BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

Freshpair Inc.

Phone: (212) 505-6900 Fax: (212) 202-5420 611 Broadway, Ste. 523, New York , NY 10012 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.freshpair.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Freshpair Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Freshpair Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 2001 Business started: 04/01/2000 in DE Business incorporated: 10/02/2007 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Seth Entis, Finance Manager Mr. Matthew Butlein, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Seth Entis, Finance Manager
Business Category

CLOTHING-RETAIL MEN'S CLOTHING & FURNISHINGS-RETAIL WOMEN'S APPAREL-RETAIL

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards , and PayPal
Refund and Exchange Policy
No Hassle Return Policy

Items must be unwashed and unworn.
In the original brand packaging.
Returned within 60 days of delivery. Returns received after 60 days will be refunded with store credit.
Hosiery and shapewear with hosiery attached cannot be returned once they have been opened.
Heat sealed plastic packages of underwear and socks cannot be returned once package has been opened.
Bras may be returned as long as all tags are kept intact and they are free of any signs of wear and tear. Try on only as you would in a fitting room.
Clearance and discontinued items cannot be returned.
Gifts with purchase are yours to keep and cannot be returned.
Note that every return is subject to thorough inspection, as product quality is super important to us.
Freshpair really cares about your safety, so we abide by all Health Code regulations that pertain to the underwear industry and even some of our own. This means returns that don't pass our quality control inspection will incur a 25% processing fee and be refunded with store credit.How long does it take?
We don't like to keep you waiting, so we process your return as fast as we can and follow up with a friendly confirmation email. The whole process takes approximately 7-10 business days. If you opted for a refund over an exchange, we will credit the original payment method.

Shipping Fees

In order to provide the free shipping you know and love, we leave return shipping costs up to you, but nowadays it's cheap and easy. Additional customs fees may apply for international exchange orders.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with the company, i received an email that my order was shipped on July ****, as of this date i have not received the merchandise, i contacted the seller today 8/*/14 to look into it and i was told the package shoed delivered, i advised the rep i did not received the order and i was told becaus of the amount i had to dispute the charge with my credit card company as if I was disputing the charge, i advised the rep i was not disputing the charge and i wanted the product, i was told no sir, its a high amount and we wont risk sending it again, you have to contact your credit card company and dispute the charge, at this point the rep refuse to assist and i asked for a **********, take note i was not placed on hold, the rep muted me, another male answer the phone and i asked if in deed he was a ********** because his voice was the same as the previous rep, the male became very hesitated and stated no sir iam i ********** and in deed i can not send you another package because of the amount after going back and forth i stated i am not disputing the charge i want the products i paid for, the ********** said call your credit card company and dispute the charge sir, thats all i can do for you, i then asked the rep for their customer relations number and i was given a phone number ###-###-#### and i was told this was the direct phone number for the companies customer relations area, i called about 20 times trying to reach any one and no answer, note the options when you call this numbers do not list customer relations, i gave up calling this number and i proceeded to contact my credit card company and my claim was not process, the rep on my credit card company stated, she couldnt process the claim because i had order the items and i was not disputing the charge, that i had to contact the merchant to either get a refund or have the items shipped again, i did not contacted the seller because it is obvious they do not want to assist. my order number is ***********

Desired Settlement: i would like to have the items i order shipped since those are items i want and need.

Business Response: We appreciate the time in sending us the complaint. 

The reason why the option to reship the order was denied is because of the issue of missing packages to the address as stated by the customer. The reshipment may end up missing again and that would cause another inconvenience on his part which is our main concern.

Also, 2 out of the 4 items on his order is no longer available.

With this, we proceed with the full refund back on the original form of payment. The refund may take 3-5 business days to reflect on his statement.

Our advise to the customer is to make an investigation as to why packages delivered are missing as this is a cause of alarm with regards to their security and to prevent the same issue happening again.

If there are further questions or clarifications, please feel free to contact us back.

Thanks,
*****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My original order with FRESHPAIR was an e-conmerce purchase from their website. I ordered 12 pair of underwear for $117.XX on 04-**-2014 @ 22:40:47 PM EST with my VISA card; Order number ********** with a status of Shipped. Several days later I had not received a tracking number for the order I had placed; which I thought was unusual, so I called their customer service representative on 5-*-2014 and she stated that it should ship in the next couple of days. I waited until 5-*-2014 and called because I had not received any update via email for tracking the shipment and she stated they had lost the order per this second converstation on 5-*-2014. On 5-*-2014 the customer rep. was nice and tried to resolve the problem by replacing the order with a free replacement and free expedited shipping of 2-4 days; Unfortunately they did not have stock for all of the 12 items ordered, only 6 items were available. So she stated they would credit my account with $47.XX and to wait several days to see the credit. I received a pre-shipment notification from USPS on 5-*-2014 where only electronic shipping information was received by the parcel service, not the actual parcel package. I waited another day (5-*-2014) and looked up my order online at FRESHPAIR.com to have it also show shipped on 5-*2014. I called the customer rep. today (5-*-2014) to follow up with FRESHPAIR to find out what was going on with this replacement shipment. The customer rep. suggested I wait until Monday (5-**-2014) and I should see the tracking information and a date that I should see the delivery.

Desired Settlement: Delivery in a timely manner, a refund of the balance as promised and a change to their website or policy to warn purchasers of the possibility of not receiving their shipments due to ........ .

Business Response: Hi BBB, 
This is ***** from Freshpair Customer Service. 
We are reaching out to you regarding a complain you received from our customer. 
Just want to confirm that the customer is ******* ******* who made a purchase from us last May 2014. 
Initially, his order was lost in transit when he contacted us which was resolved by reshipping the available items and refunding those that are out of stock. 
Unfortunately, looking at the tracking information of the reshipment, it also got lost. 
Since we are unable to track individual packages unless the customers contacted us to follow up or inquire, the reshipment was thought to be delivered successfully since the customer did not reach out to us again. 
With this, we have successfully refunded the full amount back on the original form of payment. It may reflect within 3-5 business days on the customers statement. 
If there is anything we can be of much help and assistance, please do not hesitate to inform us. 
Best, ***** 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ** April 2014 I ordered * bras from Freshpair.com. Together with shipping and handling I paid US$ 127.34 through PayPal. All * items were in stock and ready to be shipped within 24 hours, according to the Freshpair website. On * May I received an email stating that one of my items was on backorder, scheduled for delivery on * June. The email included the following text: "Although these items are currently on back order, we may have color and/or size substitutions available! Please reach out to us so that we can assist you with any changes. Otherwise, hold tight! We often receive inventory in a swift fashion. Should an exceptional circumstance arise and we find it is taking an abnormal time to receive your items your back ordered items will be canceled automatically at 60 days so that you can find something else. Please reach out to us if you have any questions We are here to help." On * May I received another email stating that a different item was discontinued. This email included the following text: "We know that you have been waiting for your item and are sorry to inform you that the item has since been discontinued and we will no longer be receiving inventory. We know this is a bummer and apologize or any disappointment this has caused. We would like to offer a 10% discount code which is valid for 14 days and hope that you can find something new that is just as great! Just enter ####### in the promo box at check out. Reach out to us should you need assistance. We are here to help! Thank you for shopping at Freshpair!" On * May I wrote an email to ***************************** AND to ********************** with the following text: "Complaint about Freshpair Order #***********?: Dear Sir/Madam, I ordered * bras from Freshpair 8 days ago. All three of them were "in stock to ship" (see below). Then how come I was notified of one being on back order until June yesterday and another to be completely sold out only today? They should have shipped a week ago!! And now you offer me a measly 10% discount on a new bra??? It looks like I'd have to pay for international shipping again, which is ridiculous. And why can't I get 25% off with the FF2014 code? It says that this discount is not available to international customers. Why on earth not? Please put my order on hold until you can come up with a decent solution, because this is unacceptable. If you fail to provide said solution I'd rather get a FULL refund. Regards, I. ******" I then immediately received an automated message saying: "Your request (#*****) has been received and is being reviewed by our support staff. To add additional comments, reply to this email or click the link below: *******************************************" Less than 4 hours later (still Sunday (!!) * May) I receive an email saying that item #* has been shipped. In this same email there is mention of the item that had been on backorder until * June will now be shipped on 10 May and the item that was supposedly discontinued will now be shipped on * June. I replied to this message 20 minutes later, addressing both ***************************** and ********************** by saying: "I HAD ASKED TO PUT MY ORDER ON HOLD!!!! I cannot believe how you can mess up my order like this. Shame on you Freshpair!!" After a few seconds I again received an auto-reply: "Your request (#*****) has been received and is being reviewed by our support staff. To add additional comments, reply to this email or click the link below: ****" On 7 May I wrote to ***************************** and **********************: "Dear Sir/Madam, Since my complaint I have received conflicting emails from you, so I no longer know what's going on with my order. I have also received several SPAM messages. What I haven't received is a reply to my complaint (below). Please look into this and come back to me or I will have to cancel my order. I. ******" Nearly an hour ago (today 8 May) I wrote to ***************************** and **********************: "Last chance for resolution Freshpair Order #***********: Dear Sir/Madam, Since you fail to reply to any of my emails I'm hereby letting you know that this is your last chance to resolve this situation concerning my order, before I register my complaint with the Council of Better Business Bureaus. I now want a full refund as I'm no longer interested in your products or doing business with you. If I don't hear from you in the next 12 hours (which will be 5:20 pm New York time) I will contact the CBBB. I. ******" The thing is I just realised I can't wait any longer as the second bra may be shipped in two days and I just don't want their products anymore. I'm running outof time. That's why I'm letting you know now. I noticed I'm not alone in running into trouble with Freshpair Customer Service. This is a story exactly like my own: ******************************************* Can you please help me? Thanking you in advance, ****** ******

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund, including shipping costs. I will return the bra they already sent me, regardless of them ignoring my request to put my order on hold. Note: Said bra is still in transit.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ******


 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered one item on October **. The order number is ***********. On October **, I was informed by email that the item was backordered but would ship on October **. Needless to say, nothing arrived. On November *, I was informed by email that the item was backordered but would ship on December *. The very next day, November **, I got another email saying it would be December **. On November **, I received an email stating that the item would be shipped on November **. Once again, nothing arrived. Finally, on December *, I received yet another email stating that the item was backordered and would be shipped on January *. Obviously, these emails are beyond useless (January *ship date? Really? You are open on New Year's Day?). After the first two, I should have considered myself warned that I am dealing with, at best, incompetence, and at worst, dishonesty. Neither is acceptable.

Desired Settlement: Either send me the item or cancel the order. At least you have had the decency not to charge my credit card yet. But your repeated and consistently broken promises of imminent shipment are outrageous. The public should be warned that you are a company that repeatedly misrepresents the status of orders to its customers.

Business Response: We completely understand the customer's grievances. Due to high demand, we are waiting for inventory from the vendor. Unfortunately we have had to push back the arrival times much further than initially anticipated, which is why there have been several emails with updated dates. Since we cannot guarantee an exact date this item will arrive, we have cancelled the order as requested.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a pair of underwear advertised as microfiber. In the description microfiber was mentioned three times with no other material listed. The pair I received in the mail was cotton, which is a lower quality, and most importantly not what I ordered. ********************************************************************* This is the website's information, which doesn't say stretch cotton anywhere. I would not have ordered this pair based on this information, which was misleading on all accounts. This item was final sale, so they do not allow me to return it, even though the product was not what was listed. I asked for a refund, an exchange, or store credit. I was offered a 10% coupon code, which is the equivalent of $2 for such purchases.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. Had I known the product was cotton, I would not have bought it in the first place.

Business Response: Please see the two attached documents for ******* ***** and ***** ***. 
 
You will see that I have refunded ******* back to her card with a remaining balance of 7.30 for item she kept. I will also be sending her correspondence letting her know this was taken care of. 
 
***** was also refund on 7/**. 
 
Please let me know if there is any further information explanation needed. All in all both customers have been refunded in full for the items in questions. 
 
Cheers, 
 
****

Business Response: I apologize for the delay. This is a mistake on our part and the exception should have been made for the customer. I have refunded the full amount to his card. Please see the screen shot. I will also be writing the customer to apologize and notify him of the refund. 
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2x paris of underwear from Freshpair order number: *********** Total was $22.50. Order tracking:********************** I found the colour grey was too light and followed the process as outlined in their refund policy - I posted the item back - they had not said in their returns policy to get tracking for it - so i just went to the USPS and had it posted back. I am now waiting weeks and no refund is apparent. I contacted their customer service and was spoken to by: ******* *****, ********************************************* Who had asked me for tracking. As I don't have this and no where was it stated on the policy on the site to get this, I have no way of proving delivery. I'm really upset and purchased this in good confidence. I am shocked by their actions and all I want is a full refund.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of the $22.50 and apology and correction for the returns policy which is highly misleading.

Business Response: Please see the attached document for ***** ***.

***** was refunded on 7/**.

Please let me know if there is any further information explanation needed. All in all the customer has been refunded in full for the item in question.

Cheers,

****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned 2 items that I had ordered from this company with brand new condition, with tags attached, and placed inside any plastic bags that the products may have originally arrived in. The company is claiming that the items did not arrive back to them in the original packaging and are charging me a 25% restocking fee as a result. The returned items were 2 pieces of clothing (a pair of Spanx workout capris and a Shock Absorber sports bra). First, the only reasonable "original packing" is that the tags are attached, which they definitely were. Second, even if the company wants to argue that whatever plastic storage bags the items of clothing arrived in are also part of the "original packaging", I also definitely returned the items in these plastic bags. These 2 items of clothing were literally taken out of the shipping bag they arrived in, tried on, and immediately returned back into their packaging and shipped back to the company. This "restocking fee" they're trying to charge feels incredibly unethical given their stated "simple returns" policy.

Desired Settlement: I'd like the full purchase price of the items I returned credit back to the card that I made the original purchase with.

Business Response: Please see the attached document for ******* *****. 
 
You will see that I have refunded ******* back to her card with a remaining balance of 7.30 for item she kept. I will also be sending her correspondence letting her know this was taken care of.  
 
Please let me know if there is any further information explanation needed. All in all the customer has been refunded in full for the item in questions. 
 
Cheers, 
 
****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company has terrible customer service! They do not answer to your emails and phone calls. The do not give you credits for inviting friends and they do not process your order properly.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get credits to my account from the company.

Business Response: *******
We do not have a record of this customer and our Customer Service Manager suggested that this claim may be fraudulent.
 
Can you request that the consumer send documentation that indicates
 
1) What amount was charged for what items and on what date and
2) Who was referred and when?
 
Thank you

Business Response: Thank you for passing this information along. I’ve had our customer care manager look into the customer’s account to find out exactly what the issue was. Here is her response below along with screen shots of our order history for ****. Please let me know if you need any additional information.
 
This customer has placed orders with a few different address'. All using the same shipping address which is a third parting shipping company for international orders. We do not accept orders ultimately going to Russia or from Russian IP addresses. In regards to the friend referral, the customer committed fraud by sending them to herself. This is against policy although she did receive one credit and used it. 
The customer did write into us and she was responded to with directions on how to place the order with paypal which would have let the order go through. 
 
Please see attached screenshots with examples of the order history, referrals, and emails sent to the customer. 
 
*** *********
Operations Manager
Freshpair, Inc.


Consumer Response: Hello! I ask a compensation from the business for the credit for referring a friend.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

8/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1