BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that EzTaxReturn.com,LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for EzTaxReturn.com,LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Complaint Information

This firm has not responded to our request for basic information.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on EzTaxReturn.com,LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 2002 Business started: 09/29/2000 in NY Business incorporated 09/29/2000 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald Leder, Managing Member
Business Category

COMPUTERS SOFTWARE & SERVICES COMPUTER SOFTWARE PUBLISHERS & DEVELOPERS TAX RETURN PREPARATION


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

EzTaxReturn.com,LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 100 Ring Road West, Suite 214

    Garden City, NY 11530

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
5/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/30/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company advertises FREE quick and easy phone support. I paid $19.95 on 3/**/2016 for tax service. My taxes did not go through to the IRS. I redid the AGI and the address. They did not go through again. Several attempts to contact the company asking them to call me resulted in a robo email back to me. I have called my credit card company cancelled my card so they could not tag on another charge. They are a fraud. I am worried my social security number has been compromised with this company. They tell me they can not calll me because I am a "FREE" customer and did not pay. My credit card company has the charge on 3/** on my card.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response:

***** ** ***** attempted to file a federal and MD state tax return. Her federal return was rejected by IRS because her taxpayer e-file PIN or prior-year adjusted gross income did not match IRS records. We attempted to help *** ***** correct this and resubmit her return with instructions on our website, with a phone call and an offer to help in an email. *** ***** was not amenable to help. We are refunding the $19.95 *** ***** paid for her MD state return via ****** immediately. Her federal return was prepared at no cost.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved. After taking the tax return to H and R Block I was advised that tax returns for deceased individuals can not be sent on line they muse be mailed. ExTax should have know this.  One of the questions asked of me when i was filing the return was if it was for a deceased individual.

Sincerely,
**** *****



 

2/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: was going to use their free online tax e file services from ******* site, but decided,not to use them but cannot delete all my personal info including SS number. Tried to delete info but site won't allow. Try to use contact link, but not allowed to use. I want all my personal info deleted.

Desired Settlement: delete all personal information from site., I desire to be contacted by e mail rather than phone. e mail is cnash13@aol.com. Thank you.

Business Response: Because of privacy, security and fraud prevention rules only customers can delete their accounts. Customer went to ************************** at 01:29 EST on 02/**/2016 and deleted this account. Accordingly, this issue should be resolved.

2/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did my taxes with the company. All of my paperwork states my refund is $60.00 higher than what I received. I brought this to their attention. They keep talking about a $29.95 charge when instead it is $59.95 charge. I have told them repeatedly. I have an email from Brittany stating that charge was in other paperwork which was NOT included in my packet. I have several emails with her regarding this. Now someone Shaykh is emailing me the same exact thing. I keep telling them that in my paperwork there are NO CHARGES for $59.95. I paid $325.00 and now they are keeping an extra $60.00 of my money which they have stated is in paperwork that they didn't send me. I have every email from them regarding this matter. Not to mention, a complaint filed with BBB on 2/*/2015 says the same thing. They are probably doing this to everyone! Its wrong, untruthful & fraudulent regardless if the charge was $5.00 they are still stealing money!

Desired Settlement: I want my $60.00 back!

Business Response:

*** ******* did indeed prepare and e-file her federal tax return at ******************* with an expected refund of $7130. She chose to pay for her federal return from the proceeds of her refund. The ezTaxReturn cost for her federal return was $29.95 (see attached ezService Fee). The bank processing fee to pay from the proceeds of her refund was $29.95 (see attached Paying Out of Your Refund). Her return was accepted by IRS on 01.**.2016 at 08:28 EST. Civista Bank (TPG – Tax Products Group) received her refund, deducted $59.90 and disbursed $7070.10 to *** ******* on 02.**.2016 (see attached Refund_Status). All charges (per attached) were clearly disclosed to *** ******* and approved by *** ******* before processing. We have no knowledge of any $325. charge or fee. Neither ezTaxReturn.com nor Civista Bank charged, deducted or held $325 from *** ******* or her refund in any manner.

A copy of ************ successive inquiries (and our responses) follows. Note that our fees were explained several times, in accordance with the information on our website and *** ********* approvals. *** ******* is obviously suffering some confusion, and we will be happy to refund our $29.95 fee if this will help ease her distress.

***** ********************* *** ******************************** ******** ****** ***** **** ** *** ** ******** *****

** ********* **** ******* **** ** ** ***** ******* ** ****** *** ******** ** *** ****  * **** **** ******** ****** **** ******* ** ****** *** **** **** *** ** ****** *********  * **** **** ******* **** **** *** *** ****** **** ********  *** *** ****** **** ** ** ** *** ******** **** ******** ** *** *** ** ****  ***** *** * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * ***** **************** ******** ******** ********************************** *** ********************* ******** *** ******** ** *************** ****** ***** **** ** *** **** ******** ***** **** ******** *** ******* **** **** **** ******* ****** *** ******** ** *** *** ** *********** * *** **** ** **** *** ********* ** *** *********** **

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

They stated that a copy of that part of the agreement was NOT included  in one of the emails that they provided therefore they did NOT include this charge.  Please find the attached document that I received via their website.  No where in here does it state the charge for $59.95 which prompted me to ask "which page" and her responding that it was NOT INCLUDED.  Though I am not an attorney but that is fraudulent.  They can say they are in the right ALL DAY EVERYDAY but they are NOT being truthful which makes them deceitful. They should include ALL paperwork and situations like this would not be happening. 

******* *******

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *******




 

6/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On **** of April I was trying to file very simple tax return (one W2 form) with EZTAXRETURN.COM. I got response only next day on **** of April. I didn't put right GROSS INCOME numbers for last year and had to correct numbers for my return to be accepted. When I put in correct numbers the EXTAXRETURN's site asked me for IRS pin. I put in a correct pin. It asked me again for my gross income and after this cycle was repeated and repeated again and again. I changed browsers, did clean-ups. Nothing helped. I wrote to support service explaining clearly the bug. Instead of taking care of it they created for me humongous plan to make copies of all messages, to make all screenshots and so on. Plus their response policy is 24 hours. I could not wait that long and get fined. I switched to ******** evening of **** of April. My return was filed and accepted by State and Federal in 20 min. After this I tried few times to ask EZTAXRETURN to refund money for unused service $19.99. Nobody responded and nobody takes phone posted on your website with customer service extension. I plan to ask IRS to take down their logo from IRS webpage suggesting a company to file return with and to post same description on YELP.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: It’s unfortunate that *** ******** waited until April ** at 01:20 EST to file his tax return, and then entered the incorrect information IRS required for signing his return. While a very small percentage of customers make this error, it happens from time to time and our customer service team provides prompt instructions on how to fix the error and re-file the return at no additional cost. We regret that for whatever reason, perhaps anxiety over the timeliness of filing his return, *** ******** was unable to follow the instructions to fix and successfully re-file his return. While this was not a problem for thousands of other customers, we apologize for any inconvenience this caused *** ******** and have already issued a full credit for the amount paid.  

5/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On TV as well as on the Internet, EZTAXRETURN succinctly states that filing a tax return is free. Since I am a college student at Penn State and was not at home to fill out my tax form with *** ***** which is the tax service that my parents, (my mom who is a principal and my dad who was a former superintendent of schools,)use including my brother who is a Dean of Students, they informed me to use the aforementioned tax return service because it is "free." I trust my families advice completely since they have guided me throughout my entire life. My return from the *** was going to be less than $100.00; hence, it made perfect sense to fill out a free form and my parents would not have to spend more money on filling out their taxes. I proceeded to fill out the EZTAXRETURN very enthusiastically since it was my first time filling out a tax form and that I would be saving my parents money by doing it independently. I eagerly called my parents and told them that I had been successful in filling out the tax return and felt quite proud of myself ! Well, unfortunately my enthusiasm only lasted 12 days because upon getting my credit card bill, there was a $29.95 charge to my credit card account. At no time was there any notification or comment that it would cost $29.95! Upon calling the EZTAXRETURN @ ###-###-#### and spoke to a *** ****** *****, we expressed our disappointment and lack of ethics for claiming that EZTAXRETURN was FREE. His response was "nothing in life is free!" Well, that comment made me a bit irate since on TV and on website it clearly states that it is free! *** ***** could not accept my statement about misrepresentation of the truth and proceeded to hang up the phone on us. So much for professionalism and so much for listening to the customer! Looking forward to getting this matter resolved since $29.95 may not be much for many individuals but $29.95 means a lot to me.

Desired Settlement: My desired settlement is to be reimbursed for the $29.95, and to clearly state and advertise from this day forward that it is not a FREE service!

Business Response: ******** ***** *****’s complaint requires clarification:

1.    *** ***** did not contact us. Her mother made the call.

2.    The comment “nothing in life is free” was not made by anyone at ezTaxReturn. *** *****’s mother made this comment, and we merely agreed.

3.    Prior to hanging up, *** ***** at ezTaxReturn stated, “Please stop screaming, if you continue to scream I will hang up the phone.” *** ***** responded, loudly, “I don’t care if you hang up.”

4.    When asked, *** *****’s mother admitted that she did not see a TV commercial or an Internet ad, but that other people did and told her it was free.

*** ***** writes, “On TV as well as on the Internet, EZTAXRETURN succinctly states that filing a tax return is free.” This is simply not true. ezTaxReturn did no TV advertising in 2015, and unlike some competing tax companies, has never run a TV ad saying ezTaxReturn.com is free. Likewise, we do not advertise ‘free’ on the Internet. (We do participate in an *******
program to provide free returns for the underserved, but we never advertised this program, and it is only available through *******.)

*** ***** is allegedly a college student. Unfortunately, instead of relying on her own abilities, actions and good judgement, *** ***** is relying on the hearsay of her parents and brother who admittedly never visited our website and never saw an advertisement from ezTaxReturn; but who are in turn relying on comments from others who “told them” our program is free.  

*** ***** further says, “At no time was there any notification or comment that it would cost $29.95!” There are several pages on our website (attached) before payment is authorized where payment is highlighted. For example…

The “ezService Fee” page clearly says:

“Your tax return is now ready to print and e-file. Please tell us how you would like to pay for the ezTaxReturn.com service.”  

The “ezCheckout” page clearly says:

Your tax return is now ready to print and e-file.
Below is an itemized list of the services you have selected:               

Federal return $29.95
Total              $29.95

To view, print and e-file your return, please provide your credit card information below.”

At the bottom of the “ezCheckout” page, in bold typeface, is the statement “When you click submit, your credit card will be billed $29.95.”

*** *****’s complaint is misguided and wrong. Nonetheless, as a gesture of goodwill, we are issuing a credit for $29.95 to her credit card. 

5/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I logged into my account in a file my state taxes which was deposited successfully into my bank account. on the same computer was used to file a different persons state and federal tax and they had their deposit successfully. a few weeks later I filed my federal tax return under my account but my money was deposited into another person's account. the company is trying to claim that was the information that I gave them. I don't know this person's bank information nor do I have access to it. This is apparently some sort of of system glitch. luckily this person contacted me and is willing to give me my return. I have requested my processing fee back from EZ tax return and they refuse.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my processing fee to be refunded.

Business Response: There was an obvious misunderstanding, so we reached out to
******* ******* to better understand this problem and her complaint. In the
interest of maintaining privacy and confidentiality, it’s only important to say
that the problem arose because a friend – known to *** ******* – filed their
return on the same computer as *** *******. A browser issue on the computer,
and not a system glitch, was responsible for the error. *** ******* was
satisfied with our response, and as a gesture of goodwill we are crediting the
$29.95 she paid to prepare and e-file her federal return.

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I thought I was paying a extra 29.95 fee for anticipation loan on my return, instead I was paying a 29.95 fee for not paying the 29.95 fee at the time of filing the way it is set up is very trickery to make you think its a anticipation loan because I checked a mark that stated to get my loan sooner than 2 to 3 weeks, however they explained to me that the 29.95 fee was a charge from the bank to pay the 29.95 fee for me, this is trickery, so in all I paid 29.95 for the federal return fee and 29.95 for not having the 29.95 right away, a total of 59.90

Desired Settlement: since it was trickery on there web site I wish to have a total refund of the 29.95 that eztaxreturn took off of my tax return and the bank can keep the other 29.95

Business Response: Refund Anticipation Loans have been banned from online tax preparation programs, and ezTaxReturn.com has not offered them, for several years. *** ***** requested to pay his tax preparation fee from the proceeds of his refund. A screen shot of what *** ***** viewed and requested is attached. It says, "Deduct the cost of the ezService fee from my refund* (additional $29.95 fee applies to this option). The asterisk explains that this is a Refund Transfer and explicitly says, "Refund Transfers are not loans." The second screen shot shows "Paying out of your Refund" with an itemization of fees. Nothing whatsoever in our program suggests that we offer Refund Anticipation Loans, or that customers can get refunds or loans in less than 2 or 3 weeks. The screen shots show clearly that there is no attempt to confuse or trick in any way. That said, as a gesture of goodwill, we will refund *** *****'s tax preparation fee when we are paid for his tax refund.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *****



 

5/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I noticed a pending charge from this company on my bank account online. I have never visited their website or used their services. I have never given them my debit card info or even have an account with them. I contacted this company and they replied to me saying I needed to provide my first, last name and last four of my SSN. I did so, even though I felt uncomfortable doing it. They replied saying that there is nothing that they can do, and I needed to contact my bank. I replied back asking them why they didn't answer my initial question which was how did I get charged for a service I never bought and why did they ask for additional personal info if they weren't going to provide me any sort of answers. This is unacceptable for an online business to conduct business in this manner. Now, additionally I have to cancel my debit card in order to avoid incurring any additional unauthorized charges from this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to answer my initial question and give me information on the purchase, such as who made the purchase, etc. In addition, I obviously want my money back for services not requested and unauthorized charges.

Business Response: THE FOLLOWING EMAIL WAS SENT SIMULTANEOUSLY TO *** ***:

Dear *** ***,

Your complaint and request for a credit has been escalated
to me. First, please allow me to apologize for poor customer service response.  

Now to your complaint and the solution: it appears that someone,
intentionally or in error, used your credit card number to file a tax return
through our website. Because the tax return does not identify your name and
email address, this information is not in our database and we have no way to
identify it among the hundreds of thousands of tax returns filed through our
program.

However, your credit card number will be in our merchant
bank’s database. To find the transaction and credit your charge we need:
 - The first and last 4 digits of your credit card (we don’t want the complete number, but we can’t find the charge with just the 4 digits you provided to our customer service team)
 - The transaction date as shown on your credit card statement (we can’t find a transaction with the information you provided between
April ** * **)

If you will please respond to this email with this information, we will promptly identify the charge and credit it back to your account. In addition, this information may enable us to trace the user of the card and – if fraudulent or malicious – report the information to the proper authorities.

We apologize for any inconvenience and will credit inappropriate charges immediately on receipt of information. Thanks for your cooperation.

The ezTaxReturn.com Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

My complaint has not been resolved due to the fact that I given extaxreturn all the requested information that they asked of me in order to satisfy my complaint. I have not received any response from them in regards to the additional information that they requested or a resolution to this situation. I am unsatisfied with their response as I'm still in the same predicament.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
******* ***




 

Business Response: We spoke with *** *** today, received the information we needed to find her charge, and immediately issued a credit to her account (while we were on the phone). We believe this issue was resolved and *** *** indicated she would advise BBB accordingly.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ***



 

2/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started my taxes on this site, and I found a better site, I tried to cancel my taxes , but it did not give me that option, so I just deleted my tax info so it could not be filed, this is the message I got:Nothing to Report Based on the information you entered, you have no income and no tax payments to report to IRS. Accordingly, you do not need to file a tax return. Have a nice day! They still charged my credit card, even though there was nothing to submit, and they won't give me a refundthis is the reply I got from them:Dear *****,Thank you for taking the time to contact us. I see that you downloaded your return on 01/**/2014 at 5:07 PM eastern. Our use agreement says our service is fulfilled when you are able to download your return. A printed tax return is ready-to-file. It is your choice to e-file it or mail it in.Since you have an IRS file-able copy of your return, we cannot offer a credit at this time.Sincerely,*****And there is nothing on their site to file? I did not use this site?????

Desired Settlement: I want my credit card refunded. I would have cancelled if that was an option on their site, but it was not. So I just deleted all of my info, I entered. There is nothing there to send to the IRS, so I want a refund. I did my taxes elsewhere.

Business Response: We're not certain why *** ***** is making this complaint. On January **, 2014 at 17:47 ET our customer service team sent the following message to *** *****  from our secure portal: 


***** **************** ******** ******** ********************************** *** *************************** ******** *** ******* ** *************** ****** **** ****** ***** **** ** *** **** ******** *****

Dear *****:

Thank you for taking the time to reply. Although our policy doesn't permit credits for taxpayers who have used our program to print out and download our paper file capable forms, we will make a one-time exception for you. We are issuing a $24.95 credit against order id:
***************************
Please expect up to 10 business days for this to post to your account. Please also remove any complaint you may have made with any third parties.

Thanks for your patience!

Sincerely,
*****
 
************ ** **** ******* ****** * ****** ** *** ******* ****** **** ******** ***** **** ** *** ** ******** ***** ***** ****** ****** *************************** ********* ****** *********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *****



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on EzTaxReturn.com,LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart