BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

Advanced Chimney, Inc.

Phone: (800) 640-3583 View Additional Phone Numbers 710-1 Union Parkway, Ronkonkoma, NY 11779 http://www.advancedchimney.org View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advanced Chimney, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advanced Chimney, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1999 Business started: 07/21/1998 in NY Business incorporated: 07/21/1998 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Steeneck, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Steeneck, President
Business Category

CHIMNEY CLEANING CHIMNEY BUILDERS & REPAIR


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (631) 981-0214(Phone)
  • (800) 914-3303(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/**/11, Advanced Chimney had installed a liner for my chimney -- the chimney brick was rusting away and I eventually -- had the chimney replaced and then it rusted again. I called Advanced again to come over and look and they said that the chimney guys shorted me and it was the cap -- so Advanced Chimney replaced the cap and the rust continued. The guys that re-did my chimney came back -- replaced my chimney -- and the rust continued still -- the boiler company came over and did a thorough check of my boiler and there is no problem with that. Bottom line is that the liner is not the proper liner for my boiler and that is what is causing the external rust on my chimney. That Advanced (**** ****** -- service guy) came here and told me that it was the cap and it was the fault of the chimney guys -- and CHARGED me for a replaced cap even if he knew that it was not that, that was causing the problem. I was charged $1300 for a liner system that does not work and is causing rust on my chimney -- and it says LIFETIME GUARANTEE -- I am so disgusted with this company -- since three times they told me that the rust was caused by something else than their work and IT IS THEIR SHODDY WORK AND MATERIALS that are causing the problem. This was confirmed by a face to face discussion with my boiler company and also the company that re-did my chimney. I have a hard copy invoice that I can scan and send over to them if they desire to see it. There is no invoice number on their document so I cannot reference that.

Refund my money for shoddy work -- and lying to my face for the third time after I called them back.

Desired Settlement: Refund my money for shoddy work -- and lying to my face for the third time after I called them back.

Business Response: We agreed to a $400 refund that will be sent out today.
 
********
Advanced Chimney

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

 This complaint has not been resolved. I never received a check ... I do not want this closed.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******** *****




 

Business Response: We have mailed the refund check to **** ***** ID# ******* . She should be receiving it today or tomorrow. Thank You.


********
Advanced Chimney

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have many complaints with this company, not just what is listed above. For starters, Advanced Chimney contacted us for a chimney cleaning for $39.95, we set up an appointment for 03/**/13 and when the cleaner came he told us that he didn't have a ladder tall enough and we needed to call and reschedule. Our home is a normal 2 story home, no taller than the average home. How do they not have a ladder when they are a chimney cleaner??? We rescheduled for today 4/**/13 between 9-11am. Well at 8:15 am I had a knock on my door saying they were here. I was in the middle of feeding and getting the children ready for school. That was the idea of making the appointment between 9-11, the kids leave for school at 8:40. Then the cleaner called my husband at work, my husband explained to him that our chimney cap (that their company put on about 3 years ago) fell off and it needs to be put back on. When Advanced Chimney put the new chimney cap on about 3 years ago we were informned that it will NOT fall off like the contractors brand that was originally on the house. When the cleaners were told this they said it is $39.95 for the cleaning but it's an extra $50.00 to put the cap back on. My husband tried explaining to them that you need to take the cap off to clean the chimney, so why would you charge me $50.00 to put it back on? The worker told my husband "have a nice day" and he hung up on my husband. I was in the process of opening the basement entrance for them to get to the boiler and when I came back up to get the cleaners they left with out any notice or telling me they were leaving. My husband was trying to call Advanced Chimney after I told him they left WITHOUT cleaning anything. This company definetly has issues and they were mad because we didn't feel it was right to charge $50.00 to put a cap on (which is their companies cap) that they NEED to take off to clean the Chimney. Also the worker was saying that we had a hurricane. I will tell you that our development seemed to be in a bubble and sustained NO DAMAGE. We NEVER lost electric, cable or phone and there were no other chimney caps that flew off in our 25 house development during this hurricane. We were very lucky unlike other parts of LI, NY and NJ.... We would NEVER use this company again due to the workers attitudes and we would be afraid that they would do sub standard work after the issues we have with Advanced Chimney.

Desired Settlement: I would also like an explanation in writing along with an apology for my inconviences

Business Response: *** ******,
 
Please consider the following information:
 
There was never an appointment made for this customer on 3/**/13. The customer called in about a week ago and scheduled an appointment for 4/**/13 for a chimney cleaning for $39.95. While at the home the customer told us to install their chimney cap. My technician began to explain that this is not a chimney cap installed by us, we do not have any record of servicing them in the past, and the fee to install a chimney cap would be an additional $50.00. The customer did not agree with this so we decided to leave. There was no money exchange at all and we do not believe this is a legitimate complaint to be on our record for three years.
An example of what the customer was trying to do to us was calling and order to Dominos Pizza for delivery. After the delivery worker drops off the pizza, the customer jumps in their car and says "give me a ride to Dominos, you're going there anyway". Just like the customer thought that since we going up to the chimney, we should install her cap for free.
Again, we do not feel that this is a legitimate complaint and should not effect our
BBB records. If you need more information, please call ******* ******** (Owner) at ###-###-####. Thank You.
 
 
 
******* ********

Business Response: Dear *** ******,
 
Since **** ************ has provided her invoice, we are willing to install the chimney cap free of charge. I hope this will resolve the complaint.
 
 
 
**** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

This has gone past the arguement over placing the chimney cap on my chimney. There are many factors leading up to this. For starters his employees are very rude and hung up on my husband and then just left my home without doing work and never told me that they were leaving. Then after making the complaint, the owner of the business had me in tears because he was screaming at me over the phone and wouldn't listen to anything g I was saying. I was being harassed so I hung up on him. He then continually called my home and cell phone 25 times.

I would not have this company do any work on my home even if it was free. I would be afraid that they would do the work wrong or break something else.  So I don't accept this as resolving the situation and I want this to be on his record so that the next home owner knows what they are dealing with if they hire Advanced Chimney.

******* needs some anger management courses to deal with the stress of being a business owner. Plus to talk to a female the way he spoke to me is unforgivable. Lets see how he would feel if his mother, wife, sister  or daughter was treated the way he and his company treated me. 

*****

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *******************




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/28/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1