This business is not BBB accredited.

PC America

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 722-6374 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Blue Hill Plz Fl 2, Pearl River, NY 10965 http://www.pcamerica.com ! There is an alert on PC America !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm provides computerized point of sale software solutions to the retail, restaurant, and hospitality industries.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on PC America
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2007 Business started: 12/01/1992 in NY Business incorporated 08/01/2003 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David J Gosman, Chief Executive Officer Mr. Richard F Rotbard, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David J Gosman, Chief Executive Officer
Principal: Mr. Richard F Rotbard, President
Business Category

COMPUTER SOFTWARE PUBLISHERS & DEVELOPERS

Alternate Business Names
Automation, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 Blue Hill Plz Fl 2

    Pearl River, NY 10965

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1546

    Pearl River, NY 10965

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Total rip off artists. Before each extended weekend and holiday they make a change to their system that requires us to call technical support. The issue each and every time is with their software. It is never user error. These are errors they create to get you to purchase support you would not require if they had not altered the software in the first place. This continued unethical and illegal matter in which they do business costs my company hundreds in lost sales dollars in addition to the ridiculous amount of money they want to fix their mistake. Suddenly the day before Christmas eve we are unable to process credit card transactions hours after the customers have left and it is time to settle the payments which were swiped and approved earlier in the day. Without paying them the charge to fix their problem we are once again not capable of processing payments until we pay them yet again.

Desired Settlement: Refund the money paid today to get the software up and running yet again because PC America continuously alters the software to cost the end user cash.

Business Response:

pcAmerica has been in business for over 20 years and does it's very best to provide our thousands of customers with the best possible service.  pcAmerica does not have access to automatically update customers software remotely and create issues for customers.  In order for pcAmerica to gain access to a customers computer, we use a process that requires two factor authentication.  This means that we have to contact a customer and ask them to log onto a third party product like ShowMyPC and provide us with a unique code so that we can access their computer.  Houston's ***** *** * ***** is familiar with this process as they have called the pcAmerica technical support department many times in the past.  Also, ShowMyPc automatically expires after one hour so we don't have long term access to a customers computer.  We use a two factor authentication because it is also required by PCI so that a customer can process credit cards securely. 

pcAmerica does regret that Houston's ***** *** * ***** had issues with applying tips to their invoices on December **, 2015.  However, pcAmerica policy is that all customers have a valid pcAmerica Technical Support contract if they are requesting our assistance in troubleshooting an issue.  This Technical Support contract acts as an insurance policy for the business owner for when there may be an issue with the software.  pcAmerica does offer a free FAQ website and free videos for customers that do not want our help in troubleshooting issues that arise.  It is the business owners decision if they want our assistance.  One of the values of the pcAmerica Technical Support contract is that we research and look into where we suspect the current issue a customer is facing stems from.  It could be our pcAmerica software, third party hardware or third party credit card processors as examples.  In this particular case, Houston's ***** *** * ***** was using the credit card processor called Fifth Third Tandem which they signed a contract with for credit card processing.  After Houston's ***** *** * ***** paid to renew their pcAmerica Technical Support, the support team was able to troubleshoot these issues and determined that the issue might be with their Credit Card processor and that they should contact them to help settle these outstanding tips.

Finally, when paying for support, we outline in writing that the purchase is not refundable.  Houston's ***** *** * ***** agreed to the below terms when paying for their one year pcAmerica Technical Support contract via PayPal.  These terms are sent to every customer that purchases software, support or hardware from pcAmerica.

"This Agreement shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the State of New York, notwithstanding principles of conflicts of laws, and the parties submit to the exclusive jurisdiction and venue of the Supreme Court of the State of New York for the County of Rockland and/or the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York in the County of Westchester; and the parties agree not to raise and waive any objection to or defense based on the venue of any such court or based upon forum non conveniens.  The sale of software, hardware or service is non-refundable.  This charge will show on your credit card statement as PC America."

9/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a POS system from ****** ********** and the system software is by pcAmerica. The system has had issues from the start. We were misled from the start being told we would have 24 hour assistance and complete set up with the purchase only to find out after installation and full payment was made that all service was to be handled via the telephone by individuals who do not speak english. Each and every time we have had an issue it has been software related and has required a minimum of 8 hours on the phone with an individual who does not speak english and who has absolutely no knowledge of the software and the issue remains unresolved for days. We can not operate if the cash drawer will not open. The issue is always software related. The day that our telephone ONLY assistance agreement expires the issue returns. After 6 hours on the phone a representative from the company does updates on our computer remotely and totally destroys any functionality we had prior to the call. This forced sales tactic is unlawful and has been detrimental to my business. Today I make another call to customer service since no one would answer the phone all weekend only to be told that they can not assist util another agreement is purchased although the issue was caused by pcAmerica on the date that the agreement had expired.

Desired Settlement: They need to resolve this issue ASAP. It is a continued issue. They intentionally send updates to my computer that cause the issue then force sell me an agreement to fix what they caused. An on site representative should be sent if they are unable to resolve within a reasonable amount of time over the phone with a representative who speaks english.

Business Response:

The business has responded.  Please see below:

The pcAmerica software was purchased from a reseller and pcAmerica is not aware of what type of contract or promises that were made between ****** ********** and ******** *****. However, pcAmerica records do show that ******** ***** did purchase one, 1 year pcAmerica technical support contract for her pcAmerica Point of Sale software on 9/*/2014 with an expiration date set at 9/*/2015. pcAmerica does offer 24/7 by 365 technical support. We do apologize for any inconvenience that was experienced using this service.

pcAmerica documents historical technical support case notes. It appears that there has been a history of cash drawer issues reported. pcAmerica policy states that if an issue has been reported and a case created and the customers technical support contract runs out, we will still work on this particular issue until resolution. ******** ***** called up on 9/*/15 with a cash drawer issue which pcAmerica technical support case notes state was resolved. However, over the course of the next few days, the cash drawer issues persisted but the pcAmerica technical support contract was expired.

pcAmerica has extended the technical support for ******** ***** until 10/**/15 to resolve any outstanding issues with her Point of Sale. We have also requested that a New York based level 2 technician reach out to ******** ***** to resolve these cash drawer issues.

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have 18 POS systems with PC America software. One of our systems broke down. We contacted First Data for replacement, the system was not released for a week because PC America didnt reset a code. Upon request from First Data we tried to contact our **** ******* at PC America for the past week. And he did not respond to any of our phone calls. This morning we contacted PC America costumer service and said First Data never asked to reset the code. We are a small company, with 18 locations as I mentioned. When i was able to contact today 7/**/2015 our ***** ******* **** *******, in a very rude manner,kept relegating any responsability on the company behalf.

Business Response: This is a customer of a reseller of our who is looking to received the product he ordered from the reseller.  We are aware of this situation and have informed the reseller (First Data) at least 10 days ago that they should ship the system to the customer and that we have no involvement in the deployment of this product.  There is no reason the reseller should not deliver the product.  however, this is not an issue or situation that we have control over as the customer must deal with the company he purchased this system from.  The system that was purchased includes software that we develop but we have no control over the company delivering the product.  The dispute should be with them and not us.  Once the customer receives the system, we can help support them.

6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am using PC america Software for my restaurant, the software does not settles the entries with no tips, we just noticed when one of my customer called in and said their card is never charged almost a week now for the food they had at the restaurant. They want to put the blame to the processing company and vice versa. The problem is the software does not communicate with the processing company to settle the once without tip. I have been digging detail and could see it from January of this year. The customer service sucks, i was on phone for 2 hours to get a agent, finally i have the ticket number *********. The initial verification looks almost $30K+.

Desired Settlement: Software needs to be fixed, Refund the loss of the entire amount Refund all the charges by the bank for low balance Compensation for the mental harassment and business loss due to customer service issue

Business Response:

The business has responded.  Please see below:

pcAmerica called *** ****** after receiving his BBB complaint to review any outstanding issues and to go over the history of where the complaint arose from. Based on pcAmerica records, *** ****** has been a customer using our Point of Sale software since 2012 with Technical support case notes going back to 8/**/2012. Based on case notes it seems that issues regarding payment processing began when *** ****** switched his credit card processor in October of 2014.

On 5/*/2015, *** ****** called into pcAmerica Technical Support about missing funds from his bank account. He realized he was missing funds from his credit card transactions after a customer approached him stating that her card was not charged for the meal she purchased weeks ago. pcAmerica Technical Support went through reports and came to the conclusion that *** ****** did not apply tips to all of his credit card transactions. This leaves the transaction in a pre-authorized state (unable to settle until tip is applied). This was between the months of December 2014 until May 2015. *** ****** was on auto settle from his credit card processor, ****** ******* processing. This means that ****** *******s will automatically process the post-authorized credit cards during the night.

pcAmerica Technical Support explained to *** ******* that tips must be applied to each transaction even if a zero tips is applied. This is how the pcAmerica software works. If the Settle button is pressed or End of Day button is pressed in the pcAmerica Point of Sale software, it will prompt the software user to apply zero tips.

pcAmerica Technical Support also explained to *** ****** that the transactions in the past failed to be processed and he will have to send the failed transactions to his payment processor, ****** *******s, to see if they can pushed those customer credit card transactions through to be processed.

On 5/*/15, pcAmerica Technical Support spoke to another contact from *** ******’s restaurant named *****. A pcAmerica Level 2 Technical Support representative explained to ***** that he should have the credit card processor, ****** *******s force the failed credit card transactions through to be processed. pcAmerica Level 2 Technical Support also explained to ***** that since he is doing tips in the software he should manually settle the credit cards. During that call, ***** stated that he will speak with the restaurants credit card processor, ****** *******s, to have the failed credit cards pushed through to be processed.

On 5/**/15 pcAmerica Technical Support called *** ****** who stated that he spoke with his credit card processor, ****** *******s, and they told him that there are failed credit card transactions from December 2014 to March 2015 that failed because of expired approvals. ****** *******s told *** ****** that if he wanted to be funded for those transactions they will have to be rekeyed. *** ****** told pcAmerica that ****** *******s told him that if he wanted to rekey those credit cards to receive payment from customers there would be a charge from ****** *******s. *** ****** told pcAmerica Technical Support that he is thinking about how he wants to proceed.
pcAmerica Technical Support went over the process of how to settle credit cards and add tips in the pcAmerica software. *** ****** stated that he now understand the process in the software. pcAmerica Technical Support told *** ****** we would follow up with him to help him further with any questions on how to use the software.

On 5/**/15, ***** the same employee of *** ******’s that pcAmerica Technical Support helped on 5/*/15 called into the pcAmerica Technical Support line for assistance on processing credit cards. pcAmerica Technical Support reviewed the process of how to settle credit cards and add tips in the pcAmerica software.

pcAmerica is always avaible to *** ****** and his employees to assist in any “How To” questions regarding the pcAmerica Point of Sale software. Best practices with regard to settling credit cards include running an End of Day report in the pcAmerica Point of Sale software and comparing that total to the money that is deposited in the businesses bank account to see if they match. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

1. Support explaining the tips has to be entered zero and that how the software works explained on paragraph 3 is completed false.  I have couple of other restaurant with the same software we don't have to enter zero tips any time and that's working for almost 7 years now.

2. ****** *******s started to re key some of the transactions as a test there were lots of customer complaints stating they are charged multiple times also resulted in posting bad reviews for the business on social media like yelp, google and stuff, really affected my business since our sales dropped 40 to 45% than the normal.  Customers started giving me treat call and bad words on phone as well and the message is spreading like fire.

3.  PC America never explained me the process as stated on the response i called their technical team and was on phone for hour and half never got hold of a technician.

4. I would request PC America to refund all the lost money and business loss and the cost to rebuild a new brand to a tune of $100,000.00 included $40,000.00 lost because of the software issue.

5. On **** of May i was contacted by the senior technical team to correct the software issue and they failed to do that, expected to have a conference call with global today but i am afraid i will not allow anything to do with the software now and take them to law if needed.  I would definitely like it to take to press so no other will be cheated by the software. 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ******




 

Business Response:

The business has responded.  Please see below:

1. [Customer Response] Support explaining the tips has to be entered zero and that how the software works explained on paragraph 3 is completed false. I have couple of other restaurant with the same software we don’t enter zero tips any time and that’s working for almost 7 years now.

[pcAmerica Response] pcAmerica records all calls that come into the company. On 5/*/2015 at 12:29pm, a pcAmerica technician explained to the customers employee, *****, that tip was never added to the transactions so they were all stuck in pre authorization state. ***** was told how to manually settle and add a zero tip. On 5/**/2015 at 10:45am, a pcAmerica technician called **** and explained the exact same thing to him. The pcAmerica technician asked **** if he had contacted ****** *******s about rekeying the outstanding transactions and he stated that he did not and that he didn’t want the customers to complain about getting charged months later. The pcAmerica technician asked if **** would like to conference ****** *******s in to get the process started and he declined stating he was going to be leaving for India soon and won’t be back until the end of July and doesn’t want the customers complaining while he is away. All these calls are recorded.

With regard to the customers other restaurants with pcAmerica software, it depends on the setup and the credit card processor being used whether or not you have to enter in zero tips. pcAmerica is not aware of how **** has these other restaurants set up with pcAmerica software.

2. [Customer Response] ****** *******s started to re key some of the transactions as a test there were lots of customer complaints stating they are charge multiple times also resulted in posting bad reviews for the business on social media like yelp, google and stuff, really affected my business since our sales dropped 40 to 45% than the normal. Customers started give me treat call and bad words on phone as well and the message is spreading like fire.

[pcAmerica Response] pcAmerica has actively been working with customer to resolve issues as documented in initial BBB response and this BB response.

3. [Customer Response] PC America never explained me the process as stated on the response i called their technical team and was on phone for hour and half never got hold of technician.

[pcAmerica response] We do regret if there was wait to get a hold of a pcAmerica technician. However, as stated above, we have recorded telephone calls from 5/*/15, 5/**/15 and 5/**/15 at 3:16 pm. On this last call, a pcAmerica technician called and asked if we could assist further but help was declined.

4. [Customer Response] I would request PC America to refund all the lost money and business loss and the cost to rebuild a new brand to a tune of $100,000.00 included $40,000.00 lost because of software issue.

[pcAmerica Response] The pcAmerica software license agreement states that you use the software at your own risk. The pcAmerica software is a tool to run your business. pcAmerica offers technical support, training, online help videos and an FAQ website to assist customers in running their business and setting up the software correctly. Many of these helpful resources describe best practices of running End of Day reports and comparing those values to what is being deposited in your business bank account. If that does not happen, it is suggested that you have an active pcAmerica technical support contract so that we can help with any potential issues immediately.

5. [Customer Response]On **** of May I was contact by the senior technical team to correct the software issue and they failed to do that, expected to have a conference call with global today but I am afraid I will not allow anything to do with the software now and take them to law if needed. I would definitely like it to take to press so no other will be cheated by the software.

[pcAmerica Response] pcAmerica would like to continue to help **** and his business. As stated earlier, we have a recorded call on 5/**/15 at 3:16 pm where a pcAmerica technician called **** to see what we could do to assist and help was declined.

We have continued to work with **** as we have calls recorded on 5/**/15 and 5/**/15 where we assisted in working with his ****** ******* processor on some new issues. During these calls, we suggested that **** upgrade his pcAmerica software. However, **** stated that he was leaving the country for some time. pcAmerica will extend technical support so that when **** is available, we can upgrade his software and continue to assist in helping him run his business. 

4/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the worst software ever!! The PCamerica software cannot be trusted with simple calculations -- pricing is extremely inaccurate and incorrect. After a customer pays $31.79 for an item and returns it, the merchant is directed to return $52.99. This is UNACCEPTABLE. As this is just one instance, who knows how many merchants and how much money has been lost due to unreliable software made by PCamerica. We have the case number and witness. Still not fixed it.

Desired Settlement: Fix the bug and give us free unlimited tech supp. contract for **** ****(customer).

Business Response:

The business has responded.  Please see below:

*** ***, the complainant in this case has been frustrated with the technical support he has received from pcAmerica for his *** customer regarding a feature in the software. It turns out that the customer was having issues with a feature that was not set up correctly in the software. pcAmerica called the customer on 3/**/15 and explained how to use the feature and they were satisfied with result. pcAmerica is making a change to the software to ensure that the use of this feature is easier to setup and use in the future. This update in the software is due to be released by pcAmerica the week of 4/**/15. pcAmerica will be reaching out to *** ***'s customer when this update is ready. pcAmerica has been actively working with *** ***'s customer during this process to figure out why the customer was having issues. It did take pcAmerica some time to determine that the feature was not being used in the intended way. Because of this, pcAmerica will be extending *** ***'s customers Technical Support by 1 year in appreciation of his patience and continued business. This pcAmerica Technical Support for *** ***'s customer will now expire on 4/**/2016. *** ***'s customer's support had expired on 2/**/2015.

pcAmerica looks forward to continuing to work with and service *** ***'s customers. pcAmerica also appreciated *** ***'s continued business during the time we were working to resolve this particular customers issues. 

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought their software but ended with core bugs and issues, called but my problem was not solved and there is lack of professionalism and seriousness.

Desired Settlement: Bought mobile inventory part of their POS but software keeps crashing would like a refund.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

We are in receipt of complaint # *******. The customer states that our technical support was unable to help them however, at the time of this complaint there were no calls logged by the person lodging the complaint where a technician was given the chance to resolve the issue. We have since contacted the customer and are willing to help resolve the issue. In the last correspondence with the customer, they appear unwilling to speak to our technicians. We would like the opportunity to work with them and try to solve the issue. We have tens of thousands of customers who use our software and services and we are more than happy to assist. They have valid technical support with us and can contact us at their convenience at ###-###-#### as our support department is open 24/7/365.

Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *******



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on PC America
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart