was expiring and that our computer was going to crash on July **, 2014 and we would become victims of identity theft if we did not promptly pay the company $599.99. We refused to pay this as we were under a service contract with their company to remotely fix our computer and provide protection. They informed us we had been hacked and told us we had been doing too much shopping on line and we were not covered. Upon further refusal to pay the $600 they wanted to fix this they dropped the price twice to a final price of $199.99. We continued to refuse and they asked what I was willing to pay to which I said nothing. They said we could pay 50% now and 50% later. They took control of my computer remotely and proceeded to try and show me all of the things that were wrong and they installed software on the system at that time. I told them I was not interested in their service because I was under contract and they were attempting to have me further pay for a product that I already had paid for and was under contract with until January 2015. The woman who called told me I had lied to them about what I had used the computer for and tried to tell me we had multiple computers on this account violating our service which is not true as I have one computer. They transferred me to a man who attempted to get me to pay the money as well. The phone number they called from was ************ which is a non valid phone number. They individuals I spoke with had an accent which I will assume was Indonesia or Philippines. Upon investigation I found that it appears the number is a call from Indonesia with a country code of 62 and local code of 5 which appears to match the person I spoke with. We believe our information with Yoda Care has been improperly handled and we feel unsafe continuing with them at this time as they repeatedly tried to get us to pay $600.00 additional and not honoring our contract. We feel it is likely an employee there is trying to get our credit card info to steal our identity or charge things to our card without our authorization. We have removed the Yoda Care software from our computer and want nothing more to do with this company after their failure to live up to their contract terms. Due to their failure and actions we feel it is within our right to cancel this and receive a refund of moneies paid.

Desired Settlement: It is our desire that Yoda Care refund us for the service contract they refuse to honor and remove us from their system and to not contact us further for any reason after this is resolved.

Business Response: The customer has been contacted.  Awaiting a call back to discuss the issue in detail.  Concern is being forward to upper management team for resolution.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ******



 

7/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May *, 2014 I was called by a representative of ******** saying that my files and network were in danger from outside hackers who were trying to access my computer and for $450.00 they would restore my damaged software and provide network security, tech support, and antivirus for 3 years. I was frightened so I agreed and about 2 weeks ago, I was woken up by a call from ******** claiming that there had been ongoing attacks on my external network and for $200, he could offer protection (which apparently was a discount because of my "valued and trusted customer" status). When I explained to him that I had recently paid for this coverage, he claimed that what I had paid did not cover external network attacks. That's when I finally realized something was off with this company. He said that they had been contacting many people about outside attacks, which seemed odd. He continued to insist that he had been calling me for the past 2 days, which was false. When I told him I didn't receive any calls from ********, his response was "do I need to show you my call logs?" I have my own call logs so I know the truth but nonetheless I thought this was very rude and I asked him, "If I this is as serious as you say it is and you couldn't get ahold of me over the phone, why wasn't I at least contacted by email?" He had no response. I was still upset that the was trying to charge me because I never received any written communication after paying the $450 saying anything about exactly what services I would receive in exchange for my payment. (there was an overview on notepad as they described the package but nothing separating external network support from internal. and no official document in detail was sent to me after payment.) I told him I did not have the money to pay for this service and he said I could make payments and that this was a critical service that needed to be done or my computer would be in great danger. I told him I wanted to think about it for a day first and he was pressuring me not to wait, saying anything could happen and that if I didn't do it at that moment, I would never call back. I brought it to his attention that he had just referred to me as a trusted customer and was willing to allow me to make payments, but he didn't trust me to call back which was incredibly strange and irritating. He replied saying "Oh, we trust you to make payments, but no one ever calls back." I found it interesting that he trusted me to give him my money if I agreed on the spot, but if I took the time to think it over first I would realize I shouldn’t. I told him I wanted to talk to my parents about it first and he said "there are some decisions you just have to make on your own." What company talks to customers like this? Especially if there's nothing to hide? When I insisted that I preferred to think about it and call back, he said there was no time and he would get a technician to start on the work right away and not to worry about payments yet. When I kept telling him NO, he continued to apply pressure and scare tactics, saying that if I didn't do it and anything bad happened to my computer I could not come to them for help and that if I refused this service he would close my account. That's when I recognized this as a scam. Extreme pressure and scare tactics used to try to get my money. Unfortunately it worked on me twice, I had a service from them the year before (they got me because they posed as tech support from another anti virus I was using) but I didn't really think to investigate it further until this last call. They used to be MyTechBay so I looked them up by that name to see other user's experiences and they were just like mine! I believe that is why they changed their name. I contacted a ********** at my local bank and explained my situation and she agreed that this company sounded suspicious. After my visit to the bank, I took my computer to a local computer expert who told examined my computer and found that there were in fact NO problems with my computer or my network. This concerns me greatly because I am now led to believe that I purchased my initial plan under false pretenses. It's been a little over 2 months since my May purchase but I honestly want nothing to do with this company anymore and I want a refund. I called customer service and the employee did nothing but apologize and ask that I continue my service with their company. I told him No Way. He transferred me to his supervisor who was a woman who was very condescending and tried to make it seem like my concerns were not valid. She told me that there was no way I'd be given any of my money back since it had been over a month and would not give me a number to any of her superiors. I am very unhappy with this company and I no longer want any part of it or this 3 year contract. I feel that I have been coerced into this plan and I want my money back and to revoke all access they have to me and my computer.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back and to revoke any access this company has to me or my computer

Business Response: The customer was contacted and a full refund will be issued to the customer.  We are taking steps internally to review our processes in hopes of eliminating the problem.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *****



 

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June **** 2014, I bought a 2 yr software security agreement for pc - purchased from a well known reputable company. During the installation process, I had given a tech remote control access to my pc. Things were going well until we were disconnected midway through the installation. The tech had uninstalled the free virus protection that was in my pc; then she turned my pc off prior to downloading the new software. At that point we lost contact. When I tried to find a phone# for the company I had been dealing with, I saw a website that I thought was the name of the reputable company I had been dealing with a few minutes earlier, but I was wrong! I ended up being connected with a company called Yoda Care in NY - was suspicious right away that I was not dealing with the same company but tech on the phone kept reassuring me that he could continue where I had left off , and install my new software. I made the mistake of giving him remote control access of my pc, and next thing I knew he was telling me that there were numerous problems with my drivers that had to be fixed before he could install the new software - at a cost of roughly $480!! (The 2 year plan that I had originally purchased from the reputable company was $89.98.) I told the Yoda Care tech that I was going to hang up and ask for advice elsewhere. He told me that my pc would crash if I hung up. I was so upset that I foolishly gave him my credit card info, so that he could fix my drivers. The end of this story is that I did hang up, then called my bank to put a stop on my credit card. Yoda Care had essentially hijacked my pc, pretended they were selling me the software I had originally purchased, and then they faked serious problems with the drivers of my pc, and tried to convince me that I had to spend $480 to fix it! I eventually reconnected with legit company and had correct software installed, but this was only after spending hours getting my pc back to its original state before Yoda Care hijacked it!

Desired Settlement: I'd like BBB to investigate Yoda Care. They claimed to be selling the legitimate software that I had originally purchased, but they were really trying to get me to buy their software instead. They hijacked my pc; created phony issues with drivers, and scared me into giving them my credit card info so that they could fix the fake problems! Really bad business!! I had to spend about 7 hours of my day fixing problems they created! They are operating a huge phishing scam!

Business Response: Customer was contacted.  A review of concerns shows confusion in product offerings from our company and the customers expectations. Issues were reviewed and concerns will be forwarded to upper management in order to avoid similar concerns in the future.   There was no charge to the customer.  An email will be sent to customer confirming resolution along with our regrets regarding their experience with our service.  Our goal is to meet our customers needs in a professional and nurturing manner.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

An employee of Yoda Care did contact me on July **, 2014.  Although I gave the employee a detailed description of the earlier upsetting experience I had with his company, I still was not able to understand why the Yoda Care employee that I dealt with at an earlier date had passed himself off as someone from the reputable company that I thought I was originally dealing with that day.  I still maintain that I was scammed into giving my debit card information because the Yoda Care employee told me that I had a problem with my drivers and that I needed to pay approximately $480 to have him fix it.  When I said I was going to hang up, he said my pc would probably crash and it would cost even more to be fixed.  I did eventually hang up, and the employee got very annoyed with me, and told me never to waste his time again.  As it turned out, there was nothing wrong with my pc or my drivers, and when I eventually reconnected with the reputable company that I started with, the installation of the new software was taken care of quickly and efficiently - without any so called issues with my drivers!

When I spoke with the employee of Yoda Care on July ****, he asked me if any charges had been made to my card that I needed to be reimbursed for.  I told him "no" - that was not a problem, and there was nothing else that I needed him to do.  It's true that I didn't want or need him to do anything else, but I'm sure that the only reason he called me was to gloss over the terrible experience that I had with his company.  If I hadn't hung up on the day I had the problem with the Yoda Care technician, I think I would have been scammed out of almost $500.  What upsets me the most is that the tech kept telling me he was a representative of (AVG) - the reputable company I was dealing with before we got cut off. 

As far as Yoda Care is concerned, I told them that my complaint against them is closed - and that's fine with me.  I mainly want other people to be aware of what the company did to me.  It was an awful experience, and took up about six hours of my time on the day it happened.  I also want to say that under no circumstances do I want anyone from Yoda Care to contact me again.  They have taken up enough of my time. 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ***




 

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an annual contract from Yodacare for tech support on my home laptop that was good from July 2013 to July 2014. I was called on May **, 2014 by Yodacare and told that my computer had a problem. I asked if my contract was still current from the previous year and I was told it would expire in 7 days. I was also told that as an existing customer that I could purchase another year's contract for "$400 that would include 2 computers for one year each / 1 year antivirus on both computers once bitdefender expires." They told me that they would fix the computer today and extend my contract with my permission. I shared with them that I did not have that much money at one time and could I make payments. They said yes and divided the payments into 3 payments: June ** for $150, July ** for $125 and Aug ** for $125. After the computer was fixed, the same problem surfaced 2 days later and I called Dell (where I bought my computer) and told them I was afraid it was the hardware. They checked the computer and performed the same actions as Yodacare did two days prior. Dell said it was the software and I watched both Yodacare and Dell fix the computer and did not notice any difference in what was done. After Dell fixed the computer, they informed me I had a year's contract on my computer. Since Yodacare's solution did not last more than 2 days, I e-mailed their customer service area and told them to cancel the new contract the next day May **, and not to debit my card and to remove all of my information from their records. I heard nothing from them, but I did receive at least 2 phone calls a day from them to see how the service went. The information they were seeking was in the e-mails that I sent them. I contacted their chat on June *** and told the representative about my frustration. After many entries in the chat, he told me that he was raising a refund request on my account, but that I would have to call and talk with customer service within the next 24 to 48 hours. I did. I told him that I preferred to use chat or e-mail because I could not understand their English due to the heavy accent. See attached synopsis of the chat: *** **** ***, 6/*/2014 07:05:00 pm Customer Service: ###-###-#### Email: **************************** contact us tomorrow 9 AM to 6 PM pst. Client Sun, 6/*/2014 07:06:15 pm Ok, do I need any information besides my customer or order ID *** **** Sun, 6/*/2014 07:06:22 pm I am raising a refund request on your account . Mention your customer ID and Name in your email. Client Sun, 6/*/2014 07:08:04 pm ok *** **** Sun, 6/*/2014 07:08:40 pm Is there any else i can assist you with ? I called the customer support number and it was tech support and I was transferred to another department. I talked with a girl and she explained that Yodacare had done network repair on my computer and that I had to pay for that. When I gave authorization for Yodacare to fix the computer, I understood it was under my old contract (July ** to Jun **) since there was still 7 days left. Today, she informed me that my contract did not include network repair. I was not told this prior to the repair and I do not feel that I should pay for the network repair since I was led to believe it was covered in the old contract. The new contract ($400) was irrelevant because I had not entered that contract and I wanted the new contract to cancel since I had a contract with Dell and they fixed the computer and never said a thing about it being a network issue. The ******* at Yodacare got on the phone and told me that I had to pay a one-time fee of $150 first, then he lowered it to $130 for the network repair. I told him that I did not feel I should pay for it since I was led to believe it was repaired under my old contract. And that if I had been told the repair was not covered in my contract, I would not have authorized it.

Desired Settlement: I have asked Yodacare to remove my name and all information on me from their records, Not to call me anymore and not to charge my credit card for any money. As of today, 06/**/2014 at 1920, there has been no charge to my account. I am asking that they NOT charge the card and leave me alone. Thank you very much.

Business Response: We are attempting to contact the customer at this very moment to resolve issue.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *******


*** ******, Per our conversation on the phone, I understand the following:  

1) I will no longer be contacted by Yodacare for any reason,

2) I will not have to pay any money related to any request now or in the future,

3) My previous contract has now expired and there will be no further contract or cost in the future from Yodacare for anything, and

4) if my credit card was charged, the money will be immediately refunded.

I really appreciate your kindness and understanding of my issue. I will contact you if I have any further contact from Yodacare as we discussed.

Thank you so much!!

Blessings Always,

****** *******





 


 

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a security program, **** ******, on 12/**/2013 for $200 and was reassured that it would function on my computer as I had had problems with another security program. On 02/**/2014 I received a call from **** **** claiming that they had received alerts from my computer that something was malfunctioning. The technician took control of my computer and proceeded to show me that my computer had been hacked into starting 12/**/13 compromising files and turning off my security program, **** ******. At that time the technician claimed that I needed a Network Support Contract to fix this problem for $269.99. I realized at this time that **** ****** had been sold under false pretenses and that this company was willing to lie to me to sell me another contract not remembering that I had two contracts (Technical Support and **** ******) with them that should had made hacking very difficult to happen and that they needed to fix this problem without cost. First, I requested a refund for this service as the hacking had occurred due to **** ******'s ineffectiveness in guarding my computer from outside intruders for which they are giving me a total refund.It was also obvious that the claim that my network was bad was bogus. Secondly, I requested a full refund of $200 for **** ****** as it was totally ineffective as it was installed on the same day that the hacking began. **** **** claims that because 30 days has passed, they cannot refund the money. They also claim that there could have been a malfunction in my computer that did not allow the program to function properly. (Please note that the technician had reassured me twice at the time of installation that he had checked and everything was functioning well). I have also requested a partial refund for the $330 3 year Technical Support Contract as I terminated the contract as it had been started on 11/**/2013 and terminated on 02/**/2014.

Desired Settlement: Additional refund for **** ****** $200 and a partial refund of at least $200 for the Technical Support Contract.Also reassurance that **** **** will follow through with the $269.99 refund for the service on 02/**/14.

Business Response:

Please see below the refund issued to this customer.

 

Transaction ********** has been successfully ACCEPTED by the system. 


Below is a summary:

Transaction ID: **********
Payment Method: ********
Amount: USD (200.00)
Customer Name: ****** * ********

 

 

 

****** ******

###-###-####

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ** Dec '13 I recieved a call from Yodacare (former My Tech Bay) telling me that my computer was infected by malware and they could clean it up. While "cleaning it up" they said they could prevent this from happening again for 2 years for $300 for each of my two computers and that I could cancel the service within 30 and the charges would be refunded. I later discovered that the "cleanup" had caused some problems with Netscape and that they had deleted some important laser safety files that were not infected. I then realized that my service with My Tech Bay had not prevented the malware "infection". How did they know my computer was "infected" with malware without hacking my computer in the first place? I called Yodacare on ** Jan '14 and cancelled the service and asked for a refund of the $600 charged to my credit card. After several emails asking for confirmation of cancellation of service, Yodacare called and said they would only refund part of the credit card charges because their technician had performed work on my computers. However, the work he performed was already coverd by my contract with My Tech Bay which is good till * April '14. Today I received a notice that Yodacare was only going to refund $300 with no explanation of how they arrived at that amount.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of the $600.00 that Yodacare charged to my credit card.

Business Response:

Response to query:

 

Account ID: *************Customer Name: *********************   Customer Email: ******************

Sale Date:  April **, 2012                               Subscription Purchased: Gold plus Plan                                 Amount Charged: $200 

Sale Date: December **, 2013                    Subscription Purchased: Advantage                        Amount Charged: $600 

 

 

Ø  Customer called in on April **, 2012 as he was facing an issue with his security software. We offered resolution along with two years of software technical support on a onetime charge of $200. Customer agreed and authorized the payment. The call was then transferred to the tech team and the tech team resolved the issue.

Ø  We then called the customer on December **, 2013 for a regular PC check up and found that the customer’s computer was infected. Apart from the registered computer, customer had another laptop which was also infected. We offered resolution on the second computer along with two years of support and extension of two years of support on the existing computer on a onetime charge of $600.

Ø  The customer agreed and authorized the payment. The call was then transferred to tech team for further troubleshooting. The tech team resolved the issue and the customer confirmed the issue resolution.

Ø  Next day, our customer service team called the customer for the feedback. The customer again confirmed the issue resolution and authorized the charge.

Ø  The customer then called us on January **, 2014 and asked for a complete refund of $600. According to the customer, one of the messaging software was removed from his computer while the troubleshooting was performed by our technician. We arranged a call back from our customer service the very next day. Meanwhile, we did not find any such thing over the complete troubleshooting.

Ø  Next day our customer service team called the customer and tried retaining the customer as we did resolve the issues on both of his computers.

Ø  The customer was adamant but agreed to pay a partial amount of $150 for each computer as the technicians worked on the computers and have resolved the issues.

Ø  We then raised a partial refund of $300 on customer’s account with customer’s consent which is already processed now.

Ø  We do not have any reason for dissatisfaction or dispute as customer never called us after this. The customer must have called us if he was looking for a complete refund.


 

 

*************

  

?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# 9891816, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

They did NOT respond. I want a full refund.

I have an existing contract with MyTechBay/YodaCare that expires on 7 April ’14. On ** Dec ’13, I received a phone call from them telling me that my computer was infected with malware. I was eating breakfast at the time and asked them how they knew. They told me to log on to my computer and they would show me. I logged on and they showed me several “unauthorized logins” to my computer that they claimed could be used to steal my passwords. I agreed to let the technician clean up the malware on my computer and on my wife’s laptop (which was stored and had not been turned on for the previous 6 months). They said they would protect both computers for 2 years for $300 each with the understanding that I could cancel the service within 30 days for a full refund.  I agreed and they charged it to my VISA card. The “cleanup” took about 2 hours.  They called back the next day and I told them that my computer was working normally except that NetScape was running slow.  Several days later I discovered that several important laser safety emails and files were missing. The emails and files had been scanned by Kaspersky and were NOT infected.  I had to contact several of my associates to have the files retransmitted to me.

I decided to cancel the contract with YodaCare and did so within the 30 day window.  They argued with me but eventually agreed to cancel the contract.  However they refused to refund the full $600. They said the technician should be paid for his work.   I agreed that he should be paid but that I wanted to see how they determined the refund.  They decided to only refund $300 of the $600.  At this time it occurred to me that the work performed by the technician on 19 Dec was covered by the existing contract which expires on **April ’14.

Contrary to ********’s statement, I DID protest his partial refund via email dated 19 Jan ’14 (attached YodaCare.jpg).

I want a full refund.  My VISA credit card used for the original service charge was stolen in the Target database hack in Dec ’13.  When fraudulent charges were made in Feb ’14 that card was canceled.  I will supply a valid VISA card# for the remaining $300 refund.


 

 

 

 

 


Sincerely,

***********




 

Business Response:

Please note we have refunded the balance of $300 to the customer today please note the transaction detail below

 

transaction id# ***

refund cc ac#    **

refund amt.       $300

date of refund   April **2014

customer name  ********

 

Please let me know if I can provide any additional information. thanks

 

************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *************, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****************