This Business is not BBB accredited

StudentBackup.com

Phone: (516) 861-3005 P.O. Box 427, Glen Head, NY 11545 http://www.studentbackup.com ! StudentBackup.com is Believed to Be Out of Business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on StudentBackup.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 29, 2006 Business started: 06/24/2005 in NY Business incorporated: 06/24/2005 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Nassau County Office Of Consumer Affairs
200 County Seat Drive, , Mineola NY 11501
http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/oca/index.html
Phone Number: (516) 571-2600

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Amy Motschwiller, Vice President
Business Category

COMPUTERS SOFTWARE & SERVICES INFORMATION PROCESSING & RETRIEVAL EQUIPMENT/SYSTEMS

Alternate Business Names
Kintolonline, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 427

    Glen Head, NY 11545 (516) 861-3005

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, it appears that this business is no longer in business.

Mail sent to the business on 09/15/2014 was returned by the U.S. Postal Service as Undeliverable as Addressed.


Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two years ago, I purchased the four-year backup plan. It worked fine for the first year and a few months, and then backups started failing. When I emailed for support, I received this: "Due to Student Backup system issues, we are temporarily out of service. We will contact you as soon as we have further information." There was no follow up. A few weeks later, the service started working again. Now, for a few months, the backup has been unable to connect. When I tried to check the website, it no longer existed. None of the backup functions, including backup, help, and restore, work. When I emailed the support address, the email was returned and was not received.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the approximate $150 spent on this subscription. A full refund seems appropriate as I am unable to access any files, or contact the company. I would also like confirmation that all of my personal files have been deleted.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by StudentBackup.com regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

**** ****

9/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the Student Backup 4 year plan during Fall 2013. I paid fort the 4 year plan in order to ensure I had backup for my academic files for my full duration as a student. The backup service functioned properly up until May of 2013, and now the backup services that I paid for do not work. I researched StudentBackup.com, and it appears that they filed for bankruptcy and did not give their customers any sort of warning or compensation.

Desired Settlement: Being that I paid for the 4 year service and only used one years worth, I would like compensation for the remaining three years of service that I invested in. I was guaranteed a full four years of backup when I purchased the plan, and I expect to be compensated for the services that I have not, and will not ever, receive. StudentBackup.com, or ************* ***, owes their customers compensation for the remaining services they will not be able to provide post-bankruptcy.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by StudentBackup.com regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,
******** *****

9/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My freshman year, I purchased four years worth of service through studentbackup.com in order to back up my computer during college. Now the "service" has completely disappeared, even though there should be over a year left on what I paid for. Their website and email are gone, and it is impossible to contact anyone in the company. This awful company has completely disappeared from the face of the earth with my money and all of my backup information, which I also cannot access right now. It makes me worried that they have my information, which I cannot access, delete, anything. It also infuriates me that they simply took my money for the final year, and disappeared without any notification. Now it is impossible to backup my computer and also impossible to view any of my prior backups. It is just impossible to access the service or even contact anyone associated with it; this whole thing was a scam from the start.

Desired Settlement: I need to be refunded for the awful, useless service that this terrible company has scammed from me (not just for the final year, but for all four years, as the entire thing was just a scam). I also need access to my prior backups, as I had paid for, and to make sure my information from my backup is not in the hands of criminals who are going to steal my identity or payment information or something like that. This was never a service to me, I never was able to access my backups, I basically just paid to give some scumbag company all of my backup information so they could run off with it before I had even finished the four year service I initially paid for. Please bring this company down, and get me back my money and information.

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a service that should have automatically backed-up my computer files (for school and other files) every night for 4 years and the ability to recover all said files if my computer were to crash or be stolen. Between the 1.5-2 year mark however, the service stopped scanning my computer every night. I attempted to trouble shoot the issue and the system said it could not authorize their server. I contacted them several times by phone and email and never received any feed back or contact from them. The website seems to have been shut off and so has their phone number.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund. Even though they backed up for (less than) half of my purchased time, I am unable to recover those files should anything go awry.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by StudentBackup.com regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

****** **********

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased a 4 year subscription for $150 as per instructions from my daughter's college, Florida Southern College. During the second semester while on her internship the application stopped backing up. Emailed support and they stated that they knew of an issue and will be rectifying it shortly. Being away for internship I was unable to verify that it started working. Upon her return to home fo rthe summer (5/*/2014) I started to review the application and found that nothing is working. The Test Connection fails, the Backup fails, Help fails, and going to the website fails. It appears that their website is down, their phone number is out of service, etc. It appears to me that either they went out business with no warning or were originally a scam and several colleges around the country got duped into recommending studentbackup.com

Desired Settlement: I desire a complete refund for an under performing product/solution.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by StudentBackup.com regarding complaint ID ********.

The website continues to be down and the phone number continues to be none responsive. My investigation on the internet comes up with even more similar complaints by other parents and students. Not only the company should be shamed, but the fonder as well, as I suspect he knew what he was doing. I am suspect of the whole solution. At best it was simply a faulty application and did not backup anything, at worst it was a malicious application designed to browse the students' computers for personal financial information.

Sincerely,

***** ******

6/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for a 4 year subscription to studentbackup.com for my daughter's laptop at Michigan State University. I was told that I could transfer this to a new laptop should the need arise. However, now I go to logon to the web site and use www.studentbackup.com to logon, but that site is no longer available. Now I have no idea how to either get my money back or change to new laptop. I have the serial number, user ID and pw, but have no where to use it. I made the purchase in august ** 2013 for $164.30

Desired Settlement: either tell me a new url to use to get to my account or refund my purchase price. I made the purchase in august ** 2013 for $164.30

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by StudentBackup.com regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

******* *******

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 4 year subscription to student backup services provided by this company. When my daughters Mac crashed this spring (her sophmore year) she lost all her data. We tried to restore from the cloud backup supposedly provided by her subscription. Initially we were able to see a directory of all the files that were backed up to this company's server(s) but none were more recent than 1 month old. We were not able to restore even one file successfully. When we called the contact number we received only a voice mail system with telling us to go to their website. We sent several email messages which we did get responses to telling us that they were experiencing technical problems and were working to resolve them. Eventually the web site itself was taken down. When we go to ********************* we get a page saying the site is unavailable and appologizing for the "inconvenience". This has now been almost a month. She eventually had to rewrite all the papers and assignments that she currently had due. We have had no further contact or resolution from the company.

Desired Settlement: Ideally I'd like to get her files back!! Short of that then I'd better be refunded my $150.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by StudentBackup.com regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

******* ********

5/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an online backup service from studentbackup.com to protect my son’s laptop if he were to lose his data. My son had to leave his computer connected to the internet each night and studentbackup.com automatically made a copy of his files to a secure offsite location. Studentbackup.com states “If a crash occurs, simply log on to the website, enter your user name and password, and in 5-10 minutes your word processing, spread-sheet, PowerPoint and PDF files are identical to the night before. The files can even be restored to a friend’s computer if the entire computer is damaged, lost, or stolen.” We believed that to be true until my son had a computer problem last Thursday night (Apr *). Lenovo Technical Support was on the phone with me and asked if they could reload my son’s system. My son said that he had backed up his system the night before using studentbackup.com so we told Lenovo to proceed. That was 6 days ago and I have yet to be able to restore my son’s computer files from studentbackup.com. The first few days (Apr *, * and *), studentbackup.com replied to my email inquiries, apologized, and told me they were working on the problem. On Apr *, I received this message from studentbackup.com and have not gotten a reply or a return call from them since: “We fully understand the frustration of not being able to restore your Student’s documents. We regret we haven’t completed repairing the Student Backup system. We are working in earnest to restore Student Backup to its fully functional state. We will let you know immediately when we have a favorable status for you. Campus Backup will not be able to assist you in this matter. We hope this is helpful.” Today is Apr *. That message was received 3 days ago. After not being able to restore my son’s data for six days, I have concluded that this company is not qualified to be in the backup service business.

Desired Settlement: Restore my son's files.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by StudentBackup.com regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,
********** *****

3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an on-line back up from Student back up to protect my sons laptop should it fail. He had a hard drive failure and we lost everything. I could not remember my password and asked for a new one. I never received any response. I asked for a new password at least 5 times and was ignored. I tried to call and all you get is an answering maching. This company is really just a scam, I paid money for a service and you can't speak to anyone or ever get any help. I finally gave up and had to start from scratch and rebuild his computer. Something needs to be done before others get taken and think they are proteced only to have to spend hours rebuilding their harddrives

Business Response: We have received a complaint from the Better Business Bureau regarding a subscription you or your student has with Student Backup. The complaint states you never received support to restore your documents after a hard drive failure. You had not remembered your password and were not able to retrieve your documents. We regret you were not able to receive support to find your password and access your account. We will gladly refund your purchase, but please understand we never received any emails for voice messages regarding your issue. It appears they were sent to the company you purchased the Student Backup program from, OCM. We were never aware of your issue. It was unfortunate that this happened For your refund, please provide your packing slip information or your name and billing address, any materials previously sent to you, and reason for returning the Student Backup program, and send them to: StudentBackup/****** ** ******** ****** ************* **  *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]I cannot find all the items they require to get a refund.  I downloaded what  was needed and did not think I needed them anymore.  I found some and sent an e-mail asking if it was too late but never heard back.  Also why should I have to pay to send stuff back?

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ******




 

Business Response:

I do not know what the client wants beyond a refund. Send this to OCM. The issue is with them.

 

Thanks,

 

*****

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Student Backup as a backup service my freshman year at Tufts University. The backup service was listed on the Tufts Student Resources website as recommended for students. It cost approximately $150 for a 4-year subscription, which included nightly backups of my data (documents, files, etc.). An application on my MacBook Pro alerted me every night that the backup was being completed. Several weeks ago, towards the end of my first semester of junior year, my MacBook crashed, and Apple replaced my hard-drive. This meant that all of my files, which I had been led to believe were being backed up by StudentBackup, were lost. When I attempted to run a backup from the StudentBackup application, I received an error message after several hours of "loading." I attempted this several more times, receiving the same error message. I then brought my laptop into Tufts Information Technology Services, to see if they could fix the backup issue. After two days, they couldn't manage to get the application to back up either. The IT technicians listed several major issues they found with the program's computer coding, which are summarized below: 1. It's unfathomably slow. IPoAC would be faster. It took 90 minutes to transfer ~35 documents (they weren't large documents either). We were hoping to get all of the 2825 documents the student has on your servers. It takes about 4 hours to list the documents through a "search all" on the application 2. It's an unreliable connection. Even though the connection should be secure and reliable, our only somewhat successful. Because the transfers take so long, we left the application to run overnight. Twice now, the transfer has failed during the night with no explanation. 3. Not all of your servers are up (several more technical issues were reported specific to the program's code). Tufts IT services told me that several other students had come in with similar issues, and that in all of the other cases they also could not figure out what the problem was. The technician that handled my case sent an email to Student Backup, and I also filled out a request for help form their website. Neither of us have heard a reply in the past several weeks. The ********** at Tufts ITS wrote a letter to Student Resources, so that they would take StudentBackup off their list of recommended backup services by Tufts. Student Backup advertises themselves as a product that will be crucial when "disaster strikes," but it was completely unhelpful when I needed it the most. I feel completely taken advantage of. Not only did the software not work, it was expensive to purchase in the first place, and they were not available to help when I needed them.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund from the company for the full price of the software.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing some of the issues attached to our attention. Student Backup strives to provide rapid customers support and resolution. 

 

We have provided this customer with refund instructions.   We are researching any other issues you have highlighted and addressing these issues. Thank you. 


*** ************