BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Independent Recovery Resources, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Independent Recovery Resources, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 14
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Independent Recovery Resources, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 2001 Business started: 03/21/1996 in NY Business incorporated 03/21/1996 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Consumer Affairs - NYC
42 Broadway, New York NY 10004
http://www.nyc.gov/html/dca/html/home/home.shtml
Phone Number: 311

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Anita H. Manghisi, VP & Director of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Anita H. Manghisi, VP & Director of Operations
Business Category

COLLECTION AGENCIES


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Independent Recovery Resources, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 24 Railroad Avenue

    Patchogue, NY 11772 (631) 758-0900 (866) 271-6721

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I discovered that this company had reported to the major credit reporting companies that I had 2 delinquent accounts with a local hospital. Needless to say it damaged my credit score considerably. I was in the process of shopping banks to do a refinance for my mortgage. In going forward I was under the impression that my score was about 770 -780. I found it was considerably lower due to these erroneous delinquencies. I contacted the local hospital and they advised me that they had no open accounts with my name. When I contacted Independent Recovery they were less than helpful when I explained the situation. The names associated with the delinquencies were not even close to my name and a different address obviously. when they finally agreed the accounts were not mine they told me they would have them removed. When I asked for a letter stating that show I could show the banks I was dealing with. They said no. That the credit reporting companies generate the delinquencies and it was not their responsibility. The opposite is true. The collection companies inform the credit reporting companies' which I verified when I contacted Experian and Trans Union. My complaint is this company supplied false information to the credit reporting companies and refused to make a small accommodation in the form of a letter. It was their error not mine. Their action caused damage to my credit report and ultimately money due to a higher interest rate. The individual I spoke with was rude and not willing to accept any responsibility.

Desired Settlement: Immediate correction not 30-45 days as they stated.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******

This consumer was sent to us as a financial gaurantor for his granddaughter for medical services rendered. We are in the process of investigating this further with our client to get copies of what was signed at the time services were rendered. 

However, in the intereim, due to the extenuating circumstances, IRR has submitted requests for both accounts to be removed from this consumers' credit file. 

Unfortunately, IRR has no control nor knowledge as to the time frame and policy of the bureaus udpating their data files. 

I have submitted an immediate request again today to have both these accounts removed.  I will also be mailing the consumer a letter for his records. (see attachment)

If either you or the consumer have any additional questions/or concerns please email me as that is the best form of communication for me.

Sincerely,

Anita M*******

Dir. of Operations

P: ###-###-####

E: ************************

1/20/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have put in a complaint before on the company, and they reported to the BBB that they would remove their collection's reporting on my ******** and ********** and this has been over three months ago and yet nothing has changed. I want to know how long does it take to remove these collections off my information this not my debt and they have acknowledge and reported back to the BBB that it's true and that they were working on removing the what they reported to the credit bureaus. I need this resolved as soon as possible it is really hurting my credit score and I am having problems trying to open a new line of credit because of this company fails debt reporting under my name. PLEASE HELP ME!!!!

Desired Settlement: I would like to have this company to take the debt off my name and remove the collection from my ******** & ********** ASAP like they told the BBB they were going to do.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

This consumer's account has been sent to our attorneys for failure to pay an oustanding balance with our client, *** ******** Animal Hospital.   

According to our records, the consumer disputed this debt in 2014 of which we sent validation to him on April ** 2014. At this pint the matter is out of our hands, as he is in the process of being served. We did inform the consumer on more than one occassion to contact the attorneys directly, as the matter is out of our hands.

We strongly suggest the consumer contact the attorneys handling this case. They are: ************ * ******* located at ** ****** ** ***** * *********** ** *****. Their phone# is ###-###-####. The consumer should refer to IRR account# ****** when calling.

Sincerely,

Anita M*******

Dir. Of Operations.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Well their law firm is not the one's reporting a debt to the credit bureau's, the one's who are is Independent Recovery Resources INC the law firm ************* ******** * ****, P.C have reported back to the BBB about this debt and they know that it does not belong to me and belongs to my father **** ****** **, and who was served with court papers in regards to this issue. I have attached the court papers that say very clearly the name of my father not my name. I want this debt off my credit report ASAP

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ******




 

Business Response:

Dear *** ******

IRR has a signed payment receipt on file at the time services were rendered. Please have the consumer send a signed letter for us to compare signatures.

We will reopen the consumers' dispute for further investigation.

Sincerely,

Anita M. M*******

Dir. of Operations

** **************** ** ************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I will not sign anything for them I have submitted the copy of the court papers of who is the person they are taking to court in regards to this debt. Now that is all they need if their law firm has determined who the debt belongs to then I don't see any reason why the need to keep reporting on my credit. I have done everything to prove that this is not my debt and I have never been served with any court papers about this debt and if this continues. I will have contact the FTC because this is violation of FDCPA which is enforced by the FTC.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ******




 

10/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The debt collection agency claimed that they contacted me multiple times to collect a debt. In fact this was for a doctor's bill that I had already paid on time. I was contacted by the debt collection agency 2 years later claiming the bill was never paid. I have disputed this complaint with debt collection agency and they have not been responsive and have not returned by emails or phone calls to correct this mistake.

Desired Settlement: I would this incorrect item removed from my credit report. I would also like the company investigated for deceptive and dishonest business practices.

Business Response: IRR Has conducted a full investigation into this consumers' complaint.  As such, services were rendered to this consumer in 2011 of which payment was due in full at the time services were rendered.  He was billed by the original creditor/provider of which he never paid.  He became delinquent and ultimately was referred to IRR for collection efforts in Oct 2013.  He finally paid the client on 1/**/14 after the account was placed with our office.  IRR was not notified of this payment until 2/*/15.  The consumer never contacted IRR from Oct 2013 until Feb * 2015. At that time he informed us of the payment, of which IRR verified and updated its records. 

The consumer has since disputed this account on 6 different occasions all off of which IRR responded accordingly.  Every communication with this consumer was answered, including his email to me requesting this to be deleted as a courtesy. (see attached fax recieved 9/**/15 and emails to consumer on 10/*/5) 

The consumer brought to my attention in the 10/*/15 email that his payment date was incorrect.  He submitted a copy of his ledger showing the original payment date of 1/**/14. I informed him in the 10/*/15 email (see attached) I would correct immediately, of which i did. 

IRR also received a certified letter from the consumer on 10/*/15 requesting verification/validation of this debt and for no further contact.  The consumer already has verification/validation as he sent IRR a copy of HIS bill.  However, we are in the process of providing it to him AGAIN. 

I trust this will close out this consumers' complaint.  However if either you or the consumer need any additional information please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Anita M*******
Dir. of Operations
P: ###-###-####
E: ************************

5/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Collection agency misrepresents key facts in an attempt to collect debt - insists that attempted to collect costs of health treatment from the insurance provider when in fact that is a lie.

Desired Settlement: Stop reporting false, arbitrary, derogatory information about me; Adjust its procedures to stop using tactics of misrepresentation against other consumers

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

IRR received a letter from the consumer on 11/**/13
requesting validation and disputing the charges.  He stated he had insurance at the time.  
The address the consumer provided IRR was invalid. IRR attempted to mail the consumer a copy of his bill
and mail was returned as undeliverable. The consumer also informed us not to contact him, so
IRR couldn’t speak with him or contact him via mail to attempt to resolve the
matter any further.  

According to the billing efforts of our client, the consumers' insurance (**** ***** **** ******) was billed and denied for his policy being terminated during his treatment time.

 
IRR updated his account as disputed. IRR noted the account with his correspondence and request for no further contact.  IRR obliged the consumer accordingly.

If the consumer wishes to further discuss the matter he can certainly contact our collection department toll free at ###-###-####, Mon-Thurs. 8:30-7:00pm and Fridays 8:30-5:00pm.

Sincerely
***** ********
**** ** **********
P: ###-###-####
E: ************************



 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

No claims were ever filed.
No insurance company has any record of a claim and IRR has refused to provide any and has been ignoring my requests. 
Proof of coverage was already sent to them several times. IRR is ignoring that proof of coverage. 
IRR is misrepresenting facts in order to collect money. 

Sincerely,

***** *******




 

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

IRR has provided this consumer with proof that the healthcare provider followed it's billing procedures regarding obtaining and VERIFYING insurance coverage.  

According to our clients' records, *** ******* gave invalid insurance at the time services were rendered.  I have attached a copy of the following documents we provided the consumer for your records.
1.  Copy of the insurance information the consumer gave which was terminated at time servcies rendered
2.  Copy of the clients' insurance verification determining coverage was terminated at the time services were rendered.

The reason no claim was ever received by the carrier was due to the REJECTION the provider received from the clearing house when they attempted to verify/bill the consumers' insurance.  (see doc. attached) The Insurance was verified prior to filing the claim.

The consumer only gave the CORRECT insurance AFTER it was too late for the provider to file a "timely claim".  The consumer has been made aware of this by all parties involved. 

At this juncture, the provider is NOT obligated nor will they bill insurance of which they will receive a denial for timely filing. 

Unless the consumer has any NEW or DIFFERENT documents that show he is NOT responsbile for this balance the account will remain in collections. 

Sincerely,
***** ** ******** **** ** ********** ** ************************ ** ************ **** ***

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

Dear ** ******,

IRR/OCLI sends, again, (1) a copy of a card known to be valid for care provided during PREVIOUS year, (2) is a screenshot of the same card taken from a different place and (3) a screenshot of a website agreeing with (1). 

I can only speculate why IRR/OCLI goes to a great extent to provide the same DISTRACTIONS that are completely IRRELEVANT to this complaint. 

Their response also contradicts their justifications for this collection effort given in previous replies, it also contradicts insurance records. Now IRR states on behalf of OCLI that they did not, and they “will not bill insurance”, no matter what. 

Doesn’t matter the fact that customer received care from an in-network facility with an insurance in full effect and rendered full co-payment at the time of visit. Still, they will not bill the insurance provider.

Doesn’t matter if IRR/OCLI never tried to bill an insurance company for services rendered on a fully covered patient. Still, they will not bill the insurance provider.

Doesn’t matter if OCLI is an in-network provider and has contractually agreed to take the insurance fees for their services. Still, they will not bill the insurance provider.

Doesn’t matter if a benefits specialist from the insurance company has been calling IRR/OCLI looking for more information to issue a payment, and has been directed to call IRR or OCLI back and forth for weeks. Still, they will not bill the insurance provider.

Refusal to bill an insurance provider when care is fully covered, and no attempts were made to bill any insurance provider, is simply not acceptable. 

Starting and maintaining a collection procedure against me based on a third party (the insurance provider) is laughable and shows the current state of our credit enforcement and collection businesses. 

As stated several times before: this debt is not mine. As regulations between health insurance providers and medical facilities mandate, claims have to be submitted for payment before any payment can be “denied” or issued. Claims cannot be submitted verbally. Patients cannot submit claims on behalf of health providers. This matter should be resolved between the insurance company and the health provider. 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *******




 

4/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They are a collection agency. I paid a debt with my doctor in January. Independent Recovery Resources, Inc. HAS NOT reported that it was paid. They are ruining my credit. This practice is unethical and illegal.

Desired Settlement: Report to credit companies like ***** ***** that I am in good standing.

Business Response: Dear *** ******,

This account was paid in full on Jan **,  2015. As such, IRR reported the account in it's monthly file on Feb * 2015.  Additionally, we sent the consumer a paid notice for his records.


Unfortunately, IRR has no control nor knowledge over the time frame in which the bureaus update their data.  I would suggest that the consumer contact the bureaus directly to
inquire on when the data will be updated. 

If I can be of further assistance to either you or the consumer please contact me directly.

Sincerely,
***** ** ********
**** ** **********
P: ###-###-####
E: ************************
F: ###-###-####

4/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted the company stating that I am the mother of the patient who is **. All I wanted to do was tell them I had paid the bill through the doctors office and they would not listen to any information. I was just trying to inform them that that matter was settled. My daughter even though is ** is under my health insurance and is not financially responsible for the bill as it is stated at the doctors office. Extremely rude and not willing to help at all.

Desired Settlement: I would likethem to contact doctors office to verify that the debt was satisfied so that they may stop sending me letters for a lousy $100.

Business Response: Dear *** ******

IRR will be conducting a full investigation on this account as to the events that transpired between this consumers' mother and IRR. 
Unfortunately, without the consumers' permission we can not discuss the account with anyone other then the consumer/debtor.

Based on my preliminary investigation it appears that the mother of our debtor may have misrespresented herself to be the consumer.  This may have caused the account representative to be cautious and not engage in conversation. 

However, this account has since been closed/resolved of which IRR will send a letter to the consumer.
  

Sincerely,
***** * ********
**** ** **********
P: ###-###-####
E: ************************

12/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid a bill from I.R.R. on February *, 2013. They cashed the check and I have a copy of the cancelled check. Despite this, they keep reporting on my credit report that the account is active and I did not pay it. I called I.R.R. three times. They assured me they would correct it and send me a letter stating it was paid and it will be removed from my credit report. I stressed the importance of this because of a job I am applying for. They were dishonest and I never received the letter and according to the prospective job, it is STILL on my credit report. This is devastating to my credit and only for $124.

Desired Settlement: I want a letter immediately stating that this account has been paid since February *, 2013, as well as immediately updating my credit report, and furthermore, remove it from my credit.

Business Response: Dear *** ******,
IRR has already responded to this consumer as evident in the attached copy of an email sent the other day.  Additionally IRR has reported this account as paid back in 2013 when the consumer satisfied the account.  I've attched for both you and the consumer copies of his letter of satisfaction, which was sent to the consumer on multiple occassions, copy of my email communication to the consumer and a copy of an update I just submitted to the bureau.

IRR has no control nor knowledge over the time frame or policy of how the credit bureaus update their data. However this most certainly should have been updated back in 2013 when the account was satisfied.  

I instructed the consumer to let me know if this was showing as a "Paid Collection Account" or if it showed as "Unpaid". Sometimes consumers are confused on how an item will appear once it has been satisifed at the collection agency level. 

However, to ensure this matter is resolved I sent an udpate to the bureaus today to correct it, incase it is NOT appearing correctly. If the consumer has a copy of his report showing this as anything other then paid, please have him send IRR a copy so we can investigate further.  I also informed the consumer to contact the bureaus directly and dispute it for a faster response.

Sincerely,
***** ******** *** ** *** ** ************* *** *** ** ************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter appears has been resolved.  I will follow up with the **********, ******** and ******* to ensure my credit issue is resolved properly. It is unfortunate that it took a complaint with BBB for Independent Recovery to respond to my repeated requests.

Sincerely,
**** **** 



 

10/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They keep calling me at the phone number ###-###-####. A fully automated person tells me to please hold for an important call. After about 2 minutes, they hang up. I don't know what they want but I don't owe any money to anyone. I know that this is a collection agency as I looked them up online. They also call from ###-###-####. There is no one at this phone number that owes money to anyone.**** ***************************

Desired Settlement: Have them stop calling here. Have them explain what is going on. Maybe BBB can get an explanation. When I call, I get an automated machine. I never get to speak to anyone.

Business Response: Dear *** ******,

This consumer's phone# appears to be a wrong number and has since been marked as such.

If the consumer has any additional concerns please have her contact us at our toll free phone number ###-###-#### Mon-Thurs. 8:30-7:00pm and Fridays until 5:00pm EST.

Sincerely,
***** ** ******** **** ** **** ** ************ ** ************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** *****



 

9/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As soon as I got a letter from this company on the same day I called them regarding their collection for a medical bill from "Advanced Radiological Imaging" for $236.48 on account number: *******, I had advised them that there was a mailing error and that I had already paid this bill and I had a reference number of the payment which was ****** from Advanced Radiologcal Imaging, I told them of this error and asked them to correct the matter and make sure no negative information was reported on my credit profile, I also emailed them and sent them a mail to insure that they would get my message and I had it in writing and have evidence showing this. And still this company maliciously put a negative report on my credit when I made the payment and informed them of the payment within the time that was allowed from the notice I received fro this company. I find this company to be unethical and malicious in going after innocent consumers like me, who did the right thing and followed all protocols in paying my debts and resolving any issues between my original debtor.

Desired Settlement: I need them to request a removal from all the credit bureaus for this account and make sure they close this account for good, I need letter from them directly stating they have done this.

Business Response:

According to our records, IRR received this account in April of 2014 as an unpaid debt.  The consumer didnt inform us this was paid until June of 2014, which is why the account was reported as a delinquent account on the consumers' credit.

IRR made several attempts to reach the consumer in those two months, all of which were unsuccessful.  We never receivd notfication from the consumer/or the UPS of any chnatge of address nor did we receive mail returned to us.

If this is still showing as an unpaid item on the consumers' credit reporte please have the consumer dispute it with the bureaus and inform IRR so we can also dispute it on the consumers behalf.  IRR has no control over the time frame nor do we have knowledge on the policy/or process of how/when the credit bureaus update their data. 

If the consumer has proof that this account was paid prior to April of 2014 please have the consumer submit to IRR so we can investigate this further.  Valid proof of payment would consist of either a copy of a cancelled check, both front and back, copy of credit card statement or any other sufficient proof that shows our client received payment prior to 2014 of April.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[I only received one single letter from this company in June 2014, in their letter it exactly noted I had only 5 days upon receipt of the  letter to respond or dispute it, even though I find the 5 day response time inadequate or even non compliant to FDCPA rules, I  responded to it the next day, the company can pull their last letter sent to me and show proof of what exactly was written in this letter to me, it will show proof of the date that it was sent to me, how many days I had to respond to it, and that in the letter it specifically states that it has not been sent to collection as of June 2014, this company on purpose after the fact that they were notified of my payment to the original debtor proceeded anyway to send negative and false info to the credit bureaus irresponsibly and I find this very malicious. ]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ****




 

Business Response: Dear *** ******,

In response to this consumer's most recent complaint regarding this matter, IRR dosnt own this debt.  The original creditor owns the debt.  IRR has been contracted to perform collection services as a third party vendor for this client.  

Furthermore, IRR has validated this account on 8/**/2014 upon our first request to do so.  IRR will send yet another validation to the consumer today.

If I can be of further assistance to you or the consumer please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
***** ******** **** ** *** ************ *** *** ** ************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[An official complaint has been filed with the courts in order to get resolution with this, the company will need to answer the complaint in court. Thanks

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ****




 

7/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Just today I got an email from a credit score website I belong to, which claimed that IRR had submitted a bill to collections for $50 in my name! When I called IRR to ask about why they didn't send a notice to my former address, from which I moved just LAST YEAR, the first rep (a woman) refused to respond and said she would mail a verification of this debt to my current address. She then promptly hung up on me without letting me ask any other questions. She was extremely rude. I then called IRR's number several times, all of which (except the last call) I was cut off before being allowed to speak with anyone else. I believe this was deliberate as they probably now have my new number in their computer system. With the very last call I spoke with someone named "*****," who claimed he doesn't know why his company failed to write me at my previous address in ******* *** esp. given the fact that I did leave a forwarding address with the post office. Not only that, whenever mail came to my former address, the building manager ALWAYS sent it on to me. I think it's unethical for IRR to submit a bill to my credit report without giving me a chance to have them verify the debt. By law they are required to verify the debt. They are unethical crooks as far as I am concerned!

Desired Settlement: I want a written apology from both reps I spoke with today at IRR for how I was treated (esp. the first one). I want IRR to explain why they failed to contact me at my new address last year and why they decided to submit this bill to a credit reporting firm w/o contacting me first. They are required by law to verfiy the debt and I have every right to dispute it. It is my belief that IRR is trying to circumvent the law which they cannot do. If IRR continues to give me a hard time and refuses to verify the debt, and if IRR refuses to remove this bill from my credit report even though they haven't verified it, I WILL contact an attorney, I WILL sue and I WILL win.

Business Response:

According to our records, IRR did attempt to reach the consumer at all of her previous addresses on file.  We began our collection efforts back in March of 2013 of which no mail was returned to her former address in Pulaski.  We mailed to both the POB on file as well as her former street address. 

Additioanlly, IRR made numerous attempts to reach the consumer via telephone, all of which were unsucessful.  This account has been in collections for over a year with the consumer not responding to any of our efforts which is why it was credit reported.

We have udpated her account with her dispute of address change.  IRR has also sent the consumer validation of said debt to the new address she provided us on June ** 2014. 

In order to resolve this matter, if the consumer agrees the debt is valid/due and is willing to satisfy it in full via certified funds before our next reoprting cycle of the July **** 2014 we will consider deleting this account from her credit bureau.  Please understand this is a mere courtesy to the consumer and it is not the policy nor procedure nor our obligation to do so. 

Due to the Regulatory Complaint she filed we will require a General Release from the consumer. 

If this is agreeable have the consumer contact me directly at the following address/contact information.  Email is my best form of communication.

Sincerely,
***** ** ******** ********** *******  ** ************ *** *** ** ************ ** ************************   


 

5/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bills that were covered under workers compensation and were paid or been in process of being paid and that are on my name were fraudulently and illegally placed on **** ********* credit report ,damaging his credit score and preventing him to obtain a mortgage. Company fraudulently disclosed my personal information to third party. Company fraudulently sent letter to the address where I never resided and fraudulently obtained payment from **** ********* whom has nothing to do with the ****** ********* and Workers Comp bills. It took two days and 20 phone calls in order to get some answers.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the monies fraudulently obtained,removal of collection from **** ********* credit report ,letters to all 3 credit bureaus explaining what happened. Company have to be penalized for not doing "due diligence" search,have to be penalized to providing personal /health /billing/payment information to the third party. Company have to ensure that the claim for collection is legit;ie -the bills really arent being paid -and than proceed. Company have to send letter of the collection and not place collection on the credit report and then contact the person (in my case they contacted wrong person) and disclosed my personal information over the phone and via letter., They shall be prohibited to disclose social security numbers and DOB and all other info to ANYONE except the correct person. Recommendation - shut down the company-they violated every law that exist in regards to my case.

Business Response: IRR has already responded to both the consumer and the CFPB on the same complaint. (see attached copies of our response)

Unless the consumer has new/or additional information for us to reveiw we are awaiting to receive information from the original creditor to offer the consumer a final resolution.

Sincerely,
***** ** ******** ********** ******* ****** **** ** ************ *** *** ** ************ ** ***********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]The business disclosed fraudulently and illegally  my personal information to the third party-including my health information, full social security number,DOB,my home address,etc.Business send all my personal information to the third party person and on the address where I never resided.Business placed PAID "debt" on third party credit report hence damaging the person credit score.As a result of the business illegal and fraudulent action third party person is unable to obtain mortgage and is planing to seek damages in the court.

The bill in question 09/**/2011 was paid by WCB and proof of such was provided.Business declined to rectify the issue as requested.

Attorney have been consulted at present time of filling law suit to go after Business to obtain full remedies as Law provide and allows.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *********




 

5/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was notified via a credit report that IND REC RES had a claim on there for $272 from my Primary doctor. Upon contacting IND REC RES and speaking with ******, we were able to determine the Dr. billed the wrong ins company. While ****** requested an itemized bill from the Dr with the acct # used to bill the insurance company, I called the insurance company to confirm the Dr didn't bill them on the date in question (1/**/2013). The ins didn't see a transaction from the Dr. for this date. The ins company gave me all the information the Dr would need in order to submit the proper claim. When I contacted IND REC RES to let ****** know it appeared to have been submitted incorrectly by the Dr and would need to be resubmitted. My call was answered by **** this time. **** proceeded to tell me that I needed to pay IND REC RES via certified check and that was the only way to resolve the issue. I tried to explain to her that I was working with ****** and that the payment should be sought from the correct ins co. to which **** told me I was trying to talk around her and hung up the phone. When I called back and got **** again, **** quickly stated having this record removed from my credit report was no longer an option and she hung up again without me asking any questions about the account. I was able to reach ******* when I called back again. ****** told me the Dr would have to submit the claim to the correct ins company but she was still requesting the bill from the Dr for me. I asked ****** what authority **** had to withdraw the option to have this removed from my credit report, if I paid the claim via certified check. ****** was unaware of any reason. It seems collection employees can arbitrarily apply or deny the option of credit report removal. I left a msg for the claims **********, ****** but have yet to hear back. Seems this company has empowered its people to apply rules arbitrarily to whomever they see fit. This is a VERY unprofessional organization that no organization should solicit service from if they wish to reach a resolution on the debt they are trying to collect.

Desired Settlement: Clear rules stating what actions are available to debtors and why those rules can be selectively applied to debtors (me) by their collection agents (****).

A Phone Call

Business Response: Dear *** ******,

IRR is conducting a full investigating as to the events that took place on 3/**/2014 with regards to a conversation *** ********* had with one of our account represetnatives, ****. 

To clarify, it is not the policy nor procedure of IRR to remove information once we have credit reported it.  This account was sent to us as a delinquent balance back in Dec. of 2013.  THe consumer is only now notifying us of any potential issue with his insurance carrier, of which our records show Oxford was billed.  

In order to resolve this matter, we suggest the consumer satisfy this balance and seek reimbursment from his carrier.  IRR has actually three different service dates in collections, totalling 322.00.  Two represent the patients' copayment of 25.00.  

I have updated the one account as being disputed to reflect on his credit history and we will conduct our investigation into the allegations made against an IRR Account Rep. for any appropriate disciplinary action.  

If I can be of any further assistance to you or the consumer, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Sincerely,
***** ** ********
******** ** **********
###-###-####
E: ************************
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

*** ******,

I reject IRR's response as IRR's representative, *****, has not addressed any of the issues I have requested be addressed via your forum. Both of IRR's agents offered to remove this occurance from my credit report if I paid the balance in full by cashiers check. **** was the only agent who revolked that option. Having ***** now state it is not in IRR's policy/procedures to remove occurrances from a credit report not only avoids my questioning of ****'s actions but can be seen as an acusatory statement against my charactor. Please request IRR post all of the .wav files of the phone calls between them and myself to illustrate this fact for what it is. I'm am still waiting for IRR to contact me regarding the bill they requested from the Dr. and am awaiting the results of their investigation into this matter.

Since IRR's rep has chosen to ignore my intial request of a phone call to resolve these issues and would prefer to address these issues via your forum, I will oblige.

In this case the Dr. chose not to bill the appropriate insurance carrier and then to refer the balance to a collection agency. Neither the Dr. nor the collections agency verified with the consumer that they were trying to redeem their claim from the proper insurance carrier for over a YEAR! Had either of them contacted me I would have easily provided them with the information needed to contact the proper carrier in order to have the balance satisfied, as was done as soon as this matter was brought to my attention. It doesn't appear any verification of information was done by either. Therefore, here are the questions I have outstanding and request your assistance obtaining a response to:

What diligence was taken by IRR to ensure this debt had been managed and proper resolution had been sought by the Dr.? What attempts to reach the consumer were taken by IRR before taking action which would have an adverse affect on the consumer? Why have IRR's methods of communication with/to/about the consumer appear to only be negative in nature?  This is illustrated by their lack of personal commuication to the consumer in addition to their inclusion of itemized charges in their response to you. Co-pays?  What is their relevance to the issue at hand?

Ultimately, this item should be removed from the consumers credit report as the Dr billed it incorrectly. This is not the fault of the consumer and as such should require removal from the consumers credit report. Once the consumers attention was brought to this matter, the information required to bill this transaction was provided to the Dr's office.

IRR would serve itself well with some initial investigation and validation of responsiblity of the debt rather than wasting their time and trying to bully a consumer into paying a debt they do NOT owe.


Should you or IRR require further information regarding this matter, please don't hesitate to contact me.

******* 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *********




 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

**** ******,

 

University Physicians Group resolved this debt between the insurance company and themselves back in April and updated IRR appropriately. This issue is still on my credit report so I contacted UPG for clarification.  UPG again today notified IRR that no debt was owed by me to UPG and all references should be removed from my credit report.  IRR has still not complied with this request nor has IRR provided any information I requested (itemized bill, etc.) in reference to this debt.  In fact they sent me another bill last week stating the that I was responsible for this debt.  This is either an illustration of IRR inability to conduct responsible business or it is retaliatory action by IRR against me.  Please include these statements in any publication regarding IRR's business practices.

 

Any assistance you can provide in motivating IRR to remove these fraudulent claims from my credit report are appreciated.

 

Thank you,

******* *********

 

 

 

 


Sincerely,

******* *********




 

Business Response: As of recent, our client has informed us they are writing the balance off as a mere courtesy to this consumer.  According to the records of our client *** ********* did not provide the correct/updated insurance at the time services were rendered which is ultimately how the account was referred to IRR as a past due balance.  Accordingly a request will be submitted to the consumer credit bureaus to have this item removed.  

However, *** ********* still owes for unpaid copayments for his other two accounts which remain in collections for a total due of $50.00 of which he has failed to make any attempts or acknowledgment on paying.

Furthermore, *** ********* has never requested an itemized bill, nor contacted IRR before he learned these accounts were on his credit.  IRR has made several attempts to reach the consumer to resolve all of his accounts. *** ********* did not respond. 

IRR has responded to all of the consumers' inquiries, which have only occurred recently.  IRR has conducted its investigation and the matter is now concluded.  We will be mailing *** ********* a letter indicating that the account has been closed and a request is being made for the item to be removed from his credit.   

3/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a bill from Independent Recovery Resources stating that I owed *** **** ********* $121.26. I called the *** ********* ###-###-#### and was told that I owed nothing. I tried to contact Independent Recovery at the telephone located on the letter ###-###-#### and found this telephone to be answered by a machine that plays music. I attempted to contact someone at this number for several days nothing. I checked with the BBB and found another telephone number for Independent Recovery Resources ###-###-#### and this number just rings. Today I received any alert from the credit bureau that this has affected my credit rating negatively. How can a company suddenly send you a letter for the first time from a Dr. which you go to regularly and states you have a ZERO balance and you can even speak to this company to find out why this bill was sent to you. I been affect my this being reported to the credit bureau falsely while I was in a process at re-financing my home and now my loan may not be approved.

 In repair I meant repair my credit by removing this bill off my credit report. I never received any prior bills from Independent Recovery. I have enclsoed the only bill I received dated September **, 2013 from them. Upon reciept of this letter I immediately called *** **** ********* and she informed me that I have a zero balance. I tried to contact Independent Recovery at the telephone number listed on the letter I received only to find that a machine answers and plays music. This number does not allow a message to be left. I looked up this company and found the telephone number you have listed for this company ###-###-#### and this telephone just rings.
I do not owe *** ********* for any services and find it concerning to see how a collection company can send you a bill and you are unable to contact them. Independent Recovery has report this to the National Credit Bureau and this has effect my credit score and I need your help. Please contact me regarding this matter Thank you **** *****

Desired Settlement: BBB should investigate this company actions and they need to have a telephone number for consumers to reach them.


Repair my credit by removing this bill off my credit report

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

Independent Recovery Resources, Inc. has investigated the consumers' complaint with regards to her inability to contact us via telephone.  The phone# ###-###-#### phone# is a number we provide to NYC residents as required by law, it must be answered by a natural person, in which it is. If she called and heard music, that is our HOLD music we play. The consumer must not have stayed on the line long enough to get to our agents. I have tested this line and it works fine. 

With regards to the ###-###-#### phone number you have listed for IRR. That is our Company's Main telephone number which goes to our IVR for options on sales, administration, etc.  That is not the phone# we give out for consumers to call about their outstanding bills.  However, we are aware that we have been experiencing issues with that line and are working on having it repaired. Unfortunately we are at the mercy of our phone vendor on that issue.  Please have the consumer contact our collection department Mon-Thurs. 8:30am-7:00pm and Fridays 8:30am-5:00pm toll free at ###-###-#### and a representative will be happy to assist her.

With regards to the consumer not having a balance, we are in the process of getting her an itemized bill and will mail to her as soon as we receive it.  Whenever an account is referred to an outside collection agency, the original creditor writes it off to bad-debt and charges off the balance, hence reflecting a ZERO balance in their system.  Unfortunately whomever she spoke to at the doctors' office wasnt familiar enough with their business practices/accounting procedures to inform the consumer that the balance is STILL DUE AND OWING.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

***** * ********

********** *******

I.R.R., Inc.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Good Afternoon *** ******,

I attempted to contact Independent Recovery Resouces today at ###-###-#### and again this number just plays music. I held on for 45 mins and no prompt came to the telephone nor did a person come on. *** ****** please try this telephone and you will see that it does not work.

*** **** ********* is my doctor that I see on a regular basis. I continue to see her at no time have I ever had a balance with her. She is in the process of sending me a letter stating this. I work and have very good health insurance and my medical bills are always promply paid.

My additional problem is that this collection company never send me a bill prior to the letter received dated Sept **, 2013 and then a few days laters reported this to the credit bureau without me having a valid contact number to dispute these charges.

I have contact my attorney regarding this matter and request that they remove this from my credit report immediately.

**** *****

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *****



 

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

Please have the consumer sign and return to us the attached HIPAA Patient Consent form for us to release the itemized bill.  In the interim, we have attached a copy of the patient's EOB, which clearly show patient is liable for coinsurance, copays and deductible.  That is what the consumer is being balance billed for.

If I can be of further assistance please do not hestitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

***** * ********

 

********** ******* ** ************ ** ************ ** ************************

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved. Please let me know the telephone number or address where I can go to make the payment ASAP.

I don't understand the reason IRR never billed me prior to placing this bill on my credit report. Below is the statement IRR stated that they will remove this from my credit report as long as this is done immiedately I accept this respond.

.In order to resolve the consumer's complaint, we are sending her the itemized bill. Upon reviewing if there are no additional disputes to contend with and she satisfys the balance in full via certified funds we will remove it from her credit report. Please understand this is not the policy nor procedure of this office to do this, it will be done as a MERE courtesy to the consumer. Furthermore we will require a general release of liablity from the consumer.

Sincerely,

**** *****



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Independent Recovery Resources, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart