BBB Accredited Business since

Advanced Chimney, Inc.

Phone: (800) 640-3583 Fax: (631) 580-7504 View Additional Phone Numbers 710 Union Pkwy Ste 1, Ronkonkoma, NY 11779 http://www.advancedchimney.org View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advanced Chimney, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advanced Chimney, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Advanced Chimney, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1999 Business started: 07/21/1998 in NY Business incorporated 07/21/1998 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Nassau County Office Of Consumer Affairs
200 County Seat Drive, , Mineola NY 11501
http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/oca/index.html
Phone Number: (516) 571-2600

Suffolk County Consumer Affairs
725 Veterans Memorial Highway, Building #340, Hauppauge NY 11788
http://www.suffolkcountyny.gov/Departments/consumeraffairs.aspx
Phone Number: (631) 853-4600
consumer.affairs@suffolkcountyny.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Steeneck, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Steeneck, President
Business Category

CHIMNEY CLEANING CHIMNEY BUILDERS & REPAIR

Alternate Business Names
Advanced Chimney Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Advanced Chimney, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 710 Union Pkwy Ste 1

    Ronkonkoma, NY 11779 (800) 640-3583

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I regretfully had this company come and clean my fire place chimney over 2 years ago. While cleaning the chimney, they walked over to my oil burner flue and said I needed a new liner, new chimney, new cap new flashing, and gave an estimate for a few thousand dollars. I declined. A week later, I received a call from a salesman who told me I was putting my family's health at risk since the chimney is not producing the necessary draft, contrary to what my oil company had said. I told him I did not appreciate the scare tactic and declined. 2 years later I keep getting phone calls. I have answered and asked them to stop calling, and I have called the company to ask them to stop calling me multiple times, but they are not stopping. I would like to report them to the police for harassment, but I hope this route will be more civil. I have since replaced my oil burner to a gas direct vented unit, so the existing flue is not even being used, and I have told them this, but the calls don't stop.

Desired Settlement: I just want the calls to stop. I will never use this company again, from the harassment phone calls to the unethical and pressured sales. If the calls do continue, I have no other choice but to call the police.

Business Response: After service is performed, Advanced Chimney's policy is to follow up with our clients with a customer service call to make sure everything went well. We have no record of complaint from *** ********. He will be removed from our database to prevent future phone calls. We apologize. Thank You.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have been told that I will be removed from the database three times now, so I hope what Advanced Chimney has promised is finally true and that I will stop receiving phone calls.  And in contrary to what the owner had said, these are not calls to see how the work was performed, these are pressured sales.  I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******** ********


 

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the second issue with this company.First, they failed to complete the contract by ignoring my pleas and not installing the contracted roof windows. Now they are giving me the same run around after I made several phone calls regarding a leaking issue. This unfortunately appears to be the companies modes operandi.

Desired Settlement: Installation of roof windows and the leak repaired.

Business Response: *** ******,


There was a misunderstanding between **** ********* and Advanced Chimney. She will be contacting you to remove the complaint. Thank You.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

While  I am in communications with a representative from the company and it appears that a resolution is imminent. The issue has not yet been resolved. 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

* *********




 

Business Response: I'm sorry this is a misunderstanding. All the materials were ordered for the job.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter is on the path of being resolved.

Sincerly,

* *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Advanced Chimney, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart