BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

C.Tech Collections, Inc.

Additional Locations

Fax: (631) 331-9566 View Additional Phone Numbers 5505 Nesconset Hwy, Ste. 200, Mt. Sinai, NY 11766 http://www.ctech-collects.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that C.Tech Collections, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for C.Tech Collections, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1989 in NY Business incorporated: 01/01/1989 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Joel Marchiano, CEO
Business Category

COLLECTION AGENCIES

Alternate Business Names
Collect Tech U S Collectech

Additional Locations

  • 5505 Nesconset Highway, Suite 200

    Mt. Sinai, NY 11766

  • 5505 Nesconset Hwy, Ste. 200

    Mt. Sinai, NY 11766

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (631) 828-3100(Phone)
  • (631) 828-3150(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: C-tech collections has been notified by me by phone and by mail that the amount of 670.00 is not owed by me to their medical client. As I already reported to them in writing, I entered ***** ***** hospital as a emergency patient; and their client was supposed to process their billing with ***** insurance company. C-Tech collections was informed of this and was requested to contact their client, provide my letter to their client, and have their client provide proof that they had billed ***** insurance which is what they were both requested to do. C-Tech collections has damaged my credit with this reporting and did not contact their medical client, did not provide me any proof of billing, and did not verify that their client ever billed ***** insurance as they were required to do in the first place. I spoke with ***** insurance and they verified that C-Tech collections medical client did not bill *****. I am not responsible for this billing nor the negligence of C-TECH collections medical client to follow through in processing their own. I am on 100 percent disability and this negligent reporting is making me SICK!

Desired Settlement: I want C-Tech to have this amount of 670.00 removed from all my credit beauros, inform the credit beauros that their reporting was an error, and inform their medical client to follow proper procedure with their billing.

Business Response: Ctech Collections, Inc. received this account from *** ******** in ********** on December *** 2013. The date of service is May **, 2013.
The original billed amount to ***** was $2500.00 for ********** services performed by ***** ********** on 05-**-13.
After the ***** insurance payment and write off was applied to the $2500, the patient responsibility is $670.00.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

I had called the **********s office at the time of treatment and ***** was to be billed.  I reported that my *********** did not perfrom the job properly and inflicted pain to me at the time of service due to improper application of my **********.   ***** told me that the ********* office did not submit billing.   ***** said they only pay in accordance to what available to a doctor.  This was an en emergency visit and ***** pays the ********** a fixed amount and I did not agree to pay any extra.   The doctors office never supplied me with a breakdown of billing and delibertly sent my proposed billing to C-Tech. 

C-Tech never called me, sent me any mailings of notification of proof of billing, or emailed me showing me proof of this billing and C-tech  delibertly reported me the credit beauros without my knowldege.   My credit has been affected by C-Tech; and I am seeking compensation for the lack of proper and professional reporting.

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ***********




 

Business Response: Our client **** ******** in ********** never received a call or written complaint from *** *********** stating any issue with ********** provided.

**** ******** in ********** filed a claim to *** ***********'s insurance *****. As per the member's policy a balance of $670.00 was deemed due as co-insurance by *****. The member can appeal this balance directly with his carrier.

**** ******** in ********** sent bills requesting payment without a response.

A request for a brake-down of the bill was never requested by *** ***********. No correspondence was ever received.

C-Tech received the file on 12/*/13.
Four letters were sent to *** *********** ***** *******, ** ***** on :
12/*/13
1/**/14
2/**/14
3/**/14
C-Tech left 3 messages on ###-###-#### on : 1/**/14, 3/**/14 & 3/**/14.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

The response from C-Tech is false and without any proof of fact.       Their client **** ******** in ********** did in fact recieve several calls from me and also two letters to them stating my concerns and complaints.   I had also sent these same letters to C-Tech after I had seen that C-tech reported this billing on my credit reports without notifying me of any concerns by their client.


My *** ******* and 5 of the hospitol nursing staff at the hospitol did "witness" that the ********** did not perform the treatment appropriately which caused me brusing and pain during and after her ********** treatment.   With my doctor witnessing, The Hospitol staff made comments to the ************ "We thought you were the best, whats the problem!"  when the *********** wasnt able to insert the needle appropriately after 4 attempts in the same arm, and then moved to another body part to insert the needle.


I was never notified by C-tech of any issues with **** ******** in ********** at any time by mail, certified mail, email, or phone.
I had not been offered any settlement by **** ******** in ********** at the time of my complaints to them last year.

C-Tech did not contacted me at any time, prior to me contacting them, which was after my credit report was damaged by them.
I did not recieve any 30 notice by C-tech prior to their reporting their clients proposed claim to the credit beauros, and this is a legal requirement.

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ***********




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues