BBB Accredited Business since

E.M. & E.M. Chimney & Masonry Repair

Phone: (516) 935-6215 Fax: (516) 935-6173 View Additional Phone Numbers 115 Engineers Drive, Hicksville, NY 11801 http://www.ememchimney.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that E.M. & E.M. Chimney & Masonry Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for E.M. & E.M. Chimney & Masonry Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on E.M. & E.M. Chimney & Masonry Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 04, 2004 Business started: 09/01/2002 in NY Business incorporated 08/06/2002 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Nassau County Office Of Consumer Affairs
200 County Seat Drive, , Mineola NY 11501
http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/oca/index.html
Phone Number: (516) 571-2600

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Blafford, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Blafford, President
Business Category

CHIMNEY CLEANING


Additional Locations

  • 115 Engineers Drive

    Hicksville, NY 11801

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: put in the wrong size liner in my chimney. HomeServe found a flue spillage. Another chimney company informed me about the wrong size liner and that the water heater and boiler were hooked up wrong because of the smaller liner and that was why I had the spillage. They removed the liner and told me that I didn't even need one. My carbon monoxide no longer blinks a red light. Which I think was because of the spillage, which was dangerous. E.M & E.M put in a 5 inch liner and should have been a 6 inch liner.

Desired Settlement: Cost for the work I didn't need $ 1779.95 Cost to have the danger removed $1200.00

Business Response: E.M &E.M Chimney has always guaranteed all of our work and installations. We always ask for the opportunity to send a field supervisor back to a location if a problem is suspected. In this case as the complainant stated she has called another company in and paid additional monies for them to uninstall a job already completed. Had she reached out to us to let us know there may be a potential problem we would have sent a supervisor to check our work and make any corrections as needed. This would not have cost the customer any additional money. We were mot contacted and not given the chance to see what may have been wrong therefore how can we guarantee our work if the opportunity was not even given to us to actually see if the lining was the problem as stated. We will always stand by our work and guarantees but in this case was not given the chance as this complaint is the first we are hearing that there was even a problem. We would be glad t o revisit and inspect the current conditions but it will be hard to determine as another company was brought in after the fact and we can no longer determine what was done wrong if anything. 

Sincerely, 

******* ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on E.M. & E.M. Chimney & Masonry Repair
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)