BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

E.M. & E.M. Chimney & Masonry Repair

Phone: (516) 935-6215 Fax: (516) 935-6173 View Additional Phone Numbers 115 Engineers Drive, Hicksville, NY 11801 http://www.ememchimney.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that E.M. & E.M. Chimney & Masonry Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for E.M. & E.M. Chimney & Masonry Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 04, 2004 Business started: 09/01/2002 in NY Business incorporated: 08/06/2002 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Nassau County Office Of Consumer Affairs
200 County Seat Drive, , Mineola NY 11501
http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/oca/index.html
Phone Number: (516) 571-2600

Department of Consumer Affairs - NYC
42 Broadway, , New York NY 10004
http://www.nyc.gov/html/dca/html/home/home.shtml
Phone Number: (212) 639-9675

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Blafford, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Blafford, President
Business Category

CHIMNEY CLEANING


Additional Locations

  • 115 Engineers Drive

    Hicksville, NY 11801

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (516) 935-6217(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: put in the wrong size liner in my chimney. HomeServe found a flue spillage. Another chimney company informed me about the wrong size liner and that the water heater and boiler were hooked up wrong because of the smaller liner and that was why I had the spillage. They removed the liner and told me that I didn't even need one. My carbon monoxide no longer blinks a red light. Which I think was because of the spillage, which was dangerous. E.M & E.M put in a 5 inch liner and should have been a 6 inch liner.

Desired Settlement: Cost for the work I didn't need $ 1779.95 Cost to have the danger removed $1200.00

Business Response: E.M &E.M Chimney has always guaranteed all of our work and installations. We always ask for the opportunity to send a field supervisor back to a location if a problem is suspected. In this case as the complainant stated she has called another company in and paid additional monies for them to uninstall a job already completed. Had she reached out to us to let us know there may be a potential problem we would have sent a supervisor to check our work and make any corrections as needed. This would not have cost the customer any additional money. We were mot contacted and not given the chance to see what may have been wrong therefore how can we guarantee our work if the opportunity was not even given to us to actually see if the lining was the problem as stated. We will always stand by our work and guarantees but in this case was not given the chance as this complaint is the first we are hearing that there was even a problem. We would be glad t o revisit and inspect the current conditions but it will be hard to determine as another company was brought in after the fact and we can no longer determine what was done wrong if anything. 

Sincerely, 

******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service