BBB Accredited Business since

PC America

Additional Locations

Phone: (845) 920-0800 Fax: (845) 920-0880 1 Blue Hill Plz Fl 2, Pearl River, NY 10965 http://www.pcamerica.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

POS Software systems for retail establishments and restaurants.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PC America meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PC America include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on PC America
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2007 Business started: 12/01/1992 in NY Business incorporated: 08/01/2003 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David J Gosman, Chief Executive Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David J Gosman, Chief Executive Officer
Principal: Mr. Richard F Rotbard, President
Business Category

COMPUTER SOFTWARE PUBLISHERS & DEVELOPERS

Alternate Business Names
Automation, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1 Blue Hill Plz Fl 2

    Pearl River, NY 10965

  • PO Box 1546

    Pearl River, NY 10965

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the worst software ever!! The PCamerica software cannot be trusted with simple calculations -- pricing is extremely inaccurate and incorrect. After a customer pays $31.79 for an item and returns it, the merchant is directed to return $52.99. This is UNACCEPTABLE. As this is just one instance, who knows how many merchants and how much money has been lost due to unreliable software made by PCamerica. We have the case number and witness. Still not fixed it.

Desired Settlement: Fix the bug and give us free unlimited tech supp. contract for **** ****(customer).

Business Response:

The business has responded.  Please see below:

*** ***, the complainant in this case has been frustrated with the technical support he has received from pcAmerica for his *** customer regarding a feature in the software. It turns out that the customer was having issues with a feature that was not set up correctly in the software. pcAmerica called the customer on 3/**/15 and explained how to use the feature and they were satisfied with result. pcAmerica is making a change to the software to ensure that the use of this feature is easier to setup and use in the future. This update in the software is due to be released by pcAmerica the week of 4/**/15. pcAmerica will be reaching out to *** ***'s customer when this update is ready. pcAmerica has been actively working with *** ***'s customer during this process to figure out why the customer was having issues. It did take pcAmerica some time to determine that the feature was not being used in the intended way. Because of this, pcAmerica will be extending *** ***'s customers Technical Support by 1 year in appreciation of his patience and continued business. This pcAmerica Technical Support for *** ***'s customer will now expire on 4/**/2016. *** ***'s customer's support had expired on 2/**/2015.

pcAmerica looks forward to continuing to work with and service *** ***'s customers. pcAmerica also appreciated *** ***'s continued business during the time we were working to resolve this particular customers issues. 

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought their software but ended with core bugs and issues, called but my problem was not solved and there is lack of professionalism and seriousness.

Desired Settlement: Bought mobile inventory part of their POS but software keeps crashing would like a refund.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

We are in receipt of complaint # *******. The customer states that our technical support was unable to help them however, at the time of this complaint there were no calls logged by the person lodging the complaint where a technician was given the chance to resolve the issue. We have since contacted the customer and are willing to help resolve the issue. In the last correspondence with the customer, they appear unwilling to speak to our technicians. We would like the opportunity to work with them and try to solve the issue. We have tens of thousands of customers who use our software and services and we are more than happy to assist. They have valid technical support with us and can contact us at their convenience at ###-###-#### as our support department is open 24/7/365.

Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *******



 

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had purchased this software and the 1 year support offer but from the time we had received the software even until today it has been non functioning at one point while there techs were working on the system via remote link it had actually crashed our whole location and corrupted the database the tech had got us somewhat back online and took a copy of our database for quite some time to analyze and make repairs at that time it was sent to senior tech by the name of **** i believe (very helpful gentleman) after sometime they reinstalled the database to correct the errors but in all reality that even created more errors now it has been a year that we have made several attempts to get them to correct the problems that had caused with this faulty database and faulty software and in the time we have lost in the thousands of dollars due to there negligence every time we contact support via voice line or email we get no where and they refuse to correct the problem without a new support contract, We had purchased this system for many of the features advertised but none of such work it could be very good software we were actually planning on rolling it out to all of our locations but since we now feel this is a less inferior product threw out our facilitates we use everything from Aloha to Pinnacle to Amigo Pos and none of such have ever given us any of the problems this has we have even sent emails document the dates via logs of all the problems and they all started the day they put the so called repaired database back up.

Desired Settlement: We would like the software repaired or a refund since we paid for a service that was not utilized it actually had a negative effect

Business Response: The customer had purchased licenses from an independent company a few years back. The reseller that they purchased from was an unauthorized reseller who apparently did not sell the appropriate licenses. In 2011, we had spoken to the customer and offered to support his system in return for purchased technical support contract (which expired on April 13, 2012). The customer had recently contacted technical support but was denied support because they had not renewed their contract. It had been expired for an entire year.

As a concession to their complaint, I have authorized a 30 day extension to their technical support so they can resolve any issue they are currently having. To date, we are not aware of any outstanding issues that the customer is having, but I have set their support to expire July 15, 2013.

Thank you,

******* ** ******* ********** *********

4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have MANY issues with the software. It highly affects my liquor store business and even resulted in losses. I deeply regret buying this system for my store and feel like I have been cheated because it is not efficient for liquor stores at all. I tried to contact the regional sales manager - *** ***. I called him and left messages many times and he has not called back. I was told that he is the only one that can help me. I have contacted other liquor stores that have bought this system and they have the same complaints that I do. It is not fair that this system was advertised to fit the needs of liquor stores when in reality it does not.

Desired Settlement: PLEASE update the software so that it meets the needs of my store to function properly. My previous system was an old system but even that system did all the functions that this "new" one doesn't do. I have contacted other liquor stores that have bought this system and they have the same complaints that I do. It is not fair that this system was advertised to fit the needs of liquor stores when in reality it does not.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 
A sales manager cannot help with the software. I need to speak to someone who has the ability to propose updates to the software. I, along with other liquor stores, have many problems with the software. It doesn't allow for us to effectively apply discounts on customer sales, record inventory in an efficient way (no timestamps to record when we bought the inventory), or even accept debit cards. I have to turn away many customers DAILY because they were not able to install the pin pad for debit sales. We also don't see customer name on the receipts from credit card sales. All of my issues are related to the software, none to the hardware. The software is in serious need of updates in order to EFFICIENTLY function in my business. 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
****** *******




 

Business Response: Re:  Case#  *******
 
 
To Whom It May Concern:
 
I am in receipt of a complaint response (ID *******) from ****** ******** dated March **, 2013.  In ** ******** response, he declared that the sales manager cannot help him with his software.  I have given him a way to speak to a manager that can help him and he appears to be refusing the help.  ***** ******* (the sales manager) can discuss the issues he has and get him the appropriate help or put him on the correct path to resolving his problem.  Based on very limited descriptions of the customer's issues, our system absolutely does handle many, if not all the features he is complaining about.  I believe the customer needs to have a technician train him on the software, which he may not have received from the company he purchased the system from. These are paid services that we offer.  ** ******* is not a direct customer of ours and may require a maintenance contract, which is a standard service (and optional) that we offer to all customers.  We do recommend that our customers stay current with their support contracts so they can contact our support and receive upgrades to the system (included in the price).  My recommendation still stands that ** ****** contacts our sales manager, ***** ***** at ###-###-#### ext ***.
 
If you have any questions, you may e-mall me at ****************** or call me at ###-###-#### ext ***.
 
Very Truly Yours,
 
******* * *****
President, pcAmerica

4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought their software for my restaurant, it was not working properly, they resolved bunch of it, now the issue is we are not able to sell gift cards, we are loosing business, i tried to contact support they are always busy i have waited hours to get a connection, they gave me a case no (*********) and assured me they will call within a week, now week passed, months passed it is not resolved. I am loosing business

Desired Settlement: they should repair or replace the product

Business Response: ***,
 
I am writing to in response to Better Business Bureau case *******. This was for ***** ******* ************* with owner ***** ******.
 
** ******* called pcAmerica technical support on 1/*/2013 regarding issues with taking Gift Cards using his pcAmerica Point of Sale software (pcAmerica Case #*******). pcAmerica had to escalate this problem to our software development team . When the software fix was determined, pcAmerica made an outbound call to ** ****** on 2/**/13 where we applied the software patch and upgrade in order to fix this Gift Card issue with his software (pcAmerica Case #*******).
 
After receiving your call of a complaint from ******* ****** ******** last week, we contacted ** **** to find out if he was still having issues. ** ****** stated that he no longer had Gift Card problems with his software and that he reached out to the Better Business Bureau to let them know that pcAmerica had resolved all of his issues.
 
Please let me know if there is anything else we need to do in order to resolve this issue with the Better Business Bureau.
 
Thanks,
 
 
*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** ******



 

12/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service