BBB Accredited Business since

US Chimney Corp.

Phone: (866) 446-8200 Fax: (516) 605-1080 View Additional Phone Numbers 2545 Hempstead Turnpike, LL1, East Meadow, NY 11554 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.uschimney.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that US Chimney Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for US Chimney Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on US Chimney Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 23, 2003 Business started: 06/01/2001 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/2001 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Nassau County Office Of Consumer Affairs
200 County Seat Drive, , Mineola NY 11501
http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/oca/index.html
Phone Number: (516) 571-2600

Department of Consumer Affairs - NYC
42 Broadway, New York NY 10004
http://www.nyc.gov/html/dca/html/home/home.shtml
Phone Number: 311

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven Vogel, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Vogel, President
Business Category

CHIMNEY CLEANING


Additional Locations

  • 2545 Hempstead Turnpike, LL1

    East Meadow, NY 11554

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April 2013 I hired US Chimney Service to install a new Chimney venting from my boiler and hot water heater to outside of the house. The service guys installed the chimney venting pipes from the appliances to the side of the house (Not on top of the roof). I asked the service guys whether this installation is correct and up to the code to leave the venting pipe just one the side of the house. They confirmed that the installation is proper and up to the code. Then in 2014 I place my house for sale and accepted an offer in April 2014. The buyer hired a home inspector who immediately identified the chimney vent as an illegal hookup and not to the code. So the buyer made a repair rider to the contract to have that fixed and brought up to the code. I called the US Chimney and explained the situation. The ***** ** the company (*******) said I have to pay another $2500 to bring the chimney venting up to the code. Then I showed him the service repair invoice they did in 2013 which states that the repair was done according to the code. He (*******) said that there is nothing he can do but charge me to fix it. Then I called him many many times but he was not cooperate at all and even started using profanity. I then hired another Chimney service to fix that repair and bring the chimney venting up to the code. Now I am requesting that the US Chimney to please refund my $1000 they charged for the improper repair they did. Thanks

Desired Settlement: The business should not give misrepresentation of material facts and do the job to the town code and should be all legal

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and found out that I filed the complaint against wrong company.  It is not US Chimney, it is actually Certified Chimney Services Inc.  Really sorry about the confusion, I will go ahead and close this complaint



Sincerely,
***** *****



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on US Chimney Corp.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)