This business is not BBB accredited.

All American Chimney and Duct Cleaning, Inc.

Phone: (866) 499-2785 Fax: (631) 393-0902 168 Central Ave, S Farmingdale, NY 11735


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for All American Chimney and Duct Cleaning, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for All American Chimney and Duct Cleaning, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on All American Chimney and Duct Cleaning, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 05, 2012 Business started: 09/09/2008 in NY Business incorporated 09/09/2008 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lawrence Stuart, President
Business Category

CHIMNEY CLEANING


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    168 Central Ave

    S Farmingdale, NY 11735

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tuesday, July **, 2014, three men arrived by appointment representing All American Chimney & Duct Cleaning, Inc. for a $30 chimney cleaning. The older man in charge showed me paperwork representing the company. Paperwork was bogus as this company isn't registered/approved with BBB in MA. The older man **** stayed with me in the kitchen while one man went on the roof and the other in my basement. The one in the basement told me to come down IMMEDIATELY as he said "he found a problem." The connection from the boiler to the wall was loose. (It wasn't before they arrived.) After he continued to wiggle it, he asked if he could look into the opening "to see the problem." He said he could detect moisture and some debris from inside chimney. I HAD A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION HE SAID THAT NEEDED MY IMMEDIATE ATTENTION! When I asked what that would cost me, he said $3,600 for new boiler connections and upgrade, plus a 25 ft. stainless steel liner! When I balked at the price, he began to play "let's make a deal" offering me a senior discount, etc. When I said that I wanted two other opinions, he pressured me more to get the "work done immediately" as there was a danger factor involved, and system would be more efficient in the winter. This bantering continued. As a female senior citizen living alone, I felt threatened by this older man who was under pressure from his boss to "make a sale" at all costs. I had no way of getting these men to leave. The man on the roof said that I had a leak in my chimney. I paid this company $2,800 for the above materials and an hour's worth of work. Only two of the men worked. The older man was in charge of pressuring me to get work done. After men left, they went to my son-in-law's down the street and put the same pressure on him. He paid with a credit card and promptly cancelled payment within the hour. Shortly afterword, my contractor arrived and told me all the work done WAS UNNECESSARY and that I already had a clay liner in perfect condition.

Desired Settlement: i would like a settlement for the amount of $3,000. I have suffered needlessly over this scam and someone has to put a stop to it! They never sought a builder's permit with the Town of ******** and will be fined if caught in town. I have had trouble sleeping and eating and my blood pressure has risen. I will contact the Attorney General's office in both MA as well as NY if this situation isn't mitigated. I acted in good faith with this company. CALL **** ** ###-###-#### AT COMPANY.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

 .   I recently settled with company (out of court), and company has refunded to me the entire amt. of dispute. . . . . . . . $2,800.  I had a capias civil warrant for their arrest from Fall River, MA,  District Ct.  I also threatened to expose company's fraudulent activities on a local TV news station on their "Buyer Beware" segment.  I fell prey to these scammers on July **, 2014. Fortunately for me, my letter came on the heels of a second investigation of the company by ABC/NY "Seven On Your Side" with **** *******  The chimney company didn't want to deal with me either as I wasn't giving up.  **** ****** exposed for the second time in less than two years the company preying on elderly citizens convincing them that they needed "unnecessary and costly" repairs to their chimneys."   In some cases, leaving the homeowners with a bigger problem than they started with.  This news footage can be seen from a search on ******.

Sincerely,

******** ********  

 







3/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company robocalls about once per week, in violation of the do not call registry and refuses to take people off their autodial list when asked. I have called them back 4 times over the past two months to be removed from their list yet they still keep autodialling. Told me they have 40 computers constantly calling people!!

Desired Settlement: Stop calling me and other people on the do not call registry.

Business Response: Our calling lists are all scrub against the national do not call registry. If for any reason the home owner claims to be on the list and we still have their info we remove the name from the list manually. In order to do so we need the customer to stay on the phone long enough to give their information this way it can removed manually.  if the customer refuses to do so it makes it virtually impossible to do. I have the customer information now which was requested previously and have removed their contact information from our systems, and apologize for and inconvience.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

I've been on the Do Not Call Registry since it was invented. I get calls from this business anywhere from monthly to weekly. There are SEVEN pages of complaints on 800 Notes about this company, the vast majority of people posting complaints are on the Do Not Call Registry.

1) This company needs to "rescrub" it's system.

2) I have a two other phone numbers which I didn't include in the original complaint. ###-###-#### and ###-###-####. REMOVE both those numbers as well.

I will post the company's reply on 800 Notes and direct people to file complaints with the BBB. If they indeed "scrub" their system then BBB shouldn't receive more complaints. We'll see.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ********




 

Business Response:

The list have each been rescrubbed. after rescrubbing the number listed on response no longer appeared on list. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Gee, I thought they said they "scrubbed' their automated computer dialing, which they shouldn't be doing anyway because it is violation of the national do not call registry, and yet I just got ANOTHER automated telemarketing call!!!!
 
Do not, EVER, call again.


 

 

 

 


Sincerely,

***** ********




 

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on All American Chimney and Duct Cleaning, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)