BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

This Business is not BBB accredited

National Collector's Mint

Phone: (800) 452-4381 Fax: (914) 935-3321 8 Slater Street, Port Chester, NY 10573 http://www.Nationalcollectorsmint.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for National Collector's Mint include:

  • Government action(s) against business

Factors that raised the rating for National Collector's Mint include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 36 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

36 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 19
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 36

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 2000 Business started: 09/01/1994 in DE Business incorporated: 09/01/1994 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Avram C. Freedberg, President
Related Businesses
BioLogic Solutions
Business Category

COIN DEALERS, SUPPLIES, ETC. STAMPS-COLLECTORS


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8 Slater Street

    Port Chester, NY 10573

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered some Silver Morgan Coins and paid $230.50 using my credit card. I have received nothing and the tracking number that I had to call and get from them doesn't exist. I even spoke to 2 different people at this company and received 2 different tracking numbers which neither tracking number exists. I think I have been scammed and/or this company is a fraud.

Desired Settlement: I want a full and complete refund.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered three Morgan Silver Dollars from National Collector's Mint (NCM) on 03/**/2014. NCM's advertising and guarantee states the coins are in brilliant uncirculated condition or they will be replaced at no charge. Only one of the three coins is in brilliant uncirculated condition. The second one has been circulated and the third one is heavily circulated, making them unsatisfactory and not in compliance with NCM's guarantee. I wrote to NCM on 04/**/2014 requesting replacements and this letter was not answered.

Desired Settlement: Two replacement Morgan Silver Dollars in brilliant uncirculated condition as advertised. The two unsatisfactory coins will be returned.

Business Response: Dear *** *****,

 

Thank you for
bringing this matter to our attention. Upon receipt of this complaint, we
immediately reviewed our records.

 

****** **** Placed an order for 3
Morgan Silver Dollars. These Morgans are advertised as being in mostly brilliant
uncirculated to fine condition.

 

We spoke with *** **** on
05/2014 he will be exchanging two of the coins he is not happy with.

 

National Collector’s Mint strives
for 100% customer satisfaction. We do hope that this matter is brought to a
resolution.

 

 

Sincerely,


 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After responding to an ad in Smithsonian Magazine for "circulated" Morgan silver dollars for $29 each, I was subjected to a very heavy-handed attempt to get me to instead purchase a set of 5 uncirculated coins for over $700. Despite my protestations about not being interested in the latter, the saleswoman persisted in rudely continuing her sales pitch -- even to the point of calling me back after I eventually hung up. It became clear to me why the ad said they would accept phone orders only -- not because (as the ad claimed) there were so few of the $29 coins, but because the real aim of the ad was to attract callers they could then browbeat into buying the vastly more expensive coins. It was the most blatant bait and switch I've ever had the displeasure to encounter.

Desired Settlement: I wanted to go on record with this complaint because I am certain you will receive others about this company's shoddy tactics.

Business Response:

 

RE: ******* **** ********

Order # *******

 

Dear Ms. ******

 

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Upon receipt of this complaint, we immediately reviewed our records.

 

The recording of the phone call referred to in the complaint has been reviewed by our compliance department.  Contrary to the statement made by the customer, there was no attempt to “bait and switch” the customer to a different product from what he called to order. 

 

After entering an order for the item the customer requested and confirming the price of the item, the representative offered an additional product.  There was no attempt at substitution for the original item; rather, the representative asked if the customer would like to add to his order.  When Mr. ******** declined, and asked that his entire order be cancelled, the representative complied.  The company will honor his desire not to be solicited in the future.

 

At National Collector’s Mint, we strive for 100% customer satisfaction.  We do hope this matter has been brought to a resolution.

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

****** ******* 

******** ******* *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased several coins in the past from this company, but they kept on sending me coins,etc.that I didn`t want. I did not open them and sent them back to the company. They charged me $24.90 for each item. I have called them several times,only to hear that they didn`t recieve them. They tell me that it is my fault for not opening them and using the return lable and not insuring the packages. How are we suppossed to know that they had to be insured when I didn`t even order the items to start with? All I want is to get my money back. I am a widow and living on Social Security so the money is a big deal to me. I hope we can get a solution for thiw problem.. Tank you for help . ***** ** *******

Business Response:

******** *** **** *** *** ******* ******* ***** ****** ******** ****** *** ***** ****** **** ***** *** ********** ** *****

*** ******* ***** * ******* ***** * ******** ******** *******

Dear **. *****,

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Upon receipt of this complaint, we immediately reviewed our records.

**. ******* placed an online order on August *, 2012.  This order was associated with a monthly shipment of tribute proofs. She is stating she returned the last three orders.  The first was a 1907 DE /Tribute Proof shipped on 11/**/2012. The next was a 1895 MSD Tribute Proof shipped on 12/**/2012. The last shipment was a 1849 DE Tribute Proof that was shipped on 01/**/2013.

Per our records we have not received the merchandise back. *** ******* also did not have any tracking information to provide. However, to ensure 100% customer satisfaction we have provided a refund for these 3 orders in the amount of $24.90 each.  We spoke to ***. ******* on 2/**/2013 to advise she was provided a refund for these orders.

National Collector’s Mint strives for 100% customer satisfaction. We do hope that this matter is brought to a resolution.

Sincerely,

****** *******

Customer Service Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2012 Delivery Issues
6/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/12/2012 Delivery Issues
4/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/21/2012 Delivery Issues
3/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/13/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/14/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/8/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/4/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/2/2011 Delivery Issues
10/21/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/18/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues